The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
US Gold Buyersfraud

A Review updated:

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE SCAM ARTISTS! I shipped a ring to sell, only because I received a decent buyback quote in writing. I was told my diamond would NOT be taken out of the setting. When I received a call back offer, I was given an offer of HALF the original quote. I told them I wanted my ring shipped back immediately. I had an agent call me back and berrade me for 10 minutes, yelling because I would not let him soak my diamond in acid, and sell him my ring for 1/4 the appraisal value. The ring was shipped and the BANDS WERE taken apart. My stomach sank! The diamond looks nothing like the diamond I shipped. I now have to file a police report and have my insurance investigate. I called him on the issue and how the diamond looks different and scratched. He said "ya ya, see you in court". IF YOU SEE A US GOLD BUYER AGENT..RUN!

Responses

  • Ri
    rio_baby Feb 16, 2017

    I dealt with US Gold Buyers in New York City, and was absolutely appalled, and heart broken when they sold (on EBay) my engagement ring, wedding band, an inheritance piece from my mother (H.Stern 18k gold ring with Imperial Topaz from early 1970s) and a pair of Amythest earrings of my departed grandmother (again, Brazilian 1940s mined set in heavy screw back 14k).
    After much back and forth, I went to retrieve the items and was told it would cost over $800, because of the "interest". I came to the shop on the agreed upon date, and it was then that David admitted to having disposed of the items 6 months prior. The entire time he had been lying to me by claiming they were in his safe.
    I checked out the business with the NYC Department of Consumer Affairs and discovered they were not licensed to operate as a loan establishment - their license was for shoe repair.
    So about $10, 000 worth of jewelry was sold on EBay, and NY state law dictates that the proceeds above the loan amount is to be issued to the owner of items sold, minus the loan amount. Standard "pawn" operation. Bookkeeping and records of all items taken as collateral must be kept as they are checked monthly by NYPD, to prevent stolen property from being pawned. Not only were they operating without a license to do collateral loans, but they wouldn't even follow the law.
    I was berated, screamed at, threatened, and physically pushed out of their shop after being told that my items were long gone. The father was erratic and exhibiting behavior which would be deemed unhinged at best. David, to his credit, remained composed and tried calming his father, but I left losing family heirlooms and the rings from my marriage. All of this was for a $300 "collateral loan", and absolutely no effort was made to remedy the situation. A lesson learned the hard way - check the license number of the establishment and ensure they are operating above board, and never give them anything you wouldn't be upset to loose. US Gold Buyers NYC takes advantage of their location, and the fact that they are operating literally below ground (basement level) and out of plain sight. Never enter their doorstep.

    0 Votes
  • Df
    D. Franks Aug 30, 2020

    @rio_baby Please note that USGOLDBUYERS.COM has moved their headquarters/operations to Boca Raton, FL in 2016. They are very highly reviewed and are in good standings. With that being said, the above complaint should be directed to the impostors that rode the coattails of a legitimate company.

    0 Votes
  • Pj
    P J Evans Jan 29, 2014

    I am a former customer of US Gold Buyers and have done high yield transactions with them and have been completely satisfied with our transactions. Dave and I have worked together and he valued my business. I would definitely do business with Dave again!


    Mrs Evans

    1 Votes
  • Df
    D. Franks Apr 29, 2012

    The above complaint was made by a competitor attempting to tarnish US Gold Buyers reputation.
    The above transaction never took place nor did this customer ever existed. We have checked our database, and no checks for the above amount were ever issued.

    This is clearly an attempt to steer away potential customers from doing business with an outstanding company.
    Please review all of our media coverage and BBB reports before proceeding.
    http://www.usgoldbuyers.com/press-release-gold-buyer.html

    Thank you,
    David Franks,
    Vice President
    US Gold Buyers, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • At
    atseven58 Jan 12, 2012

    DO NOT SELL ANYTHING TO US GOLD BUYERS! Pawn shops pay much more! I am a Gold Dealer (26 yr experience) and found the hard way what crooks US GOLD BUYERS are. I brought 68 troys ounces of strictly 14k or 58.5% gold to their NY city office which was a dingy "hole in the wall business". Was told I would receive 98.5% payback. Given room for error most 14k gold is actually about 57% give or take 1/2 percent. I conservatively calculated I was to receive $59446.21 Was absolutely mortified when I was given a check for $50804.21.. $8641.99 LESS THAN I SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED. Thats a payback percentage of 84%. After raising total hell, I was told that much of my gold must have been fake! I called police, hired an attorney, all to no avail. Pawnshops pay more on single high school rings than "US GOLD BUYERS"... STAY AWAY, YOU'VE BEEN WARNED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Df
    D. Franks Sep 22, 2011

    Let it be known that Anica attempted to use public services such as Complaintsboard.com as a blackmail tool to get what she wants.
    She had contacted US Gold Buyers with intent to sell her diamond ring. She provided a description of a higher quality color and clarity. Naturally, she received an offer based on her description.
    When the diamond ring arrived, it wasn't even remotely close to what she had described, therefore she received an offer as to what she was entitled to. At that point, she threatened to smear the reputation and integrity of our company by creating false accusations unless her demands are satisfied as stated above.
    Of course its one customers word over our company. Who can one believe? The poor customer who claims to be a victim or the company who is attempting to clear its name and not fall prey to blackmail?
    Let' look at the facts
    1) US Gold Buyers has been in business since 1996 and maintains an A+ rating with BBB. Copy and paste link to review http://www.bbb.org/NYC/business-reviews/jewelry-buyers/us-gold-buyers-inc-in-new-york-ny-93161/
    2) US Gold Buyers has over 500, 000 satisfied customers since inception. Common sense says that there would be several other complaints of this nature if the company was less than honest
    3) Finally, reputable news sources would not be publishing stories on fraudulent companies. copy and paste link to review http://www.usgoldbuyers.com/press-release-gold-buyer.html
    As one wise man said: Those who point fingers at others, usually have three fingers pointing back at them.
    David Franks,
    Vice President
    US Gold Buyers, Inc.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
    Bmorris May 19, 2011

    I think kelly is a fool. You turn your back on the gold guy, and they will switch your jewery. You do business with them and you have no idea your getting riped off. It is a scam. If you agree with them it might be because you are one of them or you own a business..

    0 Votes
  • It's funny how you get one disgruntled b-(word) a.k.a. a bad apple in the bunch and they act like the whole world revolves around them!

    Funny you sound like a company rep...

    The reason why I am injecting my two-cents is because I have done business with US Gold Buyers, Inc. on several occasions and was completely & utterly satisfied! I even referred several of my family & friends with their referral compensation program and received $25 for each other their transactions! (How many companies out there offers that?!)

    Again sounds like a company rep, funny i saw a tv ad showing all these satisfied customers, so i take up gold in arms and go down to see this well dress well spoken guy. i hit several pawnshops on the way there and got several quotes, i got to this guy and when i walked in the door long and behold the satisfied customers where behind the counter ! gigleing to myself i presented my items and got a quote that was 20 % lower then the pawnshops i visited on the way to his store ! i confirmed that his quote wouldnt be for me and took my gold with me !

    Furthermore, each & every one of my family & friends were SATISFIED you guys sound like you live in a golden world ! why sell it all if your all dripping in sooooo much of it !
    . No complaints whatsoever! Police report? Are you kidding me.. no when someone gets scammed they should call the police or maybe even shoot them !
    .talk about being melodramatic! yes, in the real world tomato tomato your a ### to think that someone should just say (o-well)

    lol Anyways, if you check their BBB rating -it's an A- (which is near perfect). In conclusion, are you going to believe one bad testimony vs. several hundred positive testimonies pertaining to the crediblity and legitimacy of a reputable precious metals company? Only you can decide...'nuff said!

    there isnt nearly enuff said about companys that can do this type of public service without due recource... if they do this with out regulation period, as far as you are concerned the satisfied consumer and your two cents i dont know (any) consumer that will take the time thumbing thru pages on the net and doing repor reviews unless they get paid for it ! what do you get perhaps a cut or ?????

    sounds more like the gold buying party scam happening there,

    -2 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Winehouse Feb 08, 2010

    It's funny how you get one disgruntled b-(word) a.k.a. a bad apple in the bunch and they act like the whole world revolves around them! [See obnoxious comment by the reviewer]

    The reason why I am injecting my two-cents is because I have done business with US Gold Buyers, Inc. on several occasions and was completely & utterly satisfied! I even referred several of my family & friends with their referral compensation program and received $25 for each other their transactions! (How many companies out there offers that?!)

    Furthermore, each & every one of my family & friends were SATISFIED. No complaints whatsoever! Police report? Are you kidding me...talk about being melodramatic! lol Anyways, if you check their BBB rating -it's an A- (which is near perfect). In conclusion, are you going to believe one bad testimony vs. several hundred positive testimonies pertaining to the crediblity and legitimacy of a reputable precious metals company? Only you can decide...'nuff said!

    -Kelly Winehouse

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.