TWX*MAGAZINE ORDER 800-773-3142 NYFradulent Credit Card Charges

1
R

They hook you in after a legitimate purchace - offering you 3 free magazine subscripions, then a few months later, you are charged for rebilling on the magazines at full price, and it does not end. There have been times when I failed to read the fine print, this may be one of them. The worst part about this whole thing, is that I have found (10) different phone numbers for them, and none of them work. How do you get in contact with these people? There are other complaints about this company, and some say that they got through to customer service and after going back and forth with them got the charges cancelled. I just want to know how to get through to them.

Rob

Responses

  • Jo
    Joyce Oct 25, 2008

    Charged for Real Simple, Oprah-Home magazines. How do I make it stop!

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    dma299 May 26, 2009

    This was by far the most ridiculous scam ever. I actually was at Loehmann's in NY and upon check out, they simply asked me to point to a magazine I'd like to receive for free, so I did. It is absolutely RIDICULOUS that Loehmann's gave my credit card information to this organization, especially with out telling me, or even giving me anything with fine print to even read! I have voiced this to Loehmann's and went back to the store, but to no avail. Absolutely ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Freescam Jun 01, 2009

    Loehmann's really bad!
    This also happened to my wife, just upon check out, the cashier simply asked her to point to a magazine she'd like to receive for free. And 3 months later, they begin to change about $30 month.
    Try to cancel it, and failed.
    Called Loehmann's manager, he said they gave a flyer to show this, and give the following number for cancel. not sure if it will work. 800-586-5271.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cordelia Jun 08, 2009

    I was scammed by the Loehmanns in Newbury Park, CA. I was asked at the check stand if i wanted to receive some magazine subscriptions for FREE for 3 months and I said yes. (I love to collage so I felt it was a good idea at the time) I did not give out any bank information and now, 3 months later my debit account is charged. And I didn't know what twx* magazine was so I called my bank and complained and they told me to call the twx* 800 number and tell them to cancel and if they didn't to call the bank back and file a scam complaint against them. Of course the woman I spoke with at twx* was more than glad to cancel it because I'm sure she has been receiving many calls about this. Is it possible we can get together a class action lawsuit against loehmanns or twx* magazine? I bet there are many more people out there who have been scammed by the same place. We need justice against companies like this.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cordelia Jun 08, 2009

    i called 800-321-6247, it worked as of 6/8/2009

    0 Votes
  • We
    weekendww Jun 16, 2009

    I shoper at Loehmann's in New Brunswick, NJ for years, three months ago, I was at Loehmann's and was asked if I wanted any of these magazines at check out for FREE, I've always been very clear about saying NO. And the caher just scanned the magazine codes and said it's compliment from Loehmann's I should just take it. I didn't want thoses magazines but received them anyway. After three months, I was charged for the magazines anyway. I'm so mad that Loehmann's would give out my credit card number without asking me first! I went through hell to get those magazines cancled. I just found out I am not the only one. How can we fight back ?

    0 Votes
  • El
    ellewoods123 Jul 03, 2009

    You people are so dumb! Read the fine print! loehmann's has you sign a statement on the debit pad giving authorization to pull from your account the magazine subscription fees after the 3 FREE months are over with. Be careful what you sign...this is all of your fault for not being more careful. You cannot do anything what this when you are the one who signed that authorization.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manogwent Jul 03, 2009

    ever tried asking your bank to stop payments to this company? I find it difficult that so called intelligent people get trapped into scams like this, try to phone people involved but never ask their bank or credit card company to stop payments!!

    0 Votes
  • MZMICHIGAN Jul 26, 2009

    you have to remember to cancel subscriptions before the 90 day trail is up. If you do not they will charge your credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amnzck Aug 15, 2009

    what does it mean when you havnen't even ask for free magazines? i got charged $45 from this company!!! and this isn't the first time, this is like the 3rd or 4th but the others in the past was about $1-2.00 this is too much money to let it slide!

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    RMurray24 Sep 11, 2009

    The same situation happened with me. 'Point at magazine' ok sure... 6 months later heres a nice fat charge on my bank statement. I spoke with a very nice lady at TWX who told me "you don't exist in our records.' I asked her how its possible that I am being charged by them if I don't exist. She could only apologize for the inconvenience. I told her to stop charging me and to refund my money... She said I can't you aren't in my records...

    Wonderful. Nothing like being robbed...

