Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Food & Beverages Seattle Direct Coffee Excessive charges

Seattle Direct Coffee review: Excessive charges

C
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Like the other person listing on this site, I foolishly signed up for two lbs of coffee and a grinder for $9.99... imagine my surprise when, like that other person, I was charged $34 and, like them, have received two more shipments in the space of one month. The base price is reasonable, but they kill you on shipping and handling...each shipment costing $34 for 2 lbs or less of coffee. I've called 4 times trying to get my name off their list, called my credit card company (who says I have to give them 30 days to give me credit on the original charge... while they continue to pile up further charges.

Please tell everyone you know, let's put these jerks out of business.

ADVERTISIMENT
68 comments
Add a comment
G
Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am EDT

Ordered 2 bags of coffee plus "free" coffee grinder for $9.95. They charged my ATM card $34.00 for this, plus signed me up for their "coffee club" and in the past month have charged my ATM card $38.95 for 2 lbs. of coffee TWICE! I called the company and they canceled my membership. My bank advised that I cancel my ATM card to stop the charges. I filed a fraud report with the bank and they gave me a temporary credit for the two $38.95 charges while they investigate. DON'T GET HOOKED BY THESE CROOKS!

S
Jan 19, 2010 11:04 pm EST

Like so many others, I ordered the intial product and then kept receiving more coffee at $34.00 a pop. I sent the shipments back and requested my account be closed - this was back in June/09. Then, to my surprise, in December/09, I started receiving the product again - two shipments within a week of each other - and charges on my credit card of $79.00 per shipment. I called on Dec. 24th and actually spoke with a person (Cynthia), who said they were trying to close my account but accidentally reactivated it ... I don't understand how that can happen. I was told my account was cancelled, given a cancellation number and sent a confirming email. I was also told my credit card would be credited "once the appropriate person/people return to the office after the Christmas holiday". No credit to my charge card ... it is now Jan. 19/10 and I cannot get a person on the telephone. I have written to my credit card company, but the charges are still on my account. Seattle Direct and all its affiiliates (or aliasas) need to be shut down.

S
Dec 23, 2008 5:23 pm EST

I thought I was ordering $5 promotion which included two bags of cofffee and two travel mugs. I find out later that they charged $25 and then $38.95 each month. They are total shameless scammers - when I called them and got a hold of a representative, he told me that I missed the fine print. Man, I never miss the fine print, EVER. And they don't know anything about how to select or roast coffee beans. Their coffee sucks. Seriously, how can they call themselves "Seattle" Direct?! STAY AWAY!

N
Jul 16, 2009 3:22 pm EDT

They put charges on my card that were not authorized. They put four charges on my card in three days time. Then when I called to complain the customer service department refused to let me speak with anyone who could help me. The person I did speak with ID# 3005 claimed that there was no one in existence that could help me. That there was no one higher in the company that could give me a refund of the money they stole from me! Don't you think if she was the highest person in the company she could give a refund of stolen money?

DO NOT EVER DO BUSINESS WITH THESE CROOKS!

I
Jan 16, 2009 6:32 pm EST

thought I was to receive 2 one pound bags of coffee, two thermal travel mugs, and two cups for $4.99, but was charged .20 international fee, $25.00 the same day order was placed(Jan 7, 2009), another charge of $38.95 within three days (Jan 10, 2009).
Received coffee, mugs and cups without a statement enclosed.

W
Jan 09, 2008 12:00 am EST

SeattleDirectCoffee has sent 3 shipments of coffee which was returned marked return to sender;however, they have debited my account for $48.95 three times. I never received an invoice or account number from these people. I am currently trying to recover my money.

Wanda Kindell.

S
Dec 04, 2007 12:00 am EST

Total rip off. Huge shipping costs. Coffee at about the going rate. NOT EVEN IN SEATTLE.

M
Dec 30, 2009 7:10 am EST

Twice, I was shipped 1 pound of coffee with a coffee mug that I did not order. They then charged my credit card $79.00.

When calling their 800 number (which I did 6 times) you never get a live operator and are asked to leave a message and they will call you back. Never received a call back.

Avoid this company - please!

C
Jul 16, 2008 8:18 am EDT

I ordered coffee and mugs for $25.00. 4 days later there is an additional $48 charge for something I have no idea what it is. I have not ordered anything else.

K
Dec 30, 2009 2:54 pm EST

There thieves took $277 unauthorized out of my bank account after sending me numerous packages I did not authorize. I was told by Jeanette, the supervisor I would have my money back after they received their merchandise within 10 days. They received all their merchandise back on October 28, 2009. I have called more than 14 times and on today, December 30, 2009, I still have not received my refund. Since I work for attorneys, we are filing suit against these jerkoffs!

D
Dec 21, 2009 9:31 am EST

They charge me $79 and I didn't order anything. I tried talking to my bank (wachovia) and they are not helping me get my money back either. I don't know if I'll ever see the money again. I've talk to Seattle Coffee direct and they told me it was a "computer problem". They also told me that they would return my money in a month. I finally got help with this through wachovia, but I had to do it on the phone. So I hope no one else has to go through this. Merry Christmas

L
Dec 14, 2009 5:04 pm EST

they lie! they charged me 3 times, never crediting my account for returning the coffee and now a year later i get a charge for $79! dont order from them ever!

B
Dec 11, 2009 5:44 pm EST

I have received yet another unauthorized shipment from Seattle Coffee Direct. I contacted them the last time I received 2 bags of coffee priced at $79.00 each. After 2 days of calling attempts, I finally spoke with a customer service person and I was told that I would receive a refund within 5 business days. It is nearly ONE MONTH later and I've still not received a refund.

Today's shipment included a travel mug as well as another bag of coffee.

I am contacting my bank to report this company as well as contacting my attorney.

L
Dec 11, 2009 12:02 pm EST

RE: Seattle Coffee Direct

I would like to add that all I wanted was, a pair of cups and samples of tea they said would cost only $2.? for shipping . I then got a charge to my bank of $79.00 for bags of tea ...I called back and got them to refund me the money .
Then 3 months later they charge me again another $79.00 for one bad of tea..
I called them they say yes I had cancelled, but another system in there data base said I was still active...and that they would delete me from there database, but yet after more than 5 days no refund...
I have made numerous calls, a few time I was told what there policies are . had disagreements with there customer reps, they were rude ...to me it seems that they are stealing money from . maybe a lawsuit will help me . I am thinking of asking for $80, 000.00 for the inconvinience and trouble they have caused me .

S
Dec 09, 2009 7:18 am EST

I was charged for 2 shipments that left the ware house the same day or day after I went online to check out their site. I only drink maybe, 1 cup a day. So, why would I order 2 shipments before I even got the trial of the coffee. I am out +/- $90.00. When I called in July...they were going to refund me my money, but it would take billing cycles. I HAD TO CHANGE ALL MY BANK INFORMATION SO THEY WOULD STOP CHARGING MY ACCOUNT!
Had I knonw this was just a scam, I would not have even tried their coffee. Attorney general of NC and the BBB have been contacted. I have a cousin that is an attorney...Guess I'll have to sick him on them...any one else suing?

B
Dec 08, 2009 3:31 pm EST

My husband got a call from his credit card company about a $79 charge from Seattle Direct Coffee. Since he didn't authorize the charge, they flagged it as fraud. Then today, he received a package from Cafe Saporito. I'd really like to know how they got his card number since we've never ordered from these companies, let alone even heard of them. These are criminals and need to be thrown in jail! Thankfully, our credit card company caught it and have issued a new card so we shouldn't have to worry about any more charges. I'm still going to check it regularly and do everything in my power to stop these low-lifes from scamming more people.

W
Dec 08, 2009 12:30 pm EST

I too feel into this SCAM. I was charged $38.95 on 8/12, 8/15, and 8/18. I called to cancell and was told they would. I received coffee on each of these days. I asked them where to send back which I did. To this date I haven't received a refund. Now, e-mailing chicago.bbb.org, along with ftc.gov (federal trade commissison).

L
Nov 19, 2009 10:17 am EST

I sent two letters to this company - and they still send me stuff and charge my credit card!

No email or contact info on website and they don't answer their phone.

My bank is good and we have been disputing the charges. I just filed a complaint with the IL Attorney General - if enough people do that perhaps they will take action.

Takes two minutes to fill out the froms - here is link:

http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/consumers/conscomp.pdf

K
Nov 11, 2009 3:16 am EST

I have never ordered from them, they got ahold of my credit card and charged 79.00 dollars, for some coffee... I called my bank right away, they said I have to wait for 30 days for them to refund it, when I called them they said it was a mistake and it will be refunded dec 1st 2009, thats crazy it came out nov 2 2009, I had to change all bankin cards and everything. Never Ever Order Coffee For this Company.

B
Nov 08, 2009 12:11 pm EST

I FIRST GOT THIS $2 OFFER AND YOUR ARE GIVEN 14DAYS TO CANCEL, BEFORE I COULD CANCEL WHICH WAS TWO DAYS LATER FROM THE ORIGIN ORDER, THEY CHARGED MY ACCOUNT 38.95, I HAD TO GET A REPLACEMENT CARD, I HAD TO CALL MY BANK, AND NOW ALMOST 4MOS LATER THEY'VE GONE IN AND CHARGED MY ACCOUNT.79.95 FOR MORE COFFEE. THIS COFFEE IS NOT THAT GREAT, ESPECIALLY FOR 79.95. I'D LIKE TO KNOW WHO CAN WE CALL OR GET IN TOUCH WITH TO TELL OUR CONCERNS .

T
Nov 02, 2009 10:57 am EST

Same thing happened to me; I signed up for a free trial, followed by a semi-monthly plan (unless I cancel). Two days after signing up, they sent out TWO shipments at $39.95 per. They had changed the agreed upon terms from semi-monthly to twice per week without my knowledge or consent. When I called to cancel, I told them I intended to refuse delivery and they agreed they would issue a credit for both upon return receipt of the product. Here it is 6 months later and I am STILL fighting for a refund for products never received on a plan I never agreed to.

With the way they rip of consumers, they should not be allowed to do business.

D
Oct 22, 2009 4:04 pm EDT

yup.
facebook games.
take a quick survey, drop 9.99 on a product...

I figured out today what was going on.

call 1: busy
call 2:office hours are 10-6 pm eastern time (it was 330pm est) our offices are closed.
call 3: got a rep.
sure, we will cancel your acct, and their will be no charges.
you will have an email with a confirmation number.
(surely withing 2 minutes I had an email)

so, if I dont come back...assume it worrked

C
Oct 20, 2009 9:15 am EDT

OMG I too got sucked . When I tried to return my shipments I received after I cancelled they told me no.
SHAME ON THEM>.

J
Oct 14, 2009 7:02 pm EDT

I have several charges I did not authorize on my card and can not get through to this company every time i call
it tells me they are not open today. and the number on the web site contact us is dissconnected.

G
Oct 13, 2009 4:54 pm EDT

totall crap, , trying to call now, , no answer, , and pick ups just to get disconected, , ..they were fast to charge and never even notified me of getting a delivery, , ..high dollar coffee, , crap service, , scam rip off, , headache

V
Oct 08, 2009 1:00 pm EDT

The same thing happened to me, and when I called they said they would cancel but they have charged me $160 total and keep shipping me the same thing over and over again. My bank account has now been put into the hole by -60

R
Sep 20, 2009 12:53 am EDT

We were also screwed. I was doing a survey and reward thing and signed up to sample coffee for $1.00 sipping cost. Once they got the information from our account we recieced 2 broken white coffee cups. Two thermal mugs and 2 bags of coffee. When our statement came for that month we have been charged 3 differfant amounts in one month, plus the one dollar.

C
Aug 31, 2009 12:19 pm EDT

I have been trying to get a refund back from Seattle Coffee since June. I called today 9/31/09 and was told by a supposed manager that I would see my refund in 48-72 hours and that a return authorization was sent to my bank. I called my bank and they have no return authorization. I am sending a complaint to the IL Attorney Generals Office today regarding this scam company.

T
Jul 07, 2009 4:58 pm EDT

I just got scammed by this company as well. I got suckered into the www.chooseyourcolor.com for a free laptop. Of course, I received two samples of coffee and two mugs for $2.97 shipping. When I saw the additional two charges of $38.95, I was informed by the company that 3 shipments were on their way...within 5 days of each other! I of course am disputing the charges with my bank, and the supervisor at Seattle Direct Coffee I spoke with was a jerk! She said their website and terms and conditions identify they will only do store credit, no refunds! She is lying! Their own order form says if you are not satisified, you can send back any unused coffee for a FULL REFUND! I recommend that everyone who got scammed be sure to dispute the charges! I don't know yet if I will get my money back from the bank, but it's worth a try. What a horrible company!

A
Jul 04, 2009 1:51 pm EDT

Here is information, they are doing another 'scam' to get people. It is too bad! I used to buy the coffee, not anymore!

This is a complaint about the company from a blog:::::::::::::::

'I 'play' myfarm on facebook. It's silly, but somehow kinda addicting. I'm trying, and going to wean myself from it because it's mindless and a time-sucker. Maybe. Anyway, there are certain things that you can only acquire with 'farm credits' or real money, and I'm not paying real money. I've never wanted to do the surveys or try the offers to earn credits because I thought they'd be scams or attack me with spam. I really did want the farm credits. One day I saw an offer for Seattle's Best coffee from SeattleCoffeeDirect.com, also known as WorldBeanCafe.com. For $5 you'd get thousands of farm credits, 2-12 oz. bags of Seattle's Best coffee, 2 travel mugs and 2 mugs. The offer said you could cancel at any time, so I went ahead and signed up, knowing I would cancel right away. I got my credits and had fun 'buying' stuff. I received my shipment. Before I could cancel my membership, I got another shipment containing 2-12 oz bags of coffee. I immediately contacted SeattleCoffeeDirect.com and canceled my membership. I got a confirmation number. They told me another shipment was already en route. Not wasting any time, huh? They told me I could send the coffee back and my account would be credited. As soon as it arrived I paid over $8 in shipping fees and sent the 4 bags of coffee back to SeattleCoffeeDirect.com. I paid for delivery confirmation, so I know they got their stupid coffee back. Yesterday I received my credit card statement. I was charged $25 for the $5 offer. I was charged $38.95 each for the next two shipments that I sent back. I was charged another $38.95 for a 4th shipment that was dated after I canceled and that I never received. I was fuming. I left a message with them yesterday and today (July 4) a 'manager' called me. I am no meek mouse when it comes to stuff like this. Her concession? She'll give me a $10 credit on the initial offer. She said I didn't read the fine print. I didn't realize I'd have to go to their website first to find the fine print. She said I'll receive a credit of $77.90 in 72 hours. I'll receive a credit of $48.95 by August 4. I told her that as far as I was concerned her company was out to scam people. That if 1 in 15 people did not check over their credit card statements they'd be making a fortune and that's what they probably count on. She had no explanation for the 4th shipment that I was charged for and never got. I do. Don't you? If you see an offer from SeattleDirectCoffee.com, stay far, far away."

J
Jun 17, 2009 12:10 pm EDT

The same thing has happened to me. Unauthorized charges and when I called the company the man was extremely rude and hung up on me. I am filing a fraud claim through my bank and reporting them to the BBB.

K
May 29, 2009 7:52 am EDT

Well I would say I learned something new by reading the complaints. But, alas I should stand in line with everybody else. I too was suckered into buying into an ad they were running on a web site I frequent. I get 5 lbs of coffee for $25, sounds great right. Wrong, I got 2 travel mugs, 2 coffee cups and 1 1/2 lbs of coffee in the first shipment and a shipping and handling fee of $34.95? Well, 4 shipments later and $34.95 each I received my 5 lbs. I refused anymore coffee deliveries via UPS, and called them and cancelled everything. I informed the person I had received my 5 lbs and that's all I wanted. She told me I would be getting twice monthly shipments at $35 a wack for shipping. Needless to say the 2 shipments I sent back still have not been credited to my account. They need to be reported to someone with some *&*&^ who can run them out of business.
Kevin (taken for a ride in Louisiana)

V
Apr 10, 2009 8:46 am EDT

Well I called and they did give me a return number that had to put on two sides of the box I was returning it in. I was smart enough to send it with a delivery confirmation because when I called them they said they didn't get it back. I told them I had confirmation that it was delivered and on what date and time and I was told they would request that a refund get processed. As of today I still have no refund! It's been weeks and when I call to check on it the person on the phone just said "your not the only return we have to process". It sure took them no time to take the money out of my account 3 times in on month. I wonder how long it will be to get it back. I agree these people are taking us all for a ride. If there is a class action law suit I am in!

L
Mar 17, 2009 10:17 am EDT

These guys completely suck...what a horrible way to earn money. Such a scam!

C
Mar 14, 2009 12:31 pm EDT

THESE GUYS ARE CROOKS! Neither my husband nor I drink coffee and neither of us signed up for anything. They still won't tell me how they got my bank card number but you can bet that I had it changed pronto. We have returned everything they sent us (three shipments in about ten days) over a month ago and we still haven't received our money back. We have had to contact our bank and get them involved. The company reps still claim that they have not received the packages we returned (unopened) and that it usually takes about four weeks when you return to sender. (MORE B. S.)

My husband likes the idea someone had of getting a group together and kicking their ### but that would only make a bad situation worse. Someone should tell the city of Seattle that these ###s give the city a bad name.

R
Mar 06, 2009 5:34 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This is a letter that I wrote to these jerks. Obviously I left out my personal info for this post.

I called to cancel my account (the first time) after my first order. Someone apparently didn't care that I cancelled, and billed me for/sent me more coffee anyway. The second time I called to cancel, I was told to just ship the coffee back and I'd get a full refund. Well, I did that, and instead of a refund, I was charged a SECOND TIME! I have the credit card statements to prove it.

If I don't hear from you soon, I will report your company to the better business bureau, and refuse the charges on my credit card, and have bank of america go after you for their money.

To avoid bad publicity, I strongly suggest that you CALL me: or email me at my NON SPAM account:

Sincerely,

L
Feb 06, 2009 2:23 pm EST

thats exactly what they did to me same promotion. now they debited my account and wont refund the returned coffee.

L
Jan 30, 2009 3:58 pm EST

The same thing happened to me. I called them and they told me to return the coffee and they'd reimburse the $38.95 charge. I returned the coffee, they recieved it on 1/5/2009 and I'm still waiting for my credit card to be reimbursed.

C
Jan 24, 2009 10:21 am EST

I ordered two coffees, 2 travel mugs and 2 coffee mugs on another web site, and after I received those, I continued to receive coffee, getting charged $38 per week. I called and cancelled. The next day, they took another charge out, did not send coffee (not that I wanted it, it is not that great). I called again, and spoke to Angelina, who seems to be the only person manning customer service. I was to fax a copy of my bank statement showing that they did charge me. I did this on November 6. I heard nothing back, so I called again and again. Finally, during my christmas break, she said I would be refunded my money. Well obviously that hasn't happened. I am mailing out the coffee I received, a copy of my fax and the information, and I am returning it for a refund. I highly doubt I will get one, but I am attempting to do it anyway. By the way, anyone who has gotten the offer on another website, will have a hard time convincing Angelina that it did not direct you to the Seattle Direct website, which I did not see.

J
Nov 08, 2008 1:51 pm EST

I called them. Cancelled my order. Then they charged me the following month. Is that legal?

ADVERTISIMENT
ADVERTISIMENT