The Molding Depot / JELD-WENKILLER PRODUCTS

F
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This incompetent JELD-WEN Dealer ordered windows, doors and sliding doors (88 products total) all wrong.

Hernando County FAILED all products when inspected on 7/24/2009.

The Molding Depot (TMD) accepted delivery from JELD-WEN, stored the erroneous products at their warehouse and then delivered non-impact glass products to an oceanfront house requiring impact glass.

Mr. John Rosende, TMD President, and JELD-WEN have REFUSED to cure the problem they collectively created since day 1.

The Molding Depot and specifically Mr. John Rosende does not care how many Floridians are killed in a hurricane with the deadly products TMD delivered.

TMD and JELD-WEN have decided to challenge me in court defending their combined blunder.

BUYERS BEWARE!

For more information on this lawsuit visit www.ramosvsjeld-wen.com

Responses

  • Re
    real dill Oct 21, 2013

    It is amazing that this guy has prospered in society enough to purchase this home. While I am impressed with his accomplishments, I now see how he got there. Sue sue sue sue sue sue. This guy is obsessed with DRAMA. Get a life!

    PS- Nobody feels sorry for you, look at your house you spoiled little brat.

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    GWare Nov 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading over what I wrote in the above post I noticed that I failed to point out a very important fact. As noted in the Ramos lawsuit the subcontractor who provided the windows on this project was International Source & Supply, LLC DBA Designer Home Supply, LLC - not Molding Depot.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    GWare Nov 01, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been in the material supply business in Florida for a long time so I'm speaking from experience here. I also am familiar with The Molding Depot and Mr. John Rosende. So when I saw this post I took an interest in it. In my opinion, Mr. Ramos's recourse should be against the general contractor who built his house not Molding Depot. The general contractor would then have to look to his subcontractor who he contracted with to supply and install the windows if there was a problem with the windows. When the material arrived at the jobsite they should have been inspected by the general contractor to insure compliance with the projects specifications. The material should never been accepted at the jobsite if it did not meet the projects specifications. The difference between non impact glass and impact glass windows is obvious and they never should have been installed. The fact that they were accepted and installed screams that there must have been an agreement with the general contractor to change the specifications and install shutters so as not to have to go with the more expensive impact glass as previously stated. Using shutters as a substitute for impact glass is done all the time and is a perfectly acceptable practice in Florida and meets the requirements of the building codes. After reviewing the picture of the Ramos house on the Ramos website I don't see any shutters installed. If I were as concerned for the lives of my family members as Mr. Ramos claims to be I would have the shutters installed immediately. From what I can tell Molding Depot acted as a material supplier on this project and only supplied the materials ordered by Mr. Ramos's contractor. Trying to hold Molding Depot accountable for the shortcomings of his General Contractor and his sub-contractors is ludicrous and only goes to show a lack of understanding of how the construction process actually works. Lastly, its obvious that the three above responses to Mr. Gibson is actually from the same person and all posted on the same day. I wonder who that may be? It is unfortunate that the owners of this website allow people to use this forum as a means to destroy the reputations of perfectly respectable people and companies without verifying the truth of what is being published.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FLCB1100 Jul 03, 2011

    Wrong Products + Hurricane = Disaster

    TMD and JELD-WEN’s legal problems are only beginning. When a storm destroys that house and people; get ready for intense news coverage, along with criminal and civil lawsuits. If children or elderly are involved, it will be a media zoo and rightfully so.

    Both companies know these products are bad and intentionally refuse to correct them. Shame on both companies! Corporate greed, before safety.

    A child can see where this is going...

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pofl Jul 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Billy, you fail to see the big picture… TMD was negligent in quoting and supplying non-impact products. The construction plan clearly requires impact (it’s on the Ramos web site), look at the window/door schedules. Do you think the Florida building Inspector was going to overlook this critical building code infraction?

    Second, I assume you think it childish to protect life. TMD and JELD-WEN have put the Ramos family and their community in peril of injury and death with the failed JELD-WEN products.

    It would have cost TMD much less money to do the right thing and just replace the products when they failed inspection. Instead, TMD will spend more money on attorneys and should Ramos prevail, that stands to financially devastate TMD.

    Then there is the huge liability of destruction, injury and death when a storm hits the Florida Gulf. God forbid anyone is injured/killed at the Ramos residence. Manslaughter typically falls into two categories: voluntary and involuntary. Voluntary manslaughter is basically the crime of killing another human being without premeditation or planning. Involuntary manslaughter occurs when a death results due to an act of recklessness or criminal negligence. A manslaughter conviction in Florida carries a sentence of up to life in prison, but does not include the death penalty. A situation for TMD and JELD-WEN executives to think about.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Floridian Watch Dog Jul 03, 2011

    If TMD obtained written authorization from the builder to supply products contrary to the construction plan, then they have no issue. However, fatal mistake to supply products not to construction plan or building code.

    Bigger issue, if someone is hurt or there are fatalities at that home. Those responsible for supplying those products will likely be accountable. Usually, when products can hurt or kill people, those companies fix the problem immediately. Like the auto industry when they recall their faulty cars.
    The owner(s) of TMD are risk takers! They should investigate how many years of jail time they face if the worst happens.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill Gibson Jul 02, 2011

    The person who wrote this post (we won't speak any names because we have the decency of leaving personal names out of our post) has never done business directly with The Molding Depot. TMD sold the windows to a customer of ours who was well aware of the specifications of the project. TMD quoted 13 different quotes for this residence. The first 11 quotes were all with IMPACT glass. The last two were with non-impact glass (for half the price). Needless to say, our customer bought the cheapest priced windows with the intent of putting shutters on the openings (standard practice for people who can't afford impact windows). This customer then bought the windows from us, doubled the price, then sold it to this guy. Not our problem. I think the person who wrote this post should have done more research and kept a closer eye on the people he was doing business with. Now, he is fixated on trying to hurt our business. No member of TMD has ever been in contact with this gentleman prior to the order being placed. We are a family owned company with 11 years of great reputation in Tampa Bay and surrounding areas. We are empathetic to anybody who gets ripped-off, but in this case, it had nothing to do with us. The slanderous actions of this gentleman are quite childish. We wish that he would have the nerve to come into our office and just try to talk it out. Instead, he is trying his hardest to defame our name (via any way he can) because he was ripped off by the company who sold him the windows (NOT US!). If he had just come to TMD himself, he would have seen all 13 quotes and he would have been able to make an educated decision by weighing the pros and cons.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.