KK Music StoreTerrible place

M

I purchased a Jr. drum set for my 8 yr old because he had requested a set from Santa. The package arrived 2 days before Christmas but never inspected the contents until Christmas Eve night when my husband went to put it together at midnight so that it would be out when my son woke up Christmas morning. Well, unfortunately, there were no instructions on how to put it together (mind you, it was in 200 pieces).

Needless to say, it was a very disappointing Christmas morning when the only thing my child asked for was sitting in 200 pieces in a closet hidden. When I contacted Kelly, the manager, she advised me that you have to request instructions on how to put together. So, it was my fault that the drum set didn't get put together.

I was so angry at her attitude so I requested my money back. She then said that I would have to send the drum set back at my cost and that she was going to take a 20% cut of my refund for a restocking fee. Heck, toothpaste comes with instructions. After much conversation, she agreed to send UPS to pick it up and only charge me 20%. Well, the UPS guy never came to pick it up. When I called her and advised her of the 'no show' of UPS she called me a 'Stupid B**ch' and hung up on me. I would never recommend this company for anything.

Responses

  • Co
    Concern Shopping Feb 28, 2009

    I am not surprised! Cecilio musical instrument, their brand is NO GOOD ...their high quality pictures are very deceiving! They are a manufacture that sells directly on Ebay and have a website store called www.KKMusicStore.com, which is also more deceiving! ALL JUNK!

    Poor BBB Rating, Poor customer service, DO NOT HONOR THEIR 1 YEAR WARRANTY! If you purchase any of their instruments, you will be lucky it last more than 15 days.

    Stay away from them!

    3 Votes
  • To
    Tomas G. Apr 18, 2009

    I also noticed they have a [redacted] file against them:

    /URL removed/

    FYI, I agree, stay away!

    2 Votes
  • Ce
    Cecilio Dealer Giovanni Aug 11, 2009

    I am a cecilio dealer, I as a dealer can't get satisfaction for the many bad instruments. I have had to repair their brass instruments over and over, at my expense.They charge me to return bad instruments and won't believe my technicians reports on all the defects. We cancelled our dealership. It has costs us thousands of dollars to fix these instruments and give replacements to our customers using other brands. KK music is owned by Cecilio Manufacturing- and as a Dealer, if we can't get satisfaction, what are your chances. Kelly, who is mentioned in some reviews as disagreeable to customers, is nice when we would place an order, and not so nice when we need help. I can't give our name because we will still need parts and whatever help we can wring out of cecilio until all the bad cecilio instruments ha9ve 0been fixed, returned, or turn to junk, which they are, EVEN WHEN NEW. (PS.even their cases fall apart!)

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Carter Smith Sep 25, 2009

    I purchased a student trumpet (Mendini by Cecilio Lacquered Bb Trumpet) for my son from KK Music.
    The service was courteous and prompt. The trumpet worked as expected in fact better than the one that he had been borrowing from the school.
    His music teacher was satisfied with the quality of the instrument and said that it was a good value
    I have had no problems
    Carter Smith

    -2 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa P. Oct 26, 2009

    I bought a violin from this company a month ago. I was a little discouraged at first seeing their reviews here but after going on eBay and seeing that they have over 20K positive feedbacks, I decided to go ahead and give it a try. Also because they have the best deals on violins. The violin came a week later and it's really what they described. It's beautiful, my daughter loves it!

    Overall, I'm really pleased with this company, friendly service and fast shipping. My order was sent out the next day. I don't know about how well their warranty is, I haven't had any problems with my instrument yet.

    -4 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe Kim Nov 15, 2009

    Oh my gosh! Stay away from them! Their instrument will work for about 30 days thens quickly falls apart. Good luck then on their so call warranty! :)

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    mackit1234 Dec 09, 2009

    I recently was trying to make a purchase using my debit card and the purchase was decined a couple of time to find out the next day that it was being debited out of my account. I called KKmusic store customer service rep. to explain the situation and she was better than good. She helped us get the situation corrected and we are now looking forward to the drums.
    Mike Mc Kinzie

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    bad_bussiness Dec 17, 2009

    Cecilio is the WORST store to buy any thing musical from I bought a violin from those liars and at the time I purchased it I thought I was in for a treat but boy was I worng the day it arrived I was all happy and junk but no it was a piece of crap . The case that it came with was locked with the key inside so I had to cut it open and the violin was'nt even assembeled.


    So I'm warning you stay away from them
    Beware of bad service!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    tacos Feb 18, 2010

    i dont care about the service i just want a violin becuase i want a newer one mine was 850 dollars and its a hofner anybody want it for 700 dollars? any won any won? hm hm.

    1 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa P. Mar 09, 2010

    You people need to get real. There's a need for cheap instruments like the ones they're selling. Truth is, not everyone can afford or willing to spend $800 on an instrument, especially if they're a beginner. What kind of quality were you really expecting out of a $20 instrument? These reviews aren't fair at all because you people simply expect too much.

    -1 Votes
  • Yo
    yomama Mar 09, 2010

    you people need to get real... what were you really expecting for $20??? Truth is, there are people who needs cheap instruments like these, not everyone can afford $800 instruments.. even if it means you'll have to buy 2 or 3 because it just won't hold up, that's still better than spending $800.

    -3 Votes
  • Do
    Donbro Jul 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://astore.amazon.com/supstapro-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=33 is way better check them out they have everything new and used!

    2 Votes
  • Ze
    zenriderx Sep 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You get what you pay for, and if you are lucky a little more. Buy a lottery ticket and see if you get the same deal. BTW I just bought a used King 600, made in USA for a wopping 150.00. It was one of the mid priced on ebay.

    1 Votes
  • Wr
    WRTavares Nov 02, 2010

    I agree with some posters that really what does a person expect when you get a violin, case, xtra strings, xtra bow, xtra bridge, digital tuner, rosin AND a pocket music book for less than $60.00?? I purchased this in a 1/16 for my two and half year old to just get use to holding the violin, using the bow and the feel of the instrument. Its adorable. I have not had any experience with their customer service so I cant comment on that. However, I do feel that as far as the violin goes I got what I paid for.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MAReview Jan 10, 2011

    KK Music Store is a COMPLETE rip off...STAY AWAY. I purchased a trombone for my son at the start of the school year. Of course, by the time lessons started, it was past the 30 day return policy. My son came home in tears...what looked to be shiny and "NEW" was actually repainted JUNK! I took it to the local SA Music Store to see about a cleaning, but they told me it is in disrepair...basically worn junk...and that it was probably worth buying a new one, instead of repairing what KK Music Store sold me. My son is now crushed. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL RIP OFF. DO NOT BUY FROM KK MUSIC STORE.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProMusician Jan 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    KK Music Store has had many Complaints for many years .
    Any Company that sells Musical Instruments should not have continual monthly complaints about Quality. You can go look up legit moderate quality Brand Instruments & you will not find this kind of constant negative Feedback.
    FYI: You can buy a decent legit moderate quality Instrument for about twice what KK Music store costs & its worth every dime! If you can't afford that then buy a used Instrument or rent. Kids need to learn on a well made instrument. There is ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE to buy Junk for your Kid to learn on period.

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheap Dad Mar 02, 2011

    My 9 year old daughter bought her first violin from KK Music on Ebay in pink. She has used it for two years and has turned into a great violinist and was invited to the district wide masters program this year. Since she is ready to upgrade to a larger violin we plan on getting another from KK on ebay. We are quite satisfied with their product and price. Im my opinion my daughters 70.00 violin sounds just as good if not better than some of her fellow students with the $600.00 model.

    -2 Votes
  • Xa
    xanth77 Mar 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is a DISASTER to be avoided at all costs. Started with misleading advertisements - note the GERMAN type cello is made in CHINA -and a poor quality cello. Returning it was supposed to be easy within the trial period. Turns out a cello can be badly enough "damaged" in their indestructible hard case during shipping that there is NO refund. I am out the money and the cello. Some business where you get to keep both! Wish I had known what this company was like before I did business with them. A HORRIBLE and expensive experience.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProMusician Mar 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't believe the Siren's Song from these Junk Instrument sellers. You are NOT going to get a quality Instrument for the ridiculously low price. Any instrument you buy should be sold in Stores and the MANUFACTURER of the Instrument should have a Website.

    2 Votes
  • Al
    ALEEN Mar 29, 2011

    I so wish I had seen this site before buying a 1/8 size violin for my daughter - it arrived in a banged up box, with a broken fine tuner, rosin and end peg. When I called, I spoke to a very nice rep who told me to email pics and that they would probably exchange for an undamaged instrument. Instead all I got was an offer to ship out a new end pin. They even tried to convince me that the broken fine tuner was normal and all their violins were like that! (I'm new to violins, but not a total idiot thank you very much!) My daughter's violin teacher confirmed that the end pin was definitely damaged, but since it was the one of the "G" string was able to tune it with the pegs and said it wasn't worth returning considering it is an instrument for a 4 year old and will see some abuse anyway. I have never received such crappy customer service from an online store - stay far, far away!

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mila vesely Aug 27, 2011

    just one litle opinion for all of you guys...We all did not invent word "Bargain" in U.S. It came up from different world to us...
    Please, be so kind, and try to remember our country, when American pride was our religion...
    I am taking my time and and letting you know, what was the ussual certificate included with real American musical instrument from year 1914.
    This instrument is "GUARANTEED" to the purchaser.
    The instrument to which this card is attched, No. xxxxxx has been carefully inspected and leaves our plant in perfect condition. It is fully guaranteed against defects in material
    or workmanship, and warranted unsurpassed in perfection of design and True-Tone quality. (Buescher Band Instruments Co., Elkhart, Ind.)
    Now that you are the proud possessor of this instrument, learn to love it. Remember it is one of your most intimate possessions...close to you perhaps than anythink else you may own.
    For it is the voice of the music withing you, singing or sighing with your mood, and forever faithful to your innermost whims. So protect it from careless hands.
    Keep it clean and dry. It is well made and rightly designed to stand constant use. Have faith in it to respond to your skill and magnify your best effords.
    Give to it the best you have and the best will come back to you. F.A.BUESCHER.
    I am the guy whoom came to this place from Europe, and I really apprecciate to be part of America every day. I am very proud of it...
    This commercial decadence is killing me...and I am asking myself "why"? and why us in U.S. We all have so much to keep in our hearts to be proud of... did not we?
    So, think about future of our litle ones we love so much. We all must give the family the best, without a compromise.
    We do not have to be "cheep", we do not like that word in U.S., but we can be inexpensive if we are wise...and still succesful enough...That will be American way...

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mecoolme13 Oct 11, 2011

    I Bought A violin For My Self For About 1 week When is it gonna come !!!


    ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!1

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mecoolme13 Oct 11, 2011

    Im Am So Agry I`ve Been Waiting For A week When Is It Gonna Come ???????????????????????????!!!

    1 Votes
  • Dj
    Djl1010 Oct 17, 2011

    I have bought 2 instruments from kk music stores, both trombones and i am planning on purchasing a soprano sax. I do play professionally and of course if you buy the cheapest one on the site it will be junk thats obvious. But cicelio is very good quality instruments if you buy the right model, there's a reason for the cheap instruments that don't play very well. They are student instruments. But I have had no problems with there instruments in fact they are nicer than most of the instruments i have played. If you are buying an instrument for a gift don't buy the cheapest one or you are a total dumb f**k.

    -2 Votes
  • Dj
    Djl1010 Oct 17, 2011

    also they are instruments designed for MUSICIANS! NOT some person that wants to buy an 8 year old a drumset unless they plan on taking lessons AND they expect you to know how to put a drumset together because people that shop ACTUALLY PLAY AN INSTRUMENT!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProMusician Oct 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are NOT designed for Pro's.
    They are made for people who see a shiny new "Bargain Instrument" who don't know any better. They are mostly BEGINNERS.
    Their continual monthly negative & neutral eBay feedback proves that the Instruments are not a Bargain. Don't take my word for it check it out for yourself.

    0 Votes
  • Tp
    tpez Mar 29, 2012

    WOW!!! I am so glad that that have read all these complaints, I was just in a process of buying the blue color trumpet for my son whom I promised that I would get him a bradn new one if he got an A in Band and indeed he did! We saw this beatiful picture of the blue and black trumpetand my son fell in love with it but he was in the process of chơosing which color he really want the blue or the blac? but after I have all of the BAD fêeback, HAHAHAHA NO BLUE OR BLACK TRUMPET FROM THIS COPMPANY, AND KELLY GET OUT OF THE CUSTOMER SERVEICE DEPT. AND START LƠOKING FOR MAYBE A JANITOR JOB!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    rossh May 14, 2012

    I have never heard of a drum set with instructions- that's ridiculous! What do you expect when you buy an instrument at this price?

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProMusician May 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Drum sets take assembly- Google: drum set assembly instructions.
    Its NOT ridicous to have instructions for assembly no matter how much you paid for their Inferior Junk.
    How much do directions cost the Company 3 cents? This just another sign of a Company who has no concern for the Customer.

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProMusician Sep 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Folks if you can't afford a new well made car you get a used one! You don't go buy some new cheap piece of junk car that looks shiny & pretty then say " There's a need for affordable cars." Its a ridiculous statement and for cheap Musical Instruments even more so! Down the road the cheap car and the cheap "INSTRUMENT" will start falling apart.
    When you bring them into Repair shop the Repair guy will say: "Why did you buy this?"
    Then he'd possibly say: its not worth fixing or there's no replacement parts.
    Common sense will tell you this is obvious!
    Google: Buying a Musical Instrument on Ebay.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    GreenMeanie May 20, 2015

    MusicStore.DE
    I bought a PINK Soloist 30th they had listed on their Website 2 months ago and never received it or my Money back yet. Anyone ordering from the USA should be careful with this Company. I have EMAILS with excuses why it never got shipped even with them offering me $100.00 for my troubles which I never seen. They even sent me a tracking NUMBER once and when I seen it never moved I asked them why? to be told they had the package sent back to them because they forgot to put all the paper work in with the guitar.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vienna L. Aug 20, 2015

    I was buying a size 4/4 violin for my 10years old daughter ever since she needs to replace her violin.I place an order on the Cecilo CVN 300 but it came in a Mendini size 4/4 violin in pink.My costumer service person was Kelly and she sound like that she don't care about the order.She told me that the violin work fine as long as it was the size that I order. I wouldn't buy anything from KK Music Store anymore

    -1 Votes
  • Jk
    jkinser311 Sep 29, 2015

    Don't purchase anything online from this place. I purchased a violin for my son, and the next day my bank account was drained for over $600 in purchases to other music stores, & jewelry stores in multiple states. Their site is unsecured and your info is unsafe to give out to them. ...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samadaz Nov 08, 2016

    I wish I had read these comments before placing an order with KK Music. Very rude and unprofessional staff! Never do any business with them. What I am wondering is that are so many complaints against this business and they are still in business? How come no authorities are involved yet? Isn't fraud if a business doesn't deliver what it promise and make refund policy that difficult that it is not worth getting the refund?

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem