Indy ExpressOwner Scams Employees

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Indy Express Fast Freight is owned by James and/or Karen Terry. He hires people to drive around the Puget Sound area of Washington State. Many times, he cannot pay his employees. During the three months I worked for him, he failed to pay on the scheduled paydays four times. The last time, October 10, 2008, I told him that I needed my check so that I could repair my car to go to the east side of the state. He gave me $100 and told me that I could use the company van.

Come the following Sunday, he still did not have our checks. Since there is no one in the office until Monday at 6am, I emailed him stating that I would not work for someone who could not pay his employees.

I ended up taking him to small claims court in Pierce County. I won by default, since he did not show up. I was awarded just shy of $3K, mostly for unpaid wages, but included court costs. Here it is nearly a year later and I have yet to be paid. In December, I plan to filed a superior court case.

In 2008 alone, he has 8 unpaid wage complaints filed against him and now in 2009, he has another 6 complaints. He changes his business name when legal trouble like this starts, so whatever company you worked for him under is considered no longer in business and you are not able to take legal action. This type of history for him extends to Indiana as well, where he originally started the first Indy Express Courier Service. After a couple of years of scamming his employees in Indiana, Indiana refused to give any further business licenses. So he moved to Washington State and has been doing the same thing, scamming his employees, for nearly 6 years in Washington State.

Responses

  • Ga
    Garry George Apr 04, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I’m in Idaho. JT called me on a Sunday to lease my truck & put me & it to work with hub / route in Idaho. Said he had delivery contracts. Lease Agreement sent left out the part about the work / hub / route. On Tuesday he called to make arrangements to meet @ Spokane airport next day to pick up the truck & take back to Seattle. An assumption which was never talked about. Next morning I checked out his rep & decided deal was off unless he wanted to come clean on the work / hub / route issue. He didn’t. If had signed that lease may have never seen my truck again.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pacific Strong Apr 26, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Garry George Hey there, I've worked for this man for a year and I was the lead man. He lied to me multiple times, he still owes me 3 pay checks. I told my family about his scams and lies but told me to cut ties and karma will do him justice. The last time I've work for him was Sept 2019, still to this day his doing this scams to innocent people. I can go on & on about this guy. I know where he lives, I have witnesses who can testify about him. Sorry to hear what happened to you.

    0 Votes
  • I recently worked fire him and rented a room. He's a con man liar. Also rented a room from him just recently. Hexripped me off. Some of my stuff was stolen. He's not a good man business or otherwise.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    JTwerry Mar 19, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    91 911attention dec 27, 2020
    First and formost this is not me
    My name is
    James fancis terry (note pic) not james christphor terry
    As far as the post about married to that girl
    I cought her printing checks, and stealing mail tax returns (note pic)
    And as far as the the driver I caught him drinking and driving my 26000 truck, which he could have killed your kiddo or you
    We all have challages in things we do
    I do hope the best for these people and its ok,
    As far as tony rivit I have tried to pay this guy is dodging child support

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pacific Strong Apr 26, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @JTwerry Hey Jimmy still scamming innocent people I see. This is a pattern of yours and one day we will meet again. Say Hi to your son Austin for me

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seekingjusticeagainstjterry Mar 03, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    James Terry is a fraud! He lies and manipulates and frauds anyone and everyone for his own selfish wants! He married a friend of mine in Vegas this year and she found out he was still married to someone else! I was renting a room in his house he lied and said he owned just to find out he hasn't paid rent in over 6 months per our eviction notice, and he was illegally subletting to 5 different women whom he collected rent from for the last 3 months all the while never even paying any rent or bills! He lies about EVERYTHING! He doesn't care about not paying what he owes, he plans to move back to Indiana in a couple months and start over again! He's a scum bag dirty fraud imposter! His business is going under, all of his bank accounts and credit cards are negative balance, he owes taxes he refuses to pay! All of his employees have walked off the job!

    0 Votes
  • @seekingjusticeagainstjterry I just got scammed by him too. I rented room and worked for him a short period. He's a piece of [censored]. And owes me money.

    0 Votes
  • 91
    911attention Dec 27, 2020

    I found out who is check this out look what james terry did.

