8003 Shelbyville Road, Louisville, KY, 40222, US
Thu 9:00 am - 9:00 pm Working Hours
Sun:12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon:9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue:9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wed:9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thu:9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Fri:9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat:9:00 am - 9:00 pm

Reviews and Complaints

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Oxmoor Toyota - Louisvilledishonesty of oxmoor toyota

I tried to resolve my problems with Oxmoor Toyota by having a 30-minute meeting
with General Manager John Bererra on July 26, 2011.
But Mr. Bererra was dishonest and insulting the entire meeting, even using a mocking tone of voice the several times that he referred to the fact that I am a retired minister,
so I am now left with no choice but to take my official complaint to outside authorities.

Oxmoor Toyota has treated me dishonestly at least 5 times.
Many other people have had the same experience with Oxmoor Toyota,
as reflected in the fact that Oxmoor Toyota has a Better Business Bureau rating of B-minus
whereas Toyota of Louisville has a BBB rating of A-plus.

Here is a brief, detailed list of my 5 experiences with Oxmoor Toyota’s dishonesty:

1.
When I took my 1996 Toyota Tercell to Oxmoor Toyota for repair a couple of years ago,
after that repair the woman in the service department gave me a hand-written list of approximately 20 items totaling $2, 000 that they said also needed repair.
After looking through the list, I informed that woman in the Oxmoor service department that the vast majority of those repairs had already been done at Medley Auto Care down the road within the last 60 days, proving that the list was not honest.

2.
On April 3, 2011, my wife and I spent 4 hours at Oxmoor Toyota test-driving cars, discussing financing, and signing papers.
The entire time we were surrounded by signs which promised a free BBQ grill to people who buy a car.
After my wife and I signed papers buying a 2009 Toyota Corolla, the salesman suddenly said "no free BBQ grill".
The finance department then claimed that we were not eligible for the free BBQ grill because we had paid the full price that Oxmoor Toyota advertised on its Internet site rather than the higher price that Oxmoor Toyota quotes to customers on its sales lot.
There was no such Internet price disclaimer on any of the Oxmoor signs which promised a free BBQ grill to anyone who bought a car.

3.
We paid almost $1, 300 extra to have our 2009 Toyota Corolla "Certified" on Sunday afternoon, April 3, 2011.
"Certified" status claims that the car has gone through a 160-point inspection by a master mechanic.
But after we bought the car the right front tire kept going flat, then we discovered that both front tires were completely bald on the inside edges (usually an indication of a serious problem with front-end alignment), with some of the inner tire cord even exposed, creating an extremely dangerous driving hazard in which the front tires could have exploded while driving on the highway.
How could a "master mechanic" doing a 160-point inspection that we paid almost $1, 300 for fail to notice bald tires with exposed inner cord that created an extremely dangerous driving hazard?
And could a 160-pont inspection really be done in the 1 hour of that Sunday afternoon when our car went from "not Certified" to "Certified"? (It was just 1 hour from when we agreed to have it Certified until the keys were given to us and we drove away.)
A finance officer at Oxmoor Toyota then informed me that I am not allowed to cancel the "Certified" agreement and get our $1, 300 back, even though the Certified 160-point inspection was obviously never really done in that 1 hour of that Sunday afternoon.

4.
While we were signing our purchase papers for the 2009 Toyota Corolla, the finance officer said that he would increase our coverage from "Certified" to "Platinum" for just an extra $2 per month for 60 months = $120.
But when I examined the contract afterwards, I discovered that the contract says that we were charged $667 for that increase from Certified coverage to Platinum coverage.
So I have gone back to Oxmoor Toyota and cancelled the Platinum agreement, with a promise that we will get a pro-rated $587 refund when the national Toyota office gets around to it.

