The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Longwood IncUnsolicited Call

R

On sunday february 21st, 2010 i posted a vehicle for sale on a website. A couple of days after, i received a call at my home with an unknown number. A voice message was left and it was someone who was offering to sell my car and guaranteed the sale. The name left on the message was brad from longwood incorporated. After researching the company to no surprise i learned it was a scam. I hope that by doing my part and filing a complaint against this company (Or person) something can be done.

Responses

  • Ro
    Robert Knight Sep 22, 2009

    I recieved a message from Brad, saying he has called a couple times now. He saw my ad for a vehicle i was selling on craigslist, but i put no phone number down, just the contact info which would be by email. told me he worked for longwood inc., and would guarantee it to sell for a small fee.
    I will keep recording on my phone

    0 Votes
  • TeaRowz Jun 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As for Auto Marketing Systems, or Longwood, "Inc.", here is the link to the Better Business Bureau's report:

    http://www.bbb.org/western-virginia/business-reviews/auto-listing-service/longwood-industries-inc-in-bedford-va-9004961/

    You will note that Longwood "Inc." is actually Longwood "Industries" (http://longwoodinc.com) which seems to be more rightfully named. The creators of this website are, indeed, very "industrious" in offering embroidery, screen printing, tote bags, AND marketing your car.

    I received the recorded call from "Brad" from "longwood 'ink' " who gave me [protected] as a number to call back.

    After reading the comments here and elsewhere about this recorded message, I called what turned out to be "Auto Marketing Systems". "Linda" answered, and I asked which of my cars for sale they had seen, and how they got my number. She asked, "Are you a dealer?" I said "yes", and she immediately said they'd made a mistake calling me, and would put me on their 'do not call' list.

    Too late - I've already filed a complaint with the National Do Not Call Registry.

    And I'm not a dealer, nor do I have any car for sale anywhere.

    0 Votes
  • Truth_Adventis Jul 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Linda,

    Please read other posts concerning Longwood, TheBiglot and AMS - they are all run by the same company and Adventis is simply using Longwood's non-profit status.

    If they indeed did violate the DNC you need to follow up with your complaint - it appears this company is notorious for this.

    Glad you didn't use their service.

    Truth

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imklint Oct 13, 2010

    I have been SCAMMED by Longwood Industries. This group saw my motorcycle listing on Cycle Trader and called me. I would like to mention that from the very start they are operating illegally. FTC has passed a law making any " robocall" without prior express written consent illegal. So when Longwood Industries grabs my number off Cycle Trader, they are immediately acting illegally.

    Longwood called me and indicated that they had many buyers and that they would be able to sell my bike within a couple of days because it was "SO" popular. They even raised the price I was asking for. They assured me that if they could not sell my bike they had a money back guarantee. Part of the fraud is that they never tell you about the requirements for the guarantee until after they've your money, and once they took the money they NEVER contacted me again.

    The reason I fell into their TRAP was there impressive web site. Couple of hours after I paid the money I decided to check the company. As far as BBB accreditation they have None, I saw that they've many complaints against them. I also checked the "Complaints Board, made by the people for the people, and I saw many complaints. I immediately called my credit card company and told them I've been scammed by Longwood Industries and to put a stop on the charge. I also cancelled the card to be on the safe side. I tried to do a "chargeback" through my credit card company, because I paid them and they did not comply with their end of the deal, so this is Fraud.

    This incident happened back in sep 09/20/2010 and the charge is still pending on my account. The representative that I spoke to on the 09/20/2010 assured me that she will take care of everything and the I can rest assure that everything is going to be ok. But today is 10/13/2010 and as I said the charge is still pending on my account.

    The reason I've and use a credit card is for the safety of a big company to back me up in situations like this. But in spite of all the evidence that Longwood Industries SCAM innocent people, I am still waiting for the charge to come off my account!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    wrestle4it Nov 19, 2010

    Matt carter calls me to sell my car for meand i dont even have a car for sale

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    wrestle4it Nov 19, 2010

    I sell items on craigslist so they must get my number off there .He tells me they have a buyer for my car ?????????? No cAR FOR SALE!!! SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Im
    imesd Feb 21, 2011

    Don't know who these people are but if I wanted help selling my vehicle I would have called them. I may have to facebook them and begin harrasing them, after all it can be a 2 way street.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marottababy Aug 11, 2011

    I PLACED AN AD TO SELL MY FATHER'S CAR ON CRAIGSLIST AND "MATT" HAS BEEN CALLING ME EVER SINCE. HE ALWAYS SAYS THAT HE IS GLAD HE FOUND MY AD AND CAN HELP ME SELL THE CAR FOR A SMALL FEE. HE LEFT THE PHONE # OF [protected] WHICH TURNS OUT TO BE A BUSINESS THAT NEVER HEARD OF HIM...THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A SCAM AND THEY CONTINUALLY RECEIVE CALLS LOOKING FOR HIM. BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    popobytch Feb 03, 2012

    They totally just called me! Thanks to all of you that posted this review. I may have fallen for it!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Davi Noble Sep 27, 2012

    I am in Calgary, Alberta Canada and posted my vehicle on auto trader and kijiji. The next day I receive a call from Matt Carter. He assures me that he has a buyer for my 2012 Suburban. In fact he guarantees me that it will sell with his list of people looking for a vehicle such as mine. All I have to do is pay a fee for the contact list. My gut tells me this is a scam and I have learned folks go by your gut insticts always. My feeling is that if itr was a guarantee I wopuld pay him a commission on the back end of any deal from his list and that would make sense to me. My gut instinct again tells me there would be opposition to this as I would be protected then and he would have to chase me if I did not hold my end of the bargain. Common sense tells me to not do business with a company like this and I hope that with all the complaints I see that indeed IF IT WAS a rip off then hopefully they will be eventually be prosecuted.Life is hard enough than to just give your money away to a voice on the phone. If it sounds to good to be true it usually undoubtedly is and keep the money in your wallet or give to your local pet shelter or charity of your choice. Thats positive karma in your life and u know where your money went Dave

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Schneider Oct 12, 2012

    a week and a half from today's date OCT 12th 2012 the calls started coming in. A voice message was left and it was someone who was offering to sell my car and guaranteed the sale.The first one I deleted and then i got a second one. The name left on the message was Matt from Longwood Inc. YES Longwood Inc. This time from a Hawaii registered BBB account. Found here http://bbb.org/hawaii/business-reviews/telephone-solicitation-companies/longwood-in-honolulu-hi-53047867 Loop Holes in out System As With any SCAM the person has hundreds of legit address listed and hundreds of 888 or 886 Phone numbers. After researching the company to no surprise It was a SCAM. This time he left the number [protected] .I hope that by doing my part and filing a complaint here the (persons and or person) can be stopped. Something needs to be done and the LAWS MUST change. I bet facebook has something to do with this aswell. SCAMS FROM ###> Seems its the way of life as an American. I'm Embarrassed to be an american. Kill me NOW. FILE YOUR COMPLAINT HERE : http://bbb.org/hawaii/business-reviews/telephone-solicitation-companies/longwood-in-honolulu-hi-53047867/complaints

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Schneider Oct 12, 2012

    in comment to : I would like to mention that from the very start they are operating illegally. FTC has passed a law making any " robocall" without prior express written consent illegal. SEE THE FTC VIDEO HERE : www.ftc.gov/video-library/index.php/video/what-to-do-if-you-get-a-robocall/1807437470001 MUST SEE

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Schneider Oct 12, 2012

    ROBCALLS http://www.ftc.gov/video-library/index.php/video/what-to-do-if-you-get-a-robocall/1807437470001

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Schneider Oct 12, 2012

    http://www.ftc.gov/video-library/index.php/video/what-to-do-if-you-get-a-robocall/1807437470001

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Schneider Oct 12, 2012

    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/robocalls/ learn what the FTC is doing about it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions