The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
midlands scooter centrebad job

Took my scooter to them as the drive belt has snapped, gave me the scooter back once the job was done and it ran fine. But only 1 month later the drive belt they fitted had snapped leaving me with a huge £100 bill to rescued by the breakdown people. I took it back to midlands scooter centre and said I don't know much about bikes but I'm certain the drive belt Is meant to last more than a month! They said they would fit a higher quality belt this time (why they didn't do it the first time is beyond me!) I asked them to service it whilst it was there too. Got a phone call 2 days later with the bill and they tried to charge me the time it took them to fit it! I complained and they did take the price off but ever since they looked at it my kick start doesn't work, which is connected to the bit they took off to change the drive belt. Phoned them today to see if it should have been checked at the service and if they could have missed a connection when putting it back on and they told me they can't look at it until wednesday and that I would have to pay for anything done. They just can't seem to get the job done correctly! Will avoid using them in the future, absolute nightmare.

Responses

  • Ps
    psims Oct 01, 2014

    do not buy a bike from if you do you are so mad because the mechanic do not no want they doing you take your bike in they and break things off it goes in better then it comes out i had nothing but trouble i been back so many time i end up fix it my self . aprilia owner

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Rain girl Jan 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was so confused abou the original complaint, because i have an opposite opinion.Last year my dad bought a electric car from abobuy.com, it is high-qualified and we all love it. Also, my dad thought it is a good site and their customer service is very good.a title "Electric Car, Electric Tricycle, Tricycle Spare Parts, Electric Scooters, ATV, Go Kart, Sport Bike, Lawn mower, Snow blower, Inflatable Boat" "http://www.abobuys.com"

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    sunshineyyyy11 Dec 16, 2013

    I bought an electric scooter from www.abobuy.com.Thier sevice ism great and thier products are very perfect.I advice you to enter into thier website for your ideal products. You won't disappoint.

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scooter Owner Dec 26, 2012

    I have dealt with several other scooter dealers over the years and none approach the level of knowledge and true professional quality that comes from MSC. The parts stock they carry covers most if not all Vespa and Piaggio models, and their workshops have the experienced staff and the equipment to complete anything I have ever needed. They are helpful and knowledgable. If you want a "cheap bodge job", then maybe go elsewhere but value for money is where these guys score. A genuine Top Dealer!

    -1 Votes
  • No
    nottslad Jul 12, 2012

    Fully agree i would never deal with Midland Scooters as I have heard too many BAD stories and experienced 1 myself regarding a so called "product recall" beware of such companies as there are plenty of reputable dealers out there that will help!! We all know times are hard but ripping of bike owners because of a recession is not the answer!!!

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    John Deere Jun 11, 2012

    MIDLAND SCOOTER CENTER ARE CON ARTISTS, LIKE EVERYONE ELSE HAS SAID DO NOT GO THERE, YOU WILL GET RIPPED OFF AND TREATED LIKE DIRT ON A SHOE, I KNOW OF AT LEAST 4 PEOPLE WHO HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF AND WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN, AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    2 Votes
  • Fl
    fleng2008 Jun 10, 2012

    they charged my grandma £720 for a pre mot on my £500 bike, they told her all lies about the bike because she knows nothing about motor bikes, they take advantage of everyone they can get away with, robbing the elderly is disgusting, there excuse was, the bike was not safe for road use, which was a lie, it needed a few bits and bobs doing...
    DONT NOT GO TO THIS SCOOTER CENTER YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED...

    3 Votes
  • Fl
    fleng2008 Jun 10, 2012

    you didnt hold your hands up when you charged me £150 and made my bike worse, midland scooter center is very un professional, they will say there gonna diagnose you bike but when they have it in the workshop they just guess, i would never go there again and would never recommend anyone to go there, smalley cross offer a much better service and advice, midalnd scooter center just want your money, they dont care whether they fix your bike or not

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Midland Scooter Centre Nov 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reply by Midland Scooter Centre.
    This complaint is completely unjustified as can be seen from the rambling text from the alleged aggrieved owner. It is difficult to imagine why he asked us to recover his scooter from his home, but then claimed he didn't want it repaired and was fitting parts himself. We have many tens of thousands of customers and have sold thousands of new and used scooters. We do sometimes get it wrong, and when we do we hold up our hands, say "Sorry"... and sort it out. As you can here, this is an example of a customer who simply didn't want to pay anything and can never be happy.

    0 Votes
  • As
    a.stephens Mar 23, 2009

    I would like to reestablish the heading of my complaint which states as follows work that was authorized. which was in correct ! since i submitted my complaint my situation has got worse and dave at midland scooters has refused to cooperate here is a eMail and letter regarding my conversation with dave the morning of the 23rd march 2009. complaint letter :02

    Job no: 4476
    Gilera runner 125 vx 2007
    reg: Not Displayed
    Trading Standards ref : Not Displayed

    Dear Dave of Midland Scooter Centre

    I made a call to you this morning Monday 23rd march 2009 at 09:20. In which i explained my actions and intentions. I gave you the opportunity to understand my position. And the confusion that surrounds the unauthorized work done to my bike Dave you have failed to listen and respect me as a customer and have point blank been ignorant and arrogant . Even to hang up the phone and not close are conversation to the required standard. you have disrespected me in regards to the release of my bike . and i feel the charges you have submitted are just spiteful and vindictive as you started work which was not what i wanted ..
    As a customer under the Supply of Goods and Services Act 1982 it requires a supplier of a service acting in the course of business in England, Wales and Northern Ireland to carry out that service with reasonable care and skill and, unless agreed to the contrary, within a reasonable time and make no more than a reasonable charge.
    These terms apply unless they have been excluded and there are strict limits
    on the circumstances in which an exclusion or variation will be effective.
    Common law in Scotland has similar effect to the 1982 Act. Suppliers of
    services or their customers should obtain legal advice about the common law in Scotland if necessary.
    If a supplier of a service breaches the conditions of a contract (for example
    Dave failing to carry out the work ordered. Advise a reasonable charge before work is carried out.) the consumer has a choice either to affirm the contract (treat it as still in existence) and claim compensation from the trader for his failure to carry out what was agreed or rescind (cancel) the contract. If the supplier does not carry out the work with reasonable care and skill the law treats the matter as a breach of contract and the consumer can seek redress. Often reasonable compensation in these circumstances will be repair or replacement.
    If no agreement has been made with the supplier about completion of the work, or about the charge to be made, then if it is not completed within a reasonable time or the price is unreasonable, this is also treated as breach of contract and the consumer may be entitled to compensation.
    Any goods supplied in the course of the service must be as described, of
    satisfactory quality and fit for their purpose. If they are not the consumer is
    entitled to a repair, replacement or compensation.
    A supplier of a service who has broken a contract may also be liable for any
    consequential loss which is suffered by the consumer. Ultimately it would be for the courts to decide whether or not a breach of contract has occurred and the redress, in the form of damages (compensation), to which a consumer might be entitled.
    A claim can be pursued though the courts for up to six years providing it can
    be shown that the problem was due to the work not being carried out properly or the goods or materials used not being of satisfactory quality.
    Please Dave i would like to close this transaction 2 day 23rd march 2009.
    All i require is you to return my motorbike. I would be more then happy to pay the transportation as long as my bike remains in the condition in which it left my home .
    I propose a payment to on the return of my motorbike of £40.00 .

    Dave i really hope you can dig deep inside your heart and see you have not
    followed you terms and condition and call me today 23rd march 2009 As soon as possible .

    regards
    Anthony stephens

    1 Votes
  • As
    a.stephens Mar 22, 2009

    ORDERED SOME PARTS FROM MIDLAND SCOOTER CENTRE IN STAPLEFORD NOTTINGHAM NG9 8GG.
    THE OWNER WHO'S NAME IS DAVE WAS A BIT TO KEAN TO PICK UP MY BIKE WHEN I TOLD HIM I HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY IMMOBILIZER AND IGNITION.
    I ASKED DAVE IF HE COULD GIVE ME A PRICE AS I WANTED TO MAKE SURE THE JOB WAS WITHIN MY PRICE RANGE.
    AS HE KEPT MAKING ESTIMATE PRICES AND GUESSING TO WHAT THE PRICE MAYBE, SO I BELIVED RAN A GOOD COMPANY AS HE WAS DOING A PROMOTION AT MY PLACE OF WORK I SPOKE TO HIS WIFE WHO IS A LOVELY PERSON FELT AN ARRANGEMENT COULD BE MADE TO GET MY BIKE BACK ON THE ROAD SO DAVE COLLECTED MY BIKE TO SEE WHAT WORK NEEDED DOING HE TOOK MY BIKE TO HIS SHOW ROOM. WHERE I WAS EXPECTING TO GET A PRICE. DAVE STARTED WORK STRAIGHT AWAY WITH OUT CONSULTING ME.
    I GAVE NO AUTHORIZATION FOR MY MOTOR BIKE TO BE WORKED ON.
    DAVE MADE NUMEROUS CALLS CONFIRMING WHAT REGISTRATION MY BIKE WAS AND WHAT THE VEHICLE CHASSIS NUMBER WAS.
    SO WAS UNDER THE IMPRESSION HE WAS STILL FINDING OUT THE PRICE. SO I WENT DOWN TO THE SCOOTER CENTRE TO SEE THE PROGRESS ON MY BIKE AND NOTICED I HAD NEW PARTS FITTED, AND BECAUSE I TURNED UP UNANNOUNCED.
    DAVE WAS UNHAPPY THAT I COURT HIM OFF GUARD HE STARTED BLAMED ME THAT PARTS HE HAD ORDERED WAS WRONG BECAUSE MY BIKE HAD A different PANEL THEN OTHER 2007 BIKES.
    AND THE INFORMATION I CONFIRMED TO HIM WAS WRONG.
    WHICH JUST HIGHLIGHTED TO ME HOW INCOMPETENT HE IS.
    FROM DAVE'S RANTING I UNDERSTOOD THIS AS A FOBBING OFF TO EXTORT MONEY FROM ME.
    SO I CONFIRMED THAT I NEEDED A PRICE HE UNLEASHED A INVOICE THAT KNOCKED ME FOR SIX £406.00
    NOW FROM THE START ALL I WANTED WAS PARTS THAT WAS COSTING ME NO MORE THEN £35.00 TOPS.
    AND A PRICE FOR A LOCK SET IGNITION AND IMMOBILIZER AS I WAS GOING TO FIT THE PARTS MYSELF.
    DAVE OWNER /DIRECTOR OF MIDLAND SCOOTERS CENTRE HAS PRODUCED AN INVOICE FOR WORK I DID NOT AUTHORIZE. HE STATED AFTER HAVING THE BIKE FOR 5 DAYS THAT I NOW HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS AND HE WAS NOT GOING TO FIX IT. AND WILL BE REMOVING ALL THE PARTS I ORDERED, UNDOING THE WORK I DID NOT AUTHORIZE. HE ADVISED ME TO PAY TRANSPORT COSTS AND LABOUR. HE HAS REFUSED TO RETURN MY BIKE UNLESS PAYMENT IS MADE. HE HAS ALSO REFUSED TO SELL ME THE PARTS I WANTED. AND REFUSED TO RETURN MY BIKE TO MY FAMILY HOME. HE STATED I MUST MAKE MY OWN ARRANGEMENTS TO GET MY BIKE BACK AS THIS TRANSACTION HAS NOT GONE THE WAY HE WANTED. I FEEL HE SHOULD HAVE CONTACTED ME TO GIVE ME AN AGREED PRICE. SO I COULD SAY YES START WORK OR NO DON'T START. UPON LEAVING MY BIKE AT THE WORK SHOP AS HE WOULD NOT GIVE ME MY BIKE NOTICED SOME EXTRA SCRATCHES WHICH HE WELL NOT OWE UPTO. DAVE THE OWNER OF MIDLAND SCOOTER CENTRE IS A UNPROFESSIONAL BLAGGER AND A RIP OFF MERCHANT I WANT MY BIKE BACK WITH NO EXTRA DAMAGE. AND AS HE COLLECTED IT HE SHOULD RETURN IT, TRADING STANDARDS ARE AWARE AND HAVE STATED I MUST START A PAPER TRAIL ..

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.