Melissa Stover- dog breederDefective French Bulldog

G
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a French bulldog puppy from Melissa Stover on December 17, 2011. She told me the puppies had been to the vet and all were healthy. On January 12, 2012 my puppy was diagnosed with Spina Bifida. This is a congenital condition in which the dog is incontinent and will NEVER be able to be potty trained and may eventually lose feeling his back limbs. On January 14, 2012 I called Ms. Stover to inform her of the dog's diagnosis and discuss my compensation. After a phone call and many text messages, Ms. Stover will not provide compensation and has no other puppies, so... off to court we go!

Responses

  • Ca
    calow Apr 10, 2012

    Does anyone know another french bulldog breeder in ky thats an irresponsible breeder ? She claims she breeds rare and exotic bulldogs but buys them from puppy mills and claims them as her own.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Mar 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I know why they call u thud! Like I said I am sure you have nothing better to do so just keep making your comments and believe what u want when u get the balls to find out the whole story let me know.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Mar 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow what words of wisdom that made a lot of sense. Im sure u r perfect like i said if u dont know the whole story either leave it alone or get the full story or how about get a life try being a productive citizen instead of butting in where u dont belong.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Mar 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Get a life and stop judging people without knowing the story, Its so sad how cruel people are to each other. But thanks for the judging!

    -1 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Jan 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    YOu cant get it right can you. I said I didnt have 1200 the day you called me and I was seeing what I could work out but that wasnt good enough for you because you couldnt be burdened by him anymore so stop placing blame elsewhere. Try stating facts the other puppies were given to my friends you paid for the c section so this so called 6000 is once again made up.Like I said I am not in the dog breeding business but you are pointless to talk to and a liar to boot. PLEASE show me the proof where I said I didnt want the dog and wouldnt come up with the money because I do have the proof from our text messages. You are a sad and anyone that knows me knows what kind of person I am and how giving a person I am so if you can live with yourself and your lies so be it. My only worry was the puppy and you made sure I willl never see him again so have a good life lady. I will see you in court and very proud to stand behind what I know is the truth.

    0 Votes
  • Gk
    gk yancey Jan 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    interesting... I was told Ms. Stover "couldn't" refund my money because she was about to file bankruptcy and was near foreclosure. People in that type of desperate situation don't donate to others, they handle their personal business. I guess that was just another lie to get my sympathy instead of her doing the right thing by a consumer. Also, she had 5 puppies x $1200 each, that's $6, 000 she must have blown over the 5 weeks I had him. Why would I give the dog back to you when you clearly said you wouldn't refund my money? How fair does it sound for you to have 1 fist full of my money AND the dog? My $1200 was NOT a personal donation to you. Emotion aside, the bottom line is: this was a business transaction and Melissa Stover is an unconscienable business person.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Jan 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    R u kidding me for the sake of animals? FIrst of all stop stalking and get a life try talking to me before judging me. You have no facts whatsoever. I will be glad to discuss any of this with you if you have the guts to do so. I have rescued more dogs, cats, turtles etc then anyone I know. I never said I wouldnt take the puppy back I said the exact opposite. I was willing to take it back that day but had just started a new job and dont just have 1200 laying around since I paid off the vet bill for the c section and donated the rest between two animal rescues here locally and in Richmond in but you probably already knew that since your quite the detective. You can go to court and want money back when she clearly gave the dog away. I filed my taxes as quickly as I could and I took two rings to be put on consignment to sell so I could do what was best for the puppy so try putting your energy elsewhere since you too are such the animal lover.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    ForTheSakeOfAnimals Jan 29, 2012

    @ Jon McCartney Your faulting the buyer ? Do you blame a rape victim too ? A reputable breeder doesn't sell unvetted pups. This Melissa Stover claims she is not a breeder then where did she get 3 pups? On her Facebook profile photos she has Shar Pei not French Bulldogs. BUYER BEWARE regardless. She said she'd take pup back but could not refund money. Was there a contract between the party's ? Is there a purchase receipt ? The law is on the side of the consumer if they can prove a fraud was committed. In this case the court may say SHAME ON YOU to the buyer but that doesn't mean she can't still file complaints with all the other places I listed.

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    ForTheSakeOfAnimals Jan 29, 2012

    @ gk yancey -------- Be sure to save the jpeg above to your computer where she acknowledges she pocketed $1200 dollars for a sick pup good for both court and IRS. Not a breeder, just finds a job but in the meantime supplements her income selling puppies. NICE !
    Check with your state. Pennsylvania has a Lemon Law for puppies just like when a car dealership sells you a bad vehicle there are ways to get your money back AND word of advice DON'T SHOP ADOPT !!! You can get a better dog in rescue for way less money and donate the difference to help save others lives. GAWD PEOPLE, I'm done here.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    ForTheSakeOfAnimals Jan 29, 2012

    here is more evidence for court
    25th of Jan, 2012 by melissastover
    I am Melissa Stover and what you said glenda Yancy is not true at all and I have all the text messages to prove it and thank you Jon McCartney I wish you had bought the puppy because I feel the same. I made it very clear that the puppy had not been to the vet yet but Miss Yancy stated since she was drving all the way from Cinncinnati and that she would be off work for the next three weeks that she would see that he went to the vet. I have the text where two days later I sent asking how everything went and verbatim she said, on dec 21st after getting him dec 16th he is good saw the vet yesterday has a little loose stools but vet says no worms and its part of adjustment. Like I said I am glad she was never blessed with a handicapped child and I pray for all dogs she never gets another one. I said to her in many text messages that I would take him back at anytime that I had hardwood floors and I didnt mind cleaning up after the little guy. I am NOT a breeder and made that very clear to her in speaking and text messages. He didnt come with a health guarantee for one but for the puppies sake I wanted him back just so he wasnt with her. I told her I didnt have the money to give her for I had just started a job on dec 5th she toopk the puppy and gave it to a french bulldog rescue which is on her. She is a cruel woman for giving away such a precious little boy that she told me she loved so dearly. Thank God he is in better hands now! You paid 1200 for a dog you gave away so deal with it.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    ForTheSakeOfAnimals Jan 29, 2012

    WHAT ? What kind of POS animal lover are you Ms Steve Irwin is your hero too selling puppies and not worry to whom you sold them? If she can't afford to vet this pup or can't deal with it's medical needs you should take it back, give her money back and find a good rescue that will once again clean up a breeder/brokers mess !!!
    melissastover
    R u kidding me you know if you are lying cause your mouth is moving. Bring it on lady cause I can stand behind my word by proof and witnesses, HOw sad you are. What part of I never said at any point that I was a breeder as a matter of fact I made it very clear that I wasnt and you picked him out out of three and did say he was healthy after vet visit. You also never asked if there were any puppies left., Why do you lie so much. Please pray for Ms Yancy obviously she has more issues then giving a perfectly sweet puppy away then wanting her money back. So sorry he inconvenienced you. HOW SAD for puppy

    1 Votes
  • Fo
    ForTheSakeOfAnimals Jan 29, 2012

    HAS NO OTHER PUPPIES?
    So are you looking to trade back the broken one?
    Is this the breeder? http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1541681775
    Is she a licensed business in your state?
    File the complaint in your state here first with Office of the Indiana Attorney General - Greg Zoeller http://www.indianaconsumer.com/filecomplaint.asp and also with BBB https://www.bbb.org/consumer-complaints/file-a-complaint/get-started
    If there was a receipt for the transaction you can also file form 3949-A with IRS to make sure she is reporting the purchase price as income on her taxes http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f3949a.pdf be sure to include in your complaints vet bills and pictures of puppy.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dog Lover 92 Jan 27, 2012

    Sounds like you gk Yancy are a bit shady in my opinion! Do you have proof of any of this? Courts require more than hear say? Vets don't x-ray pups to see if they have conditions! Sounds like you are just trying to get money for a dog you decided you didn't want. Why would it take a vet 3 times to figure out a dog had spina bifida? Your story just doesn't add up! Please do not get anymore dogs you can't take care of! If you adopt a dog you are adopting it for life for better or worse!!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Jan 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    R u kidding me you know if you are lying cause your mouth is moving. Bring it on lady cause I can stand behind my word by proof and witnesses, HOw sad you are. What part of I never said at any point that I was a breeder as a matter of fact I made it very clear that I wasnt and you picked him out out of three and did say he was healthy after vet visit. You also never asked if there were any puppies left., Why do you lie so much. Please pray for Ms Yancy obviously she has more issues then giving a perfectly sweet puppy away then wanting her money back. So sorry he inconvenienced you. HOW SAD for puppy

    0 Votes
  • Gk
    gk yancey Jan 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's unfortunate Ms. Stover isn't sharing the whole truth. I'm disappointed with this breeder, but blessed to have found a perfect re-homing situation with an experienced veterinarian.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    melissastover Jan 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am Melissa Stover and what you said glenda Yancy is not true at all and I have all the text messages to prove it and thank you Jon McCartney I wish you had bought the puppy because I feel the same. I made it very clear that the puppy had not been to the vet yet but Miss Yancy stated since she was drving all the way from Cinncinnati and that she would be off work for the next three weeks that she would see that he went to the vet. I have the text where two days later I sent asking how everything went and verbatim she said, on dec 21st after getting him dec 16th he is good saw the vet yesterday has a little loose stools but vet says no worms and its part of adjustment. Like I said I am glad she was never blessed with a handicapped child and I pray for all dogs she never gets another one. I said to her in many text messages that I would take him back at anytime that I had hardwood floors and I didnt mind cleaning up after the little guy. I am NOT a breeder and made that very clear to her in speaking and text messages. He didnt come with a health guarantee for one but for the puppies sake I wanted him back just so he wasnt with her. I told her I didnt have the money to give her for I had just started a job on dec 5th she toopk the puppy and gave it to a french bulldog rescue which is on her. She is a cruel woman for giving away such a precious little boy that she told me she loved so dearly. Thank God he is in better hands now! You paid 1200 for a dog you gave away so deal with it.

    0 Votes
  • Gk
    gk yancey Jan 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First of all: thanks for not judging, Jerk. Of course I'm in love w/ my puppy, but with my personal health issues I made the realistic and responsible decision that I cannot care for this special needs dog. I will not put him down, I want to re-home him w/ someone who can care for him. Yes, I took the puppy to the vet- in fact he's been 3 times and now this diagnosis. A RESPONSIBLE breeder would demand the puppy be returned and have concern for the less than standard breed they are providing. A RESPONSIBLE bulldog breeder would have had the pups x-ray'd to determine whether their dog had this issue (it's congenital). I didn't mention the cost of the pup, but it wasn't cheap so YES I should be compensated. There is no emotional compensation for how I feel. ugh...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.