The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sol Melia Vacation ClubRefused confirmed reservations

I paid to exchange Sol Melia options for MAS points and had a confirmed reservation for friends at Gran Melia Cozumel. Upon arrival, they were told there was no availability and no record of reservations. After presenting confirmation e-mails, speaking with Sol Melia management and hotel staff, my friends were forced to find other accomodations in the area as there was nothing anyone could do to help, EVEN with confirmed reservations!
Sol Melia did not honor the reservation because it had been made through their loyalty program with MAS. What a horrendous experience!

More Sol Melia Vacation Club Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ba
    Balder Feb 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are having the same issues trying to book a week's vacation. We are told that the week we want is fully booked even though rooms are available on the Melia website. The cost of the all inclusive that is not covered is about the same as the cost to book on most sites. This is a major scam and I am sorry we bought into this. If anyone knows how to get out of this please post. Sol Melia gets a D minus from the Better Business Bureau. Wish we new that in advance.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan68 Jan 13, 2016

    Thanks for share and sorry for that, i knew many people that had felt on their scams, so for own experience people should do a deep research before acquire something with those cloaks, searchin on the web i found this..good luck.

    http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/194-sol-melia-timeshare/

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gioamorim Jan 01, 2016

    This vacation club is s total, complete scam! We purchased in punta cana caribe tropical in 2014 after hours of aggressive and deceptive sales pitch. We were told the all-inclusive was included for the home resorts - big fat lie! We went to Cozumel this year using the bonus week we'd received as incentive to close the contact and had to pay the all-inclusive portion, which came out to be pretty much the same amount my friend who was traveling with us had paid on Expedia for her family stay.
    Now we are trying to book the 31, 000 that we just learned will expire - another big lie that we could accumulate points to travel longer periods - and are facing three terrible options: 1) pay $51 to transfer the points to Melia Rewards where our 1 week stay is worth not even two nights at a Melia hotel; 2) pay $250 to transfer to RCI where with our points they only have availability for the next two years on crappy hotels, substantially sub-par to the quality that we were shown in punta Cana and promised - yet another lie - would be the standard of our stays; 3) book a week at home resort but pay the all-inclusive fee separately, which comes to be only a little less than if I went and booked the same thing on Expedia - much less than the two annual maintenance fees of $905 each that we have to pay for these 31, 000 options, let alone the $12, 500 principal!
    At this point we just want a way out of this and never set foot on a Melia property again in our lives!

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    Bshaida Nov 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Having the same nightmare as everyone else in trying to resell my membership. My membership is fully paid up and my week of use is in April 2016. I was told that I can redeposit the points for another two years when it reaches the expiry date of December 2016. To do so, will cost abour $300.00. If I want to convert to MAS points, then that will be $51.00. From past experience, I've learned that MAS points has almost no value!!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vasper Jul 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the worst experience with the customer service department! I paid my balance in full 2 months after I purchased in Punta Cana with the understanding I would accumulate 112, 500 points. When I went to use them they was no record of them! After numerous conversations, with numerous Melia Representatives, I was told that my points expired, ironically the day before! We had no notification that the points expired! Wish I could get out of this...I feel all the promises and incentive were a big scam!

    0 Votes
  • eugeniia Mar 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Taking advantage of the beautiful places they have, Sol Meliá is one of the most fraudulent resorts in the timeshare industry. This timeshare scams are increasing every year, and Sol Meliá timeshare is not the only one, there are a lot of scammer resorts in the timeshare matter.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexandermac Mar 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THey pass themselves off as this distinguished, respectable company when in reality they are a high-pressure sales scam.
    To all, stay away from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arianna Loures Feb 19, 2015

    I stopped paying several months ago because my husband and I realized this was a scam. They told us a laundry list of lies during the presentation such as the all inclusive, the places we could travel, etc. This does not affect your credit score! I would suggest you contact a lawyer to see about a refund. It's pretty sad that they mislead people and take their money.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bichette Jan 20, 2015

    We got our membership this past August and have paid in full. We started looking for oyr next vacation and found out that there are certain times by when we can make reservations depending on the dates we are interested in, then not all resorts are all inclusive (while they had made it a strong convincing factor to seal the deal), we need to pay $95 per person per night plus food which would end up more expensive than getting a package with expedia including Airfare. Besides that, we have the yearly maintenance fee which needs to be paid before we even think of going anywhere.

    Since they had mentioned they could buy us out anytime,   this is what we are requesting but no replies yet from any of them. Going over reviews,   we see that it was just a lie.

    Did anyone dispute the charges and did it affect your score?

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    Luisa R Jul 31, 2014

    I'm also trying to find a way to get out of this contract. We signed up while on vacation in Punta Cana but after doing some research we have learned that this is a big scam. They told us a list of lies when we signed up. Has anyone stopped paying and had it affect there credit score?

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steven Runne Jul 25, 2014

    How do I get out of this contract. I told them I was going to stop payment and they said it would affect my credit score. Is this true??

    0 Votes
  • HUNTER Liars Jul 08, 2013

    ¿Su Club de Viajes es parte de la Familia?

    ¿No?

    ¿Entonces por qué lo mantiene sin recibir NADA a cambio?

    ¿Está harto de seguir poniendo “DINERO BUENO AL MALO”?

    Honorarios sumamente razonables y financiamiento disponible a 12 meses SIN intereses

    Siempre funciona, cuando se sabe lo que se hace.

    + info: [protected] * LADA sin costo: [protected] * www.hlmexico.com.mx

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Creole Translation Feb 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree that people should know the truth. I bought the plan for my family and I regretted it. Presentation was made in French added with Creole translation. The lie was presented in paper in English. We deposited $6000 down and paid for a year of membership until I decided to schedule a vacation on my wife's birthday. I learned about the lie of 100% inclusive in the Dominican Republic. I disputed a year of transactions with my Credit Card company. American Express is very good when it comes to protecting its members interest. I got refunded a full year and I am trying to get the down payment.
    Yes, the resort is beautiful but be careful with the sales pitch. A lot of lies and technically a scam to a certain level.
    Becasue of them, I will never go back to the Dominican Republic!
    Good luck

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisfr Jul 28, 2012

    Sole Melia VC is a rip-off beware we bought ours last year the salesman lie through there teeth. They won't let me out my contract but I
    still will not pat don't care. They think it will go on your credit report but they are wrong just stop paying them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denny B Feb 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have definitely noticed that the points doubled this year, when I asked them if there were any changes besides the name i.e. Sol Melia now is Club Melia and they kind of stammered and said they didn't think so, but I know so. We have owned our Sol Melia vacation club for 5 years and bought at Paradisius DR Palma Real was beautiful there and they promised us the world too. Since buying we have used the club several times but none of the hotels have measured up to Palma Real and this year I have enough points for a room but not enough to pay for the food, after spending what we spent to join it makes me sick. I have found that every representative you get gives you different information, no one seems to know what they're doing and I end up spending several hours on the phone trying to see how many options and MAS points, ITS A NIGHTMARE and every year when I have to make a reservation I get stressed out! We're willing to sell our vacation club, please email me if you're interested [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris511 Aug 01, 2011

    Well if anyone is interested in buying a sol melia vc package. We are definitely interested in selling ours. Anyone interested please email [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danny1885 Jul 18, 2011

    Hi. I have a Sole Melia VC. I purchased a few years back in DR Punta Cana and after booking to go again this year I have noticed that the rate for the all inclusive package for VC members has nearly doubled. Has anyone else had this problem? Dan

    1 Votes
  • Gf
    Gflex Apr 27, 2011

    I would just like to say that because of all the comments, I decided to pull out of the Sol Melia vaction package. When I did so, I had NO hassle at all. They completely reimbursed me, with a smile and in a professional manner. I am still considering purchasing the package, after doing further research.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    powerup Jan 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    we bought the offer package of a low priced hotel in Canary Islands.when 4 different people tried to book varyig dates, they were refused as not available 'hotels full'. THis was a lie for all the hotels for the dates required were available, with hundreds of rooms available. This is a trick to get money and force the purchaser to stay at the hotel when they want! Dont touch the offer, and if this is the way they run their business from the start, the rest must be worse.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Francisco Javier Dec 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all, there is no such thing as a Gran Melia Cozumel, it is the Melia Cozumel All Iclusive Resort, there may have been a confusion on the resorts reserved, and it is your responsibility to assure your accomodations, and for Mr. Torres your compliant is the typical one of all, never finding space or availability, there exist reservation windows, if you need help I`d be more than happy to help in how to dominate your membership and get what it is you seek, sometimes we buy a membership that does not fit the vacation lifestyle rather purchase the one that fits our wallet, heres my email [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    ADJohnson Aug 09, 2010

    My husband and i recently purchased a sol melia time share and realized they are definitely salesmen who lie to get you to join then have so many un documented restrictions that you cant work around. At time of purchase we told them we generally travel from 8 to 14 days and next year plan to travel for two weeks to Europe- They "designed" the package that they said would suit our vacation needs for Europe- however after arriving home and contacting the reps to get a round about estimate on how many of our points we would be using they informed us that they only allow points to be used towards 7 days of travel in Europe. We tried canceling our contract but missed the deadline by 2 days. We are still fighting this issue! My hope is that they will consider our request, but Im not banking on it. Ill probably end up reporting them to the better business burrow and starting a campaign against their hotels if the issue isn't rectified.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    FranciscoTorres Jul 07, 2010

    Sol Melia
    This has got to be the worst service in the world. They claim to have received an award for "customer service" but they must have purchased it.
    We brought a 1 bedroom unit that was suppose to be available anytime we wanted to use it. We tried securing a vacation and were told it was not available.
    There units are only available when they want you to go on vacation, and at peak points. They are the most un-professional, condesending group I have ever had the misfortune of knowing. They lie right to your face during the buying procedure, anything you want, anything you need. We have tried to cancel our property but to no avail, we will prevail in the long run.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.