The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
SPD Warranty ProgramScam - advertise letter is fake.

I got a letter saying, I recieved a 2nd to extend my vehicle coverage. My vehicle is over eight years and mfg warranty has expired years ago. How could a company get my information -unless from the dealership which I usually get my repairs done..

Company scamming people. Address is
SPD Warranty Program
300 North Tucker
St. Louis, MO 63101
[protected]

Responses

  • Ja
    JamesSkee May 14, 2011

    We as the general public need to stand up and fight against such scams as this...HOW AND WHY ARE THEY ABLE TO GET OUR INFO????????????

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emilavetz Apr 08, 2011

    Thank you all so much for these comments, so I didn't waste my time. I have received 2 letters and both were stamped as "time sensitve." They had my car information listed correctly, but I still have a 7 yr warranty from the manufacturer, so I was confused. This is definately a scam! Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    L. Lacey Mar 13, 2011

    I received the same letter list above from SPD 300 North Tucker St. Louis, MO signed by G. Raresh. What struck me was that it stated that I had to call them within 10 days of receipt of the letter. Well, neither the letter nor the envelope was dated or postmarked so how were they to know (or prove) when they sent it or when I received it? Clearly not very business so that set my alarms ringing. Of course, the fact that my car is 7 years old rang a bell or two, as well. Thanks to all for confirming my suspicions. They are obviously still at it!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Techsuperstar Dec 01, 2010

    Chauk up another one. I also received a letter so I called to get info. The offer was $4650 for 5 years of coverage to 171k/mi on my 07 Mercedes CLK with 71k/mi on it. I spoke with Jacob who then transferred me to Scott (mgr) for even a better "deal". Anyway, they explained it as full coverage for everything and they send you a credit card. When something brakes you use the credit card (no warranty program would give you a credit card). My thought... I think this is merely a credit card company that issues you a prepaid credit card in the amount you put down minus their large fee... just my 2cents. SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Hy
    hyallo Oct 24, 2010

    Yes. This is a fake and fraudulent company. Do not respond. Keep for your records, though. Just in case it goes any further with their ownership of your information.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    netguy Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://www.bbb.org/stlouis/business-reviews/auto-service-contract-companies/service-protection-direct-in-saint-louis-mo-310043096

    I wouldn't touch this company!

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    JR1950 Sep 09, 2010

    I am glad that I don't commit to any of these letters I get. yes I got one fromProgram Headquaters(SPD) 300 north Tucker St.Louis.Mo [protected]. The guy Brandin talked real polite and gave me numbers like $3967 for 4 years of total coverage on my car; with $295.oo down and $204.00 per month for 18 months with no interest.That caught my eye.Caculater right beside me I checked the numbers and it did not come out right.In fact in came up with them losing about $30.00 and no company is going to lose money when paid out monthly it will be more.So when I told him that there was no way I would do this today because I was on a fixed income he immediately came up with a discount. I still told him I would not be able to do it today because I had to check my budgit to see if I could work it in and he said "Well I have to go now, bye." and hung up.So I would put this company in the deleted files along with all the other scams and spams.In fact everyone that has gotten this letter should go to the B.B.B. and file a complaint. I intend to.

    0 Votes
  • Ot
    otherwisesatisfied Jan 28, 2010

    I received a letter stating that my 2004 Murano service date may heave been over 38 months ago...the only problem is that I don't own a Murano...this is a scam...after researching the company, I found that they will use this letter to generate incoming calls where they then try to sell you a poor quality service for a premium price...do not call the service number for any reason.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    krispix318 Jan 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This sounds like some stupid phone call that was going around a couple of years ago. I got a call about my warranty expiring and my car at the time didn't even have a warranty. Idiots.

    I dont know what the purpose of it is, but hopefully you can get it resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Nc
    NC Marine Jan 23, 2010

    Apparently this company has not been stopped and they have now targeted North Carolina. I recently received a letter about a 2008 Lucerne, which I have never owned or bought. As I am currently going through an ugly divorce, my first thought was that my ex and his new girlfriend bought a new car using my information. Thank goodness I found this site.

    I plan to report this to the BBB of North Carolina so that others can be forewarned about this company.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Treeofhope Dec 30, 2009

    Thank you all, this for sure is a scam.
    I got the letter, read front and looked at the back where they wrote in Spanish.
    In Spanish they ask for the VIN #, but don't in English.
    I was intrigued and that's why I landed here.
    This is like those junk emails and lame business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CaliGalGi Dec 22, 2009

    I got a letter from the company same as you have. they said I bought a car 22 mos ago. haha not even 22 mos ago. I m not falling for it. so I know its scam/fraud. I dump the letter to my sweet shreeder ( she is hungry for more papers ).. lol
    can anyone stop them from doing it.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Redout01 Nov 14, 2009

    comapny is fake, just gave it to my girl to feed to the shreeder. What a right bunch of tools they are!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barmajo Sep 26, 2009

    Hey I just got a letter from these people what should I do to help stop these people from scamming other people I live in washington state. please let me know

