The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Tele Circuit/USBIUnauthorized switching of phone companies

I have also recently been the victim of a scam involving a company called Tele circuit/USBI. My phone company is AT&T and handle all my telephone communications needs with AT and T. Somehow, Tele Circuit hijacked my phone service so to speak, and is charging me for calls that I would have to pay any per minute charge for with my AT and T calling plans. To make matters worse, when I contacted At&T the representative was kind enough to take the thrid party charges off my AT and T bill. However, I was forced to pay AT and T the one time activation fees in order to reactivate my calling plans. This is obviously unfair but I agreed, hope that would be the end of it. This company, Tele Circuit, essensually uses AT and T as its "collection arm" knowing full well that If I refused to pay Telecurcuit, that AT and T will consider me to be delinquent with them as well. This is a very sneaky way to back somebody into a corner in order to force them to pay charges to a company that I NEVER signed up with in the first place. Also this crooked company knows that if one does not pay them, that one's credit will be affected and this is what they seem to rely on in order to get people to pay. I'm unsure of how they were able to switch me over to their company without my permission in the first place. This month it happened again and im afraid they are going to keep doing it. My phone company, AT and T offers no protection to it's customers from this kind of questionable business practice on the part of third party companies. It has been suggested that AT and T is in on the scam and though I did not want to believe that, it seems to be that that is the case. After all, AT and T bills on their behalf, does not provide its customers protection against third party companies switching their customers services to this crooked Tele Circuit company, and worse of all AT and T charges customers activation fees for restoring the plans they had before they were fraudulently switched over from AT and T to Tele circuit. At and T makes more money everytime a customer like myself has to re-instate my calling plans. That is a fact. The right thing for AT and T to do would be to re-instate your plans without any charge. I hope they come to realize that by allowing crooked third party companies to bill through them, they are making themselves look bad and untrustworthy for the AT and T name appears on the same bill as the Telecircuit charges. I hope that At and T gets it's act together before such a well known and traditonally reliable company loses face.

Responses

  • Au
    Aurora DeVersa May 01, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing is going on with my MOM's number. If only you could talk to someone.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Linda105 Apr 01, 2018

    Been there done that - the same thing is happening to my mother in South Texas - A bunch of crazies out there scamming our Seniors!

    3 Votes
  • Mo
    M. Oliver Sep 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mother is 78 years old and lives in South Georgia. She too has had the same land line for nearly forty years. She has been a customer of AT&T for most of that time. TeleCircuit called and offered her a lower rate for basic phone service, and she agreed to switch. They immediately sent her a bill for August service, due upon receipt, (August 18, 2015). AT&T also sent her a bill for August service. She paid AT&T. TeleCircuit sent her a second bill on September 4, 2015 for August and September service, giving a due date of September 19th. On September 11, 2015 my mother's telephone service was turned off. Once notified of the situation, I called TeleCircuit to pay the bill over the phone and get service reconnected. Other than their computer operator, no one has answered the phone for TeleCircuit in the three days I have attempted to reach them. I have visited the web site, and there is no way to contact the company through the web site unless you are ordering new service. I have sent an email to the customer service email listed on the bills. I have called the numbers for both the Alpharetta and Duluth offices and the Alpharetta number has been disconnected. I have called and left a message at the number listed for the owner of record of the Company. The bill has been paid in full via computer operator, but I have not yet been able to talk to a human being who is affiliated with this company. I called AT&T at my mother's request, to get service transferred back to them, and they tell me they cannot do it because TeleCircuit has to release the line. Apparently we cannot even get service in a new number at my mother's address until TeleCircuit releases the line. If anyone knows how to get in touch with a human being affiliated with TeleCircuit please post it here!

    5 Votes
  • Ob
    Obie Smith May 01, 2015

    Unauthorized charges for Long Distance services not rendered
    My father is 85 years old and lives in the Northwest Georgia area and has had the same land line phone number for 50 years. At & t is in bed with these scammers; USBI tried to charge my dad over 100.00 dollars for a long distance service fee on the AT & T bill in which he did not authorize. His phone has been disconnected and AT & T said that USBI bought the number. I will spread the news on AT & T for their injustice along with USBI; they are in bed together. We are calling AT & T to have phone removed and getting a cell phone for our father.
    When Bell South changed to AT & T it all fell apart.

    1 Votes
  • Sr
    SRM Jul 27, 2011

    Its amazing how many people have no self accountability. You can play a recording for them they will admit that is them saying yes yet they still fraudulently accuse the company of illegal activities. Then they accuse someone who has absolutely nothing to do with it at all, which is slander.

    -1 Votes
  • Jc
    JC:) May 23, 2011

    SRM AKA Susan R Mulhall is the person who scams these people and illegally switches customers long distance then has a ### recording lying that the customer accepted the service. This crook is going to hell and then jail

    1 Votes
  • Jc
    jcarey9 Jan 12, 2010

    I am going through the same problem. I'm being billed through Qwest for $4.99/month from Telecircuit for a service I or my wife never authorized and don't need and they keep billing me. I've called to cancel and asked to have the fees reversed and nothing is being done. I called in October and in December and they always tell me they are looking into it and the manager never calls me back. I don't know what to do!

    1 Votes
  • Sr
    SRM May 15, 2009

    AT&T can prevent that from occurring. It's called a PIC/LPIC freeze.

    Tele circuit records all conversations and this customer is on record accepting Telecircuit as his long distance company

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Beverly W Jones Aug 29, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @SRM AT&T dropped me in July for no reason and turned me over to TeleCircuit without any warning. I changed to my cable phone service for a better price and dropped TeleCircuit in July and they are still billing me, I'm unable to contact
    them about it. 8-29-17 bjones

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.