The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Training/Safety videosScam artists

We were sent two DVD's from Wumbus without our approval. From my understanding these DVD’s were sent as a promotion to convince us to offer Wumbus’s products to our members. We are a very busy office, we did not have any spare time to review the DVD’s, nor did we have any interest in the products. We spoke with Shannon Lewallen. We asked Shannon if we should return the DVD's, to which Shannon replied we could hold onto them until we had a chance to review them. We never had a chance to review them due to our schedules. The DVD's have been sitting in the box they were shipped in, unopened. We are not interested in Wumbus's products. I received a faxed invoice from Wumbus on 1/19/10 for $1, 098.53; this is the first invoice I have seen from Wumbus. I called Wumbus to return the product and have the invoice voided. I spoke to Tony as well as the Administrative Manager. Wumbus refused to accept a return. Wumbus claims to have mailed and faxed invoices to WFCA. I am the one who goes through the mail, I am the one who sorts faxes, and I am the one who issues checks; the invoice received on January 19th, 2010 is the FIRST invoice we have ever received from Wumbus. The invoice has a due date of Nov 7, 2009. Tony and the manager claim that Nov 7th was the last date to return the product. If we had received anything before this date, WFCA would have returned the product then. Now Wumbus refuses to void the invoice even if the products are returned. Be cautious when dealing with this company. We have put a reasonable effort into resolving the matter, but Wumbus is refusing to cooperate.

Responses

  • Ha
    harvey99 May 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So many [censored]bag people. Funny how a company sends out live product worth over $1000 to a prospective client in good faith and some idiot misunderstands their role in the process and calls it a scam. Dah people! Grow up and realize the world has two way streets. What a awesome service to evaluate something at no cost and then make the decision to purchase. What company does that?! I doubt wumbus is wasting your time if you're not a prospective client. Obviously these complaints seem like dumb people who can't own up to how this industry works. It'e been that way for decades and if the free preview is new to you, you've mislead the phone rep by lying about something.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    E.T.D. Nov 23, 2013

    ETD please remove your post. We discussed this already but if you'd like to discuss further CALL ME.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    E.T.D. Nov 23, 2013

    This company is definitely a scam! They try to fast talk you into just "previewing" a video and all you have to do is send it back if you don't like it. Problem is that you have to get an RMA # which they seem to make up out of thin air. They will only provide this to you when they aren't able to talk you into keeping it or previewing another video. So after they pressure you into accepting a free preview you've got to call them back and listen to their sales pitch as they try to find you another video. Here's the kicker - even after you get the RMA # they make you pay to ship it back!

    Be careful because once you accept a free preview their reps will be all over you calling and calling since they know you have an interest. Funny thing is that you can find free videos on youtube, or on OSHA.gov (imagine that!),

    They recently offered me an online subscription instead. I can only imagine what they'll do if I accept their free preview on that.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    albert3 Nov 01, 2013

    Funny how many people thinks this company is a scam. They offer a great product and are easy to work with. Some people just don't understand what responsibilities they may have in the process and like to blame it on a scam. Not true people! If you don't want the material they sent you, just send it back - what's so hard about that?

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    CaptD Jul 09, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well I too received unsolicited videos and was asked to preview and comment upon. I reviewed the videos and provided comment to the gentleman that sent the videos and he advised to just hang on to the videos. A week or so later I get a call from an Anna who wants to know whether or nor I would be purchasing the videos at $495 a pop. I advised her that i would not and I would be glad to send them back and asked if they had a UPS or FED Ex account and I was given a number supposedly for UPS which was not a good number so I just hung onto the vidoes. I then received an invoice for the videos and I called them and they then advised that I would have to send the videos back at my expense. I contacted our corporate attroenys and they advised to send them back with our invoice for providing subject matter expertise at their request. So, just waiting to see what the final outcome will be in this matter but I'm sure my company will prevail.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnny Reid May 09, 2013

