The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Management Center Group/Mike Gilchrist/Observe L'EssenseSCAM

I responded to an ad on craigslist that said, "FUN OFFICE!" and had a phone number to call so I immediately didn't think it was a scam. My first interview, I was told that I would be making $500 per week and that I would be training for whatever position that I chose (Sales person, Accountant, Receptionist, or Manager/Owner). Sounded great, right? Wrong.

My second interview, I sat and listened to Mike Gilchrist, a self-proclaimed millionaire, who told us his whole life story up to that point for 3 hours straight. He was so motivated and positive, it made you have a good attitude. Again, we were promised that we wouldn't be selling anything. Some people left, I guess because they were smarter or more informed than I was at the time. I was hired and was excited about the job and working with this guy. He's a real con artist.

My first day I was told to go home and sell these fake purfumes and colognes to my friends/family. We were promised a $1000 bonus to whoever sold the most on the condition that we all sold at least 5. We had no samples, no real paper work, nothing to show anyone except for our word. I ended up selling 5 and was pretty proud of that, thinking that it was difficult enough just getting that many.

My second day I came into work, ready to go. We were given samples and shoved out the door to go sale his purfumes along with a team leader. Again, they told us we wouldn't have to sell anything; yet, that's ALL we were doing. On top of that, we weren't getting paid hourly...we were only paid for commision and not even justifiably paid at that. That day, I got stranded in Charlotte, 5 minutes away from the office and Mike couldn't even come and pick me up. I had to spend $10 on a cab ride out of the $25 I had made for those 5 sales. That's when I knew he wasn't a good person.

I came home that night, did research and found out that there are SO MANY other stories JUST like mine! He really is a con artist. And he's moving state to state because people are figuring him out. I want EVERYONE to know. He is using people and sucking them dry. I have a daughter to provide a future for, and if you're like me, you don't have time for people like him. PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM MICHAEL GILCHRIST. HE IS A CON ARTIST!!!

Responses

  • Sc
    Scammers101 Nov 17, 2016

    Same guy who interviewed me in Austin, TX called HIGHLINE, INC still the same scam different state. Waste my time, he talked so much about personal stuff rather than going over the company. Which I later researched and saw lots of complaints about Scentura creation scam. Selling cheap perfumes in the parking lots. Do not waste your time. They accepted me to start next wk but now I am happily declining.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Commonsenseisntcommon Jul 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so glad I found this! I just conducted an interview with Michael and, I was invited back for a second interview. I knew something was fishy because, it just didn't feel right. I ignored my intuition after noticing several red flags and, I accepted his offer anyway. I am now reconsidering showing up to the orientation. Thank you guys for saving me further humiliation.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donnyv May 17, 2016

    Thank you guys sooo much for this. His "Persona" gives off a really nice hardworking guy. He kept going on and on about his military experience and how rich he is... I don't think rich people say hey look how rich I am. But anyways, he talked so fast that I didn't have a chance to ask a question. He also stated that he would never hire someone with a degree... I have a BA in Computer Science... But he supposedly liked me. The blaring music during the interview, and his wife Eva as the CFO... Something kept telling me to research the company. I couldn't find anything on the company's name, Highline Inc. But when I looked up his name, this is what came up. Thank you guys for saving me the trouble. I will not be going to the 2nd interview.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samdash11 Mar 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just came from an interviw. So right off the bat i sensed a SCAM first off they had music blaring then it was in some broke down office! Once I was called into the back office he cussed like a sailor very unprofessional then he went on and on about his life and his ex military experiences and how he would never even hire anyone with a degree well duh because they arent dumb enough to believe this load of ###! but the magic word of the day was perfume i had someone try to scam me into this same exact job years back what a waste of my 30 minutes . Needless to say he is now in Austin TX I will be reporting this to craigslist. Thanks but no thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Uw
    uwontwastemytime May 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just quit my so called job with Mike. Needless to say I wasted a whole week with this guy. All he kept talking about was how much money he had and the trips we were going on, just a bunch of smoke. I wanted to know if he had been here in Charlotte for so long and after 5 week s u can become an owner but I began to wonder where are the other offices where some of his students have become managers. Not only that Eva which is his business partner who i believe started out the same as the rest of us but made it a bit more so he let her in on the scheme lol now she is his fiance whom is now expecting is supposed to be one of the mangers who he trained lol BS. I checked the better business bureau and just i expected they do not have their acredidation and everytime they contacted the company mike and eva would give them the run around, and info that would lead to no where. Now they 've stop excepting the BBB calls so hmmmmm enough said for me.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lovable09 Feb 16, 2011

    thanks alot for this post idk if im going to this scam interview

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SCAM100 Sep 30, 2010

    I went to the second interview today with this "Mike" guy. And he goes on and on for 2 1/2 hours about him being this rich guy and his mom doubting him his whole life...bla bla bla. He couldn't answer any of my questions at all. Everytime i asked him something he went off on another subject...SCAM SCAM SCAM. I am so mad at these kind of places doing people like this. Eva interviewed me and she was only 21 yrs old. I asked her "so what makes you qualified to be a manager with no experience at all?" NO answer!! And if this mike guy was so rich than why does he wear torn [censor] shoes, a broken [censor] watch and looks like he should eat something. Fony is what i say, Mike get a real job and life that doesn't involve you putting people that are just trying to find a decent income in your so called office! Waste of time...I hope someone gets to him in a way he deserves.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waterfallchic Apr 27, 2010

    Oh and the name of the company has changed too. Its now Life Management Center.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waterfallchic Apr 27, 2010

    Thank you so much for posting this! Wish I would have found it sooner. I had an interview there today. From the moment I walked into the office I had this feeling in my gut. The ad I responded to said something about Receptionist needed. When I got there there was no office equipment, not so much as a single computer! And the girl who interviewed us was only 20 years old and I could hardly understand her. The office was pretty bare, and needed some work. After sitting through the first interview with two other people I knew it was a scam. The girl could not answer my questions straight. Sorry you got caught up in that. I feel so bad for all the other people who are going to fall for it.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wow neutral party Mar 19, 2010

    shoot me an email "smarterthanGlichrist" I want to learn more about your experience, please

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    SmarterThanGilchrist Mar 18, 2010

    Excuse me, but this is only my opinion. He seems to be a con artist to me. In this complaint, there was not one lie. You tell me how you can sue someone for defamation of character when (a) There is freedom of speech in this country and (b) all of the statements above are not of false nature and (c) last but certainly not least, very FEW defamation of character cases actually get brought to court level. They can be settled privately. I would delete this post, Mike, if it were untrue. However, that it is not.

    When I work for someone, I get paid for my time and effort. Also, any boss that I've ever had in the past would never put me in a dangerous or jeapordizing situation; for example, I know that you have to have a solicitation license for each city that you are in. Any of your employees could get arrested for what they are doing and you have no concern simply because you're risking their futures and not your own. I'm sorry that you lead a dishonest life and are deceitful to people; however, I am not sorry for posting this complaint.

    -1 Votes
  • Hu
    huanghuang Mar 16, 2010

    Ladies and gentlemen,

    Here I'm gonna introduce an online store, www.ongoin.com.

    There are thousands of Female supplies in this website.

    Brand handbags, clothing, shoes, boots, watches, sunglasses, scarf, necklaces rings and so on.

    Dear girls, i promise you can have a pleasure shopping journey here,
    And dear guys, you also can choose some products as presents for your friends (especially for girlfriends)!

    LV handbags &42

    Chanel handbags $42

    Versace handbags &38

    Gucci handbags $42

    Prada handbags $45

    LV boots $52

    high BOOT woman from$52

    Roca women jeans $39

    Nike women hoody $50

    Cartier necklace $18

    Dior necklace $18
    ...
    Best regards for you all,

    Looking forward to your visiting.

    www.ongoin.com
    pls contact us via [email protected]
    [email protected]


    ddddddddd

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.