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jonms83 Sep 25, 2009

    I got a letter too! I just bought my car from a used car dealership and they are offering me this deal (which is obviously a scam) ...

    my car is 8 yrs old, and has 100k miles on it... ain't no way there's a warranty on this.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bixbyte Sep 23, 2009

    I signed a financial disclosure opt out with the dealer and paid cash for the car.
    Just received the letter.
    Car has a 10 year, 100, 000 mile warranty and is 2 years old with 16, 000 miles.
    Class Action Lawsuit anyone?
    The dealers broke the law by selling our names?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crissyta Sep 19, 2009

    THANKS EVERYONE FOR THEIR COMMENTS BECAUSE I REALLY THOUGHT THIS WAS FOR REAL... I GOT THE SAME LETTER IN THE MAIL A WEEK AGO AND WAS ABOUT TO CALL THE NUMBER TO SEE WHAT IT WAS ALL ABOUT BUT DECIDED TO GOOGLE IT FIRST.. THANKS THEY ARE A SCAM AND NEED TO BE REPORTED

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenniej Sep 10, 2009

    On the back of the form in very small print you can "opt out" of pre approved letters like this one. You can call, write or the easiest way, go online to optoutscreen.com and fill in the info. It is legit, but look into it yourselves, don't trust anyone. It's run by the 4 big credit companies, Equifax, Trans Union, Experian, and Innovis.
    I got the letter, thinking I needed to extend my warranty, then google this company, I'm glad I ended up here, to get the truth about them. What a scam. Good luck eveyone.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Texas User Sep 09, 2009

    I have just received one of these letters from SPD I am going to see if they are listed with the Better Business Bureau. They want an answer from me within 10 days of receipt of the letter, as it they would know when I got it. This has all the earmarks of a con job. They generate a feeling of urgency. I have a 5 yr warrant or 100, 000 miles and am well over a year from going over that warranty. They say I have had my car 28 months. This is, I think, close to the truth. They must get the info from whoever issues your drivers license.
    The sense of urgency in this type of letter, the attempt to make it seem personal (the letter is for ME, addressed to ME) and the lack of any prices for their program sounds very
    suspicious. I would avoid these people at all costs. Check with your Dealership to see what extended options you have. If you have any kind of good relationship with them, they may be able to suggest someone. Also, check with the Better Business Bureau. Do not go through a Chamber of Commerce, they are only interested in generating money and have no ethics (to my experience and observation). Your mileage may vary (especially on the Chamber of Commerce) but these are some ideas. My local police department helped me avoid a rip off once, so even the police may be an option for enquiry.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donaldduck Sep 09, 2009

    If it walks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it PROBABLY IS A DUCK!!!(SCAM)

    My "reminder " notice didn't even describe the vehicle. Just that I had purchased it 44 months ago. Hummm. Could have sworn it was '03.

    What a bunch of clowns. Too bad America's finest dosen't round them up and give them a room at the "Greybar Hotel" with Madoff.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Ritch-Camarillo Sep 09, 2009

    I received a letter from SPD Warranty in St. Louis, MO, saying that my auto "factory coverage is expired or is about to expire". I have not purchased a new car EVER and only own used vehicles that I have purchased privately. I have not given our my home address to them. When I called the company to "opt-out", they requested even more information such as my social security number, phone number, etc. What I'd like to know is HOW did they get my name and address in the first place, since I am not listed in the phone book and keep my address very private.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dont do it ! Sep 08, 2009

    its a scam out of miami fl

    0 Votes
  • J1
    J1995 Sep 05, 2009

    Im in New Jersey. We got the letter yesterday. I had a very similar feeling to all of you and told them I would call them back and ... VOILA - here you all are confirming my concerns ...
    HOWEVER - I have a question: Does anyone have experience with having committed to this warranty program and benefitted from it?
    In my case my car has 117K miles on it and it is likely to have many problems in the next 5 years - if they make good with their claim, I will probably benefit more than them.

    I think they might have some access to DMV records, similar to some lawyers who will solicit you for their services right after you get a traffic ticket when you thought that no one knew.

    Anybody with experience having cashed in and benefitted from SPD?

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    yamyleth Sep 02, 2009

    I recieved a letter about a car that I never had saying that my factory cover is expired.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    what'sup Aug 28, 2009

    I received a letter saying that the RSX I owned has factory coverate that is expired or about-to-be expired...I have never owned this vehicle. Don't know where they got my name and address, since I have never owned such a car. SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Mg
    MGc Aug 28, 2009

    /29/09 12:15pm
    OMG!! I received the same letter from SPD Warranty Program 300 North Tucker, St Louis, MO [protected]!!! I called spoke to a "Sheana" who was trying to sell me full coverage for 5 years for the amount of $2755 or coverage for just engine and transmission for $2200. I told her I would need to talk it over with my husband, I could not commit to this at this time. I aske if she can send me something via email or regular mail, she said there was nothing to send out. She said I can hold the coverage amount with a deposit of $150 for 30 days and I can canel and get at refund at that time, if I chose to. I still told her that I would have to talk it over, she was not understanding and getting pushy, so I hung up and googled the company and found all the statements of this being a fake!!! wow!!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    From Puerto Rico Aug 27, 2009

    I have received at least 10 - 2nd reminders from this people. I have heard that there are a lot of scams going on from these extended warranty companies, so I decided to do some reserch on them and this was the first site I found. Thank you all for your input. From now on I won't even open them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeCarrlo Aug 27, 2009

    I received a letter in the mail and I called because my 2006 bumper to bumper warranty is about to expire in October. So, I called the first time, and the guy on the other end could not give me pricing, tried to put me on a 12 month to 18 month payment plan - Once I started questioning because this is my third vehicle and I know alittle about the warranty plan - he hung up on me. So, I called back and acted as if I did not call. A BMW extended warranty is 2k, they tried to tell me it would be 5, 995.00 over a 18month, with 595.00 down now and 297.00 a month. I told the guy he was f'ing crazy! He hung up on me... DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY. THE letter was from SPD Warranty Program, 300 North Tucker, St. Louis, MO 63101, phone number [protected].. Do not reply to them..

    0 Votes
  • Bn
    bnelsn Aug 26, 2009

    I agree, I received a letter that my vehicle warranty was about to expire, which it's not because it's a 2008, with less than 30, 000 miles. Also, the letter was addressed to my father, who did not co-sign when I bought the car or the warranty. I already have an extended warranty, that is NOT through this company. They claim that my coverage is expired or about to expire, and that the letter was my second notice, I don't recall receiving the first notice. I do not know how this company got my information about me and my vehicle, and why it is addressed to my father. I just went to the St. Louis BBB website, and SPD Warranty program went to court after being investigated and sued last year. They are NOT BBB accredited, and the BBB gave the company an "F" rating. The site also said that 235 complaints were filed. Everyone please do not respond or do business with this company!!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    get the facts right.... Aug 26, 2009

    I received a letter about an expiring warranty for a car I never owned. Says its a second reminder too. SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    caroljc Aug 25, 2009

    Thank you so much for everyone's comments. I got the same letter. It's now in the circular file!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    UncleAl Aug 23, 2009

    I received one of these letters yesterday too. It didn't even have the right car on it. They said I owned a 2003 Deville. Funny... my car doesn't look like a Cadillac. It still looked like a Scion to me. I will be reporting these idiots.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    captainq02 Aug 23, 2009

    I too just recieved one of these letters. They have the type of vehicle, year and time I've owned it correct. The only way they could get this information is from your Dept. of Licenceing in whatever state you live in. Anyone can get this info for a fee. Anyone who gets one of these letters should call your Attorney General in the state in which you live and report them.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pisd Aug 23, 2009

    I want to know how they get this info. I got a new address, and paid cash for my vehicle 5 years ago in another state from my neighbor. All repairs have been made by me. Now this letter says my ONE MONTH OLD vehicle will expire? No wonder we don't trust anybody.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marsupial Aug 22, 2009

    My scamometer pegged on this warranty program, especially since we never owned the vehicle that the SPD warranty program wanted us to extend our insurance coverage with.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    renllek Aug 22, 2009

    We received the same letter from them yesterday. It is addressed to our Aunt, who past away 4 years ago at 92. It says she has a 2004 Corvette which is too funny because she never learned to drive. I wonder what color Corvette she picked!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe In NC Aug 21, 2009

    Here's a classic. I live in NC and got one of these scam letters today with my name but my sister's car listed. It's obviously bull--it and the only way I can figure it is that I registered my old clunker of a Buick a month ago and they somehow got a hold of a mailing list. Could this be from a DMV? Insurance? I don't know where they got it from.

    Then, when they got a hold of this info I'm assuming they were able to find out what cars are registered to this address and they just picked the newest one.

    Well, she's going to call the dealer and anyway, we're moving today and there won't be any forwarding. I'll let you folks know what the dealer has to say.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich P. in NC Aug 20, 2009

    I also received the same letter and agree with the above comments. Thanks to those of you for taking the time to expose this scam to us who "google" stuff like this before we fall for the charade.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annnoyed Aug 18, 2009

    I just received one of these letters today. The language of the letter is very similar to the annoying phone calls I was receiving over the last year or two on both my cell and unlisted home number. I've talked with others who have also received the phone calls, and it seems these people can and will get at any and all of information that they can find about you. The whole thing really makes me mad, especially when I hear stories like Leeannsu's above. I'm surprised that there hasn't been any crackdown on these people yet. What's taking law enforcement so long?

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leeannsu Aug 18, 2009

    In Kentucky - my sister got scammed yesterday by this company and in less than 3 hours they had taken the deposit from her checking account. They are now telling her she has to wait for the policy to arrive in the mail (up to 10 days) before she can cancel. The bank is telling her she may not get her $500 back because she gave them access to her account. What I don't understand with all these complaints, and it is very obvious they are scamming people, WHY ARE THEY STILL ALLOWED TO OPERATE AS A BUSINESS. I also got a letter but did not fall for the scam. My sister is 68 years old and does not need someone stealing her money this late in life.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.