    We had a similiar experience where we thought the material was unsolicited. But we finally had time to review all the information wumbus was kind enough to offer we discovered that one of our employees actually did accept the offer from wumbus. That employee has since been terminated for lying. But they said they were scared because they knew they were in trouble when the invoice arrived. They thought by ignoring the calls and message from the people at wumbus that the problem would go away. Actually it made it worse. Wumbus had no idea what was happening on our end and why we weren't returning the calls so thay naturally escalted the problem and incurred more costs to resolve the problem. It was a mess. But what's right is right and truth be told, they were very easy to work with once we got on the phone and admitted our mistake. The manager finally said to us, "since you were honest in what happened, and have stated that you will be paying the invoice, we would like to thank you for your hnoesty and wipe the invoice from the record." I was shocked! I had no idea something like that would come from admittnig it was our fault. But they were very merciful when it really came down to it. I was also very surprised how good their notes were in the situation. Remeber, these people are sending out material worth thousands of dollars simply on your word. They ask for nothing more than an address and they provide a great service to us safety guys and their product is the best in the industry. I only wish they would have spoken to me in the first place and that my assistant didn't screw things up.

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    liberty1776 Oct 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you didn't order them or ok them, you owe nothing. It is considered unsolicited material - i.e. a gift. That is the law. You should be able to throw them away if you didn't order them.

    2 Votes
  • Ai
    aithusa Oct 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wumbus is fine company, and providing good safety training video, for those who in countered and receive invoice maybe you are not calling them and tell them that you haven't finish and you don't have enough time to review the video, as long as you give them a call because they won't charge you if you tell them that way. They are very understanding company. Don't judge them. If you are a clever person you won't stick one thing, you will keep exploring different things so that you will know lot of things. All they want is to help you as a company. Thank you so much for those who trust Wumbus corporation.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skyyyryder Dec 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our company has been hit twice by Wumbus trying invoice us for product we did not want or did not order. Very annoying and time consuming.

    2 Votes
  • St
    Staffing Safety Jun 28, 2010

    I have been working with Wumbus for 4 years, as we are a staffing company who does safety training for over 8, 000 employees. We have always received incredible service as well as flexible opportunity to review product. It was communicated to me that. "as long as I am in communication with my rep, I could have as much time as I needed."
    I am part of an extremely busy firm, so flexibility is appreciated. However, I know that business communication is a two way street...so I must be fair to my vendors when being extended service.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pirates77 Jun 25, 2010

    I have been dealing with Wumbus for years and I do not have a problem with them. They have a good product and that is all that matters to me.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joesafety Jun 03, 2010

    Good to see that a company can make good on a situation. There is hope in the world!

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    Skipdaddie May 28, 2010

    I received a past due invoice from Wumbus Corporation recently so I Goggled them and read this compliant. I was concerned I would be going down the same path. However, the outcome of my situation was positive, so I thought I would take the time to tell the story.

    I received two forklift safety DVD's to preview a few months ago. Due to my schedule it took me longer than anticipated to watch them. Several months had passed and I received a past due invoice for $1000 and the DVD’s were still in the unopened box on the corner of my desk. When I called Wumbus and questioned the invoice the person that answered the phone informed me that I needed to pay the invoice. She said there was nothing she could do about it, so I requested to talk to her manager. I explained my situation to the Administrative Manager. I told her that I never received the original invoice and that I have not had the chance to preview the DVD’s. She was very understanding of my situation and apologetic about the past due invoice. She assured me the invoice would be voided.

    I am pleased that I will be able to continue doing business with Wumbus. I am a safety manager for a large plant and I spend a substantial amount of time and money each year on safety training. I rarely use safety videos because most of them are boring. Paying employees to sit and watch boring safety videos is like throwing money away. Wumbus makes some unique safety videos that keep the attention of my employees; therefore I am pleased that I will be able to continue doing business with them.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.