    1 Votes
  • At
    Attention911 Dec 26, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This guy James Terry called me up after I responded to an ad posted on Craigslist and asked me to come work for him because his son is not capable of operating a motor vehicle. Now when I walked into this garage in Tacoma next to a church in Tacoma run down I almost turned and walked away I should have there was a woman and a kid with mental illness trying to assemble a treadmill they were arguing and could not figure out how to put the dam treadmill that was the corniest ugliest treadmill I’ve ever seen in my life, so I decided to help out put the treadmill together and then the the owner comes walking in a tiny little bald head convict comes walking in the oversized garage. Now it took me a second but then I recognized him, the used to beg for change on the streets he was a home bum . And no one liked him in the parking lot where James Terry was BEGGING FORCHANGE . I immediately tried to hide the face when I realized he was the the bum begging for change in the parking lot. So then came the interview at 17 an hour to do deliveries now I’m an experienced delivery driver this was taking a huge chance but I did agree to the pay as I was in between jobs. So I drive delivered helped his mentally challenged son out with the deliveries it was shaky I kept having a feeling I was not going to get paid. The first week I worked under 40 hours the next week I was paid for those hours. And when he handed me my check GUESS WHAT!! IT WAS ALREADY CASHED WITH DOLLARS AND CENTS AND A PAY STUB THAT WAS A PHINY FAKE PAY STUB THAT SOMEBODY TYPED UP. NOW AGAIN IT WAS RISKY WIRKING FOR THE GUY because he was a the bum begging for change and all the guy looks on edge also he looks as if he may suffer from mental illness like his son. I was right after all. Anyways I work another 30 hours and when it came time for the next payday he could not pay me . Then I texted this TAX EVADING CROOK . And his reply was I sent it in the mail. Which the check never showed. Now I have not reported this to the IRS BUT I COUKD AND JAMES TERRY COULD LOSE HIS BUSINESS LISCENCE AND AND PAY LARGE FINES PLUS WHO KNOWS WTF. SO IF YOUR ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE THAT THIS DUDE IS ASKING YOU TO COME WORK FOR HIM TURN HIM DOWN LIKE EVERY ONE ELSE DUD IN HIS LIFE BECAUSE THE GUY IS RUNNING A TAX FREE TRYING TO TURN THAT [censored] SHACK GARAGE INTO A SMALL CRIMINAL INTERPRIZE. And he will not pay you for your earnings. I also noticed when I was outside it seemed as if James Terry was being watched by these unmarked detective under cover cars it seems as if they have been catching on to his FRAUD and all. So I was immediately glad to get the hell out of there the guys scamming good people. So I suggest if you see someone on Craigslist offering a job for driver for INDY EXPRESS FAST FREIGHT Turn it down the owner is a crook. Warehouse in Tacoma Lakewood wa delivering goods treadmills etc turn it down.

    2 Votes
  • To
    Tony Rivet Sep 06, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This guy is something else he wrote a check to my trucking company on a closed account 4 for over $3, 000. He told me it was a mistake he grabbed the wrong checkbook who keeps a checkbook on a closed account that has been closed for 5 years in their possession. I get a 2nd chk not even the full amount of the first check and it bounces 4 days later. By now I've got red flags everywhere my wife does a little research which leads us to this complaint board with all these different complaints so I told her that day call Tacoma PD in file charges of fraud they told us we have to do it in Federal Way that were companies based at we gave them all the info and they're going to press charges

    4 Votes
  • Bu
    Business Owner 3 Aug 29, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He definitely does not pay his bills. And he is dishonest to the core. He signed a contract to buy a truck from us and was late on every payment. Then we found out that the insurance he gave us was completely false. He hadn't been covered by any insurance for months. We confirmed it with the insurance company and they submitted to Washington State Insurance fraud. James will say over and over that your money is coming and that he is going to "take care of you" but that does NOT happen. When we told him we were going to go pick up the truck, he gave us an address to an abandoned house. We had to do some investigating to find where he really had the truck. Seriously a sorry excuse for a man, let alone a business owner.

    4 Votes
  • Su
    Sucky employer May 23, 2020

    James Terry hasn't changed his business ethics. I worked for Jim for a year and he doesn't only not pay his employees, he doesn't pay his bills either. I am still yet to get paid from him and he has zero budgeting skills as well as operates without proper insurance quote often. He's a joke to work for and sees nothing wrong with doing people wrong.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.