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CathyY Oct 16, 2009

    whoever said that someone is "so dumb" for agreeing to this "FREE" magazine subscription is absolutely delusional because Loehmann's (or at least my cashier) frames it in a way that makes it sound absolutely free. They are supposed to tell you to call the magazine company before 3 months if you want to avoid being charged--THIS NEVER HAPPENED. I am appalled with this kind of sneaky behavior. america has enough credit problems as it is--why is loehmann's putting its "valued" (ie Insider) customers into potential debt? For me, they charged an account where I do not keep much $ at all so I got not one, but TWO overdraft fees! I feel violated and outraged. Call this number: 1-800-321-6247 if you want to resolve the issue (they will refund you no questions asked and also give you information on who to contact if these fees caused an overdraft fee with your bank).

    0 Votes
  • D1
    D12752 Oct 16, 2009

    I, too, have been a victim. Back in June 2009, I made a purchase at Loehmann's using my bank debit card. It wasn't until yesterday (10/15/09) that I received a letter from my bank stating that I was overdrawn on my checking account. I immediately went on line and looked at my statement. There were two separate debit charges from TWX for magazines I did not order.

    I called the number listed (1-877-204-9991) and spoke with two different people. I was told that they would cancel my subscriptions and that I would receive a "credit" in about 60-72 days! They were totally unsympathetic regarding the overdrawn charges that have been incurred because of their deceptive methods.

    I went back to the Loehmann's store and was told by the Manager that you would have to sign your name twice: once for your charge and once for your approval to receive these magazines. Funny, they couldn't produce my signature on anything. I also found out that they do not make this "offer" to those customers who pay cash. Only to those with debit or credit cards. Interesting????

    This is what I would suggest. Print out these complaints and anything else you can find on the web. Contact your bank and your credit and companies and show them these complaints to let them know you are not the only one being taken.

    Call the Regional Manager (given to me by my local Loehmann's.) Here name is Kathy Gray (1-561-852-5578) and complain and find out how you can get your money back and any additional charges that you incurred because of wrecking havoc with your account. Kathy Gray's secretary's name is Janet.

    I would also contact your local TV station that has a consumer advocate segment(We have the Problem Solvers and Ruth to the Rescue) and make them aware of this scam. The more people complain and are made aware...Loehmann's will be forced to drop this unscrupulous promotion.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    lillys Dec 07, 2009

    This is just ridiculous.. i just spend the last 2 hours trying to take care of this problem. thank god I spotted it on my recent transactions.

    so when i first got the number from my bank, i called and they told me no history of my account and only automated service available thani called back my bank and filed a fraud charge and they had to issue me a new card with a new number..after i did all that i foudn this post.. which made me want to call again. so I finally got an operator on the phone after screaming and pressing 0 a hundred times and the girl was soooo nasty to me it is unbelievable.

    I asked her how this happend she told me through Lohmann's and let it be known that I Never say yes to the free magazines ever, i never signed for them or anything! and I never even got any free magazines to begin with !

    so the nasty girl told me she would credit my account and cancel the subscription but now im not sure if they will be able to considering i changed my card #? my bank said it wont matter bc its the same acct number but i dont know..HONESTLY dont ever sign up for anything liek this but its just sad that i didnt and i still got screwed and it would have kept happening had I not kept my eye on it, and i do a lot of processing though my bank so its surprising i even caught it..

    I also cant even believe that Lohmann's is associated with such a fraudulent service.. it seriously makes me reconsider ever stepping foot inside.

    I advise everyone who has the same issue to call the number, struggle for an operator and demand a refund and also change ur card number just in case!

    good luck!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Macris Dec 07, 2009

    I have been a victim as well!! The same situation happened whith me. I live in Brasil, i stayed in Loehmann"s NY in last july, and after check out, i was asked at the chek stand ìf i wanted to receive a magazine free for 3 months and i said NO, because i don"t live here, i live in Brasil!!! Now, there are 3 debits in my credit card (TWX ALLURE, TWX INSTYLE, TWX PEOPLE ).This just ridiculous!!! I change the number of my credit card today...WHAT"S HAPPENING ????

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaraT Dec 11, 2009

    I just found two charges on my credit card, same as what is described in these other posts! I called the number written in one of the posts (877-204-9991) it was all automated and very annoying but I made sure to say no to every option they gave me (they try to keep you on and tell you it will be free or only $5 if you cancel by a certain date). At the very end they agree to cancel your subscription and refund you the money they charged to your credit card and I was given a confirmation number. I was still really nervous that I wouldn't get the refund, especially after reading some of these posts. So I called my credit card company and they said it should be fine so the credit card company will credit my card on my current statement and get the refund from the magazine company when it comes in. Good luck to everyone else!! Quite a scare!

    0 Votes
  • Xi
    xixixi Dec 12, 2009

    I got the same problem from my local Loehmann's store.
    I found that the magazine company have a website:
    https://www.magcustomerservice.com/wss/050983/home.do#top
    you can find your subscription, order status and cancel your order.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramster Jan 09, 2010

    Thanks to xixixi for the website information. guys you can cancel your subscription there.

    1 Votes
  • Kk
    KKhe Jan 30, 2010

    Thanks for all the information, guys! I said yes to the 3 free magazine but I never received a single one! After checking the website provided by xixixi, I found my deliver address was the place I lived a hundred years ago. They could only get that address from my bank because that was the one I used to open my banking account, again, a hundred years ago. How did those people steal my information??

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    louiseh Feb 06, 2010

    I was also called caught in this horrible scam. I received FOUR "free" magazines. Loehmann's should be ashamed!! I will never buy anything in their store again. I wanted to be sure that everything would be cancelled and thus called (800-321-6247) and also used the website information (https://www.magcustomerservice.com/wss/050983/home.do#top) provided by xixixi above. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mileeena Feb 09, 2010

    I called (800-321-6247) and just pressed zeroes a bunch of times until I got a live person. They are open until 12 midnight EST. She was actually very nice and apologized several times and acknowledged that Loehmann's employees are not good at explaining the deal. She said she'd cancel and I would be refunded within 2 billing cycles. Hopefully she was not lying to me.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Sue in NJ Mar 14, 2010

    Look at the Better Business Bureau site for the company selling these magazines. Somehow they have an A+ rating (SYNAPSE GROUP - http://www.synapsegroupinc.com/ )-- presumably because they do refund money when people complain. How many people are they ripping off that do not complain? They make it pretty difficult to figure out who has charged you or to cancel the subscription. I tried cancelling at the magazine website and couldn't.

    We aren't dumb for falling for this. We were scammed. I went into Loehmann's and the cashier asked me if I wanted 3 free magazines through a special promotion for their best customers. She never told me I would be charged for them if I didn't cancel after 3 months. I should've know there is nothing for free. I tried to say no and she was very pushy. I ended up with 6 magazines. She must have added 3 more on top of the original 3. I never signed anything that stated I agreed to accept charges for this. I let it go the first time I was charged. When it automatically renewed I complained to the BBB, rejected the charges through my credit card and cancelled the subscriptions online at the company's website. There are hundreds of complaints with the BBB. How many people do you think just didn't bother to complain or try to get their money back? I wonder if the magazine companies realize what is happening? Could it just be Loehmanns doing this? Is there a commission that these cashiers are earning that is motivating this fraudulent practice? I WILL NEVER SHOP AT LOEHMANNS AGAIN. I may not buy these magazines again either: Marie Claire, Glamour, Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, InStyle, Elle.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chungy Apr 30, 2010

    I hadn't received any of the magazines and just noticed in my recent bank statement that I had been charged with a full year's subscription to them.

    Thanks to this complains board, I called 800-321-6247, it worked and the operator canceled and reversed the charge of 4/30/2010 which she said would take 72 hours to take effect.

    Totally unprofessional - Loehmann's should apologies for deceiving their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amir3001 May 30, 2011

    I have no clue who these guys are, ### for sure. They started charging my card and I never even heard of them. I was given this num for them: 877-645-6818

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMIslander Jun 11, 2011

    Very helpful board for dealing with very annoying people. As Rob says above, "This may have been one of those times I forgot to read the fine print." Me too.

    I can't remember where these subs came from. Possibly using up some air miles that were about to expire. Yes, a *great* deal on magazine subs...but once the trial period is over the billing begins.

    I just saw $35 on my Visa for This Old House. I do receive this magazine a few times a year...because I didn't cancel it. I called 800-321-6247 and reached an efficient automated system. I selected the Cancel option and it found my subscription quickly. Then it offered to "Refund all my money...and send 5 more trial issues for $2 before starting a new subscription." I took that (Am I crazy? Maybe.) and added a note to cancel in four months on my Google calendar. Also, I will be checking my Visa to see if the $35 refund comes in.