5.
On July 27, 2011, I had a 30-minute meeting with Oxmoor Toyota General Manager John Bererra.
After I spent one minute explaining to Mr. Bererra how Ken Towery’s Auto Service had showed me the bald tires on the front of my new car that morning, Mr. Bererra insultingly opened with, "So Ken Towery’s swindled you, and now you're here to swindle me".
Mr. Bererra then falsely claimed that my service agreement would have covered replacement tires and front-end alignment just so that he could criticize me for getting the replacement tires and alignment at Ken Towery's rather than at Oxmoor Toyota.
(The Toyota Certified Platinum service agreement booklet explicitly says that the coverage does not include tires, does not include front-end alignment, does not include any condition which already exists at the time that the service agreement is signed. I did not ask Mr. Bererra to give me such coverage for the bad front tires. I was complaining to Mr. Bererra about the $1, 300 Certified 160-point inspection not noting the dangerous bald tires on the front of the car.)
Mr. Bererra criticized me for getting 4 replacement tires instead of just 2 tires at Ken Towery's that morning,
and he criticized me for getting 70, 000-mile replacement tires rather than 40, 000-mile tires at Ken Towery's,
even though my decisions on both points were absolutely none of Mr. Bererra's business.
Mr. Bererra used a mocking tone of voice every time that he made several references to my being a retired minister.
I told Mr. Bererra that I had the two bald tires in the trunk of my car in the parking lot for him to examine them, but he didn't want to see them.
Mr. Bererra's attitude during the entire 30-minute meeting could be summed up as, "We both know that you are a con man, but I might be willing to give you $250 to make you go away". As much as I could have used the money to pay for the replacement tires that I had put on my credit card, I will not accept a $250 check from someone who insultingly calls me a con man while he is handing the check to me, so I refused the implied offer of $250 and I walked away.
As I turned to walk away, I informed Mr. Bererra that I was going to take my complaint to the Consumer Protection Division of the Kentucky State Attorney General Office, and he replied "Go ahead".

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Mo
      MorrisO Aug 08, 2011

      I have seen Web sites spelling that Toyota manager's name as John Barrera.
      I have no way of knowing the correct spelling because that General Manager of Oxmoor Toyota in Louisville was not wearing a name tag and he did not give me his business card.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Oxmoor Toyotaselling practices

    Do not waste your time!!
    They will try and haggle more than is neccessary
    They have a rating of C- with the Better B. B.

    They will also get mean when you try and walk away.
    Save yourself a trip. Go somewhere else!!!

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Oxmoor Toyota Scionabusive sales techniques

      I have made complaints with: Toyota's National Customer Center, the BBB, and the State Attorney General; I am not done...)

      1st Complaint:

      The deal was unscrupulous
      They were dishonest: They lied to me, they tried to intimidate me, then they bullied me to try and keep a deal closed all the way.

      This deal is not legal or good: and should be deemed null and void

      2nd Complaint:

      It was not a fair and legal business transaction:

      The bottom line is that they are selling products not disclosed

      They mishandled my paperwork: financial institution was not honored; they continuously changed the financial #’s (money) No warranty; yet it is still under factory warranty…no paperwork showing certified; yet was assured it had been
      Offer: 13, 595
      Bank: 14, 423.12 (final amount to be financed)
      Contract: 15, 0003.12

      Very deceitful: It was not a fair and legal business transaction
      (They have had 59 processed complaints w/the Better Business Bureau in the last 3 yrs)

      ATTENTION: Stay away from Oxmoor Toyota!!!
      ------ Especially if you are female -------
      They wil lie, intimidate, and bully you so they can make a sale...
      Then they will make you feel as though you are the stupid one...
      -------- DO NOT BUY FROM OXMOOR TOYOTA -----------

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Tr
          Truly Annoyed Aug 01, 2009

          Oxmoor has responded to one of my online complaints.
          They are stating that I am logging in under different e-mails and making the same complaint. This is a lie!!!

          They are trying to erase my online complaints.
          If they had taken me seriously when I first had an issue: the day of the sale, then I would not feel the need to let others' know how poorly I have been treated.

          Also, they are stating that I spoke to the General Manager: I was never introduced to him...so to my knowledge, never had a conversation with him. The day I went to look at the car, I had informed the sales person that I had found one somewehere else...this is when he started to 'negotiate' the price of his car with me.

          I have no idea who this John Boardman is...he was never mentioned as someone I could discuss my issues with.
          My statements on how I have been treated by this dealership are accurate, and can be substantiated.

          I have come in contact with other customers who have been treated in the same disrespectful manner. I have not posted anything fraudulent!!
          - Truly Annoyed

          0 Votes
        • Mi
          Mike1020 Jul 24, 2009

          Truly Annoyed,

          Don't give in!! They are now 'trying' to do follow ups with customers
          It is too late for that!!

          They will continue with their sketchy sales practices until we stand up to them
          Best of luck in your fight.

          0 Votes
        • Le
          LeoF Jul 12, 2009

          i just bought a ohio made Pontiac g5 and i love it so far...i live in NH and dealer was great with no hassles or pressure...domestic cars are very good now, consider one of them...leo NH

          0 Votes

        IN THE NEWS

        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.