The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
My Web Pilot LLCInternet Fraud

Hired through Hiremymom.com, Mr.Darby wrote a contract to build a website for my company for 12, 800.00
After paying him 9k, he discussed the function of the site and then explained his business model had changed and he needed the final payment early. He stated that he was 'at risk.' Although I paid for the site according to the contract he wrote, he emailed stating he was cancelling the contract and would send my files within 7 days. That was the end of December 2009. I have NO files. He has kept the 9k and given nothing. He has also taken 12 newsletter they produced for my company, to the tune of 1200.00 and directed them to his site. He now owes my company 10, 200.00
I has come to my attention that I am the third person this has happened to in the past 14 months.
He has stolen from all of us! I am a single mother and cannot afford to hand some man over 10 thousand dollars.

Responses

  • Do
    Doodles and Poos Mar 20, 2012

    I just read another report of someone that they stole money from. It still astounds me that they are living off of other people hard earned money and getting away with it. He calls himself a business coach. Really???? Dave Darby is the lowest form of a human being. Steeling other peoples money is not good advice from a business coach is it? I still do not have any files nor any type of refund. Scammers and liars. Two years later and they are still up to it, just under different business names. Google Dave and Julie Darby and you will see. What goes around comes around my friends.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doodles and Poos Sep 22, 2011

    Thank you for coming forward and great speaking with all of you. Getting closer! Please feel free to contact us if you too were taken by these people or worked for them.

    0 Votes
  • Lg
    Lguest Aug 15, 2011

    I worked for them for over a year and they did not pay me. I worked on your sites. You can contact me.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doodles and Poos Jun 28, 2011

    Since the posters above Dave and Julie Darby of Twisted Bulbs, My Web Pilot, have not removed their slanderous posts about us we would like to tell you what they actually did. They were hired, paid almost $11, 000 to redesign our social networking website for shelter and rescue dogs. Money which came from my inheritance after my Dads passing. Which they knew. They continued to stall saying they had money issues and could not finish the site. After waiting a year (with six to eight week completion date as contracted) they kept our money, did not finish the site and posted slander such as this to further try and stop us from doing business. Our site features rescue dogs, Lifes Abundance pet food (which these people were distributors for as well) and Life Force products. Both VERY stable businesses. Not scams as Dave Darby states above. We hired them believing they were great people and actually thought we had become friends and they understood our mission. We were then contacted by other clients and told what they had done to them and thier business. That is when we realized what they were doing. There were criminal complaints filed in NJ and Florida against them. To no avail though. As explained to us by the authorities and our attorney, the scam goes as follows, similar to when you hire a contractor to do work on your home, they require a deposit, you pay them, they do minimal work, continue to ask for more money to cover thier costs, keep your money saying you wanted more and more work done and then walk away placing the blame on you. By law since they did the smallest amount of work, (putting up a shell with very pretty pictures) they cannot be charged with a criminal charge. It would be a civil case we were told. But since these awful people do not have anything, it would be more money and we would not get our money back since they do not own anything or have anything. We were told we had a very strong case and would get, not only our money back, but lost wages, money for emotional duress, etc. for their breech of contract and slander on this site. There are many others who they have done this to and gotten away with it. One being a single Mom with two children. As you can see by the sociopath ramblings above they are extrememely unprofessional and post personal and fabricated information about you after taking and living off your money. Bottom line, they were hired to do a job, did not and kept the entire amount of money paid. No site, nothing to show for almost $11, 000. If you would like more information please feel free to contact us. Now you have the entire story. When you google us or however you reached this site, you now have the entire story. Stop by our site that we put together with ning.com and enjoy being a part of our community of Doodles and Poos and helping find rescue dogs homes! www.doodlesandpoos.com

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doodles and Poos Apr 06, 2011

    The posters above, Dave and Julie Darby of MyWebPilot.com/twistedbulbs.com were my web designers who were paid in full, did not complete my site nor refund my money. Hiring them and working with them was the worst experience in my life.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    DDarby May 21, 2010

    Your assumptions again prove nothing except that you are continuing your act of libel which we will address post-mediation. From your last 2 posts, one can only conclude that your 'proof' is that you've now lost the 2nd round of arbitration in addition to the first (both of which you were confident you would win) and because of both losses that we should have initiated file transfer/ownership to you.

    We have called twice a week for 5 weeks since our last rebuttal and the 3 weeks since you posted above that you lost mediation once again - this time with your own long-term bank - however, they continue to tell us that it is pending.

    It is insane that it takes this long and that, as the cardholder, you are getting updates faster than us from the mediation, but this was the course of action you chose, not us.

    Once we have confirmation that you cannot try to take both the work and the money paid for the labor, we will of course send files which is what we could have done 4 months ago had you not started this process.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tennis Players Network Mar 17, 2010

    Please have your third party contact Tennis Players Network immediately. Again - if you can forward your written contract to them that is great. My attorney has the contract so this can be swift and uncomplicated! When can we expect this to take place? Have a great Day!

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    DDarby Mar 16, 2010

    As to Cindy Meldrum of Doodles and Poos - you filed a credit card fraud charge which was an attempt to gain both the files/assets AND have the money used to create such - theft by your definition. Once the mediation process (which was ruled in our favor by a third party) is finalized and the funds have been returned to us without further claim, we have no problem sending you the files. This was explained to Harvey Meldrum on January 15th - instead, you chose a protracted third-party mediation which has to run it's course.

    As to Beth's complaint - you have not denied the fact that you told us your check was in the mail nor the fact that the check was not in the mail nor the fact that per the agreement, you violated the terms by not settling your account nor the fact that you had problems making payments for our services delivered nor the fact that you were thrilled with our service for over a year until Cindy Meldrum contacted you and convinced you that we were suddenly out to get/hurt you. As we communicated directly to you, if you pay that balance, we have no problem sending the files per the agreement, including the work that we did that was above and beyond the agreement. Since you haven't disputed the facts I've shown, then I suggest we take this to a third-party as well which we are more than happy to do.

    Cindy's statement of 'all lies' should probably be addressed too: do you dispute stating that your business could be a million dollar business with not much effort? Do you deny that you received services not listed in the agreement? Do you deny that you keep claiming erroneous numbers of complaints to distort your claim? You stated 3 complaints with the BBB (all of which have been pulled for response) - 2 of these were you and your husband - your numbers are distorted for your attempt at personal gain. Again, we are happy to address and even have a third-party mediate any disputes as we did with yours. Anybody can stir complaints, but lets let a 3rd party mediator decide.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tennis Players Network Mar 16, 2010

    Mr Darby, owner of My Web Pilot has stolen over 10k from me - a former client! Filing an Internet Fraud claim against me is funny. How exactly did I scam you when you wrote a contract, I paid you over 9 thousand dollars and have ZERO PRODUCT, ZERO REFUND!
    UMMM - are you confused or stating you know you scammed Tennis Players Network to the tune of 10.2 thousand dollars?
    What service did you pay me for again????

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tennis Players Network Mar 16, 2010

    My Divorce - you are desperate! You wrote a contract - we signed it - you stole my money and files! When a business writes a contract - takes 9k from a client and keeps it giving ZERO for those dollars - simply put - it is theft! Considered a white-collar crime! This may seem normal to you but it is still illegal.


    This isn't a blog - but you could take all that you wrote and all your company complaints and put it on yours: One Particular Harbour - Block Out the Noise!

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    DDarby Mar 15, 2010

    A couple of notes here about Beth McCaskill of Tennis Players Network and her complaint.

    Beth was a great client that we stayed with during her divorce and extended work without payment for months while she got back on her feet again. In over a year of working with Beth, she stated repeatedly how much she appreciated the work we did and how much it helped her and her business.

    When she started working with Dave Power, a great tennis player/coach, to sell his paperback and audio books, she approached us with a dilemna. Her current webhost threatened to charge her more for Dave's large audio files as the files were well beyond the size allowed by her current payment plan.

    Our solution? To help her save face with Dave and minimize her financial strain, we moved every single audio file within 24 hours at no cost and hosted those files for over a year without ever charging Beth for hosting. Beth also self-admittedly had planning/timing issues in which we had to rush for her several times and deliver printed materials to Texas, Ohio, Indiana - never charging her the full rush fee or rates that we would normally.

    That is just 2 examples (there are more) of how we worked with Beth to keep her costs down by not charging her for the additional services that any other company would have. But at payment time, several times we were given excuses that she was sorry that account was rejected and blamed it on her husband or she asked us to wait while she transferred from another account or another.

    For her website, like before, we went above and beyond the contract and delivered above and beyond.

    But because we were the 3rd team attempting to work with her to build her website and with a history from Beth McCaskill of not paying on time and stalling her project for half a year, we could not rely on her to follow-through. We did not ask for the final installment in full as suggested in this complaint - we suggested 3 equal payments based on milestones to limit everyone's risk and get to the goal.

    Our contracts allows either party at any time to cancel - exchanging monies or assets due at that time. It was January 20th, not December as stated in this compaint, that we notified Beth that we could not do work that she may not be able to pay for and cancelled the agreement. Approximately 2 in 5 clients since this recession began either stopped their project/payments and shut down or have walked away never to be heard of again, we simply cannot take too many risks.

    The ONLY reason Beth did not receive her files (including the work done above the contract) was that she defaulted on a payment which per the contract must be resolved before files can be delivered. She emailed with intent to pay stating that her 'check was in the mail', but it never arrived and she has not made any arrangements with us to pay her balance due which proved our instincts to be correct that she could not pay for everything she was asking us to do. It is very frustrating as we have done so much above and beyond to help Beth succeed in her business.

    Also, Beth McCaskill filed this complaint under "Bad Business Partners" which is odd because, when I notified her in December that an email strategy she wanted to use historically returned bad results and that we should revise the message to create the biggest impact, she responded with "It is NOT your responsibility to make my site or product sales effective."

    Again, if Beth would pay her balance of $210, all files could be released. If she can't pay the $210, then how are we to believe that she could have paid the remaining $3840?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.