Orange Lake resort orlandoChange rules of ownership on a yearly basis - Misleading elderly couple

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My elderly parents were talked into buying a weeks timeshare at Orange Lake Resort, Orlando, Florida. They attend a yearly conference during the same time every January 2nd or 3rd week. When considering the purchase, they asked repeatably if it would ever be a problem to change weeks because the conference tends to vary by one week year to year. They were assured that this would never be a problem. They had some difficulty last year switching the date by one week. They informed Orange Lake Management one year before what the date would be this coming January. They were given specific directions on who and when to call for confirmation of dates. When calling October 2, 2008, they were told that the rules had changed and they would not be able to switch dates anymore!!! If they wanted to switch the date, they would have to "upgrade to a new unit & time" and pay $12, 000.000 additional for the same 3 bedroom condo. They already fully paid for the original in the amount of $16, 000.00. If this is not the old "Bait and Switch", I don't know what is. What can they do

Responses

  • La
    Lauraspidey Jul 24, 2019

    I am also interested in a class action against OLCC,

    1 Votes
  • Ej
    Ejhayden Aug 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Lauraspidey I am interested in class action as well

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Need a Vacation Jul 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am interested in joining a class action against OLCC. Please advise. Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    maritza berrios Mar 27, 2019

    my name is Maritza berrios I own a timeshare since 2009 I only had 2000 more to go to pay if off on 7-14 I had surgery on my voice box I wanted to go to the time share to rest on 7-16 2 days later I was pressured to do a timeshare i was told it was just 90 min i was there for 5 hours i was suppose to sign a paper to get 3 free day stay I am unsure how I eneded up buying another time share so I/o owning them 2000 now I own them 25000 when u look at my contract u can see where I even put the wrong date I was not in my sound mind and I asked to be removed from this contract and they declined I am not paying one cent made a report to bbb and looking to hire a lawyers any suggestion please help they took advantage of me if u see a person that cant talk and even wrote the wrong date u should not go forward but they did shame on them for taking advantage of me

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chillical Jan 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the owner of a studio at orange lake. The dues are now 912 US, as a Cdn that is close to $1300. I cannot pay that. It would be a lot cheaper to take an all inclusive for a week which includes air to a different destination. They can do what they like, but we have barely enough money to make ends meet and cannot keep up the increase every year in the maintenance. BL from BC Cda

    1 Votes
  • So
    Sophia Barnes Nov 03, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I realize this thread goes back some years, but an internet search lead me here. My sister bought from Orange Lake several years ago. Never used the timeshare; so I purchased it from her at quite a savings. She had week 47, which was Thanksgiving week every year EXCEPT for leap years. In comes Holiday Inn Vacation Club. I rarely use my Orange Lake Week and exchange it with RCI, but I noticed that this year, and next year, week 47 falls on the week following Thanksgiving. When Holiday Inn bought it, I was given the option of upgrading and buying into the Holiday Inn Global program (or whatever). My fixed week would be converted to a point value and I could exchange for other weeks at Orange Lake or other Holiday Inn Vacation Clubs. It would have cost me like $10, 000. Umm... NO THANKS! Besides, Thanksgiving week is a good fixed week to have. I imagine people that had Christmas Week, New Years week, and some others felt the same. So... This is what the sneaky [censor] did at some point. They changed how they number their weeks! Week one starts with January 5th or the Friday on or immediately after January 5th. This year, 2017, started on a Sunday. You would think that would be week 1, right? But NO... Week one starts that Friday and continues through the following Sunday (check-in) date. And guess what... My week 47 that was originally purchased as a fixed week that feel during Thanksgiving every year except for leap years, not falls a week AFTER Thanksgiving week. They couldn't get us to pay more money and hand over our high demand weeks; so they changed the resort calendar on us. Instead of me having my week fall over thanksgiving 3 out of 4 years; it will now fall over thanksgiving 1 out of 4 years. JUST SLIMEY! I was googling thinking there had to be some class action suit over this, but I have not run across anything. Wanted to document here in case it helps someone else or leads to come action.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    jodimid May 13, 2016

    Unfortunately we bought as well. I actually didn't have a problem with it but we were naive and didn't realize that with interest we were paying double what they sold it to us but it is almost paid off right now. We even more stupidly, after 3 hours of sales pitches, bought a second one. We were told we could use our points to pay the maintenance fees but turns out that wasn't true. I filed a complaint, I complained to them, tried calling the person that sold it to me and no one calls back. So we talked to a place that will go to court to get rid of it. I have no problem getting rid of the new one because we haven't paid much into it but as far as the first one, we have paid almost 20, 000 and it's almost paid off. I know there are still maintenance fees but I'm not sure getting rid of it for nothing is the best option. It just feels like throwing $20, 000 out the window and we get nothing for it. Has anyone had any success selling their timeshare? We are trying to decide whether we get rid of it through a lawyer which will cost us money. So we will be paying someone to take it from us. Any advice? Please!

