Resurgent Capital Services / Lvnv Funding`Fraud and cheating!

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Resurgent Capital located in South Carolina, a related outfit of lvnv funding, uses a web of questionable practices in attempts to pressure individuals to give them money. They buy old charge- off accounts, for about 3 cents on the dollar, tens of thousands of them. The owners, managers, and supervisors of these outfits then try and get people to give them 50 to 80 cents on the dollar for those same charge-offs. It doesn't matter to these commission driven individuals what malady may have come upon you, they only want money, and lots of it. They often try and have people send them quick money, while offering no benefits in return. Is that right or fair? You decide. Sounds like unpasteurized greed to me. Attempting to make money from the possible misfortune of others seems very unsavory. Remember, their ultimate target is to have you send them money, from what ever source, while promising you nothing in return. It would be wise for you to insist on receiving any payment arrangement with them in writing, in advance, before ever considering sending them any money, no exceptions. Otherwise, after they get your money, they can conveniently claim that they have no record of any such arrangement with you, to your detriment. Verbal promises from these " supervisors " are not guarantees that they will do anything to benefit you, once they receive your money. Always get their agreements In Writing, before sending any money to them, no matter how small the amount. Learn all you can about Resurgent Capital Services or lvnv funding tricks on the internet, for example, and you may want to communicate with them only in writing, and always by certified mail. Keep a copy of everything you may receive from them or that you send them. Carefully consider all your best options when contacted by them. Seek free advice on how to protect yourselves from their questionable practices. You'll be glad you did.

Responses

  • Sa
    sadderbut wiser29 Jul 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The employees at Resurgent Capital Services are horrible! They called one of my relatives this week, with a "creepy, threatening" call for me, even though Resurgent has my current address information. My relative said the man from Resurgent sounded exactly like the narrator of the old 1950's horror flick, "The Creature of the Black Lagoon."
    I sent Resurgent a certified mailing on 5-6-15. In the letter, I disputed the validity of the debt, as I had already repaid the debt in full, more than three times over, nine years ago, via four electronic drafts from my old bank account. The original collection agency never reported my debt as repaid to the 3 main credit reporting bureaus. I also asked Resurgent in the 5-6-15 letter to stop contacting me. So, instead, they contact my relative with a creepy call. Resurgent is in total violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. I only wish I could afford an attorney.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarge63b May 18, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have read all these complaints, but i still have just 1 very good question. what if i never had an account they say i had? had a similar problem a few years ago. i had an old credit card account that i had paid and closed. it was even in my credit report as such, and zero balance. 8 years later i got a letter from pinnicle services. trying to collect over 2000 on this same acct. this went on for about 3 years, till i finally talked to someone that had 1/2 a brain with their company. i repeated to them what i had several times before that the acct had been paid and closed by me at this point over 10 yrs prior, never heard another word. this regurgitation services is the same. my wife got a letter from them in her previous name, on an acct she says shes never heard of, but may be from an acct when she was married before and they had filed chapter 13 bankrupt on. either way its been well over 10 years so i think i'll write f^ck you on the letter and send it back

    0 Votes
  • La
    lana reed Apr 16, 2014

    We received a letter from resurgent stating they now have our debt from citi.Last year we sent them 2 payment, then never received another payment from them.They started calling us for payment we repeatly told them to send the payment in the mail.They said they had to have a release sighed to send these payments. They sent a paper to be sighed, we signed and sent back.They called said the never recieved the letter.We still are waiting.Then we got a letter saying it is now going to another company called shell.Any advice what we should do.Still no bills in the mail.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbie616 Aug 30, 2013

    What kind of retribution do I have when they apparently took me to court without sending me papers that they were taking me to court and of course got a judgement against me and a garnishment which they won't get anything there as I only receive social security. Is there any way I can get out of this? It's good old LVNV Funding.

    0 Votes
  • He
    HELPME506 Sep 02, 2012

    I am dealing with unsolicited mail from lawyers, several in fact that said I was being sued. I am almost complete with loan closing on a house and nothing came up that was a red flag for them, however I continued to receive these unsolicited letters from attorneys again stating I am being sued. So out of curiosity I looked on the wisconsin circuit court and sure enough Resurgent Capital Servc. LLC from illinois is suing me. I never got any letters from these people about a bad debt and as far as I knew I paid all my behind debt off in 2009, But I have a court date scheduled for 9/2012...I was never sent anything from these people, and now have a pending law suit against me. So what do i do now? Can I request a validation of this account they are suing me for when I am not in debt good or bad to anyone...how could I send a validation letter if I was never made aware of any bad debt out there against me. I am freaking out because my son and I will be homeless if this house doesnt close because of this pending law suit. All my money is tied up in closing costs so I dont have money to get an attorney...should I send a letter to them even though they already have a court date scheduled against me...my goodness I didnt think this could happen to me, are they scamming me? Any advise or help...you can email me at [email protected] with your comments...i dont know what to do...

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susanjax Jun 15, 2012

    I had success dealing with the disreputable company by calling the Better Business Bureau in Greenville South Carolina. I received prompt service and got a letter from Resurgent that the account was not mine. This company has been banned in the state of Maine. Please contact the Better Business Bureau where they are located and turn them in to the Attorney State General of your state. Many states are reviewing their practices.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susanjax May 12, 2012

    The company was banned from the State of Maryland back in October of 2011. All of their judgements were overturned. Please write your state attorney general about this company. They operate under a number of different names LVNV funding, alegis etc. It only takes a minute to file an online complaint with your state attorney general.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Been through this before Aug 19, 2011

    The LAST thing you do is send these people ANY money!!!

    First and foremost - do NOT call or speak on the phone with them.
    Second, send them a CERTIFIED (MUST BE CERTIFIED - YOU MUST HAVE RECORDS) mailed letter:

    Month day, 201x

    Name of collection company
    Address
    City, State, Zip
    Telco#


    Re: Acct File#


    To Whom It May Concern:

    This letter is being sent to you in response to a notice received on month day, 201x. Be advised that this is not a refusal to pay, but a notice sent pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 1692g Sec. 809 (b) that your claim is disputed and validation is requested.

    This is NOT a request for "verification" or proof of my mailing address, but a request for VALIDATION made pursuant to the above named Title and Section. We respectfully request that your offices provide our firm with competent evidence that we have any legal obligation to pay you.

    You are hereby requested to provide us with ALL of the following:

    * What the money you say our firm owes is for
    * Explain and show us how you calculated what you say is owed
    * Provide copies of all papers that show our firm signed for and agreed to pay what you say we owe for each individual invoice claimed that we owe.
    * Provide a verification or copy of any judgment to substantiate proof
    * Identify the original creditor name, address and contact name
    * Prove the Statute of Limitations has not expired on this account
    * Show proof that you are licensed to collect in the State of New York
    * Provide us with your license numbers and Registered Agent


    At this time we will also inform you that if your offices have reported invalidated information to any of the 3 major Credit Bureau’s (Equifax, Experian or TransUnion) and Dunn & Bradstreet this action might constitute fraud under both Federal and State Laws. Due to this fact, if any negative mark is found on any of our credit and/or DNB reports by your company or the company that you represent we will not hesitate in bringing legal action against you for the following:

    * Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act
    * Violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
    * Defamation of Character


    Your offices are required to provide the proper documentation as requested in the following Declaration, we will require at least 30 days to investigate this information and during such time all collection activity must cease and desist.


    Also during this validation period, if any action is taken which could be considered detrimental to any of our credit reports, our firm will consult with legal counsel for suit. This includes any listing any information to a credit reporting repository that could be inaccurate or invalidated or verifying an account as accurate when in fact there is no provided proof that it is.

    If your offices fail to respond to this validation request within 30 days from the date of your receipt, all references to this account must be deleted and completely removed from our credit file and a copy of such deletion request shall be sent to us immediately.

    ***CEASE & DESIST***

    We would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices or associated firms to our homes, offices, suppliers, contractors, officers/principles personal homes, families, friends, neighbors or any other related and/or unrelated contacts. If your offices attempt telephone communication with any of the above listed locations and/or parties, including but not limited to computer generated calls and calls or correspondence sent to or with any third parties, it will be considered harassment and we will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with our firm MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter by USPS Certified Mail or other method of Certified and/or Tracking# mail to show proof of mailings.

    It would be advisable that you assure that your records are in order before we are forced to take legal action. This is an attempt to correct your records, any information obtained shall be used for that purpose.


    Regards,

    Your name
    Address
    City, State Zip

    Now that defangs them from bothering you by phone anywhere any further. Now the clock is ticking, check USPS.com and the certified mail #, once they get it - PRINT IT and FILE IT, that is now the date they have 30 days from to respond.

    You MUST receive a detailed account of the balance, not some one page saying; Total = $xxxx.xx
    They MUST have a license to operate in YOUR state
    If this is an old account, check the Statue of Limitations and if your last activity (payment is older then the Statue, then they can't pursue it)
    They MUST have a copy of your signed contract showing you are obligated to pay and THIS is where you usually get them, most companies DON'T have your original terms and contract on file, if they don't, they can't collect on the debt.
    They MUST show the debt has been fully and legal transferred to their name, if they don't show a legal transfer, they are NOT legally allowed to pursue the debt.

    If they fail to provide ALL of this information, then: (AGAIN - CERTIFIED MAIL !!!)

    NOTICE OF INSUFFICIENT VERIFICATION
    Date: March 14, 2007
    From: John Doe
    To: Law Offices of XYZ
    I have sent you a notice requiring you to verify this debt in accordance with 15 USC §
    1692g. I have included a copy of the original dispute, which lists in detail the type of
    verification requested.
    In response you have only sent a computer generated print-out of the total amount you
    claim is due, which may not be accurate. Furthermore, you have failed to provide an
    executed credit contract proving liability of this debtor on the amount claimed.
    This is unsatisfactory as proof that I owe the debt (please see Fields v. Wilber Law Firm,
    Donald L. Wilber and Kenneth Wilber, USCA-02-C-0072, 7th Circuit Court, Sept 2004.),
    and is hereby rejected as a validation of the debt. You have not complied with my right to
    have the debt validated according to the standards of the FDCPA, and your response is
    hereby rejected as a validation of the debt.
    You must now remove the collection listing from my credit report, or I will file a lawsuit
    for violation of FDCPA, § 809(b).
    Thank you for your assistance as I assert my right to have a proper validation of the
    referenced account according to law.
    Sincerely,
    John Doe

    This is your legal (f*ck off) letter to them, they blew it and now they are screwed and you now keep copies of ALL of this in an envelope, along with all of the Certified Receipts, the print out showing when it was received by them.

    Now wait 2 weeks, then get a fresh copy of your 3 credit reports, if they are still there - call each of the credit reporting companies, they are on YOUR SIDE, they'll ask you to fax all of that info to them, then they will open a 30 day investigation with the Collection Agency and when it fails, its now off your credit report. Now this doesn't mean its gone for good, just gone for good from THIS Collection agency, they may turn around and sell it to the next dirt bag down the road, but now you know what to do and how to do it and like the shampoo bottle says - repeat as necessary... just send out these forms and once the Statue of Limits is up, the SOL becomes Sh*t outta Luck for the collection Agency.

    Now you may at some time end up with a mega ### collection agency, especially if your debt is large, and they'll file a compliant against you in court seeking a judgement. You MUST MUST MUST!!! Answer it, it is IMPERATIVE!!! You generally have 20 days, so the moment you get it, you get right on it and file an ANSWER with your county clerk IMMEDIATELY --- Don't jerk around with this - if the Collector gets a judgement against you, then they can drain your bank account, savings, whatever you've got, they can go after and they will !!!


    IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF xxxxxx INDEX#
    IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF xxxx
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------x


    Collection Agency PLAINTIFF'S ADDRESS
    PLAINTIFF, Address
    City, State Zhip
    vs.

    Your name here DEFENDANT'S ADDRESS
    DEFENDANT, Address
    City, State Zip

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------x

    FILE NO. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx ANSWER


    The Defendant, Pro Se as for his answer to the complaint herein, the defendant (YOUR NAME) respectfully shows and alleges as follows:

    Defendant Denies the allegations of Paragraphs x, x, x, x, and xx Cause/Action statement in Complaint.


    AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES


    • List your defenses, short and clearly, list FDCPA statues, list Court Case citing from your Failure to Validate Response Letter and state they failed to Validate within the required 30 day period, and the information they provided was in sufficient proof of validation


    WHEREFOR, defendant prays that this Court dismiss the complaint of the Plaintiff herein, with costs and disbursements to defendant, together with any other relief the Court finds to be just and proper.


    Dated: THE (day)th DAY OF (month), 201x.

    ______________________________
    Defendant(s) (Signature)

    Defendant(s) Name YOUR NAME

    Address
    Your Address
    City, State, Zip


    DECLARATION

    I, (YOUR NAME), declare as follows:
    1. I am the defendant in this Complaint.


    I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of (YOUR STATE) that the foregoing statement is true.

    Signed in CITY, STATE on DATE_____________________.


    __________________________________
    Signature
    (YOUR NAME)

    Don't be scared, you've got all of the documents, receipts and proof, the Collection Agency most likely with either NOT respond to the answer and will go away knowing it just lost $90-$100 filing a Judgement request, now its lost money on you. Or if it does decide to respond and a court Date is set, simply file a Request for Discovery, and request copies of the signed contract showing liability of you to pay the debt - if they didn't send it to you by now, they don't have it.

    Last thing - DO NOT speak with their attorney outside of court - WALK AWAY - tell them if they have ANYTHING to say, say it only in front of the Judge, you will not speak with them, if they persist, walk back to the court and sit inside or stand next to a court office and ask the officer to tell the attorney to stop harassing you. They are on the defense and will be desperate to make ANY kind of deal, DON'T DO IT !!! If they don't have the documents as the court date, they never will.

    Lastly and your final NAIL THE COFFIN SHUT on your debt forever no matter who or what has or buys your debt - Request the judge:

    DISMISS WITH PREJUDICE

    That means the debt case is dismissed and it can NEVER be brought to court again by anyone, the debt is DEAD !!!

    Good luck, stay smart and DO NOT EVER talk with a Collection agency over the phone or in person, EVER !!! Just send them these letters ONLY !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ik
    Ike victim Jun 27, 2011

    My home was flooded because of hurricane Ike resurgent was one of my mortgage carriers, they agreed to short sell the house along with the other finance company, they sent me a letter asking if i would be willing to pay 1100 dollars for them to consider this short sale as a settled account. they are no coming after me for 34 000 and claim they know nothing about any letter, they are pathetic, pathetic.

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quit Calling Jun 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a call from them last week. They told me they had contacted my employer regarding garnishment. I told them if they had without filing a complaint, I would sue them. I ask my employer if anyone had contacted them. They stated "NO"! The girl that called was April and that she had a matter on her desk which needed my attention immediately. When I called back, it was a man that answered and he is the one that told me about my employer. When I told him I would sue, he said I was in no position to threaten. This week they filed a complaint against me. I am so tired of these people. I had been unemployed for 2 1/2 years and finally started working for the past few months. I told all these people of my unemployment and no one wanted to work with me. They said unemployment is not a financial hardship. Tell me what is??? They have never sent any correspondence just called a couple times, never leaving a message and no FDCPA notice and never did tell me the notice. He told me he did not have to say it until the end of the phone call - where do they get these people????????

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bem3170 Jan 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GEMB/JC PENNEYS

    PO Box 981402
    El Paso, TX-[protected]
    [protected]
    Account Number: 600889468330XXXX Current Status: CHARGE-OFF
    Account Owner: Individual Account. High Credit:
    Type of Account Revolving loans have an amount owed which varies from month to month, like a credit card.: Revolving Credit Limit: $1, 340
    Term Duration: Terms Frequency:
    Date Opened: 08/2004 Balance: $0
    Date Reported: 03/2007 Amount Past Due:
    Date of Last Payment: 08/2005 Actual Payment Amount:
    Scheduled Payment Amount: Date of Last Activity: N/A
    Date Major Delinquency First Reported: 03/2006 Months Reviewed: 31
    Creditor Classification: Activity Description: Transfer/Sold
    Charge Off Amount: $1, 257 Deferred Payment Start Date:
    Balloon Payment Amount: Balloon Payment Date:
    Date Closed: Type of Loan: Charge Account
    Date of First Delinquency: 10/2004
    Comments: Charged off account
    81-Month Payment History
    Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
    2007 * *
    2006 120 120 * * * * * * * * * *
    2005 * * * * * * * * 30 60 90 120
    2004


    * * * * *
    LVNV FUNDING LLC

    PO Box 10584
    Greenville, SC-[protected]
    [protected]
    Account Number: 600889468330XXXX Current Status:
    Account Owner: Individual Account. High Credit: $1, 599
    Type of Account : Open Credit Limit:
    Term Duration: Terms Frequency:
    Date Opened: 12/2006 Balance: $1, 980
    Date Reported: 12/2010 Amount Past Due: $1, 980
    Date of Last Payment: Actual Payment Amount:
    Scheduled Payment Amount: Date of Last Activity: N/A
    Date Major Delinquency First Reported: 06/2007 Months Reviewed: 42
    Creditor Classification: Financial Activity Description: N/A
    Charge Off Amount: Deferred Payment Start Date:
    Balloon Payment Amount: Balloon Payment Date:
    Date Closed: Type of Loan: Factoring Company Account (debt buyer)
    Date of First Delinquency: 03/2005
    Comments: Consumer disputes this account information,
    Collection account
    I have this credit report i have another one to from 2/4/10 this lvnv funding acct was closed stated dated on this cr on 2/4 is 12/1/2006 took over seriously past due date assigned to attorney collection agency or credit grantors internal collection department account in dispute -reported by subscriber states also and on one above also states that above was print 1st of month now i was served summons complaint on dec 30 of course im denying none of there dates are valid in paper affidavit attached to it states took over 12/29/06 well as we both see nope 12/1/06 well i have the proof anyway and also wondering do i just deny and answer to affidavit 4 paragraphs there is nothing else with summons complaint its 3 pages includes affidavit that i believe is nothing but paper no proof when i do answer i go to court and than send certified mail to attorney and to lvnv or just attorney and then hand one to court do i ask to see there paperwork(attorneys) or cant i do i send my proof now and ask for dismissal or get court date write response and ask for dismissal also this debt is in my divorce decree and is my ex husband i was individual on it but he took over all debts in marriage looking for some good advice here thanks...

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pannoyed Aug 26, 2010

    I received a letter from a Nelson, Watson & Associates, LLC in Haverhill, MA and they told me th current creditor was LVNV Funding and that the debt had been purchased by Resurgent Capital Services and placed with their office for collection and they were contacting me to secure payment before the account is referred to a law firm for further review. I wrote a letter asking for them to validate the debt and give me the name of the original creditor and goods purchased. I received two letters from them one dated August 16, 2010 and one dated August 19, 2010 stating that the account is owned by LVNV Funding. On the front of the letter is says previous creditor GE Capital and that the current creditor is LVNV Funding. They gave a phone number to call to determine the pay-off balance as interest, payments, credits, fees, and/or other permissible charges can continue to cause the account balance to vary from day to day. They are adding interest on to the amount owed daily which I see in the differences that they are saying I owe in the August 16, 2010 is higher in the August 19, 2010 letter. Do they have the right to add interest daily. Do they send it to a law firm for review or is this a scare tactic to get me to send them the money. I also asked what they would do for me if this debt was paid for which they sent no response in their letter. I feel like I am being harassed by them because they are going to keep increasing the amount owed daily while I try to get answers from them. What should I do.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    complaints are valid Jan 30, 2010

    The good people who have brought to light the unethical and shadowy practices of resurgent capital have several valid complaints. I have firsthand knowledge of the example noted above concerning a resurgent rep being coached to offer a supposed settlement if supposed payment is promptly wired or sent to them, only to then see that upon a verbal offer of agreement, individuals at resurgent have immediately reported the dubious account as " sold " to one of the credit reporting agencies. If or when a verbally agreed upon settlement were to promptly arrive at resurgent in S.C., they could say, " what agreement?" Fraud does not always have to occur in writing when other evidence, such as phone conversations exist. That is why the transient phone reps are coached to say such things as, " we don't do that here" when asked for a settlement offer in writing.
    I believe the Federal Trade Commission could garner enough evidence to revoke resurgent capital's licensure and shut them down. Unethical, in my opinion absolutely. Frequent and multiple violations of the FDCPA and likely FCRA, likely. I'm stunned that a large law firm, specializing in consumer protection, has not yet offered a sizable blanket lawsuit to the public against resurgent capital and a number of their affiliates. If I were the Attorney General in my state, or acting on the federal level, I would vigorously investigate the multitude of allegeded violations connected to resurgent capital.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    eviedog2008 Jan 29, 2010

    Like some people have been writing, this is not a scam. All the people on this thread that are crying bloody murder are doing so because they are financially stupid and do not understand the concept of credit. Yes, you can avoid these "scammers" but look forward to a poor credit history and good luck getting credit in the future. If you are being contacted by Resurgent, its not because you are a poor victim of the financial system, it's because your are more or less a bum who doesn't take responsibility for their actions. Pay off your debt, and live within your means for a change.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dopplegangr27 Jan 24, 2010

    The people that you are calling at customer service are not being paid commission at ALL..they have to sit there and listen to you whine and cry for 8 hrs or more and then take what ever measley payments that you are going to make without COMISSION!! You knew when you stopped paying on these that it would be owed. Nothing in this life is free so what made you think that by going to sears and putting that washer and dryer on credit that you would not have to pay?? Or when you ordered that new outfit from neiman and marcus that you would get that for free??!!! Most of you are all lazy deadbeats that are trying to get out of paying your debts and decided to get on this website and cry about it. Well get out and don't charge what you can't pay for! If the money in your pocket will not cover it then work over time and get a second job until it does. Debt is your fault NOT the debt collectors

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kidkellogg Jan 20, 2010

    We had a written agreement for a settlement with RSC. We sent the certified check and overnighted it ceritfied mail ( we have copies of both). They sold the account during the period of time we had to send the check, then posted ithe check late ( 5 days after they recieved it) They claim that the agreement was invalidated by the late posting. They have refused to refund the money ( although it was sent as a settlement) or credit it towards the original amount due. They are crooks. I have reported them to the FTC and the S.C. attorneys generals office. But all to no good. I guess the next thing will be to sue them, but they are in a different state, so how canyou enforce judgment?

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    S Gold Dec 18, 2009

    Hi, your question is good. I believe that you may be just fine, you're already on the high ground. Resurgent capital, a processing mill for lvnv funding ( a name on paper only), tries this on thousands of individual's credit reports - this is a routine. When was the last payment you made to the other collection agency? Look up by search on the internet the time limitations for a credit card/charge-off for the state in which you live, or where you lived when you opened the original credit card. This is referred to as " time-barred debt". You already may be so close to that charge off being non collectable, that it may be in your best interest to not send a nickle to any collection outfit that contacts you. ie - you wouldn't want to restart the collectability clock on that old charge off or the length of time it could stay on your credit reports. Do several internet searches on lvnv/resurgent or the paper tiger law outfits they try to work through. Don't get rattled by those collection clowns. If they perhaps have a current phone contact of yours, you can simply say to whoever might be working their auto dialer, to contact you only in writing, IF they can verify your current address, if they can't, don't give it to them. Time is on your side.

    One of your best tools to neuter resurgent capital / lvnv funding or their pony show of tricks, no offense to the pony, is to send a simple written request for validation of the claimed debt. Send by certified mail with return receipt requested. It's easy to do. Once you do this, you've tied their hands and have turned the tables on them. You may want to contact each of the three credit reporting agencies, in writing only, asking them to remove the entry on your credit reports immediately. Read about how to do this on the internet, you should be just fine.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crazyme Dec 17, 2009

    I'm frustrated, back in 2005 I had a credit card go into collections, and I had a verbal agreement with the agency to settle and pay off, which I did. I never received notice that it was done, but I assumed it was. Of course, I don't remember what agency it was with. Now, in 2009, I do a check of my credit report, and it says that I owe LVNV $976. The report doesn't specify who they bought the debt from, only that I owe them that money. I assume it's from this credit card debt, but I'm not sure. I'm nervous about contacting them, because I don't want the harrassment to start up. Don't they have to send you notices and such, to collect debt. In the past couple of years, I have never received any formal written documentation from them.

    Nicole

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suesiewise Nov 03, 2009

    Resurgent tries to mess up people's credit reports as a devisive tool used to induce people to send them money. I believe not a single person should give any money to the little people behind the resurgent capital curtain or whatever name they may try to call themselves by down the road.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldfingers Oct 19, 2009

    It's obvious that resurgent capital - what a clever label for a greedy junk debt " buyer ", hopes that unsuspecting people will donate to their slimey money machine. Hold on to your money, they're not entitled to it, you're the good guys.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Preious Collector Aug 19, 2009

    I used to work for a collection ageny that received its accounts from RCS/LVNV. The accounts sometimes are settled, human error does happen and the accounts are sold off again. If you do get a settlement approved, make you get a letter stating what the SIF (settlement in full) or if you are doing a PIF (payment in full) make sure that you get it in writing and that interest will stop accruing. I was a debt collector that call and treated people the way I would want to be treated. If someone did curse at me I would disconnect the call. I was very successfull at it, and got compliments all the time how I was the nicest collector that they have ever spoken to. I met all my goals and succeeded for the entire time I was there, by a GREAT number. Debt collectors can be extremely RUDE and HATEFUL. If you ever get someone that call you a name of treats you horrible, then report them to FTC under the FDCPA. If you are nice to a debt collector and you TRY to set-up a repayment, then generally you will get treated as a human. You will be pressured into payment. Thats what they do. Just advise, all you can do, and if they do not accept, make the payments online. All collection agencies have options for SIF payments. contrary to popular belief, for a SIF you do not have to pay all at one time. You will get the best deal by paying a lump-sum at one time. Make sure that you get EVERYTHING in writing. Keep your check stubs. Keep your credit card statments or proof showing payment in any amount. Put it in a special folder. When you do get the SIF or PIF letter, send it to ALL 3 of the credit reporting bureaus. Be proactive. As I told all of my client: We will send it off on your behalf it will take 6-9 months to show on your credit, this is your credit, do it yourself, don't expect someone to do it for you. It may fall threw the cracks. Collection agencies house millions of accounts. Just be nice, don't curse at them. If you would like to pay and do not feel like talking to a collector, pay online. PS you will definately help someone out and if you get a call from a collector when you pay online, they will be nice :-)

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GovRep Aug 05, 2009

    Regurgent capital attempts to hijack consumer reports by the thousands, hoping to scare folks into giving them money. Their outfit seems to be a shady bunch. I would not recommend sending them any money whatsoever. There seems to be mountains of valid complaints about this gang.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    Rcab Jul 20, 2009

    Well, first of all, if you guys paid your debt you wouldn't have to worry about anything. Second, if you use your credit card or what ever form of transactions used and spent $1, 000.00 doesn't mean you don't have to pay that. You expend that amount, i suggest you pay for it. It's people that doesn't pay their bills that created this whole mess that affected the US and global economy. Don't buy stuff and get yourself in debt if you can't pay for it.

    0 Votes
  • Mn
    mnm Jun 29, 2009

    I paid off a debt that was a relative to claim the property. After getting a letter to my bank indicated the lien would be released after funds are recieved i got a loan to fix the property. six months later i went to do another loan against the property and found out resurgent capital services never released the lien from the original transaction. i have called them multiple times, left messages, and so has my bank. NEVER have they returned a phone call. When they finally answered they said my bank would recieve the lien release by the afternoon and i would recieve one overnight mail. Never happened. Kept calling them with no result. Now I have to get the BBB and consumer agency of South Carolina as well as an attorney. Its rediculous. They have the worst business practices of any organization i have dealt with.

    1 Votes
  • Db
    DBFREE Jun 19, 2009

    Hi, I'm glad you're reading about resurgent circuses on the internet. First, keep in mind, if resurgent or one of their pony shows can't provide you with written debt validation, and absolutely prove with fully adequate written proof, and this entails substantial and I mean substantial proof, including several authentic documents, they can not even attempt to collect money from you, once you send your written request for debt validation and it has been received by them. They do try to scare people into sending them money so they can get commission checks from their handiwork.

    I've been more than glad to enlighten others as to a few of the antics and scripts they tried on me. Perhaps, their slick computer generated routines and dufus managers picked the wrong person to harang, yet I imagine they try these same scripts on everyone whose charge-offs fall into their nets for 3 or 4 cents on the dollar. They hope you will be one of their new cash cows. Please don't allow these rouge phone individuals to pressure any of you. They try this on so many people. I can't even imagine the utter shame they may feel when they themselves are caused to truly reflect on their deeds. Ask yourselves, are these individuals worthy or deserving in any way of your scarce money. They certainly haven't read, How to win friends and Influence People, have they. I found success in not having any phone communications with them what so ever, no exceptions. Communicate only in writing, by certified mail, return receipt requested through our postal service.

    You are in total control. They tried to scare me, but I wore them out long ago. I do personally know the author of this original post quite well. I encourage you to read all you can about this outfit and to fortify yourselves and to be victorious. It's simpler than people may think. You already have the high ground.

    1 Votes
  • Oh
    OhioGrl0203 Jun 18, 2009

    I was reading some of the other encounters that people have had with this company. If any of you can give me advice, I would greatly appreciate it. Resurgent contacted my fiance' about a month or so ago and informed him that they had been given his account with HSBC (which is one of the WORST credit card companies to deal with) and that they were about to pursue with legal action including putting a lien on our home and garnishing his wages if need be. We were behind on the HSBC account due to some unforseen financial cirucmstances that came up when my fiance' switched jobs back in the winter which also caused our mortgage to fall behind, etc.etc.. When Resurgent called my fiance' they told him that in order to prevent legal action then he would have to pay them $500 and then have a monthly payment of $350. They also lied and told him that they had talk to me and that I told them where to "shove it", which was completely false. In fact, another company located in Phoenix Arizona called me about this account back in March and I told them that my fiance' 'wasn't available, but that they could talk to me as I am the one who takes care of most of our bills. The man that called me from Phoenix basically told me off and told me (after I had offered to take a name and number) that I did this to my fiance' and that I am to blame for him being ruined and then the man hung up on me. When I called them back, they hung up on me again. That was the last I heard anything about this account until Resurgent came into the picture. Anyhow, so Resurgent told my fiance' that we had to come up with $500 within 14 days or else they would be filing a suit against him. Basically they scared him to death and my fiance' is one to fall for telemarketers extremely bad. With that being said, like "country girl" they told him that he had to give them our bank account information and that he couldn't send payment to them, but that it would be drafted from our account. Somehow my fiance' talked to another supervisor there at Resurgent and told him that there was NO WAY we would be able to pay $500 as we are trying to get our mortgage caught up as well, so he got it down to $350. As I said, my fiance' was frightened by these crooks and so they have taken $350 out of our account and to this day we have NO PAPERWORK from them at all and we are coming upon the time that the second payment is to be taken out. Since he did some research on the internet, my fiance' has contacted a lawyer who is supposedly contacting them. I dont' see how they can just not send paperwork, not even anything for receipt of our payment. It just doesn't make sense...any comments about this? can they legally do this? we are willing to pay the debt, but we can't afford $250 per month!

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom des moines iowa Jun 17, 2009

    just got off the phone with resurgent . wanting more money . i told them they were going to be penelised for thier agresive phone tactives so i cut thier payment in half till this practice stopped made them very mad they said they were going to raise my intrest rate tom des moines iowa

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Gold Jun 14, 2009

    Resurgent capital circuses, which is really the auto-dialer for lvnv funding ( a name on paper only ) tries to harass good people into giving them money. Don't let whichever collection outfit they sent the questionable old debt to, make you feel uncomfortable at all.
    You are shoulders above those so-called collection individuals and are in complete control of any situation.

    The first thing you should do, is send a simple written request for Validation of the debt. This is easy to do, google the internet for free example letters of this. I did it myself and it worked great. Make sure you make a copy or two of your written validation of debt letter and type your name at the end, I would not sign it by hand. You wouldn't want to give anyone your hand written signature who is definately not looking out for you. Don't be afraid of this process, it worked great for me. Then, send your validation of debt letter by CERTIFIED MAIL with return receipt at a post office. The postal folks will gladly help you out with this, again, it's easy to do. Always, save the certified mail receipt and green mail card with your address when it is returned to you through the mail. This is proof that you asked for written debt validation and that they received it. The green return card will usually be initialed and dated. Save copies of everything you get in the mail from these outfits. Remember, they just try to put pressure on everyone. Sending them any money, even a single dollar, can re-age the questionable debt. I made that mistake once, but never again. They're hoping that people are not aware of this.

    Also, it's in your very best interest Not to talk with any of these places on the phone. Communicate with them only in writing and save copies of everything. I would have them communicate with you only by letter. Make them work harder and give them no information about yourself. Don't let them scare you, you hold all the trump cards.
    I personally had contact with a couple of the numerous collection outfits that resurgent capital routinely sends these dubious "accounts " to, to see if people will unwittingly give them any money. I quickly got wise to the trickery and smoke screens they were using. Search the internet to learn about how they try and buffalo people into sending them their good money. Be strong and don't let these commission hungry folks lean on you. You're a better person already. I'm just a regular citizen they tried to hustle and am pleased to reveal a few of their anticts. Don't worry, have fun learning about how to overcome their unworthy ways. We're with you.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    mjc1 Jun 12, 2009

    i have a similar problem like country girl, LVNV funding/aka: sherman financial /aka: resurgent capital has bought a debt from sears that was closed in march of 2006 and this company purchased it in may 2006. now according to my credit report the accnt was 1st delinquent with Sears in 11/2005 & LVNV funding is stating the same, im confused. now just recently i tried to get some info and sears told me that the accnt was sold to Sherman. called Sherman they said I had to send a written info reqst to Resurgent three days later from talkin to sherman I get this collection notice from A United Collection Bureau. stating that they need me to dispute in 30 dys or they will assume is valid and they can provide proof of validation etc etc...so now I very confused... who should I dispute it with?? According to the FDCPA they are all a collection agencies, and I feel that there's alot of law breaking with this companies, the original accnt I believe has past the Statue of Limitations, also I never signed nothing to them and this accounts keep going into my credit file to check the status and reporting it...Any advise any one????

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin Bran Jun 09, 2009

    Yes, they tried to deceive me, but thank goodness I didn't give resurgent capital any money. Then I became wise to their shenanigans and trickery and avoided them like the plague.

    1 Votes
  • En
    Enlightened Apr 06, 2009

    Resurgent of Greenville, SC has no authority over anyone. I encourage you to continue learning about their untoward behavior and to continue fortifying yourselves. My personal experiences with them were that I could not trust what they implied or said. They try and entice good people to send them money while offering absolutely no benefits if you do. Yes, our over-worked officials could have a hey day by summoning their managers and other key individuals for depostions. Their pattern of violations, backed by clear and specific examples, are at a minimum unethical and based upon viral greed. Perhaps I'm being a little harsh, but those individuals: supervisors, managers, and others, choose this type of work, if you can call it that. The front line phone clerks are in my eyes not nearly as responsible as the few managers there.
    Perhaps, this is all they know, but almost any choice of work would have been better than what they currently do.

    Don't allow their repeated auto-dialer calls to pressure you. The continuation of resurgent circuses attempting to ellicit monies from people, in the current economy, is quite beyond absurd. I do hope that state and federal agencies will devote ample resources to legally make good examples of their willful misdeeds. The resurgent responders may mockingly say, do you have any evidence of that? They may even claim ignorance. However, I believe they are quite aware of their misbehavior and violations. Oh, if I were a federal investigator, what times I could have, bringing their misconduct to light.

    I'm so glad I read about them and wisely did not send or wire them any money. I choose to help a thousand homeless people, who are truly deserving, before giving a penney or monthly spiff to the spindly individuals who created and try to enrich themselves at resurgent "services".

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    J JANSEN Apr 05, 2009

    These people have been harassing us for two years over a bankruptcy which we had to file 15 years ago when my husband lost his job and we lost our home. They also stated we lived in a state which we never lived in. We have sent them by registered mail a copy of our bankruptcy which includes this debt. They quit hasrassing us for awhile but have started again. I am so glad I found this information on the computer. I will not let these kind of people get the better of us. They are criminals as far as I am concerned and I can't believe the government is not after them.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    DJ Southwest Feb 23, 2009

    It may be well not to give them an honorable dollar, my experiences with them is that I could not believe anything one of those phone clerks said. Here is what I would do - it works quite well: Look on the internet for a sample letter of request for " debt validation". Don't be afraid of their empty threats. Once you send them a Written request for debt validation, and here's the important part, send it by certified mail USPS with return receipt, SAVE the green receipt card, which will be sent back to you, this is proof positive that one of their routine clerks initialled or signed for it and they Will stop all collection activities, probably for many months, because you asked for wriiten debt validation, or required it from them. Resurgent groupies don't want you to know this! If they were to then mistakenly actually file a suit against you, without providing you with bona fide detailed debt validation, you could simply show up at court, again don't let the word court put fear in you, and ask the common man or woman presiding to award you a minimum of $1, 000 from resurgent capital of south carolina and the judge would likely award it to you. They would have clearly violated the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act which is there to protect you and thousands of others from undesirable practices from outfits like resurgent capital. Don't let them take advantage of you. Read on the internet a sample of the many accurate stories from a multitude of people, about the murky ploys and smoke screens that resurgent attempts as they try and falsely intimidate people. You're on so much higher ground than they.

    Again, send the written request for debt validation, must be by certified mail (the green receipt card) at a post office, and keep the green card when it arrives in your mailbox. Even better, send it twice, about a week apart, and save both receipt cards. If they even try to contact you in any way, by phone or mail, or through a part time law office, after they sign for your certified return receipt mail, they may likely owe you up to $1, 000 per violation for every time they call or attempt contact, before sending you wriiten proof of the alledged debt. Chances are that they can not provide it to you, and must therefore cease ALL collection activities concerning you. Please take a brief look at the FDCPA, google it on the internet. You should be just fine. As someone who resurgent tried to bamboozle, I can't think of anyone who deserves your money less, than the ethical munchkins at resurgent. Smile, you'll be just fine.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Girl Feb 21, 2009

    Countrygirl,

    Under the FDCPA (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) it is unlawful for a collection agency to "threaten" a lawsuit - get an attorney immediately and file suit against them for violation of the FDCPA - the more people that do this, the better chance we have of putting them out of business - your attorney will advise you what you may be able to recover from them for damages - but it is worth checking into. Good luck!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    countrygirl Feb 19, 2009

    I had a Sears Card account that was past due, it was sold to Resurgent..aka...Sherman Financial on Feb 10. On Monday, Feb. 16, I recieved my first phone call. The man stated they had made SEVERAL attempts to contact me, becuase I failed to respond, an action of breech of contract had been filed against me. As a result of this "action". I have until Feb. 28 to pay in full. I must do this over the phone, with a postdated check. I asked for a payment plan, and was told that the only plan allowed would be 'x' amount of dollars for one year. More then I can afford. In addition to it being more then I can afford, he insisted I must pay by postdated check over the phone. I do not want to give out my banking info not knoing who I am talking to! When I asked for an address to send payemnt, he refused, staing that it had to be done over the phone. When I requested a letter of verification, he claimed it had already been sent and they can not and will not send another. He then claimed the bank (Sherman Financial) has no choice but to sue me as I am being uncooperative. I have filed a complaint with my state's Attorney Genreral/consumer credit agency.
    What else can I do to avoid being sued? What are the cances of a lawsuit actually being filed? Could he have been bluffing?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    manpaying Feb 09, 2009

    If it wasn't for people not paying there debt back there wouldn't be a bad economy. Lession 1 don't borrow the money if you don't intend on paying it back! Lession 2 if its a good deal then take it from my dealings with them they don't go back on there word and try to work with you to the best of there ability. Remember you have to work with them too.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    your friend Jan 26, 2009

    The folks at resurgent capital in Greenville, sc are not interested in helping you. It is all based upon trying to generate money for themselves, ie pure greed.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barack Sep 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experiences with resurgent capital, which is hand in hand with lvnv funding, is that they do not want to give an ounce of benefit for the money they try to persuede people to give them. In today's economy, or any economy, I found them unworthy of one's good faith or money.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amy H Aug 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just received a letter from LVNV Funding/Capital Resurgent Capital Services saying the have incurred my debt from an old Citibank account and will pursue a judgement in 30 days if I do not pay $17, 088.42. They also state I can set up a payment plan. Should I respond to this? Will they try to sue me? There is an attorneys law office listed on the letter saying they retained this law firm. How do I know if this is legitimate???? I feel scared by this. Thanks for any input.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carol june bright Aug 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have recently found out that ACH has took some money out of my account without my as so can you tell my why?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.