Mermaid Groupmisleading false advertising

After applying for a job on a cruise ship I was asked to download an pyschometric test for the sum of £20. Up until this time my application was accepted with my CV uploaded and I was then shortlisted. On their reccomendation I bought and downloaded their pyschometric test with the believe I would have a better chance of getting a cruise ship job with them.
Today I was emailed to be informed I did not pass the test. I feel I have been misled in to buying their product and think it is possible that others have done this and the Mermaid Group could be just making money out of the public.
They also advertise a book at £25 which explains the test, but I do not believe
it would of made any difference to my outcome.

Responses

  • Ja
    jamima Jan 10, 2011

    I applied with this agency and am having a face to face interview this week for a bar staff position. I found a website called cruiselinesjobs where they have interviewed the director of the company. It seems that the payment is optional and that the reason they advertise the book is to find the most commited applicants.

    I will let you know how I get on.

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    Blondieloz Jan 14, 2011

    Hi Jamima, what position did you apply for, and did you download the pack in the end?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamima Jan 18, 2011

    Hi Blondieloz,

    I did download the book but didn't get the Bar job unfortunately. Another Guy I attended the interview with got it. He did have more experience though. I will keep on trying!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jon bon bon Oct 02, 2013

    Must be a scam. They say its not compulsory to pay 20 pounds for the guide but then theres no option to get the test booked unless you send "Ann Powell" you confirmation job pack number after you pay... Of course I got no response after I did the test, which in itself looked dodgy. I mean you could click on the link that opened the test and do the test multiple times and just enter a different email address each time... doesnt sound too legit

    0 Votes
  • Me
    MermaidGroupScam Dec 18, 2013

    The Mermaid Group were going to get YOU an amazing cruise ship job right? They then charged you £20 for a 'E-learning' book? Sadly, it's all a SCAM. That Ann Powell might not even be real. Check the blog for more info at www.mermaidgroupuk.wordpress.com and tell us about your experiences on Twitter @mermaidgroupuk. By sharing this information, you can make sure the same thing does not happen to other passionate job seekers.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anitar1 Mar 15, 2014

    I can even download the pack.. I entered the details and paid by paypal and cant download the pack. Can anyone help me with this?

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seanii66 Jun 06, 2014

    Hey... I have applied for bar staff on mermaid group and they did ask me to buy a book but I did not and gave them reasons why and still got through to the next stage also the psychometric test was also free and I never got asked to pay for anything so I don't understand why people thinks its a scam I am now waiting to hear if I have the job so fingers crossed :)

    0 Votes
  • Trump07 Nov 04, 2014

    I have to do the psychometric test on Friday it seams legit my friend got to the final stage but he couldn't get he's travel documents ready on time and he didn't wanna ask for help lol every time I ask him about it he says don't worry about it lol...dose anyone have a tips on how to pass the test oh and download the ebook is not a tip I am not doing that although I really want this job

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NikitaW Feb 24, 2015

    I have applied and been short listed and havnt had to pay for anything! Yes they advise you too purchase an e-learning book to prepare for a psychometric test but i am not going to do so. It is clearly a choice so i do not see peoples problems? They are even offering to pay my transport to go down to London for the interview as i live in Liverpool UK. I personally do not believe it is a scam and wish everyone the best off luck!! Xxx

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr Coope Feb 24, 2015

    NikitaW

    Let me know how it will go, I'm from Liverpool aswell! they short listed me but again if they select 3 people from 100 they invite.. It's a tricky business. That E book looks like a scam you can buy cheaper guide in any book store though!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natnico Mar 03, 2015

    Hi NikitaW and Mr Coope,

    I too am from Liverpool and have been sent the tests to do, Im just preparing myself before hand but I havent been asked for any money so I hope its not a scam!! Best of luck guys. xx

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tashaw Mar 10, 2015

    I'm from Liverpool paid for bookle and took the test for free waiting to hear from them apying for receptionist role really want this job so badly.. I hope this is not all a scam so excited and hope to hear back from them. Is a long process thou xx

    1 Votes
  • Po
    PollyR Mar 28, 2015

    I have to give the test Monday. Could anybody please tell me what type of tests they give? I mean: numerical, verbal, personality, critical thinking... ? I would really appreciate an answer since I don't feel like spending my weekend practicing math in case there won't be any numerical test. many thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie sprenger May 06, 2015

    I have just attended a group interview in London. I will keep you updated.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    christos v May 17, 2015

    please Trump07, NikitaW, Mr Coope, Natnico, Tashaw, PollyR, Julie sprenger check your inbox thank you

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Melusi innocent siyaya Jul 17, 2015

    I am from South Africa I applied for retail staff position and I was shortlisted then today they emailed me saying my test is on Monday 20th so I guess purchasing a book is not compulsory

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca Bamford Sep 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hey i just apply for a job on one of there cruise has any been on one of their cruise ? i just want to know if it real or not

    0 Votes
  • As
    As if 1 Aug 27, 2016

    Lots of downloading, interviews, hopes and promises, but don't see any comment from anyone who has ACTUALLY GOT A JOB !! Course its a con. DOH

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem