The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The London hair companydamage to hair

I wanted to share my experience at the London Hair company with Candace. I went in looking to add some length to my hair and some volume. She suggested that I try Ultralinks, which are little strands of hair attached to your own hair through a metal ring. The ring is then clamped to “bond” your hair with the ultralinks hair strands. Candace offers two options, a full head which is supposedly 200 hair strands for $400, or a half head which is 100 strands for $250. She suggested the latter option so I went with that. Before placing the extensions on my hair, she cut A LOT of my hair off to match the length of the extensions (which made no sense to me because I was getting them to add LENGTH and volume). After she was done with the half head, I looked in the mirror and noticed that my hair looked very “choppy” and uneven. You could definitely tell which hair was extension hair and which hair was my own, because she had cut my hair even shorter than the extensions ! I explained to her that I was unhappy with the results. She had assured me before putting the extensions in that you would not see the metal links if I ever wanted to put my hair up. I tested this in front of her and you could definitely see the links because of the way she placed them on my hair and the colour of the metal link was grey (my hair is black) so it did not match my hair tone at all. So after a long conversation about the results she put the other 100 hair extension links in my hair to make it a full head because she assured me that it would make everything even and not choppy. Once she was done with everything she started cutting my hair even more to blend the extensions in. Results : the same as before. It didn’t even look like there was more hair in there. I paid the $400 and went home disappointed but willing to give it a few days.

That night was the worst night of my life ! I was in an immense amount of pain. No matter how I laid my head on the pillow the metal bonds were poking into my scalp. I must have tried over a dozen different ways to lay my hair and no matter what I did it still hurt a LOT ! Needless to say I did not sleep that night, and spent the entire night sitting on the couch. I called her early the next morning to inform her of my situation and she said that she couldn’t see me until the following week. The pain continued throughout the day, and was even worse at night time. I decided to go see another hair extension specialist in London to see if he could take a look at them and after examining a few strands he told me that the bonds were WAY too close to my scalp. Candace had left no space at all in between the bonds and my scalp. I couldn’t even run my fingers through the bonds because she had gotten random pieces of hair stuck with the metal bonds. He said this was not the first time that one of Candace’s customers had gone to see him about the same problem.

I called two hair salons that have the ultralinks extensions, one in California and one in New York and both explained the application method thoroughly and told me that Candace had made the mistake of placing ALL of the metal bonds directly on my scalp, which caused the bonds to tear through my scalp and made me bleed. I called her immediately because the pain had gotten worse and she agreed to see me the following day. When I went in I explained everything to her and told her that I wanted the extensions out ASAP. She was not happy about having to take them out. I watched her while she removed them and saw chunks of my own hair fall on the floor. I examined my hair when she was done and saw several bald spots on my head. On the verge of tears, I asked her for a refund, which she said no to right away. She actually told me she was being generous by not charging me the $75 fee for the extension removal. I asked her if I could have half of my money back, which again she said no to because she “wouldn’t be making any profit off of the extensions”. After having explained my point of view over and over again she said that the most she could give me was $46 dollars. I was so disappointed, so I left it at that and went home.

This review (I know it’s very long, I apologize) was to inform anyone who is thinking of going to Candace for hair extensions of the kind of service that she has. She does not know the proper method of application for hair extensions and all that she cares about if making a profit. I basically paid $400 for a VERY BAD HAIRCUT AND VERY VERY DAMAGED HAIR. After only 3 days of having the extensions in, there should not have been that much damage done to my hair. I wrote this review because I wouldn’t want anyone else going through the unnecessary pain and damage like I did. I WOULD URGE YOU TO RECONSIDER if you are planning to go the London hair company. Which by the way, only has one employee, Candace, so I’m not sure why she says “us” in her kijiji ads and on her website.

Responses

  • Mb
    mbnic Nov 11, 2015

    She doesn't pay her supplier bills either.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teresa McLellan Oct 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sorry for typos. Can't seem to edit. Candace was horrible, don't go there was my main point!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teresa McLellan Oct 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible service. Extensions ALL literally fell out within 3 days... and Andale was nowhere near professional in dealing with it. Blamed me... said I probably sweat too much! Had to go through a long fight via better business Bureau to get my money back. Do not go here! I have been getting extensive sons for many, many years and she was the worst! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY...