    Magazines are dying now. They need to keep subscription numbers up to justify what they charge advertisers. So if you like magazines, this may be a game that helps both sides...IF you remember to get out before the retail pricing begins.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    olga169 Sep 07, 2011

    hello all, i didnt call anywhere, just sent a message to customer support center, and they replied, then cancelled order and promised refund . sooo waiting for refund !!! please use email for your requets - [email protected]<[email protected]>;

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    mksophie05 Oct 25, 2011

    If you call Customer Service at 1-800-250-3525, you can actually speak to a real person. I got caught up in this scheme because I used magsformiles.com, where in their "terms and conditions, " apparently you sign up for "automatic renewal" for your "free" magazines once the first year expires. Sooo shady. It's all done by the same shady, shady company and I am furious. I actually was able to cancel and get all of my money back, but I will NEVER do Magazines for Miles again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARIA999 Nov 21, 2011

    YOU CAN ACCESS TO YOUR ACCOUNT IN THIS WEBSITE, TO CANCEL THE ORDER OR ANY OTHER CHANGE OR INFORMATION THAT YOU'LL NEED https://www.magcustomerservice.com

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Ford Nov 28, 2011

    The phone number listed on my credit card was 877-645-6818. The automated person stated that I completed a survey and was signed up for SOUTHERN LIVING for 13 months, I think. When I said that I wanted to cancel, it said that I would be refunded $33 instead of the $39 I'm disputing the magazine charge with my credit card company now for the full amount.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Ford Nov 28, 2011

    The number listed on my credit card for this company was 877-645-6818.

    Be sure you dispute the charge online with your credit card or call your credit card directly or do both like I did!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Traciet24 Jan 04, 2012

    Yes. I was charge $71. Do not know how they received my credit card number. I called the number kept pressing 0 to cancel and my money will be refunded withing 72 hours.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jan Ford Jan 04, 2012

    Just call your credit card company and dispute the charge! I have received my $39 back. Evidently, I answered a survey and didn't realize that I signed up for the magazine, SOUTHERN LIVING.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary_Ypsi Jan 13, 2012

    I disputed those TWX charges as well.
    I went directly through the magazine's site to try and cancel it, and it actually tipped me off to this company that is in charge of it all: SYNAPSE GROUP INC.

    http://www.synapsegroupinc.com/

    Their personal statement is A JOKE. Not convenient at all, so displeased:

    "*Continuous Service
    In 1999, Synapse was awarded a patent for a brand new kind of magazine subscription model, a model that eliminates the inefficiencies and inconveniences of the traditional model, and replaces it with a solution that meets the needs of today's harried consumer. Today, tens of millions of subscribers enjoy the simplicity and superior experience of continuous service."

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    tbta Mar 07, 2012

    The same thing happened to me because of Loehmann's. I cancelled the subscriptions first from https://www.magcustomerservice.com/ . Then I called (800) 321-6247. Instead of using their options, I kept pressing 0 until I got a live operator. I gave him my last name and street address, then first name and city/state. He "accessed my account" and I told him I never wanted the magazines. He said that he saw that I cancelled future billings already from the website, but asked me if I'd like to refund the whole order. I said yes, and he said that I should see a refund within 2-3 days. It seemed like he was used to this situation and was expecting the whole thing. I better get my refund.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smean55 Oct 11, 2012

    I can't believe Loemanns pulled this sleazy ### on me! The cashier asked me to point at which magazines I might read. No thanks, I said I don't want any magazine subscriptions. He said it's a survey. Which ones do you currently read or might interest you? I pointed at 3 different magazines and told hime again I DON"T WANT THEM. He assured me it's NOT a subscription, it's a SURVEY and they want to send me 3 months worth of free issues for indicating I might be interested. I TOLD HIM AGAIN I DON"T WANT ANY SUBSCRIPTIONS AND I DON'T EVER WANT TO PAY FOR ANY MAGAZINES DELIVERED TO MY DOOR. He tells me don't worry, it's totally free. Sure enough 3 months later my credit card is charged $25.00 for InStyle becaus my free trial is over. I called immediately to cancel the other 2 before the charge hits but not sure if I'll ever get the $25.00 refunded.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HaeLee Feb 08, 2013

    I live in Texas and my husband had these ridiculous charges posted to his account. We DO NOT subscribe to magazines. We are young college students and we do not have the many to throw away on such crap. So thanks a million to the company for putting us in an uncomfortable position. We're taking a trip to the bank right now to reconcile.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jayvon Jul 30, 2013

    about 3 mouths ago i cancelled our mag and then when i woke up i see it was taken out of my acct i called 8003216247 and she was very nice and told me my money would be back in my acct with thin 24-48 hours lets see

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem