The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Retro Doggy RescueConnie Kramer

I had sent an inquiry to Retro Doggy Rescue about a dog they had up for adoption at petfinder.com and the E-Mails go as follows:

To Whom It May Concern:
We came across little Sherlock on Petfinder.com and were wondering if he was still available to be adopted? We currently have a cat that we really needs a buddy and we would love to have another pet. We purchased our first home about a month ago and it has a HUGE yard, perfect for any size dog. If you could please provide us with any additional Information, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much!

Response:
Do you have any yorkie experience? Sherlock will chase cats-how about one of our other dogs?

My Response:
I can't believe that you would suggest another dog. Is the cute little Yorkie just a draw in for you to sell other dogs? We inquired about this dog because we wanted THIS dog. If I would want another dog I would have e-mailed you about it.
Have a nice day and don't bother responding!

Response: Jennifer, are you an idiot or do you just disregard information that you don't want to hear. Since you seem to have no regard for the welfare of your cat, you will be placed on a DNA (Do Not Adopt To) list for all creditable rescues to see.

My Response:
Really Connie you are a joke!
I care for my cat more than anything else and who are you to call me an Idiot! Great service! No wonder you have so many pets to be adopted...because you don't wanna give them up. I think it's rude for you and your company to make judgements off of someone to say that this dog was not right for us just because we stated we have a cat. You don't know the personality of our cat and you don't know us..so who are you to pass judgement like that upon someone that wants to love and care for another animal. This is rediculous...and you guys should be out of business! God bless those poor animals that are in your care and will never find homes with people like you working there. Do me a favor and don't e-mail me again or I will report you for harrassment..THANK YOU!

Response:
I spoke to soon..you are a beyond an idiot. Do not bother to respond, your e-mails are blocked.

THESE PEOPLE SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO RUN THE BUSINESS THAT THEY ARE RUNNING! THOSE POOR ANIMALS WILL NEVER FIND LOVING HOMES WITH A WOMAN LIKE THIS WORKING THERE!

Responses

  • Ma
    Mammiepin Dec 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I know that this post is old BUT...I totally think Connie and her organization have the dog's AND potential owner's post interest at heart. They do a thorough investigation before placing a dog. And yes, this means considering personalities and other animals in the potential home. I have adopted, my sister and a friend have also adopted from this wonderful group. They are volunteers and do not make a penny from placing a dog. I personally know one of the foster moms from this group. She spends so much time, love and loads of her own money on these dogs. And not for money but for the love of dogs.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heaher Jan 28, 2015

    I have adopted 3 dogs from Retro Doggy and they 100% put the welfare of the animals first and strive to make sure each adoption is as successful as possible for the dog and new owner(s). This all comes down to the tone of the communication and taking it to an new level and then insulting them with assumptions. It is very expensive and time consuming for Fosters to take care of these animals and this is one Foster Group that does just that. These animals do not get adopted overnight. They are not dishonest and they lady should leave it at the Yorkie will not be a good placement do due it will constantly harass the cat if not harm it.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Nonamexyz Mar 18, 2013

    I agree, they are very dishonest, and in my experience do ot have the dogs best interest at heart. I have adopted from many other agencies and have found every other agency to be professional, but believe retro iffy lacks integrity.

    -3 Votes
  • Br
    BrendaLev Dec 03, 2011

    No responsible organization should call a potential adopter an "idiot" or threaten to place someone on a "do not adopt" list based on two emails. They should have explained further about that particular dog before resorting to such childish behavior. Intonation cannot be expressed in an email. If they had concerns, a phone call could have easily been made to clarify the situation. Maybe it was just a bad day, but now a potential adopter is gone and an animal is still waiting for a home. It just makes me sad all around.

    -2 Votes
  • Ki
    kico Oct 18, 2011

    The complainer needs to get a life and read what Connie said. She said Sherlock does NOT like cats and you have a cat. DUH!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    SBALDER Sep 29, 2010

    We have adopted 4 dogs from Retrodoggy Rescue through the years and are now fostering one for them. First off, RDR is not a business! They are some of the most compassionate giving VOLUNTEERS I have ever met in my life. The welfare of the animals is first and foremost and if you had taken the time to read Connie's response you could see that she was not trying to preclude you from adopting a dog, but rather trying to get the correct animal for consideration for your situation. We have Yorkies that are as mellow as can be and ones that are high strung and already to get in a scrappy fight. Their personalities and needs all vary.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lianimal Sep 03, 2010

    This person might not know the personality of your cat, but he DOES know the personality of his dog. If someone says they'd like you to think about another dog because the one you are thinking of adopting could endanger your cat, you should thank them for the information and for saving you a lot of grief, and think about another dog!

    I don't know anything about these people, but from your own posted information, it's obvious they did the right thing by not letting you have this dog.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    c&smoore Aug 24, 2010

    I know Connie and the foster people personally. They are NOT idiots and were right in not adopting to you. People fall in love with an animals "cuteness" and the personality and history is not taken into consideration. I adopted a yorkie from them that had serious health issues and had nothing but complete support and care from them. I had many challenges with the dog we adopted and they helped us through them -- every step of the way. I have done many home visits for Retro since then, and it's necessary to match up the home environment, person(s) and animal so that it's a happily ever after story instead of an innocent dog being taken back to the rescue, humane society or euthanized (seen it happen!!). These people put their heart and soul into what they are doing and spend countless hours and money to help these beautiful animals. Shame on you for not listening to what they told you when you first inquired. They get hundreds of inquiries - all while they are trying to care for many homeless pets -- they don't have time for foolishness.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.