The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Riverstone Residential SeattleIllegal Business Practices

This company is the pits. They do not return the security deposit or inform the tenant of why they are keeping it within the 14 days required by law. Then they not only keep the deposit but also add more charges. When you try and query it they don't pick up the phone, return calls or reply to emails. When eventually you do speak to someone they have such an arrogant manner and their reply is to 'sue us but we are still taking you to collections for the $60 we think you should pay over and above keeping your security deposit'. Their attitude stinks and one can only hope that one day there will be a class action suit against this company.

Responses

  • Th
    The violinist Nov 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Are you guys still working on a class action against riverstone? I lived at the museum place aparents in Portland, OR from July 2003 to June 2015. When I first moved in it was an EXCELLENT management team called Guardian, very personable and actually DID customer service.Riverstone took over and RIGHT AWAY they kicked all the management out that was living on the property out and FIRED the onsite maintenance DURING THE HOLIDAYS and RAISED everyone's rent 600 dollars so they were forced to move out. Things continued to go downhill like a speeding bullet, They re designed the entire entertainment area BIG TIME deconstronstructing EVERYTHING then had to stop cause they ran out of electrical energy and budget, also have been caught talking about tenants behind their back, I was forced to move out because my partner whom I was living with became abusive physically and got a restraining order and also changed my locks and asked for him to be taken off
    Of the lease, I was told that he could not be removed which cannot be right, I got the locks changed but one day I got a phone call while I was away and despite the restraining order, I guess it ended but I still got this call while I was working, it was the manager Katie newsome saying that she has to give him keys to the apartment, I was like WWTTFFF I raced home packed a suitcase took important things and fled, my life is more important. Another instance he tried to steal a check of mine but I had it reversed real quick but at the same time I had to pay rent, it was my SSD check so I ended thinking quick and on the spot ran to the social security office and said I need a new pay for my account since he tried to steal out of our joint by taking my name off but I had to pay rent that day at the same time so I needed to do something asap. Normally re checks take 24-48 hours so I had a SS rep call the manager and the manager argued HARDCORE with the poor Social Security gal on the phone, it got to the point where the Social Security gal told Katie she could report her but Katie didn't care at all. Also, when I was living there with my ex he burnt the cheap counter laminent he forgot to put a coaster or plate under the candle and there was a golf ball size burn well, when I fled the bill that I got was for 3000 dollars, I couldn't clean cause I had to flee but 3000 for a golf ball size burn? And they ALWAYS charged for carpet cleaning even though they changed all the floors to hardwood. If you would like to get ahold of me my e mail is: [email protected] SO, now this 3000 dollar collection is on my credit and I can't afford it and IT WASNT ME I will be happy to join you in your action

    -The violinist

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leaben Mar 28, 2015

    I had a walk through completed and no paperwork done at the time to show potential charges then was surprised when they not only decided to take our entire deposit, but also charged us an additional 2k for replacing the carpet.. in an apartment. I initially tried to make monthly payments to avoid having this reported to my credit but then I found out they were reporting it anyhow. They are arrogant, rude, and act like this is typical practice for rental companies.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissMyatt Jun 20, 2014

    Kristina's supervisor's name is Alicia Overstreet. Alicia's direct number is [protected] and her email address is [email protected] Also, Kristina's direct number is [protected], if you don't have it. Yes, I've dealt with them with positive results although Kristina can be a bit of an assy ###, but then that's just the nature of the collections business, which is the genre that RRG falls in. They are trained to have no soul. I had to let Kristina know in a kind way that she was being an ### and she apologized and made things right for me. Thank God I paid it all off.

    Just continue pursuing the situation through legal means and, as long as you are totally in the right, you'll get retribution.

    Hope this all helps you guys.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    Tcinthecou May 16, 2014

    I too have had the unpleasant task of speaking with Kristina Barney. I had to get an attorney to deal with her. Riverstone is trying to charge me a reletting fee of $500 because I left my lease 3 weeks early. After living at the residence for 12 years. This would be ok, except that it is illegal in Washington state to charge that type of fee. Kristina told my attorney to "prove it and good luck". We are filing a lawsuit against Riverstone and Kristina.. Anyone care to join the suit? Make it a class action?.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    I HATE RIVERSTONE RES Apr 21, 2014

    I totally agree this company should be taken to court. I just had a conversation with Kristina Barney which said on speaker in front of third party witnesses that her company Riverstone Residential Group "doesn't have to follow the law "and that she wasn't required to call me back or respond to e mails or reply to mail that i had sent her. I then tried to contact her Supervisor and what do you know they don't call me back, The short story is that i broke my lease and had to pay two month penalty plus they kept my entire deposit and charged me up the ### to fix the place up after i left the place in great condition and professionally cleaned they still charged me to clean. This company should be sued and all the management should be fired. All i wanted for them to do is make the up charges reasonable and i am willing to pay the amount due in full instead they avoid me and cant even disclose what collection agency the debt is with i am so pissed i am now willing to come out of pocket and sue this idiots suggestions for lawyers that have already sued ? on top of this they didn't even give me a move out statement within the 14 days

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RippedOffByRiverstone Jan 10, 2013

    Riverstone is an unscrupulous management company, that will go to any lengths to keep your deposit and charge more when you move out. I was promised by email that if I allowed the maintenance staff to enter my apartment a week before my lease was up, I would have the last week of my paid rent prorated. The maintenance staff did make use of the apartment for painting etc., yet when I moved out I never received a refund for that week. Not, only that they did not return my deposit, for an apartment that was immaculately cleaned, and charged me $200 for a closet door that they claimed was cracked (no crack existed). I contacted the management company, and they claimed that they were not able to rent the apartment as early as they wanted, so they would not give me a proration for it's use, Although, I found out that a new resident moved in a day after my lease was up. So they benefited a weeks worth of rent, by preparing this apartment for my last week that I paid. I asked the management how they treat there customers like this and she replied that it does not matter, because I am not a resident anymore, and that they would be submitting by bill to collections, and then hung up the phone on me. I called back again and asked for record of the maintenance staff entering my apartment, and she said that I would have to get a subpoena, then hung up.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KatysExposure Apr 14, 2010

    For more about Riverstone Residential and their illegal actions go to http//katysexposure.wordpress.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.