Orange Lake resort orlandoChange rules of ownership on a yearly basis - Misleading elderly couple

1
P Review updated:

My elderly parents were talked into buying a weeks timeshare at Orange Lake Resort, Orlando, Florida. They attend a yearly conference during the same time every January 2nd or 3rd week. When considering the purchase, they asked repeatably if it would ever be a problem to change weeks because the conference tends to vary by one week year to year. They were assured that this would never be a problem. They had some difficulty last year switching the date by one week. They informed Orange Lake Management one year before what the date would be this coming January. They were given specific directions on who and when to call for confirmation of dates. When calling October 2, 2008, they were told that the rules had changed and they would not be able to switch dates anymore!!! If they wanted to switch the date, they would have to "upgrade to a new unit & time" and pay $12, 000.000 additional for the same 3 bedroom condo. They already fully paid for the original in the amount of $16, 000.00. If this is not the old "Bait and Switch", I don't know what is. What can they do

Responses

  • Sh
    Shelly Oct 10, 2008

    Hello. I am an owner at Orange Lake and know a couple other families who are owners as well. They could join RCI ($89 or so per year) and exchange their week for the other week. Not sure if you have explored that option? It seems the least expensive way to go about it...

    2 Votes
  • Si
    Sink Mar 04, 2009

    Hi. I also am an Orange Lake Owner who feels that the rules change at whim. We just purchased in 2/08 and were instructed to drop our RCI membership because we would never need it again. They assured us that the Orange Lake Reservations Department would only cost $40/exchange or $80/upgrade. Of course, I have nothing in writing.

    Last week, I received another invoice for membership fees for some new Hotel Group. What is with this place? Do they even follow the economy? The last thing people need right now is another membership fee to pay. Sure, it's only $99 this year but I remember when our maintenance fees were only $260. They went up pretty fast.

    2 Votes
  • Lp
    LPR Mar 15, 2009

    My husband and I are also holders of a timeshare in Orange Lake at Orlando and we have been paying $235 a month since 2006 for 10 years. We have never used our time because it does not fall on the week where there is no school. We have a child who is a student. We were told to bank with RCI for an exchange but we are just paying the RCI fees and they could not even give us time either.

    And unfortunately because we belong to a fixed week we have to take what we have and the solution is go global points and collect more money for a lousy stay at the facility. I have no intention of spending a penny for the new offer. Why in the first place would they give fixed week instead of allowing flexibility for the timeshare owner. It is a lie that there is no vacancy for someone who would want to exchange their week esp thru RCI who is just a useless company. They cannot even give us time and the employee just simply say "I'm sorry". Because there is always room if the customer will be paying for the stay. And the excuse is their rules which I believe are just stupid words put in white paper which does not benefit the poor consumer.

    We work hard for our money and we only need a little vacation and stay in the place to recharge ourselves. What happens now is we are even stressed out dealing with the ridiculous policies. In other words, our hard earned money is just being collected and no service nor facility use in return. Isn't that ripping off the poor consumer.

    When we signed the loan, we were also told that it is a mortgage loan and the interest we paid are tax deductible, but since 2006 no form 1098 was sent so this year I called the Accounts Dept. to remind them and I am also having a big struggle dealing with the employees because they do not act on it. In fact the second time I called I was told there was no notation of the first call, so that means I was just talking to a ghost. Unbelievable. I really wonder if a 1098 could really be generated from this kind of loan. I am still waiting for the form that they promised to send.

    So far, I am very frustrated with Orange Lake. I wish I can just give up this timeshare. I will never encourage my friends and family to get timeshares. It is better to save your money and spend a real vacation without the hustles of dealing with RCI or Orange Lake.

    2 Votes
  • Le
    LeeVon Evette Jones Murdock Oct 25, 2018

    @LPR Sir, I am sorry to hear of the I’ll treatment you have received and the money continually being wasted. I was wondering if you published your story with the better business bureau and with the company’s complaint and board of directors? Just curious?

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Aug 03, 2009

    I am also a timeshare owner of Orange Lake Resort. I bought the timeshare in December 2008. I found later many facts were left out at the sales presentation. The sales rep even provided faulse information, such as buying a timeshare was an investiment. loan interest could be tax deductable, etc. This company simply tries to rip off people to try to get into the trap.

    Should we stand out and expose their tricks to the public and bring an attention to the agency http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr/ ?

    Thanks.

    1 Votes
  • Lk
    lktskate Jul 09, 2017

    @Tian H Yes. I am refusing to pay 29, 900 for a timeshare I already paid 13, 000 for in 2009. They seem to have a scam of remarketing the same units. My new one is next door to the old unit. Exact same thing. State of FL said I shouldn't pay and let them foreclose after umpteen years. They stated we all would have to stick together on the various issues. Not much help from the state.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    SarBear Jul 25, 2017

    @lktskate I may be able to help. Call 704-800-6742

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mile Sep 01, 2009

    My husband and I went to a mispresentacion at Orange lake resort, we were very exited about but we never were informed that we have a grace perior to change our minds and now we are trap in this situacion that just bring alot stress in our lives, I did my down payment in july 2009, went I called I have a nasty men on the phone to told me that my account was pending, I did make several phone call no answer, I am very dissapointed, finally I went to a lawyer because I want to breach the contract with them, and he told me "because we sing we had nothing to do, " plus, he told me better call them again and try to see if you can work with them to cancell, but went I call I got on the phone people that say the represent from the office that I can is in a meeting and they call me but, they never did. I did call yesterday oct.31 no body return my phone I don't know wthat I have to do, any advice, please tell me. Thank you and sorry if I had

    2 Votes
  • Lk
    lktskate Jul 09, 2017

    @mile Never told about a 10 day cancellation period. My income also falsely reported. These people that pressure us for hours are total sleaze. All we can do is give bad press. I don't ever want to go back to Florida again let alone Orange Lake. They appear to pick on seniors.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    jasonk22 Sep 14, 2009

    We purchased a week in Orange lake for April in 2005. We purchased a 3-bedroom unit on the top floor in hopes of using Orange Lake every 5 years or so with our kids going to Disney. We joined RCI so we could trade out of Orange Lake on the years we did not plan to go to FL. To date we have only been able to successfully trade our week via RCI twice. Last year we had an ongoing search for all of the East Coast and Nothing Nada. We lost a space banked week as a result. We received a call last week from Orange Lake trying to sell us on their newest and greatest scheme. We were point blank told our RCI membership was a waste as RCI is antiquated blah blah blah... My personal opinion is that RCI now views Orange Lake as competition for revenue streams since they have purchased several resorts and now offer their own time sharing network. As a result Orange Lake has made my RCI membership useless as I am sure our RED week since it is tied to a competing entity, is considered crap by RCI. If I knew this was going to be their business model moving forward, I would never have purchased my week at Orange Lake. The only reason I purchased a week in FL as I plan to go there every 5 years with the kids and it was at the time a PRIME resort for RCI providing a good trade value in the off years. Now my options are limited to going to FL every year or one of Orange Lakes other resorts that are in places I do not want to go! Time to sue them!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol CICW Oct 26, 2009

    IT GETS WORSE FOLKS. If the timeshare owner would happen to ever need nursing home care these become USELESS assets.

    1 Votes
  • El
    Elier Hernandez Jan 02, 2010

    My wife and I are also owners of Orange Lake Resort, and we purchased 5 years ago. Our maintenance fee has increased from $592.00 to $837.00, and they tell us over the phone that they have no control of it. At this rate it could easily go over $1000.00 in a few years. Last "adjustment" was over $120.00. It does not make sense anymore. Bottom line is, If you want to go on vacation every year, set aside $200 to $300 every month and pay for it outright. A week at Orange Lake now will cost around $2000.00 on peek season at river island.

    3 Votes
  • Dj
    djprjp Jan 17, 2010

    Orange Lake maintenance fees' are over the top. My husband and I feel caught in a net that just gets tighter. When they put on another hundred or so for possible roof repairs on a 3 year old building. This is suppose to be placed in a separate maintenance account to gain interest for who? For how long are the preparing to collect from everyone?
    what are our rights to have a maintenance fee that is reasonable? This if after spending thousands and fees increasing every year...

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    kamp Jan 17, 2010

    My husband and I have owned at Orange Lake since 2006. We were also told when we bought the time share that it was an investment and if we ever wanted to sell the unit, Orange Lake would sell it for us. Well we just returned from our fixed week at Orange Lake and found out that there have been many changes. First of all, it is NOT an investment, you can go on any resale time share web site (one in particular called TUG) and find Orange Lake property for as low as $100.00. When we asked about selling our unit, we were told that Orange Lake is not in the resale business. We were also told by an Orange Lake representative that we would be lucky to get a couple thousand dollars for a $12, 000 unit. Many changes have taken place that don't seem to be in the best interest of the owner as well. There is now a points system where we would have to pay an additional $6000.00 in order for our week to be flexible and earn points which we learned about from a presentatiion that we were told would last 60 minutes. After 3 1/2 hours and the reprentative trying to convince us to convert to the point system we were able to leave the presentation. We were surpised and upset that we could no longer use cash on the resort, only your credit card, so we went off the resort to eat meals. When asked why we could not use cash, we were told that it was a safety issue and people would feel safer not carrying cash on them. But yet when we gave our credit card for a $250.00 deposit in case we did charge something during our stay, our credit card was handled by at least 4 different staff members and taken to another room; now how safe was that and isn't identity theft a concern? It appears that they want to take away the few rights the owners have; Orange Lake is nothing more than a glorified hotel now (and a very costly one at that.)

    2 Votes
  • De
    deathtotimeshares Jan 27, 2010

    ok.. so how do we all unite and get high level athourities and maybe even the better business bureau, and credit reporting agencies to recognize the scam in all this and help out ???

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stephen Williams Jan 31, 2010

    Can I moan as well?
    Having paid $74, 000 for a 2 week slot in River Island in Feb (which is actually no good to us), I feel like chucking it in even after 4 years. Being a UK resident, just the cost now of getting to the US is becoming inflationary. The $2, 000 maintenance fee seems cheap when considering flight costs. Even having all these thousands of points is becoming a pain in the butt.

    The place in Orlando is great but, I am not the type to have MEGA vacations every year. Mabe it is best to lose now and save on the maintenance fees for the rest of my life and the families.

    2 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Feb 08, 2010

    Hi everyone

    My name is vicky. Ii have been in touch with a group of people that have been lied to and misled by Orange Lake resorts. We have spoken to a lawyer and starting a class action lawsuit against them. If youre interested in joining us, please email me at SLNYC11!yahoo.com

    1 Votes
  • Ej
    Ejhayden Aug 15, 2019

    @slnyc11 What became of this class action suit? We were scammed as well?

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Feb 08, 2010

    sorry my email address is [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mile Feb 10, 2010

    I am living in florida not to close to orlando but if I have to go there to meet the lawyer to help us to breach the contract with Orange Lake I be more than happy to do, I will do that because I am involved in a miss presentation and been loosing my money to pay for something that I can not enjoyed, but together we can do alot, so I be more than happy to provide my email [email protected] if anybody want to contact me just call me for set things up. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Feb 10, 2010

    That sounds great! Thank you for offering your help. If anyoneone would like to join in on the class action acgainst orange lake resorts please feel free to email me at [email protected] I will send you my lawyers information along with the contact information to for the other owners I have been in touch with. One again my email address is [email protected]

    3 Votes
  • St
    Stephen Williams Feb 20, 2010

    Their maintenance fee covers a vacation in itself.
    Next time there, I'll be happy just to punch one of those smiley faces.

    1 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Feb 22, 2010

    Stephen feel free to send me an email and I will send you the contact information for the law firm.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmiranda700 Feb 26, 2010

    Paper money has been declared by law to be "Legal Tender for All Debts, Public and Private." So how come businesses and govermental agencies get to refuse to take cash in payment?

    Here is what the law says: You have a hotel. The charge is $89 per night plus tax. That is your "offer", the first part of any contract. You offer your room at that price. Now I stay there. That is my "acceptance, " the second part of any contract. In the morning, I offer you cash to pay for my debt - which is "legal tender for ANY debt." That is my offer to pay. You refuse. That is you refusing payment. Once you refuse payment, I can argue I owe you no money, since I offered to pay and you refused. Now if I offered to pay with chickens, or peanuts, or anything that is not "legal tender" you have every right to refuse. But since checks and credit cards are only substitutes for cash, and are not money in and of themselves, can they be required?

    http://bestcasinogamingonline.com

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmiranda700 Feb 26, 2010

    One reason there are issues with Orange Lake is because most of the senior management are all new as they got rid of good people like Charley Swan previous CEO. The new management is only interested in profit because their bonus is tied to it, without regard to quality customer care. Most of these bozos have come from companies that have failed like Fairfield Resort. 5 years from now either this management will be replaced or Orange Lake will be no more!

    2 Votes
  • Sa
    SarBear Jul 25, 2017

    @jmiranda700 Fairfield Resorts is still Fairfield...they just changed their name to Wyndham. Still the same company

    0 Votes
  • Co
    connie P. Tuazon Mar 01, 2010

    I got my timeshare at Orange Lake in 1999 I have been paying on time till it was paid off so every year maintenance fee goes high this year I never received any maintenance statement which they said it was mailed in November I got the statement Jan 29 2010 I paid $719.04 On Febuary 26 I got a bill for Maintenance late charge $25.00 & finance charge of $ 10.71 orange lake has been so greedy I lost my job they dont even care and the supervisor and the customer rep wont listen ."You have to pay this amount because capital management wont waive any fee" I used the property only 2 times in 11 years what a waste

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Mar 02, 2010

    if you have been scammed by OL feel free to contact me at [email protected] .

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stephen Williams Apr 06, 2010

    Are we being scammed or are we just plain gullible!
    When you are on holiday, your senses are less acute especially under the Florida sun.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 21, 2010

    Anyone of us has a complaint against Orange Lake Resort should file our complaint report to Florida BBB http://centralflorida.bbb.org/ and http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/consumers.html
    expose OLR dirty business conduct to the public . Let our voice be heard ! United we stand !!!

    3 Votes
  • Dc
    dcf12859 Apr 22, 2010

    Our family went through the same issues with Orange Lake this past year when our time share at South Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach was bought by Holiday Inn Vacation Club. At an information meeting we were told we needed a certain number of points to be VIP with added benefits, and they sold us a week at Orange Lake. Come to find out, that did not put us at VIP leve since our time share points with another company did not figure in and we bought the Orange Lake week for no reason. We did not want to go to FL or buy another week, but we did want the added benefits of VIP at Myrtle Beach which we did not get. The other thing we were told was that we could pay for the very high maintenance fee by using our Priority Club Visa card and rack up points. They even gave us an example of how many dollars we would have to spend on that card to pay for the maintenance fee. Since it is my parents, my sister and myself who own the time share, we were told all of our Visa points would roll into one account and then we could use those points to pay for our maintenance fee. Needless to say, none of that was true and we are now stuck with a time share we never wanted and a HUGH maintencance fee to pay out of pocket. As for the Priority Club card, you do ear points, but no way to pay for the maintenance fee and there is a annual fee after the first year. We've all since gone back to using our other charge cards and will be canceling our Priority Club card. The botom line is they had inexperienced people at South Beach giving mis information about the transition of the sale and selling, selling, selling for Orange Lake! We need help if anyone has a solution.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 23, 2010

    Once again, anyone of us has a complaint against Orange Lake Resort should file our complaint report to Florida BBB (http://centralflorida.bbb.org/) and (http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/consumers.html) ; FTC (https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/)
    We must expose the dirty business conduct at the Orange Lkae Resort if we want to make a change or recoup out lost. Let our voice be heard !

    0 Votes
  • Co
    co2216 Apr 26, 2010

    Did everyones maintenance fees go up $100 dollars this year??? Whats with the voluntary $5 donation?? The resort is still a nice place to stay but I can stay at a pretty nice hotel for $750 a week if I shop around!! I guess that WE the OWNERS need to voice our opinions while staying at the resort... I can't wait for them to try and sell me something this year!!!

    Are there any class action lawsuits out there??? [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 26, 2010

    These people at the timeshare industry are just so greedy. We should all file our complaints to FL BBB. If OLR's A+ drops to "F" on the BBB website., It must hurt their business, then they (Orange Lake Resort) will hear us.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    al4fun May 02, 2010

    We have been owners at Orange Lake since 1994...have two week. Didn't take long to figure out that RCI was a rip off from the beginning. The next thing was that after making the purchase and going to the annual owner updates (sales push) that everytime management changed so did the speech. Have heard every story and new sales pitch over the years and yeah got alot of bad info and of course being sales people nothing is ever in writing...vbg that is your first clue. We live close enough that the weeks we use we use or rent at our choice. If we rent part of the week or the whole week but have a loss...maintence fees etc then we take a tax loss each year. The new points system... what a crock, all they are doing is shutting out RCI to keep that money horse for themselves! We may never buy another week but neither will we give them anymore money for any new scheme. We either use the week or take the loss. I love it when EVERY year they say that this is the LAST time we will give gifts for you to come and hear the sale pitch...and yeah I go and take the gift...lol why not? There for a week and now we say we are here for the gift only do what you got to do but NO we are not buying ANYTHING! Don't get me wrong...love the site and go everyyear but realize that doing it OUR way makes it more manageable. BTW double up on those payments to get out asap...better for you all around.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scdy Jun 07, 2010

    are you people all [censor]s? use the vacation for crying out loud, I've never heard a bigger bunch of whiners in my life. Class action suit? All that does is make the lawyers rich, they see you as suckers to begin with! Sell it and cut your losses or use the time. Personally, I wouldn't buy a timeshare, but I know people who love them.

    -3 Votes
  • Bi
    birdy3271 Jun 15, 2010

    We have been owners since 1995. In 2007 they tried to have us buy an upgrade and join the point system. No thank you. They said the our RCI exchange would not be accepted any longer at OLC, which is untrue. We have used our RCI to exchange weeks and even room size if need be. The fees have gone up so much over the years but I love it there. As long as RCI exsists, I am sticking with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Kasprzyk Jul 07, 2010

    This is what Happened when I touredTo whom it may concern:
    07-04-2010
    Orlando Fl.

    My name is Randy Kasprzyk, I recently toured you Holiday Inn Vacation Club in Orlando Florida. And say the least. I am looking for a lawyer to take you to court. My wife and I have never been so embarrassed, or humiliated in our lives… I am sending a copy of this letter to everyone I know.
    First of all, from the start at Universal Studios we were approached by your marketing agents. They told us about your tour. And that we would love to take it. So I agreed, but I would have to pay $30.00 for the tour, and I would get my thirty dollars back plus $70.00 more, and a free Breakfast just for taking the tour. So I thought what could go wrong. And I agreed to do so.
    We went into the place of meeting. We then were asked to if we wanted breakfast. Of course that what we were there for, I do not call Donuts and coffee breakfast. But that what they called breakfast. Never the less as we were eating breakfast. Your salesman started asking me and my wife about ourselves, and what we did for a living. I told him I work for the Local Government where I live. And have a computer company which I Run Also. My wife is disabled do to server seizures disorders. And went on to tell him who some of our clients were, Which Is Terry Collis, Producer of Tombstone. Die Hard, and more, Also John Feist. Who is one of the producers of survivors. There is a lot more, for one Leigh Lofgren who was Emeril’s producer for food network. And the reason for me knowing these people is where we live. George W. Bush even stays here. The Man who started Reynolds Plantation is Best friends with him, and that is Lake Oconee. And I also work as the IT Supervisor for the government. Also asked us what brought us to Florida, Well me and my wife meet in Baltimore Maryland On the 4th of July. And we been together ever sense, and it was our way of celebrating.
    After breakfast we were asked to view a movie. And Yes Memories are important. And with quality of my wife’s life, is getting worse every year. So yes it is important to us. And Kemmons Wilson Little movie even brought a tear to our eyes.
    Now as our conversation was going on, my arm started to hurt, so I asked my wife to rub it. Your sales men ask me what was wrong; I told him I had just had Rotator Cuff surgery done. He told me he has to go through the same thing himself. Also I have not been working on my Government job for about 8 weeks due to my shoulder surgery, but I am still working full time for myself.
    Now your salesmen go on to show us what he had to offer. And tells us about your club and how we can benefit from it. After 3 long hours going through this presentation he asked us what we thought. I thought it was good. And for the right person I think it would be great, and explained to him I hardly stay in and Hotel, Motel, or a Condo. I am a camper enthusiast. My camper has everything I need. And If I do stay in a Hotel, Motel or whatever. Sense I do work for the Government, and also a shiner, we get a really good discount, so if I do stay at one, I will use my discount.
    Well this is where it started going downhill from here. We felt threaten. And as the conversation was going back and forth why I should own this, and how I can pay for it. Well Just say it blew me for a loop.
    At 15. Whatever percent finance charge, that’s what it would be if I fiancé it through you, but I could get a bank loan for it. That way I would not have to use you for financing, what I said was if the banks won’t lend money for a house what make you think they are going to lend money for vacation timeshare.
    So I think I mad your salesmen mad with us. He started bringing more people over to see us with more options. And again I said I was not interested in this program, it don’t fit in to what we want to do, I explained to your people I am trying to send to two kids through college, building a new Garage, and that simply I tried to say I could not afford it right now hoping to get them off my back. (This is what I call a high pressure sale. ) Now your salesmen must have really got mad. He went back and got someone else to talk to us. We told him the same thing. I just wasn’t ready to buy at this point and time. Then one other person came out and told us sense I was not working, that I didn’t qualify for your presentation any way, and didn’t qualify for any of the gift that was promised for taking the tour. That part of taking the presentation was that I have to make over Fifty Thousand Dollars a year. I got mad at this point, I do make over Fifty Thousand Dollars a year. He said I have no income coming in because I was not working. I think that’s all he was focus on that I was on sick leave through the government. And really I was just wanting my thirty dollars back that I paid for the tour. But your people had gotten so rude with us. I told them just because I am not working for the county right now duo to an injury don’t mean. I don’t have an income coming in, thinking they weren’t even going to give our money back to us. So of course we have a few words. This took place right in the middle of your presentation room where everyone could see. Finally they asked me if I wanted cash or not. We finally were able to leave.
    Now at this point stress makes my wife upset, and sometimes is causes her to have a seizure. And after having a Seizure she sleeps for 2 to three days afterwards. Never the less she had a bad spell on the way back to where we were staying. And now of course this is what we are going to remember. And yes we are going to tell everyone we now about this, in hopes it deters people for ever staying at a Holiday Inn Ever Again.

    P.S. Thanks for the Memories,
    Sincerely
    Randy Kasprzyk
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penelope62 Jan 24, 2011

    We have been scamed by Orange Lake also and threatened that if we didn't make our payments they could ruin our credit put leins on us take us to court etc. Why do Time Shares have so much power and the consumer has none? Why are there no rules or regulations for Time Shares ? Why has the Goverment not step in with some kind of guide lines for them. There is no protection what so ever for the consumer. Reporting them to the BBB will do nothing because they belong to the BBB and that is good for an automatic good grade for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Pe
    Penelope62 Feb 10, 2011

    Here is something for all you unhappy Orange lake Time Share owner can do . File a complaint with The Florida Attorney Generals' Office . you can do it on line or by mail. What ever way you choose the forms can be printed of line. No guaranties but the more complaints against them may mean an investigation in to thier tactics. It might get more rights for us. Its a start any way.

    3 Votes
  • Kb
    K Brady Feb 24, 2011

    There is an attorney working on filing a class action against this company. I was told that they had bought "the last available ocean front property in Myrtle Beach" and they were going to expand on it and if I wanted to get one of the last remaining units that I needed to upgrade now. well... to make a long story short... I took the deal. come to find out there is no building owned or planned by the for the oceanfront. Not to mention the addition of the "cash flow charge" and "voluntary contribution" on the yearly maintenance dues. took mine from the agreed 545 to over 700.00. these people need to get a grip. These guys are crooks and using the consumer as a cash flow. not to mention that when we signed initially we were told that we would receive 8 tickets to the local attractions. Now the new management company is taking that away with no restitution for the 400.00 minimum per owner that they are taking away.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bowen71 Mar 21, 2011

    Orange lake resorts have been bought out by Holiday inn and you dont have full access to RCI anymore. This was the only reason I bought the timeshare to begin with was to use RCI and now I cant. WTF!

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    mlrm Apr 13, 2011

    my husband and I were lied to and taken advantage of. We verbally agreed to one dollar amount and our contract showed a higher charge. We were given an explanation and accepted it. Like idiots we signed the contract with the higher fee. We can't get out of it and do not want it. We are so unhappy. What is going on with the class action lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mile Apr 19, 2011

    Please if anybody need I hired and State Attorney lawyer here in Florida she has 10 years of experienced, she is been working in my case regard to the falses promised that Orange lake did to us, so if you need information be free to contact me [email protected] I am happy to share any information you need. Have a good day.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jo1111 Jun 17, 2011

    Dear owners did you all know if an employee helps you all and it is even 1 minute over our scheduled shift we get wrote up? The owners claim that they are Christians from TN. But yet they lie to us all the time. We get laied off all the time. They tell us to reapply. Then they offer us a position that is more than 50% less than what we were getting paid, ( we decline and now orange lake doesn't even have to pay unemployment). One of my co- workers had to leave due to a medical purcedure. Once everything was approved and he was ready for the purcedure they fired him. Saying that he could not receive any more time off. He was with the family of Orange lake for YEARS. The managers LOL at you when you get written up. ( At least 4 departments that I know of ). Will the marketing manager works people like slaves. They can not even take brakes. Some time if one of them goes to take a bathroom brake they get in trouble. I know many people that tried to get unemployment after their department was laid off / or were fired. Orange Lake will lie under oath during the unemployment court hiring and say that the employee was bad, did not work good, and any other lies to make the appeals court to try and agree with them. People who have worked for them if it is 1 week to 20 years get treated HORRIBLE. We are treated like a dirty rug. We try to tell our managers ways that will help us give better service to our guest. We get LOL at and then some fired. Because the managers are scared that we are trying to get their job. Westgate use to have the "bad" rep in Florida. NOW ITS ORANGE LAKE. From the lies they tell their owners to the lies they tell their employees. This is by fare the most HYPERCRITICAL, back stabbing, NON employee and customer service company in Orlando and soon to be in America. With the new resorts we bought from Summer Bay from Vegas to TN to Bronson, and down to Florida. Spence Willson's Father would roll over in his grave if he new how employees and owners were being treated. HOW CAN THE OWNER OF THE COMPANY IN TN GO ON MISSION TRIPS around the world. Tell people about the loving GOD? Then he comes back to America were the companies in the USA are full of lies and deceit. Orange Lake will learn the hard way. You can not be a good successful company with out happy employees. The entire HR process is a cover. You can not have a "open" door policy. You try this and it will get back to your manager. You will know because you will start getting wrote up for things you did not even do. Orientation is very nice but that's all. It too is a cover. Do not be deceived. Do not work for this company. ( if you have a loss in your family in most departments they will try and fire you and/or give you hassle about "your problem" . Do not buy form orange lake because you can be assured that through the nice smiles and clothes they are LOL behind your back and will lie to your face. The managers make us "lie" or say what ever is necessary to get our numbers so we can keep our jobs and have food for our families.

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    ram5075 Jul 07, 2011

    My family has owned property at Orange Lake for about the past 20 years and I can truly say that things are just getting worse. There are the simple things like the lack of shuttles for such a big resort and changing the style of the pool. However there are bigger matters that are really starting to frustrate my family. The last few years have been very rough with my family I’m sure like many other people in the world. So this year we have been really determined to go on vacation. My mother called to schedule a vacation. Now we only owe the month of June which is currently being worked on. However we have over a year that has been paid and not used. We asked about scheduling a vacation using our points from last year but have been told that if any parts of our payments are late we can’t use it. Now this is maintenance for three units, mortgage, and other fees. Right now we have 881, 000 points which we are unable to use because of one month. Not only is that a problem when we first signed up for Go Global we were told that our points would never expire. Today we were told that if we don’t transfer them we would lose them. We actually found out that we already lost 200, 000 points. All we keeping getting is a sorry it is in the contract. Please does anybody else think this is right? We understand that we owe June and not being able to use the points for this year. We don’t have a problem with that. But what about the points from last year that were fully paid off. We have services that we have paid for but are being told we can’t use them. We also have the problem where things are being changed in the middle of the contract period without notification. We are definitely reaching the point to take this to the media and legal actions.

    0 Votes

Post your comment