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nightmare continues Dec 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am also stuck with an Orange Lake Timeshare too. Was harassed into buying it, told it would be an investment and they did Re-sales, told couldn't get out of it, paid lots of money to try and sell it twice. Waste hours of my time trying to use points on RCI going to places I don't want to go, fees are rising continually and my salary has dropped significantly so now I can't actually afford to pay anymore. I am sick to death of the stress of it all. Have tried to give it away for free. No one wants it. Don't know what to do!

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorane Benjamin Oct 19, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with most complaint, it has proven all these people could not be lying about Orange Lake or any other Time Share Resorts for that matter. It seems to me Time Sharing has became the biggest Ponzi Scheme in America and the world. It shoud be band world wide. When one TS Resort have enough complaint where the are fine they change names and merge with other Resorts who continue to do only what they are use to doing lies, deceit and fraud.

    AUG- SEPT of 2015 many family members were in FL. We had stopovers in West Palm later on to Orange then on to Miami for a cruise to the Bahamas. However my vacation was spoiled with Orange Lake Resort High pressured sales pitched, with many sales representative trying to break up down.

    I'm am currently caught in Orange Lake Resort web of deceits and unscrupulous Practice. Having unauthotized charges and auto Pay against my personal debit acct. I am still trying to understand how these resorts who are destroying lives with there criminal, preditorial practice against innocent, naive or totally ignorant people to the time share Scams seems to go unnoticed. With the millions of complaints I'm reading on various sites, Why has the Government agencies turn a blind eye towards these criminal enterprise called TIMESHARE?

    Many of complaints I have seen people, who filed with Attorney Generals, BBB, fraud hotlines, consumer protection hot lines. Yet time share schemes and scams continued to flurished without been put out of business and sent away like Bernie Madoff for 150 years.

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    Rledogar Jul 16, 2015

    Please sent complaints for Holiday Inn Vacation Club/Orange Lake Resorts to:

    Department of Business & Professional Regulation
    Bureau of Consumer complaints
    1949 N Monroe St.
    Tallahassee, FL [protected]
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    Rledogar May 07, 2015

    We bought in March 2012 and everything we were told were lies and untruths. Something needs to be done about the Holiday Inn Vacation Club. They either lie or fail to inform you of the downsides of owning a timeshare. A class action needs to be filed against them. We were told they would resale if we changed our mind at a later time and even the commission they would charge but we later find out that they do not do re sales. If you by chance are able to sale the points system is no longer valid and a person would be locked into your week Long with there high fees. I was referred to Timeshares Only and I am now thing they must get a kickback from them. You can take a vacation for less than your yearly fees.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    lillik Apr 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WILL BE JOINING A CLASS=SUIT AGAINST

    ORANGE LAKE COUNTRY CLUB AND RESORT !!!

    and will be blogging about it...
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maritza berrios Mar 27, 2019

    @lillik please adv [email protected] thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ej
    Ejhayden Aug 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @lillik Is there a class action to join

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Wrencher Mar 24, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The honesty of the sales or customer service on the phone is not there. I talked to one of them in December who notified me that my debit card had expires and my account was in jeopardy of going 30 days late. I did everything this person asked; I checked my credit this weekend and they reported 30 days late despite doing everything asked. They feel that they can do anything they want because they can report anything to the credit bureaus. I hate to be lied to and everything they said in December was a lied and I feel they do not care about their customers. They only care about extracting money. I hate Orange Lake and I want to find a way to get away from them ASAP.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    Thrlmccoy2 Mar 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everybody
    Please send a complaint letter to the Florida Attorney General because this is the only way to get Orange Lake (Holiday Inn & International Hotel Group) to clean up their act. If the Florida Attorney General gets enough complaints against OL then they will began to everybody seriously and do something about them.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chikito57 Mar 16, 2015

    I am also a owner at Orange Lake Resort. I become an owner in 2012, and I owned a 2 bedroom. All the information given at the presentation were all LIES. My sales agent Frank Thompson is the worst LIAR I have ever encountered in my life. I loved to take my kids on vacation and love for us to be able to do 3 to 4 weeks of different vacation in a year. Orange lake told I will be able to get 3 to 4 weeks using maxtime that has never worked out. Frank also said my maintenance would never go up; that was a big LIE because each new year there is a $50 to $200 more added to it. Their customer service is horrifying; the worst I have ever encountered. ORANGE LAKE RESORT IS A NIGHTMARE TO ALL HUMAN BEING.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    Thrlmccoy2 Mar 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    From the begining Orange Lake has lied, broke the contact I had with them and then sue me for the fact they broken our contract.
    If anybody bought into their timeshare time in 2002, then Orange Lake has committed frad and actually committed GRAND THEFT by stealing over $2 million dollars. I know that they stole from me about $45, 000.00 total and I have actual proof and it is in my contract.
    They sue me and I counter-sued them because of their preach of our contract that they had to hire another law firm to take me on by myself. This law firm lied to the court but claiming that they notified me of a court day but they lied so that I could not show up and thus I lost my counter-lawsuit. Orange Lake lost their lawsuit in the first round but because I was not able to show up for my counter-lawsuit (Because I had to travel by plane to Orlando).
    Here is are the reason as to why they committed GRAND THEFT against me and if they did this to me then they did it aginst everybody else too in 2002.
    In my contract it show that my wife and I paid maintenance fees for 2003 so when can use it, but in the contract it clearly states that the purcher can not occupy any unit until after closing. Well my contract and the closing paper work shows that closing did not take place until 4 Feb 2004. Well our time to use the unit was not until November 2004. Yet in 2003, the building which our unit is located in was NOT build thus we were to have credit against the maintenance fees. Well, inaccordance with Florida Attorney General office that it is against the law for charging for maintenance before closing.In my contract it clearly states that purschures is no longer responsibile for any payments if the Title Insurance is NOT RECIEVED within allowed time. Thus the sellor MUST return all funds. Well, I NEVER recieved my TITLE INSURANCE and NEVER RECIEVED ANY OF MY FUNDS BACK to this date (Friday 27 December 2013). The funds to be returned is about $45, 000.00 but yet Orange Lake attorney in my counter-lawsuit did not want to loose against somebody who is NOT attorney that they lied in court so they can win.Strange that Orange Lake parent company is the Hoilday Inn, a company by which I have membership in their PRIPORITY CLUB. Yet they treat members this way.I paid my mortgage and maintenance fees yet Orange Lake denied me access to use what I paid for because they made mistakes in place my maintenance in the mortgage for at that time all payment where send to 2 different Post Office Box number that had the same address. Thus the US Postal Service place the payment in the wrong PO Box but it is my fault. Thus they refuse to correct my account, thus they refuse to correct my account Becausse of they mistakes the messed up our credit and to this date they were to correct it but they have notI have actual pyshical proof of each claimed against Orange Lake Country Club and Resort.
    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT ANYBODY WHO BOUGHT INTO THEIR TIME SHARE TO TAKE YOUR CONTRACT TO A BUSINESS ATTORNEY BECAUSE ORANGE LAKE MAY HAVE BREACHED YOUR CONTRACT LIKE THEY DID WITH MINE AND STOLED FROM YOU TOO!!

    3 Votes
  • Wo
    Woody490 Feb 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased one week in a villa in West Village in 2000 for 10000 dollars. With the exception of maintenance fees rising steeply all was fine. In early 2011 we decided to sell the week so began advertising. Later that year we took a vacation at Orange Lake through RCI. During our stay we were approached by an Orange Lake representative who attempted to sell us our existing week on a points system. We were told that we had already been advised that the vacation format had changed from weeks to points. This was untrue and for the next hour three individuals attempted to sell us our week for an extortionate price. As one failed the next took over with a reduced price. We held off and came away disgusted with our treatment following up with an email to Orange Lake which they failed to respond to.
    We are left with is a worthless timeshare with an annual maintenance bill of 850 dollars.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    CG Banks Dec 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I purchased (their) time share over a year ago, I said their time share because I have yet to see where I now or ever will own the time share they supposedly sold us. Nevertheless, thousands of senior citizens are in a seemingly hopeless situation, most will not complain, many that do will eventually give in to the loss, and a few will continue to fight. I do not appreciate nor will I ever willingly allow a bunch of crooks to take my hard earned money without a fight. It takes patience and courage to fight, a good fight invigorates and sustains the warrior. Before you know it the victory is won.

    2 Votes
  • De
    Deb Kay Jun 20, 2013

    I was talked into buying in Oct 2010. when we tried to use it we found out that the points didn't work the way they explained. We asked to return the time share because we were misled. They said there wasn't any proof. So the only recourse was not to pay them. After three months of trying to talk to them we stopped payment. When we signed we were told we didn't have to pay maintenance fees till 2012 because we didn't officially start owning till April 2011 for we were making payments from Oct 2010 to March 2011 for the down payment. When we got a bill for the 2011 fees in April we explained what was told to us and again they said that we couldn't prove it. They wrote off our loan in 2012. I was talking to a lawyer to help us but once they wrote off we couldn't do anything. I believe something has to be done to stop these type of practices. I would of kept the time share if it worked they way they explained. Everything they told us was just a lie including the sales person. We asked if we could think about the sale for a day or two but they pressure you to sign right then. I will never purchase anything again that won't allow you time to think about it. I wish there was a way to sue them and clear it from my credit.

    1 Votes
  • Dp
    dpang33 Apr 02, 2013

    i looked over my contract and it does not say anything about raising the maint fee. in factit says we agree to pay 441.00 per week, we own 2 fixed weeks and its paid off. but i am being threatened forclosure because my maint fee. now if the contract says 441.00 with our signiture how is it we are paying 750+ per week. I have the contract so time to FIGHT!!! everyone should look at their contract as well

    3 Votes
  • La
    Lazy River Fan Sep 26, 2011

    I recently visited Orange Lake on a sales promotion with my elderly mother and mentally handicapped sister. I can see some of the issues described yet my sister loved the lazy river and it was a dream world to her. I don"t understand all the time share stuff but we would like to visit in swimming season again. We live 200 miles away and maybe, if reasonable, we could use some unused days. [email protected]

    3 Votes
  • Tp
    tptmk Aug 25, 2011

    At 10:45am August 22, 2011 I spoke with a friendly gentleman named Ross (#36497) and paid all remaining items from our account. After speaking with Ross he transferred me to another pleasant girl named Bianca. We discussed the fact that I currently had 181, 000 points to use and the difference in all the numbers associated with our account. After much discussion she made a reservation for me using 96, 000 points to stay at Orange Lake Oct 8-12, 2011. We then discussed that it would leave a balance of 85, 000 points and I would need to use these prior to 12/31/2011 or they would be lost. I asked about rolling them over and she stated I had already done that once and there would be a fee associated with it should I roll the remaining 85, 000. We discussed making a reservation at Smokey Mountain Resort which is our home resort and she inquired about a date of November 11th. We discussed booking fees and housekeeping fees and the fact that it would be 45, 000 points and would cost $99 for this reservation. I explained that I would call back after I spoke with my husband and book that reservation should we decide on it. I agreed that I didn't mind losing the 40, 000 remaining points for we didn't have the money nor the time to use them and there would be a deposit of 131, 000 points deposited on 1/1/2012. She explained that I could book into my home resort 10 to 13 months out and the cancelation policy along with that. She gave me the information I needed to get on the website and stated that it would be updated within four hours where I had made my payment and the reservation. We ended the call on pleasant terms and with the understanding I would return a call soon. Approximately 5:45pm I jumped on the website to see what was on it and saw that it was showing only 35, 000 points as a balance. I called the call center and spoke with Crystal. She tried to accomidate me but could not see where the points were nor why they weren't showing up. She placed me on hold several different times and have 30 minutes of not finding them I requested to speak to Bianca or a supervisor. Being placed on hold yet again she stated that a supervisor would not speak to me that they would return my call tomorrow. This is unacceptable. No one should ever be told they can't speak to someone that is a position to help them. She placed me on hold and finally someone named Leslie (with a foreign accent) came on the line. Leslie was no help whatsoever and only tried to appease the situation. There is no appeasing someone that realizes they have been duped or that someone is trying to take something from them that rightfully belongs to them. She and Crystal are trying to say Orange Lake only gave us 131, 000 points. What they are not taking into consideration is that we have used NO points since Orange Lake took over Crown Park Resort. Our points were rolled into the Holiday Inn Club. That would require there were more than 131, 000 just as Bianca had said at 10:45am. There were 181, 000. I am highly upset and Leslie has stated that I would not even hear anything from a "manager" in maybe 48 hours! TWO DAYS! Really? I explained that I expected more for my money than what I was getting and I expected a call tomorrow. Someone needs to listen to the telephone tapes and see that there is some shady things going on. I realized that I will not get those 50, 000 points back. I am not naive enough to think that Orange Lake would do the right thing and honor what their representatives tell the customers. I have unfortunately read all the press out there on Orange Lake and was willing this morning to disregard it since I had had such a pleasant experience. Not so much now. Seems there is a hint of truth to the press. I may be jumping the gun here since I have not recieved a call as of yet but I do want my displeasure noted. Should I not recieve a call tomorrow I will be following up with the BBB for NO ONE should lose what they have struggled to pay for. We have had such a hard time keeping our timeshare up to date on payments and have also had pleasant experiences dealing with Karine on keeping it all current. The economy is in such dire straights that we may never be able to use our timeshare again. Short of bankrupting we don't see how we can continue to pay, pay, pay, only to be taken advantage of. Please note that should a call not be recieved tomorrow regarding the location of these "missing" 50, 000 points we will have no other alternative than to contact our attorney and the BBB. Please be assured that all paperwork is in order and there will be no hesitation...a call was received and as expected THEY listened to the phone call and didn't hear ANY of this! Imagine! So like most of the other complaints above we too are out our points and maintenance fees will hit in two months!!! No telling how much this is going to hit the pocketbook since we've complained

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
    ram5075 Jul 07, 2011

    My family has owned property at Orange Lake for about the past 20 years and I can truly say that things are just getting worse. There are the simple things like the lack of shuttles for such a big resort and changing the style of the pool. However there are bigger matters that are really starting to frustrate my family. The last few years have been very rough with my family I’m sure like many other people in the world. So this year we have been really determined to go on vacation. My mother called to schedule a vacation. Now we only owe the month of June which is currently being worked on. However we have over a year that has been paid and not used. We asked about scheduling a vacation using our points from last year but have been told that if any parts of our payments are late we can’t use it. Now this is maintenance for three units, mortgage, and other fees. Right now we have 881, 000 points which we are unable to use because of one month. Not only is that a problem when we first signed up for Go Global we were told that our points would never expire. Today we were told that if we don’t transfer them we would lose them. We actually found out that we already lost 200, 000 points. All we keeping getting is a sorry it is in the contract. Please does anybody else think this is right? We understand that we owe June and not being able to use the points for this year. We don’t have a problem with that. But what about the points from last year that were fully paid off. We have services that we have paid for but are being told we can’t use them. We also have the problem where things are being changed in the middle of the contract period without notification. We are definitely reaching the point to take this to the media and legal actions.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jo1111 Jun 17, 2011

    Dear owners did you all know if an employee helps you all and it is even 1 minute over our scheduled shift we get wrote up? The owners claim that they are Christians from TN. But yet they lie to us all the time. We get laied off all the time. They tell us to reapply. Then they offer us a position that is more than 50% less than what we were getting paid, ( we decline and now orange lake doesn't even have to pay unemployment). One of my co- workers had to leave due to a medical purcedure. Once everything was approved and he was ready for the purcedure they fired him. Saying that he could not receive any more time off. He was with the family of Orange lake for YEARS. The managers LOL at you when you get written up. ( At least 4 departments that I know of ). Will the marketing manager works people like slaves. They can not even take brakes. Some time if one of them goes to take a bathroom brake they get in trouble. I know many people that tried to get unemployment after their department was laid off / or were fired. Orange Lake will lie under oath during the unemployment court hiring and say that the employee was bad, did not work good, and any other lies to make the appeals court to try and agree with them. People who have worked for them if it is 1 week to 20 years get treated HORRIBLE. We are treated like a dirty rug. We try to tell our managers ways that will help us give better service to our guest. We get LOL at and then some fired. Because the managers are scared that we are trying to get their job. Westgate use to have the "bad" rep in Florida. NOW ITS ORANGE LAKE. From the lies they tell their owners to the lies they tell their employees. This is by fare the most HYPERCRITICAL, back stabbing, NON employee and customer service company in Orlando and soon to be in America. With the new resorts we bought from Summer Bay from Vegas to TN to Bronson, and down to Florida. Spence Willson's Father would roll over in his grave if he new how employees and owners were being treated. HOW CAN THE OWNER OF THE COMPANY IN TN GO ON MISSION TRIPS around the world. Tell people about the loving GOD? Then he comes back to America were the companies in the USA are full of lies and deceit. Orange Lake will learn the hard way. You can not be a good successful company with out happy employees. The entire HR process is a cover. You can not have a "open" door policy. You try this and it will get back to your manager. You will know because you will start getting wrote up for things you did not even do. Orientation is very nice but that's all. It too is a cover. Do not be deceived. Do not work for this company. ( if you have a loss in your family in most departments they will try and fire you and/or give you hassle about "your problem" . Do not buy form orange lake because you can be assured that through the nice smiles and clothes they are LOL behind your back and will lie to your face. The managers make us "lie" or say what ever is necessary to get our numbers so we can keep our jobs and have food for our families.

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    mile Apr 19, 2011

    Please if anybody need I hired and State Attorney lawyer here in Florida she has 10 years of experienced, she is been working in my case regard to the falses promised that Orange lake did to us, so if you need information be free to contact me [email protected] I am happy to share any information you need. Have a good day.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    mlrm Apr 13, 2011

    my husband and I were lied to and taken advantage of. We verbally agreed to one dollar amount and our contract showed a higher charge. We were given an explanation and accepted it. Like idiots we signed the contract with the higher fee. We can't get out of it and do not want it. We are so unhappy. What is going on with the class action lawsuit?

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bowen71 Mar 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Orange lake resorts have been bought out by Holiday inn and you dont have full access to RCI anymore. This was the only reason I bought the timeshare to begin with was to use RCI and now I cant. WTF!

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    K Brady Feb 24, 2011

    There is an attorney working on filing a class action against this company. I was told that they had bought "the last available ocean front property in Myrtle Beach" and they were going to expand on it and if I wanted to get one of the last remaining units that I needed to upgrade now. well... to make a long story short... I took the deal. come to find out there is no building owned or planned by the for the oceanfront. Not to mention the addition of the "cash flow charge" and "voluntary contribution" on the yearly maintenance dues. took mine from the agreed 545 to over 700.00. these people need to get a grip. These guys are crooks and using the consumer as a cash flow. not to mention that when we signed initially we were told that we would receive 8 tickets to the local attractions. Now the new management company is taking that away with no restitution for the 400.00 minimum per owner that they are taking away.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Penelope62 Feb 10, 2011

    Here is something for all you unhappy Orange lake Time Share owner can do . File a complaint with The Florida Attorney Generals' Office . you can do it on line or by mail. What ever way you choose the forms can be printed of line. No guaranties but the more complaints against them may mean an investigation in to thier tactics. It might get more rights for us. Its a start any way.

    3 Votes
  • Pe
    Penelope62 Jan 24, 2011

    We have been scamed by Orange Lake also and threatened that if we didn't make our payments they could ruin our credit put leins on us take us to court etc. Why do Time Shares have so much power and the consumer has none? Why are there no rules or regulations for Time Shares ? Why has the Goverment not step in with some kind of guide lines for them. There is no protection what so ever for the consumer. Reporting them to the BBB will do nothing because they belong to the BBB and that is good for an automatic good grade for them.

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Kasprzyk Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is what Happened when I touredTo whom it may concern:
    07-04-2010
    Orlando Fl.

    My name is Randy Kasprzyk, I recently toured you Holiday Inn Vacation Club in Orlando Florida. And say the least. I am looking for a lawyer to take you to court. My wife and I have never been so embarrassed, or humiliated in our lives… I am sending a copy of this letter to everyone I know.
    First of all, from the start at Universal Studios we were approached by your marketing agents. They told us about your tour. And that we would love to take it. So I agreed, but I would have to pay $30.00 for the tour, and I would get my thirty dollars back plus $70.00 more, and a free Breakfast just for taking the tour. So I thought what could go wrong. And I agreed to do so.
    We went into the place of meeting. We then were asked to if we wanted breakfast. Of course that what we were there for, I do not call Donuts and coffee breakfast. But that what they called breakfast. Never the less as we were eating breakfast. Your salesman started asking me and my wife about ourselves, and what we did for a living. I told him I work for the Local Government where I live. And have a computer company which I Run Also. My wife is disabled do to server seizures disorders. And went on to tell him who some of our clients were, Which Is Terry Collis, Producer of Tombstone. Die Hard, and more, Also John Feist. Who is one of the producers of survivors. There is a lot more, for one Leigh Lofgren who was Emeril’s producer for food network. And the reason for me knowing these people is where we live. George W. Bush even stays here. The Man who started Reynolds Plantation is Best friends with him, and that is Lake Oconee. And I also work as the IT Supervisor for the government. Also asked us what brought us to Florida, Well me and my wife meet in Baltimore Maryland On the 4th of July. And we been together ever sense, and it was our way of celebrating.
    After breakfast we were asked to view a movie. And Yes Memories are important. And with quality of my wife’s life, is getting worse every year. So yes it is important to us. And Kemmons Wilson Little movie even brought a tear to our eyes.
    Now as our conversation was going on, my arm started to hurt, so I asked my wife to rub it. Your sales men ask me what was wrong; I told him I had just had Rotator Cuff surgery done. He told me he has to go through the same thing himself. Also I have not been working on my Government job for about 8 weeks due to my shoulder surgery, but I am still working full time for myself.
    Now your salesmen go on to show us what he had to offer. And tells us about your club and how we can benefit from it. After 3 long hours going through this presentation he asked us what we thought. I thought it was good. And for the right person I think it would be great, and explained to him I hardly stay in and Hotel, Motel, or a Condo. I am a camper enthusiast. My camper has everything I need. And If I do stay in a Hotel, Motel or whatever. Sense I do work for the Government, and also a shiner, we get a really good discount, so if I do stay at one, I will use my discount.
    Well this is where it started going downhill from here. We felt threaten. And as the conversation was going back and forth why I should own this, and how I can pay for it. Well Just say it blew me for a loop.
    At 15. Whatever percent finance charge, that’s what it would be if I fiancé it through you, but I could get a bank loan for it. That way I would not have to use you for financing, what I said was if the banks won’t lend money for a house what make you think they are going to lend money for vacation timeshare.
    So I think I mad your salesmen mad with us. He started bringing more people over to see us with more options. And again I said I was not interested in this program, it don’t fit in to what we want to do, I explained to your people I am trying to send to two kids through college, building a new Garage, and that simply I tried to say I could not afford it right now hoping to get them off my back. (This is what I call a high pressure sale. ) Now your salesmen must have really got mad. He went back and got someone else to talk to us. We told him the same thing. I just wasn’t ready to buy at this point and time. Then one other person came out and told us sense I was not working, that I didn’t qualify for your presentation any way, and didn’t qualify for any of the gift that was promised for taking the tour. That part of taking the presentation was that I have to make over Fifty Thousand Dollars a year. I got mad at this point, I do make over Fifty Thousand Dollars a year. He said I have no income coming in because I was not working. I think that’s all he was focus on that I was on sick leave through the government. And really I was just wanting my thirty dollars back that I paid for the tour. But your people had gotten so rude with us. I told them just because I am not working for the county right now duo to an injury don’t mean. I don’t have an income coming in, thinking they weren’t even going to give our money back to us. So of course we have a few words. This took place right in the middle of your presentation room where everyone could see. Finally they asked me if I wanted cash or not. We finally were able to leave.
    Now at this point stress makes my wife upset, and sometimes is causes her to have a seizure. And after having a Seizure she sleeps for 2 to three days afterwards. Never the less she had a bad spell on the way back to where we were staying. And now of course this is what we are going to remember. And yes we are going to tell everyone we now about this, in hopes it deters people for ever staying at a Holiday Inn Ever Again.

    P.S. Thanks for the Memories,
    Sincerely
    Randy Kasprzyk
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    birdy3271 Jun 15, 2010

    We have been owners since 1995. In 2007 they tried to have us buy an upgrade and join the point system. No thank you. They said the our RCI exchange would not be accepted any longer at OLC, which is untrue. We have used our RCI to exchange weeks and even room size if need be. The fees have gone up so much over the years but I love it there. As long as RCI exsists, I am sticking with them.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scdy Jun 07, 2010

    are you people all [censor]s? use the vacation for crying out loud, I've never heard a bigger bunch of whiners in my life. Class action suit? All that does is make the lawyers rich, they see you as suckers to begin with! Sell it and cut your losses or use the time. Personally, I wouldn't buy a timeshare, but I know people who love them.

    -3 Votes
  • Al
    al4fun May 02, 2010

    We have been owners at Orange Lake since 1994...have two week. Didn't take long to figure out that RCI was a rip off from the beginning. The next thing was that after making the purchase and going to the annual owner updates (sales push) that everytime management changed so did the speech. Have heard every story and new sales pitch over the years and yeah got alot of bad info and of course being sales people nothing is ever in writing...vbg that is your first clue. We live close enough that the weeks we use we use or rent at our choice. If we rent part of the week or the whole week but have a loss...maintence fees etc then we take a tax loss each year. The new points system... what a crock, all they are doing is shutting out RCI to keep that money horse for themselves! We may never buy another week but neither will we give them anymore money for any new scheme. We either use the week or take the loss. I love it when EVERY year they say that this is the LAST time we will give gifts for you to come and hear the sale pitch...and yeah I go and take the gift...lol why not? There for a week and now we say we are here for the gift only do what you got to do but NO we are not buying ANYTHING! Don't get me wrong...love the site and go everyyear but realize that doing it OUR way makes it more manageable. BTW double up on those payments to get out asap...better for you all around.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people at the timeshare industry are just so greedy. We should all file our complaints to FL BBB. If OLR's A+ drops to "F" on the BBB website., It must hurt their business, then they (Orange Lake Resort) will hear us.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    co2216 Apr 26, 2010

    Did everyones maintenance fees go up $100 dollars this year??? Whats with the voluntary $5 donation?? The resort is still a nice place to stay but I can stay at a pretty nice hotel for $750 a week if I shop around!! I guess that WE the OWNERS need to voice our opinions while staying at the resort... I can't wait for them to try and sell me something this year!!!

    Are there any class action lawsuits out there??? [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Once again, anyone of us has a complaint against Orange Lake Resort should file our complaint report to Florida BBB (http://centralflorida.bbb.org/) and (http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/consumers.html) ; FTC (https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/)
    We must expose the dirty business conduct at the Orange Lkae Resort if we want to make a change or recoup out lost. Let our voice be heard !

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    dcf12859 Apr 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our family went through the same issues with Orange Lake this past year when our time share at South Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach was bought by Holiday Inn Vacation Club. At an information meeting we were told we needed a certain number of points to be VIP with added benefits, and they sold us a week at Orange Lake. Come to find out, that did not put us at VIP leve since our time share points with another company did not figure in and we bought the Orange Lake week for no reason. We did not want to go to FL or buy another week, but we did want the added benefits of VIP at Myrtle Beach which we did not get. The other thing we were told was that we could pay for the very high maintenance fee by using our Priority Club Visa card and rack up points. They even gave us an example of how many dollars we would have to spend on that card to pay for the maintenance fee. Since it is my parents, my sister and myself who own the time share, we were told all of our Visa points would roll into one account and then we could use those points to pay for our maintenance fee. Needless to say, none of that was true and we are now stuck with a time share we never wanted and a HUGH maintencance fee to pay out of pocket. As for the Priority Club card, you do ear points, but no way to pay for the maintenance fee and there is a annual fee after the first year. We've all since gone back to using our other charge cards and will be canceling our Priority Club card. The botom line is they had inexperienced people at South Beach giving mis information about the transition of the sale and selling, selling, selling for Orange Lake! We need help if anyone has a solution.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tian H Apr 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone of us has a complaint against Orange Lake Resort should file our complaint report to Florida BBB http://centralflorida.bbb.org/ and http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/consumers.html
    expose OLR dirty business conduct to the public . Let our voice be heard ! United we stand !!!

    3 Votes
  • St
    Stephen Williams Apr 06, 2010

    Are we being scammed or are we just plain gullible!
    When you are on holiday, your senses are less acute especially under the Florida sun.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slnyc11 Mar 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    if you have been scammed by OL feel free to contact me at [email protected] .

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.