Judy A. Goldsteilawyer

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

http://www.avvo.com/attorneys/60448-il-judy-goldstein-1137006.html?ref=qad_answer_name
I wish she spend more time on her client, instead commenting with no contents on avvo.com "go straight hire lawyer".
Isn't this violation of attorney client privilege what you responded against your client?


stay away
Posted by a Divorce client, 11 days ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 6-12 months ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with no lawyers.
She does not keep you informed will keep pushing cases longer than need be to get more money out of you. She doesn't return phone calls, has a secretary who apparently does relay messages. Not trustworthy at all. Beware is all I have to say. She is in a hurry to bill you and bleed you dry yet she doesn't keep you informed unless you call the office and then you'll be lucky if you get a call back if you are leaving a message with that incompetent secretary...for the money she charges keeping clients posted should be a priority.

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
Stephanie was kept apprised of every aspect of her case. Letters went out. Telephone calls were placed. Voice messages were left. 9.5 months after her file was closed, Stephanie called at 6: 11 pm. the evening before and twice again on the Thursday before Labor Day weekend. She spoke to my assistant the first time and left a voice mail later the same day, demanding an immediate return call or she would file a police report. I was out of town and did not receive the messages until the following Tuesday but believed I would see her the following day. There was nothing that could have been done in the meantime.
We substantially reduced Stephanie’s initial retainer as a courtesy. After her divorce was finalized, she had a relatively small balance but probably would not have had a balance had we requested our usual retainer. We billed her on a regular basis, as is our policy for all clients. Nearly 3 months after Stephanie’s file was closed, we placed our first call requesting payment of the balance due. 5 more calls went out over the next 5 months. We received no return calls. I guess that is what Stephanie refers to as “in a hurry to bill.”
Stephanie’s divorce took about 6 months to complete which was quite reasonable considering she had children and a house which was sold. The duration of a case has no bearing on the amount of billable time spent. During the time we represented her, Stephanie called the office 7 times and each of her calls was handled but did not require a return call. Two of those calls were to schedule an appointment. Another was simply to report a change of address. Letters went out advising Stephanie of the progress of her case.
I’m sorry that Stephanie is so unhappy with our representation. There is really nothing more we could have done for her.


Do not hire Judy Goldstein
Posted by Frank, a Divorce client, over 1 year ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable AverageKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Judy interviews well and comes across as folksy. Once you pay her retainer, however, you're in for a ride. She does not return phone calls yet charges you for leaving voice-mail. She does not explain her bills. She did not advance my cause. She charges for sending a monthly statement then charges to ask questions about the statement but does not address the issues. If you fire her she will attack with a vengeance and generate bills that even a judge cannot understand. I have personally witnessed Judy lie to a judge in open court in order to extract more money from me. Do not hire Judy Goldstein.


Painful subject
Posted by ANON, over 2 years ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I noticed Judy Goldstein's name via Google maps and HAD to review her. My business with Judy was years ago, but has not been forgotten. This experience left such a heavy and negative impact on me, I can never forget. But I had learned that all people are not as bad as herself. I would not and could not EVER recommend Judy Goldstein to anyone!!! It's still too painful to discuss.


Back to profile
Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews
Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.

stay away
Posted by a Divorce client, 12 days ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 6-12 months ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with no lawyers.
She does not keep you informed will keep pushing cases longer than need be to get more money out of you. She doesn't return phone calls, has a secretary who apparently does relay messages. Not trustworthy at all. Beware is all I have to say. She is in a hurry to bill you and bleed you dry yet she doesn't keep you informed unless you call the office and then you'll be lucky if you get a call back if you are leaving a message with that incompetent secretary...for the money she charges keeping clients posted should be a priority.

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
Stephanie was kept apprised of every aspect of her case. Letters went out. Telephone calls were placed. Voice messages were left. 9.5 months after her file was closed, Stephanie called at 6: 11 pm. the evening before and twice again on the Thursday before Labor Day weekend. She spoke to my assistant the first time and left a voice mail later the same day, demanding an immediate return call or she would file a police report. I was out of town and did not receive the messages until the following Tuesday but believed I would see her the following day. There was nothing that could have been done in the meantime.
We substantially reduced Stephanie’s initial retainer as a courtesy. After her divorce was finalized, she had a relatively small balance but probably would not have had a balance had we requested our usual retainer. We billed her on a regular basis, as is our policy for all clients. Nearly 3 months after Stephanie’s file was closed, we placed our first call requesting payment of the balance due. 5 more calls went out over the next 5 months. We received no return calls. I guess that is what Stephanie refers to as “in a hurry to bill.”
Stephanie’s divorce took about 6 months to complete which was quite reasonable considering she had children and a house which was sold. The duration of a case has no bearing on the amount of billable time spent. During the time we represented her, Stephanie called the office 7 times and each of her calls was handled but did not require a return call. Two of those calls were to schedule an appointment. Another was simply to report a change of address. Letters went out advising Stephanie of the progress of her case.
I’m sorry that Stephanie is so unhappy with our representation. There is really nothing more we could have done for her.
Posted 9 days ago. Flag
Honest Lawyer
Posted by a Child Support client, 14 days ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-6 months ago.
Judy handled my Child Support matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
I didn't always hear what I wanted to hear but the attorney was always honest with me. She kept me informed so I knew exactly what was going on with my case. The billing was fair. The office help was polite. I am happy with the results of my case.
Gets the job done - hire her!
Posted by a client, 3 months ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
Judy knows her stuff. Sometimes she was hard on me to make me see reality but she was always compassionate. Her office staff is professional and courteous. I was pleased with the outcome of my case.
GREAT GAL
Posted by a Adoption client, 4 months ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 6-12 months ago.
Judy handled my Adoption matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Thanks to Judy Goldstein, the GAL, our adoption went through smoothly. Our attorney sort of didn't know what he was doing but Judy made sure everything was in order. Our beautiful daughter is now all ours. Thank you very much.
Happy Days are Here Again!
Posted by a Divorce client, 6 months ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 6-12 months ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
The skies above are blue again.
I am a single person again.
Thanks to Judy - Happy Days are here again!
KNOWS HER STUFF!
Posted by a Divorce client, 7 months ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with no lawyers.
My divorce is finally over and I can get on with my life, thanks to Judy and her office. The lawyer really knows what she is doing. I could tell from court dates that she is well liked and respected by everyone. I'm glad it's over. Thank you!
Great service
Posted by a Divorce client, 7 months ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 6-12 months ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
I am very pleased with the lawyer and everyone who works in her office. She made me feel very comfortable. She knows her business. My case moved quickly.
Honest and Professional
Posted by a Divorce client, over 1 year ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
My divorce was going on 2 years when I fired my first lawyer and hired Judy. The case was complicated but with her help, it was over in just 4 months. I couldn't be happier.
Do not hire Judy Goldstein
Posted by Frank, a Divorce client, over 1 year ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable AverageKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Judy interviews well and comes across as folksy. Once you pay her retainer, however, you're in for a ride. She does not return phone calls yet charges you for leaving voice-mail. She does not explain her bills. She did not advance my cause. She charges for sending a monthly statement then charges to ask questions about the statement but does not address the issues. If you fire her she will attack with a vengeance and generate bills that even a judge cannot understand. I have personally witnessed Judy lie to a judge in open court in order to extract more money from me. Do not hire Judy Goldstein.

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
I am sorry Mr. Ott is so upset that he resorts to false statement. I wish him well and hope that he finds happiness.
Posted over 1 year ago. Flag
WONDERFUL LAWYER!
Posted by a Divorce client, over 1 year ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy 1-3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Judy Goldstein is a great lawyer. She picked up where my last (fired) attorney left off and finished my divorce quickly and very much to my satisfaction. She knows what she is doing and seems to be well respected by other lawyers. I would recommend her to anyone needing legal services.
Painful subject
Posted by ANON, over 2 years ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I noticed Judy Goldstein's name via Google maps and HAD to review her. My business with Judy was years ago, but has not been forgotten. This experience left such a heavy and negative impact on me, I can never forget. But I had learned that all people are not as bad as herself. I would not and could not EVER recommend Judy Goldstein to anyone!!! It's still too painful to discuss.
great lawyer
Posted by a Family client, almost 3 years ago. Flag
Overall rating ExcellentTrustworthy ExcellentResponsive ExcellentKnowledgeable ExcellentKept me informed Excellent
I recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy more than 3 years ago.
Judy handled my Family matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Fabulous lawyer. Sensitive to my needs and the needs of my kids. Knows the law. Courteous office staff. Kept me informed about my case and discussed my options.
former client
Posted by a Divorce client, about 3 years ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy more than 3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with no lawyers.
Judy never returns phone calls, never kept me informed about the status of my case, in the 6 months I had her as my lawyer I never received temporary child support in fact she never set a court date for that. Nor did I have a joint custody agreement, until my husbands lawyer drew it up. I did my best to keep Judy informed of any changes in my case, always getting the paper work to her on time and organized. When I did write Judy a letter, (as I said if the office returned phone calls, questions and concerns were never fully answered. ) wanting to know the status of my case and concerns about my children, I received a certified letter in the mail the next day with her motion to WITHDRAWL from me as her client! Went to court and then received a bill in the mail for almost $5, 000! For WHAT???!!! Please keep looking for a lawyer that will work with you and FOR you Judy is not that lawyer! But she loves to send you bills!

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
Isn't it amazing that no matter how much work is done on behalf of a client, some clients are just never satisfied. This client made such outrageous demands that we could no longer accommodate her. She refused to follow court orders, demanded evaluations that she could not afford/refused to pay for, made accusations against her husband, continually changed her mind, etc. She did not get child support because her husband was unemployed most of the time. She sold her house and moved and did not inform us of her new address for several weeks. She furnished documents that were so disorganized that it took our office many hours to figure them out and organize them. Every single call from this client was returned and/or acted upon. Most of her calls were complaints about her husband's conduct over which we had no control. She also demanded a psychiatric evaluation but refused to incur the expense necessary to order such an examination. The client's final demand was that we call opposing counsel and resolve a matter that day, never taking into account that we had no control over opposing counsel's ability to immediately speak by phone and resolve the issue. This client has threatened me and and has been rude and vulgar to my office staff. She has spoken to at least one other attorney who declined to represent her based upon her attitude and apparent uwillingness to cooperate. As for fees, yes, we do send bills, just like any other business. The client agreed to pay for our services and she ran up a sizeable balance due to the time expended addressing her needs, her ongoing demands and her unreasonable conduct. She continued to make more demands although she disregarded her bill for months. While we sympathize with this woman, we are unable to work indefinitely without compensation, particularly when we have been forced to endure verbal abuse.

J. Goldstein
Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
Ma'am, you need to get a life. I am sorry you are such a bitter person. You hide behind your anonymity, although I do know who you are. You don't have the courage to publicly identify yourself or to call me and discuss your concerns directly. You have stalked me all over the internet and most of your outrageous comments have been removed. Why not direct your energies toward something more productive? J. Goldstein
Posted about 3 years ago. Flag


Lawyer with big issues.. BEWARE
Posted by a Divorce client, over 3 years ago. Flag
Overall rating PoorTrustworthy PoorResponsive PoorKnowledgeable PoorKept me informed Poor
I do not recommend Judy Goldstein.
I used Judy more than 3 years ago.
Judy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.
Had the worst experience she was nice at first after I wrote the check it was a nightmare.she said we will motion my case earlier and on that date the judge told her she did not do this procedure according to law and had to prove it to her in the books.After court I asked what that was all about she yelled at me not to worry about that{at this point I wanted to fire her}she apologized to me. At a couple occasion she had several errors on documents.Once I had taken off work early because of this and when I arrived at her office at the time she told me it was closed.So I called and her secretary answered said judy won't be able to make it and reschedule then hung up on me.one occasion in a phone conversation Judy was rude with me and started to lecture me when I was asking questions about my case. by time my court date came I had reconciled with my wife.At court Judy could not be found. everything was done without her.she charged me $4100 and can't be contacted. Shes got some issues.

Judy Goldstein
Lawyer’s Comment:
This is an incredible set of statements! I do not know this person and have no knowledge of the experiences he has encountered. I have requested an investigation into this review. I am, however, sorry for whatever this person went through, but it certainly was not through anything I or my staff would have caused.

Judy
Posted over 3 years ago. Flag


Insider Pages Reviews for Goldstein Judy A
Have experience with this business? Write a Review.


★☆☆☆☆
Anonymous
Anonymous D.
I have to agree with all the negative reviews. This office takes more time to handle a case then needed. My divorce case was a simple cut and dry case yet took over 6 months to close. The office never kept me updated on court dates or the status of my case at any time... the only reason i found out about my final court day less than a week before the date was because I called the office to find out what was going on. This office is so quick to bill you but can't do their job of keeping their clients updated. My final court date the hearing was quick yet I waited in the hallway while Judy did other personal work on other cases before we went downstairs to get my final paperwork...I waited in the hallway for almost an hour and was charged for her time working on other cases! If you have any common sense you will not use this office for any legal needs!!! For the money this office charges they should do a better job of keeping their clients updated and doing their cases in a timely fashion. If your personal life interrupts with cases than don't take on cases you can't handle or don't bill you clients for your personal time!
August 17, 2012
Report Abuse
Was this review helpful to you?


★☆☆☆☆
Get a real Divorce Atty
STK07 N.
Do not hire Judy Goldstein you may as well attempt a pro bono for the fact that she is not efficient and that is a compliment. I would stress to anyone, the first impression she portrays like she is a professional and until you deal with her it is like the devil herself. On 2 occassions she missed court dates and had the nerve to bill and then carried the case into nearly two years. Didn't return phone calls although fast to submit billings. I was later fortunate to have her removed. She did not work in my best interest at all!
December 30, 2010
Report Abuse
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

★☆☆☆☆
Do Not Hire Judy
Frank C.
I would strongly suggest you do not hire Judy Goldstein. I hired her to represent me in a divorce. Her inability to remember key data proved very expensive to me. After spending thousands of dollars I severed my relationship with Judy yet still feel betrayed by her. Her billing practices border on fraud. She will not help you.
December 30, 2010
Report Abuse
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?


★☆☆☆☆
You found her that good? Really?
David M.
While it is possible... doesn't it seem odd that all these people would have years and years experience with a family law attorney? How many divorces did they have? Or are these just attempts to counter the reality?
Our experience is one of disregard, lack of respect of others time, and a disintinct inability to deal with matters in a timely fashion.
December 30, 2010
Report Abuse
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?

★☆☆☆☆
Painful subject
ANON S.
I noticed Judy Goldstein's name via Google maps and HAD to review her. My business with Judy was years ago, but has not been forgotten. This experience left such a heavy and negative impact on me, I can never forget. But I had learned that all people are not as bad as herself. I would not and could not EVER recommend Judy Goldstein to anyone!!! It's still too painful to discuss.
December 30, 2010
Report Abuse
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


3/7/12 1 1 1 1 1 I had hired this attorney to do an unemployment appeal for me. She had stated from the very beginning that I had a good case. To sum it up nicely, Nearly $4000.00 dollars later I recieved a letter from her stating that I had lost the appeal. I would not recommend this attorneys service to anyone.
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
2/26/12 1 1 1 1 1 Very poor communication. Office associate is rude and condescending. Did not return calls. Work had to be redone several times.
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
2/3/12 1 1 1 1 1 Ms Goldstein expressed interest in my nephew's assault case to a colleague of my husband's. My nephew was beaten in the parking lot of a bar in Mokena. When he phoned her office the women who spoke with him were wildly rude and abusive with him. We will probably never know whether or not one of those women were Ms Goldstein because neither of them identified themselves. After hearing this I phoned myself in spite of the fact that I was in ICU hooked up to a heart monitor. I mistakenly thought that perhaps they were disrespectful with my nephew due to his young age however I encountered the EXACT same thing. The woman who answered shouted "what is it you want from us" and when I began explaining she hung up. My husband is a very prominent and successful attorney both locally in the Chicago area as well as nationally. He sets the bar very high for how to behave professionally. The legal community is a small one Ms Goldstein. I can't imagine this is the reputation you want for yourself.
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
3/14/11 2 1 1 1 1 Does not return phone calls. Does not quantify billing statements. Does not properly represent clients interests in chambers. Does not accurately interpret rulings.
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
5/16/10 1 1 1 1 1 IT APPEARS SHE WAS VERY UN PROFECIONAL IN COURT, IT APPEARS SHE COUNTERDICTED HERS SELF ON THE STAND OFTEN.
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
5/12/10 3 1 1 1 1 1 year of continuances, communication was limited, still trying to clean up problems that arose 2 years after. The divorce decree was poorly written and she misunderstood what was written and did not give accurate advice.

lawyer

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.