The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
My Online DepotNever Received Product - Scam

Beware of this site! I saw a piece of exercise equipment listed on Craigslist. Two weeks later I received an email stating that the equipment was now available online and they directed me to their website. The website is convincing - beware! They requested payment with MoneyPak; received a few emails from them after payment, then the website went down and follow-up emails were undeliverable. Any suggestions to stop this scamming?

Responses

  • Ch
    christy griffin Apr 30, 2010

    i to lost 600 on a swing set for my daughter when i found the website and seen what good deals they had i passed the word around man do i feel bad now.i also sent a green dot money pack.they sent me a email after my payment and then i never herd anything else from them

    0 Votes
  • Go
    gonzales518 Mar 14, 2010

    Camou20 please let me know if you find out anything...also out 645 for swingset

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Camou20 Mar 09, 2010

    we are out 600 for a swingset also... but im following up with an investigator since they do have a number, they have to have a landline which will have an owners name... We are so mad... If i do find out, I will post it!

    0 Votes
  • On
    onesaint Mar 03, 2010

    About to purchase a Elinchrom battery from them. Same scam, ad on craigslist then a late emil directing me to affordabledepot.com. Im skeptical, so I wanted to make sure my payment method could be refunded if they pulled a fast one. On the site they say they accept google checkout. I emailed them multiple tiems to get the address for google checkout to verify, but never received a response. Thanks for this site and the posts, now I know its too good to be true! Dang what a deal though.

    0 Votes
  • Ln
    lnldalinghau10 Feb 26, 2010

    Thanks for the information. We were just about ready to purchase a 600.00 swing set. We had it in the cart and ready to pay and i said this still seem so cheap to styles like this sold elsewhere and suggested we check out their accredibility. Wow so glad I did. Thanks for the posts!

    0 Votes
  • Tm
    tmhartman Feb 20, 2010

    We were also scammed out of $600 for a play set. This was supposed to be our daughter's birthday present. It seems that these people change websites monthly. If I can keep one person from being scammed--that would make the sting a little less! We also are more upset with ourselves--we tried to research the site, but at that time, there were no complaints. We should have known better! Now we have had to spend a total of almost $2000 to get a play set!

    0 Votes
  • He
    HeSaves Feb 19, 2010

    Thank you for posting your experience. It saved me. I too saw a TC5000 on craigs list sent an email inquiring about the equipment because I was skeptical because the price was 1/3 of what I had ever seen.

    A few days later, I received a response directing me to a web site (http://www.affordabledepot.com) where I almost ordered the TC5000.

    However, before making the purchase I tried to call their customer service number. Of course, I did not get a live person but a voice box. I then tried to find them on the BBB site as "Affordable Depot or MyOnline Depot" with no success.

    I would just caution, "buyer beware".

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    BS82 Feb 18, 2010

    Thank you for posting this!

    I was just about to order an $800 treadmill from a company called "affordabledepot.com" (their answering system answers as "my online depot"). It happened just as you said, craigslist posting, received an email from the company about 2 weeks later and they are requesting payment by loading up a moneypak then sending over the activation code.

    Beware, they are using the name "affordabledepot.com" now.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amurren Feb 16, 2010

    I have no suggestions, but we are out $600 for a swingset. My husband and I are so angry - probably more at ourselves because we weren't smart enough to realize it was too good to be true!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.