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuneM22 Jul 06, 2013

    She is the most unprofessional person I have ever met. I have called on several occasions and emailed but she never returns my calls.
    I don't even understand how you can run a business when you cannot even call back or take the time to help your clients. I met her once and she seemed nice but when I tried to contact her again nothing. I emailed and left messages but nothing. A friend of mine called and Candice said she would get right back to her and that was around 8 months ago now.
    Glad I saw this review and her true colours, she won't be getting a dime from me or my friends. I have spread the word on her horrendous lack of service.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Johnstone Sep 23, 2011

    Awesome Service! I moved to London from NorthBay 2 years ago and started going to Candace for my hair extensions. She always does an amazing job, and it looks completely natural. Nobody knows I have extensions unless I tell them. She always takes the time to do an amazing job with the extensions and my colour. I am definitely a life time client!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Un
    unacceptablebehaviour Sep 14, 2011

    ^ I posted that on the wrong page.

    First of all you are clearly someone who works the hair salon or the salon owner herself. Secondly, I did not go back to complain for no reason, all of the things I stated in my review are true and they are the reason why I was very unhappy with that the salon owner did to my hair. If I would have gotten what I asked for in the first place and I liked it why would I go back to get the extensions taken out? I would want to keep them for as long as I can. I never said that she should use the hair on someone else, if she does do that with the extension hair that she takes out then her salon is the LAST place people should be going to. Also I am not 19 years old, or close to that, so I don't know where are you getting your information from. I don't care if doctors and police officers go there to get things done, what does that have to do with anything ? I don't understand why you would lie and say that I am posting fake adds under the salons name. Why would I ever want to promote that business after what I went through? It doesn't make any sense at all to me. Also, you do not know who I am, so why would you say that I couldn't afford the treatment and that was the reason why I went back and complained? I could pay for the treatment a 100 times over if I really wanted to. My review is 100% honest and it simply states everything that happened while I was at the salon and the ending results. I am within my full right to give an honest review. I simply was very disappointed with everything and my hair was damaged for several months. I moved to Beverly Hills last winter and I have seen the same extensions for almost half of what the London Hair company charges, and this is Beverly Hills we are talking about, so that says something.

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unacceptablebehaviour Sep 14, 2011

    Good and thorough review of the hair salon. Thank you

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MaryCook Mar 15, 2011

    I have been a regular loyal client of The London Hair Company for a long time.I know many people, professionals who go there as well.When i read this add, i was very surprised and upset, from what i have heard this is an individual who paid for a service and came back the next day and wanted her money back the next day for no reason, when Candace explained to her that unfortunately when you pay for a service that requires hours of skilled labor and material cost, that she cannot simply refund the money, she started making up stories about how hair head was bleeding and that Candace should should take off the hair and use them on other clients, Candace explained how that was non sanitary and illegal, she also gave her an additional discount out of courtesy, ever since this girl has been going on websites out of spite and hatred and trying to slanders the name of the business.All the clients that go to the London Hair Company have a very personal professional relationship with Candace and know who this girl is and the whole story.I hope the people who manage this website have the tools to differentiate an honest complaint from slander. Also from what i have heard the girl is 19 years old, where as most of the clients that go there are Doctors, professional, wives and daughters of Police Officers, and they have been going there for a long time.This person who is making up the stories and writing these fake review is now being watched, she tried to set up fake adds on other websites under the same name of the company which is illegal, even though i am just a client at the London Hair Company i feel that it is wrong that a 19 year old can go on a website and make up stories simply because she payed for a service that she could not afford and later decided that she can have it for free.I called Candace yesterday and advised her to print and document all the activities and the fake names and adds this girl is putting up, which she has done and filed, and to have it all ready for a lawyer .I am customer and i do not agree with bad service, but that does not give me the right to make up stories and try to hurt someones reputation and hard work, Candace has records of all conversations, receipts, fake adds, and all necessary documentation, and this girls information.If the owners of this website do not look into this i will lose faith in their credibility and next time i am looking for a review i will not be able to know if it is correct.Because any hateful can go on any site and pick a business they envy and try to make up stories about them.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.