Washington Mutual / SSTPoor credit card service

My Providian Card was transferred by Washington mutual to this rip off company called SST with out any coordination whatsoever and instantly they hit with a late charge when I made my payment on time, and then insisted on anadditional payment, I can see by all the other complaints I am not alone so am getting a home equity loan to pay these jerks off and escape. I feel betrayed by the old home town bank and betrayed by my government that allows an outfit like sst to operate.

Responses

  • Sh
    Shirley Ragan Jun 19, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too, was victimized by Washington Mutual. I had a credit card for many years with them and never could get it paid down. I canceled the credit card two years ago and was trying to get the amount paid down. I was never late with a payment the entire time I held the card. I always made more than the minimum payment and even this would not bring the total down. Finally, I got the money together to pay the card off and sent it to them thinking I was through with that. How wrong I was. Even though I sent them the total amount due on my last statement I am still getting bills from them. Remember that I canceled this card two years ago. You cannot get rid of these leeches. Has anyone ever tried to sue them? The whole operation needs to be shut down. Why isn't the government doing something about companies like these?

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    D Curtis Jul 10, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Being charge triple of what originally was paying before account was sold. Now my account has is more over the limit, when my balance was current before they sold my account without permission or notice. Now they continue to harass me for payment.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marques Grissom Jul 11, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They don't need your permission to sell your account. It's part of your original agreement in taking the card. Also, most of these companies don't sell good performing accounts. They sell high risk accounts of people with low, low credit scores. You be the judge.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Poore Apr 01, 2009

    I'm telling you, I'm having the same problem. Lately Chase has taken over for Washington Mutual, and they obviously are the same people. I have a charge that was put on in March 2009, for purchases that were made, but I had a promotion of free interest till April 2009. I called and asked why there was a charge, and they said that it was the interest to the $3, 125.00 balance that I had the statement before. She also went on to say that she sees that I had a promotion for free interest till April 2009, but they bill before that so that's going to be on the previous months. I told her that I shouldn't have any charges since I paid the $3, 225.00 balance on March 11, 2009. She said that my payment was due on March 10, 2009. So obviously when Chase took over they changed due dates, but heres the glitch, their websites were down for a few days in the time-frame because of the transfer of ownership. And this conveniently was at this time. The funny part is I overpaid by $100.00, and it wasn't even considered. I always pay on-line, so I didn't think I would have any problems. I am disputing the credit protection fee that was put on months ago, but they won't take them of because it's Chase now, and not Washington Mutual. They said that I have to call Washington Mutual, but I've since ripped up my card, and threw it away, so I don't have their number. The real thing that blows my mind is how come there isn't a person in Chase that has Washington Mutuals Customer Service Number. This is such a nightmare how companies are trying even harder to hurt the consumer, especially during this economic crisis period. I continue to keep paying my card off, but there is always a charge that can't be explained. With most credit card companies they dispute, and give you credit. This credit card company won't even try to help.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem