The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
SCS BuildersBad contractor

Cal Spoon was hired by the Searcy family in Odessa Texas in October of 2007 to build a new 2 story home. Instead he built a metal shell with no footing under the building. To give you an idea on how bad it is, the average footing for this type of structure, according to a structural engineer that checked the damage, suggested 2 feet at the main beams and 16 inches else ware. My Spoon gave us 4 inches at one end and 8 at the other. Why the varying in thickness? Well he also did not level the ground out. We ended up spending about $60, 000 extra to repair everything. What all was wrong? First the framing was removed because they gave my 2 children both 8x8 ft jail cell rooms. My entry way was to small to fit a stair case unless it covered the main window in the living room. The welding was almost non-existent, especially where we had to get a ladder to check. The windows were the wrong ones and we told Mr. Spoon this many times and later we found that they were also against code. We found electrical ran through jagged metal that was attached to flimsy framing.

I am one of 5 people that I know Sonny Cal Spoon(SCS Builders) has screwed over in the Permian Basin. I met a woman that on her project they were reusing material from a very old building to cut expenses. I met another woman that was getting a $10, 000 custom cabnit job, Cal instead bought Home Depot cabenits and stained them and left before the woman could return.

Sonny Cal Spoon is a criminal and I would not do business with him or anyone linked to SCS builders. He took over $60, 000 from me and will not pay me back. I am suing him and even with all the evidence, he tells my lawyer that we do not know what we are talking about and that its not that bad. I have hundreds of pictures and a video that I will be posting on websites in the future, the same pictures and video sent to SCS. From were I stand, Cal seems to think that he is untouchable or even "god-like". People like this are the worst and because of him my 3 year old and 6 month old baby do not have a home. We have been working with a good contractor for a few months to get it fixed but we did not really have the money to do the whole job all at once. Right now 2 adults and 2 children live in one room and share a bath with 2 other adults... thanks CAL! Cal told us the house would be done on Jan 1st so we put in our 2 months notice for our apartment. If he wouldnt of lied I would of at least not been homeless. Despite what we found, he also didnt work on our job for over a month after he got the majority of the money. If you would like the information to these videos, please email me at kc222224 AT gmail.com

Responses

  • Jo
    john hindman Aug 29, 2012

    I would like to see a list of bad texas contractors
    two poeple who should be on this list are
    Ted McCollom in seabrook & Ishmeal Mendez in houston

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonymous Mar 27, 2009

    lol well it sounds like the last comment by Kevin, was written by a lawyer. I guess he got a settlement check.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Mar 27, 2009

    Retracting previous Statements by the Searcy family:

    I previously submitted an on-line complaint against SCS Builders, Inc. and Cal Spoon regarding work the preformed for me in Odessa, Texas. I never intended to make and false statements regarding SCS Builders or Cal Spoon, nor did I intend to initiate or procure criminal prosecution of same. Since that time, howeve, SCS Builders and Cal Spoon have worked with me to reach an amicable resolution regarding my concerns in this matter and I am satisfied with the outcome that was reached between me, SCS Builders and Cal Spoon. Therefore, I retract and/or withdraw any and all staements regarding SCS Builders and Cal Spoon that may be viewed by third parties as negative or derogatory.

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Lind Dec 26, 2008

    Yes, Cal Spoon is a criminal, with a history of theft and time served to boot. He took advantage of us as well. We decided to use him because he is family of my daughters boyfriend. It all started well, bur work became sloppy, poor craftsmanship, things were stolen, he promised to replace those itms and to "make it right" that was over 1 1/2 years ago. we are still waiting. My custom cabinets were really fouled up. my bathroom expansion is cracking, at the new foundation, and it will probably collapse. Everytime I look at the things he screwed up, I get sick. My granite got scratched because he put tools on it, he dented my brand new professional stainless steel appliances, not to mentions not properly installing them.
    there were ciggarettes all over the place, and he was told no smokinh in the house. The only time we saw him, was when he came around to get money. We would then see him in big new shiny trucks. and cars with vanity plates, and his wife even got a bood job. But he ran out of money to do the job right. I feel sorry for anyone who did business with this crook.
    With his own home, no expenses were spared. He is all flash and no substance. His own family wont have anything to do with him.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    robert Oct 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sonny Calvin Spoon of SCS Builders is either the dumbest contractor to ever sign his name on a contract or he is a plain everyday lowlife criminal. You will get what you have coming to you.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anynomous Sep 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He's pretty much the biggest piece of ### to grace the world with his presence. Cal, if you're reading this... ### YOU!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Searcy Jul 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    while Cal Spoon did offer $30, 000 as a settlement, that wouldn't even come close to the amount that it cost to FIX SCS's mistakes, much less finish the project that SCS was under contract to complete. thats like paying for a mansion and getting an outhouse. This is a home for my family, my 3 year old and my newborn baby daughter, all of whom, are homeless due to Cal Spoon.

    as for the people that we did not mention, they are in the process of filing legal action against him as well, and wish to be unnamed by suggestion of their lawyers.

    Cal Spoon has criminal charges pressed on him in the city of Andrews, Texas for writing hot checks, over $12, 000 worth.

    The insurance claim provider that he speaks of above is State Farm, who, has since dropped him from their list of recommended contractors. Call them and ask why. They have received numerous complaints of horrible work.

    I don't need to lie. I have proof. all of whom wish to contact me and receive pictures and video of their horrible work can contact me at kc222224 at gmail.

    here is just a sample:
    remember the "almost nonexistent welds" that i spoke of??
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/2707771045/

    look at how much was unwelded:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/2707770627/

    remember how i mentioned the fact that we had NO FOOTING for our two story building?? The structural engineer dug a portion of this himself:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/2708587450/

    heres the best view, to give you a better idea when i say how thin it was:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/2708586688/

    and because we had no rebar and wire mesh that was useless, we had to dig a trench down the center 2 feet deep with rebar so our house wouldnt fall. and while we did that we also had to fix the plumbing. this is with the plumbing being fixed, you can see the trench really well here.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/2707768331/

    for that alone we had to rent a saw to cut the cement, plus additional blades, pay for rebar, fix the plumbing, add traps, pay for cement to re fill it, including the truck, and not to mention labor for all of this. and this is just to fix 1/100th of the mistakes he made, and he offers $30, 000 and wonders why we refuse it???

    make me a real offer Cal.

    I will let everyone know about the death trap you tried to give us. People will know.

    for more information please contact me. Please help me get the word out on criminal contractors!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cal Spoon Jul 23, 2008

    Not all is as it seems
    1. Searcy “ Unfortunately, they do have a legitimate complaint to some extent. We had several problems on this job. But we have also tried to take care of them as well. My attorney and I have been working on this for a while. Most of the things they said in complaints are untrue; however, we do have mistakes that we are clearly liable for. I will later attach copies of our efforts to resolve this, including a formal offer of $30, 000.00 to take care of our issues. Also, they mentioned five people but only listed 3, themselves, the cabinet woman, and the re-used material person, I will explain each one in turn.
    2. Cabinet woman “ This job was an insurance claim through a major provider. The client met with me several times at my office, where they were shown the cabinets from Home Depot, which we have installed in the kitchenette at the office. (These are not junk cabinets; they are oak faced with a raised panel, and stain grade.) They were fully aware of the cabinets we were installing. The estimate was done on Xactimate, which is required by the insurance provider, and lists a detailed explanation of every line item and how much is allotted for that item. The cabinets were approved before we ever took the job; those cabinets were the only ones within their budget. I am will also post a copy of this if neccessary. (the Xactimate estimate)
    3. Re-Used materials “ This job was contracted to change a fifty year old metal gas station into a modern Starbucks like Coffee shop. The used materials they are talking about were the responsibility of the owner to purchase, not SCS. They had an area on North side of building that had rotted out due to water damage. No one was aware of this until after we signed contracts. I told the Re-Used materials family that if they would purchase the material, I would furnish the labor. I will also mention that we have filed a complaint with the Andrews Police Department for theft against the Re-Used materials family. They stole approximately $1500.00 worth of Austin white stone from SCS. We have also had to file a lien against the property for approximately $65, 000.00 that is still owed to SCS for work already completed.

    The one thing these three jobs have in common is a subcontractor, Mario Sanchez, who worked on all three. We found out too late that he was sabotaging us on every job he was on, trying to get the client to fire us and hire him, he was successful with the Searcy family, and I believe they got robbed for it with higher prices than we had originally charged. We have done cost analysis for the things we have had to redo that he was paid good money for, it exceeds $20, 000.00 before we touch the Searcy project. We have paid these cost, because it is ultimately my responsibility. Also, I find it ironic that he orginally did alot of the work they claimed faulty, then they hired him and paid approximately $42, 500.00 in labor only. That doesn't quite make sense.

    We have successfully completed well over 100 contracts since opening our doors, with these complaints, that's still a 97% satisfaction rate, which is not bad. Although, in all honesty, it is probably more like 80% to 90% satisfaction rate. We are human and we have made mistakes, but we have also tried to repair anything that was our fault, even when it has cost us money.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.