The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
TV9- TeluguCase of Defamation

Hi,

Here I'm reporting misconduct of a TV channel called TV9 Telugu. Hope this e-mail will reach the right set of people who can expose this channel's insensitivity towards the sexual minorities.

The channel aired some news yesterday, being 'gay culture' as the theme. They breached the privacy act and exposed few profiles on a gay-dating site called Planetromeo(www.planetromeo.com). And the content of the news item was totally abusive and insensitive. They've had pronounced being gay is an incurable and reckless life style behavior and the people who is gay are "spoilt". The news item was totally homophobic, Ignorant, unprofessional and unethical.

How important is sting operations on one's orientation? TV9-telugu is going crazy, I wish they have had enough guts to expose filthy politicians, sex-maniac swamis and the rich who evaded the tax and saved in Swedish banks.

This blatant disregard for privacy is punishable offense! This channel takes homophobia to a whole new level. If a news channel is so homophobic and uneducated, what kind of awareness can they bring to their audience? Is there any way we can regulate this news channel?

I am appalled at the lack of insensitivity by this news channel. Being gay is no offense and Section 377 was read down to decriminalise same-sex behaviour among consenting adults in a historic judgment by the High Court of Delhi on 2 July 2009. How can TV9 ignore this judgment and criminalise sexual minorities?

This conduct is breach of Article 15 and 21 which gives you the right to life including dignity and privacy. Also violated was Code of Ethics and Broadcasting Standards clearly prohibiting superstition (Section 2 Article 8) to be passed of, as a fact.

Showing sexual minorities in poor light is nothing but discrimination based on bigotry and against actual scientific fact of human sexual diversity. This is a perfect example of unethical and irresponsible news reporting and case of Defamation. I appreciate if you can expose the TV channel and it's ignorant ways and insensitivity towards sexual minorities.

Thanks,
Prasad.

PS : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2rLELlpI7I. This is the link of the youtube video of the airing. It can be taken off anytime as it has been reported to Youtube.

Responses

  • Ne
    netpavan1 Apr 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Issue with water supply...!

    we are living at plot no 21 Road no 2 Narayana Reddy Colony, Ashok nagar Lingampally. Here the major problem is manjeera drinking water supply from GHMC which will be given once in 15days i, e monthly twice.That is also being stopped by the sarpanch who says the motor is damaged and when it will be repaired he also doesn't no. And coming to bore connection by ghmc which has being three months or 4months which is no being released by them.This is the worst situation of the society no one complaints due to the pressure y sarpanch who threatens every one. DO Take a Serious action on this complaint or else this will be reported to all the papers and media.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    ss.santhosh kumar Mar 20, 2014

    arnespected sir, my complaint is regarding Ttd tirumala tirupati devastanam.Day by day they are decreasing the quality of laddus.They are giving vip passes to political leaders, heros, heroins their relatives, richest persons.Today Right to information act, India is a largest democratic country ina democratic every common man has the right to ask information if any mistake is going on bhagavatgita Quatations, rama, krishna Paintings are not there in ltirupati.they are not encouraging dance, sevadal, students school education will entirely provided with swamy venkateswara money but today they are not doing any one of this.They are simply publishing the money that lot of money we are getting with this money what they are doing to the common people.scool education in India Nearly 100 crore people hindus are there but the school education is not so good.Ttdshould take decision regarding the school education in entire india but bhagavatgita quotations andhindu culture traditions should be learned so that new india young India will construct truthful india.In Ttd change has to be come this will change the entire country.we want united india but in india the hindus are not unity due to politics.taj mahal is example for this.Ayodya ayodya ayodya ayodya ayodya ayodya ayodya nirmanam jaragali as soon as possible.

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    k.pavan Feb 16, 2014

    i thinking was a tv9 also corrupted. my name k.pavan my mobile no .[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SAI PRAKASH RAJU Dec 10, 2012

    DEAR SIR WE DID COMPLETE MBA IN 2011 BATCH BUT UNTILL WE DIDN'T GET ANT CERTIFICATES FROM MY COLLEGE . MY COLLEGE NAME SUN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY AND MANAGEMENT (SITAM) VISAKHAPATNAM, DWARAKANAGAR, ABOVE STATE BANK. PLEASE HELP ME SIR WE WILL PAID 300000 AMOUNT

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    velagala sreedhar May 12, 2012

    Worst channel.
    This Caste biased channel should be stopped.Celebrities(movie artists or any others higher officials)belonging to kapu caste are always targeted by this bloody channel)Someone should take action on this.Ravi prakash should understand what channels should telecast and what are they for.
    Targeted chiranjeevi from sreeja's issue(Telecasted live and showed this more than 10 hrs daily) to the split in the mega family.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelvin List Feb 25, 2011

    Does anyone know if TV9 has responded or apologised to the numerous complaints? I don't think they are even bothered to repond.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelvin List Feb 25, 2011

    Does anyone know if TV9 has responded to any of the complaints?

    -1 Votes
  • Tv
    Tv9 Sucks!!!!!! Feb 24, 2011

    The reporter(s) and the news channel should be prosecuted and put in place..!

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    GayDelhi Feb 24, 2011

    yes, TV9 should be banned,

    1 Votes
  • just colse it and a narko test must be hepened for those who said and did so. because any one doing so must be involved. so expos them to public of the same.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    COMPL -U-TV9 Feb 23, 2011

    Extreme action should taken against TV9 and the ignorant, illeterate crews should be fired and jailed if possible for such insensitive, illegal act...I hope you ###ing ### get mollested and assualted for doing this...I hope those crew members photo be exposed on tv and internet and then assualted...TV9 should be BANNED...### YOU ###...

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    samsmith Feb 23, 2011

    This is an insane act for cheap publicity. Media is the voice of people but here it seems they want to feed on cheap dirty FALSE news for sake of TRPs.
    Its a shameful act and i hope guilty is punished and justice is delivered to people whose profiles were shamefully flashed on TV.

    2 Votes
  • Tv
    TV9sucks Feb 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TV9 should be punished and BANNED for ever and the concerned people should be behind the BARS...someone atleast bomb the TV9 studio's (Yes, all the studios)...###ing animals...

    2 Votes
  • Da
    Darpansharma Feb 23, 2011

    This is highly unprofessional on part of TV9. Their telecast was extremely insensitiveand abusive towards homosexual community.Telecasting people's photographs, taking their phone nos and askig sex related q from them is total invasion of one's private space.
    TV9 should be banned !!
    I hate TV9 !!
    I am Gay and proud to be gay :-)

    2 Votes
  • Nb
    nbdkjnbvkldfgndk Feb 23, 2011

    TV9 ###ers r so cheap and the journalist and the lady reporters are ### and the lady reporter who was reading the news she her self is ###...prostitute, soon will release her sex videos n pics...

    2 Votes
  • Ug
    Ugayth Feb 23, 2011

    This shows that media person's will do anything to increase the TRP rating of their Channel, Don't u feel Ashame to show a content like this? here one thing to remember Every one after certain ages came to know abt these LBGT activites through various situations, and all went their own way, they did made a blunder mistake this, nearly 60 percent of Guys will have atleast single time experience in Homo at any moment, no one can Say "No" to this, Why these people do things like this? If u cann't able to Support them let them as they are, don't cristizie them
    Is this is the Ethics of a Media?
    U media people may do Taking clips from bed room all houses and ask the viewers to rate it which one is the best.
    Like this only now a days media is travelling in a worst path.
    Very shame of u people.

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    samsmith Feb 23, 2011

    This is a disgusting act on part of that news channel which showed utter disregard to sexual minority for sensational journalism. This channel should be banned for stating balant lies and ruining the lives of a lot of people.

    2 Votes
  • Tr
    treadalone Feb 23, 2011

    Media has done enough damage albeit subtle (the male effeminacy jokes, the "beech ka" joke, the dostana jokes, gags involving gay showed in offensive [email protected] etc) to the Queer Community. Only we know how difficult it is to stand straight in between straights and not collapse succumbing to this kind of a treatment. Isn't this the kind of treatment "upper castes" would give to the SC, STs and OBCs? Are we really a free country? Are we really a sensible lot? Are we the front runners in demeaning human value? Aren't we disgusting? Aren't we just proud of our media? Shame on the heads of TV9, in process of showing GAY CULTURE they have shown lack of the most fundamental culture we all follow, respecting!

    2 Votes
  • Co
    complaint 4 Feb 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yss tv9 should be banned wht they will get after showing all this
    TV9 banned banned banned

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahul Ghosh Feb 23, 2011

    This is clear case of infringement of fundamental rights of individuals (in this case victims) sanctioned by the Constitution of India. The content of the telecast is not only racial and discriminatory; also insensitive to certain section of the society who're fighting for their right for individual self.

    The telecast happened to have insensitively programmed to cripple the process of educating the society about gay rights and acceptance instead, revolting to the extent of causing socio-psychological harassment not to one specific individual but the entire community.

    The channel and the correspondents who have inhumanely stalked and dishonored the dignity of the individuals and community as a whole should be punished under the law. No compensation or apology can relieve the stress that the victims and their families are undergoing currently.

    1 Votes
  • Hu
    humtum Feb 23, 2011

    TV9 should be banned and people involved in this act should be punished

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    Saffron Phoenix Feb 23, 2011

    TV9 Should compensate the people exposed and should dishonorably fire the journalist involved. If the same was shown towards any "culture" of Minority Religions the same would have been read as an attempt to stir comunal riots.

    Who would be responsible for any Homophobic attacks that would be triggered by this piece of unethical journalism.

    2 Votes
  • Si
    Sibi Bombay Feb 23, 2011

    TV9 should banned, and editors jailed for letting such insensitive matter air on TV

    2 Votes
  • Sr
    Srinu Hydd Feb 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TV9 should be banned

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.