SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Laumar Roofing & Hurricane Metal Supplyinstall a metal roof on my home

1
A Aug 28, 2018 Review updated:

For the property located at 5420 sw 131 ave, miami, fl 33175
Maria I zamora cell [protected]
I had contacted laumar roofing co. At end of july and asked for a proposal to have a roof installed on my home, I had received a proposal on july 31st, 2018 which I later decided to contact the co. And spoke with a spanish speaking man called carlos carmona the foreman for the such company. We set up an appointment and the one of the owners came to my home and saw the job to be performed. A proposal was received via email and I went to the warehouse to verify the co. Was real in order for me to verify the company was real. I had met with cameron kelts and brian mcnay where they responded questions I had and had recommended to add an extra upgrade to the contract ($16, 500) owens corning attic cat insulation for an extra ($2, 750) bring up the price of $19, 250.00. The company's philosophy is to ask for 0 money down in order to secure the business. After 2 weeks we had received a call from carlos and he stated needed to park a truck in our home which we had agreed. He stated people will be there at 7 am to start working. I domingo henriquez (maria zamora) husband, left around 7: 50 am but no one showed up at that time. I had informed the co. I needed to be there because I had to take pictures of the back flat roof for insurance purpose. At around 1245 pm this 24 of august 2018, I went to my home and saw people working on my roof and by that time, they already had done half of the main roof and I asked the workers to replace some of the bad plywood which at simple look needed to be replaced. I called the owner of the co. Cameron kelts and had informed him that it was raining and how come he is putting a roof with that rain. I, had told the workers that I does not make sense for me to do work during training and they should do when there is not rain. Workers got upset and foreman informed them to leave the job the way it was and left the scene, at which time I had to get back to work because I was on my lunch break. I left and the people told me will leave. People tried to secure the property and later on as per my wife they were still working there. By 530pm I came back home they've left. The same day mr. Cameron called and informed that he will not finish the job because the workers did not want to go back to the home and finish the job. I was talking with this guy and had send a text message to have a phone conversation with the foreman and go over the situation which we did, and he had explained will cancel the contract and charge half of the price of the $16, 500. This guy refused to get into an agreement with us. And had insulted my wife mistreat us verbally. He had a long conversation with us and after going back and forth with his abuse we had agreed to pay half of the price which I though it was lot of money for what he did.
On monday 27, 2018. I called another to get a proposal for finishing what he had left unfinished, the contractor explained the person had steal us the money for this job worth around $3000. We would like to bring this complaint to your attention and we would like to know how to proceed in order for us to received part of this money back. We need to file a complaint towards this company license and would like to fine them for all they had done to us. We had worked hard to save this money and it is not fear to have people abusing customer this way.
Please advise us. Thank you

install a metal roof on my home
install a metal roof on my home
install a metal roof on my home
install a metal roof on my home
install a metal roof on my home

Responses

  • Jo
    Josh Hayslip Apr 11, 2019

    Did you ever get a answer about getting your money back. Also im looking to put on a metal roof and Lamaur roofing came up but I see the reviews who was the second roofing company and where they good?

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    Ian Kravitz Jan 08, 2020

    @Josh Hayslip this is horrible. I am a lawyer who has had dealings with Cameron Kelts. What happened to you is the exact things that happened to a client of mine and eerily similar to what he has done to others. Contact a construction lawyer near you to review the case and see how to make you whole.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherylcm Feb 14, 2020

    Cameron Kelts is a repeat habitual violent offender. He has been charged with fraud, forgery, grand theft, impersonating an officer, trafficking cocaine... The list goes on and on. He put on my roof in 2017, it is leaking, he caused over $16, 000.00 in damage to my house. According to Dade county he doesn’t have a contractor license. How he can continue to do business stuns me.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cherylcm Feb 14, 2020

    More photos

    0 Votes

Post your comment