Hurd Windows & DoorsImploding Hurd Casement Windows

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

We have had now 6 of our Hurd casement Windows in my house implode. These are terrible DANGEROUS windows that jeopardize the safety of my young children, my husband and myself.

It is absolutely mind-boggling to me that this keeps happening. There is something seriously wrong with these windows? Who has ever had a window implode and then to have 6 in one house. Clearly these windows are defective. The first 3 windows were replaced by Hurd, because it was prior to the bankruptcy. When a window in my daughter's room imploded last year, we were told that because of the bankruptcy, the warranty's were void. However our local window company who had replaced all the others replaced it for us at half price. (Hurd had nothing to do with it). Now this winter, we have had 2 more Hurd Windows implode and will need to be replaced. I have written Hurd Windows, but I get no response. I could care less that liability for these windows ended with the bankruptcy. These windows are DANGEROUS!

Honestly, can no one be responsible for anything anymore? Hurd Windows are bad, bad, bad and the company is worse. Stay away from Hurd Windows. I don’t have room here, but if you want to read in detail about my horrible Hurd Window situation, read www.shannonob.com. Mostly though, buy windows from a good company with a good product.

Imploding Hurd Casement Windows

More Hurd Windows & Doors Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ro
    ro2333 Oct 19, 2018

    One of my Hurd window also imploded. Two of our windows have a bow in the glass 18 have a broken seal and are fogged.
    I wish I would have known about the class action settlement. Please stay away from this company.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    savme Sep 14, 2018

    Has anyone successfully replaced the glass in the Hurd Casement windows? I total window replacement the only option?

    -1 Votes
  • Le
    lefitzner Sep 06, 2019

    @savme Our house is literally filled with Hurd Windows. So far, 3 have clouded up and need replacement. If we figure out how to replace them, I will let you know.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FRAUD INVESTIGATOR Aug 09, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In 2008, Hurd filed bankruptcy due to "ongoing litigation costs" as a result of four class action cases filed against them. The question is whether a consumer individually or in a class action can collect damages due to the bankruptcy. In the fourth class action filed in Wisconsin Federal Court, Barden v. Hurd Millwork the parent company, UIS, Inc. did in fact pay damages.

    Please visit current investigations at www.windowdoorlawsuit.com.

    LINK: http://classactionlawsuitsinthenews.com/class-action-lawsuit-settlements/hurd-uis-inert-gas-filled-window-door-class-action-lawsuit-settlement/

    Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door Class Action Lawsuit Settlement

    on September 20, 2011

    If You Own a Home or Property With Hurd Inert Gas-Filled Insulated Glass Windows and/or Doors Manufactured Between [protected], Your Rights May Be Affected By A Class Action Settlement.

    A class action settlement has been reached in a class action lawsuit against Hurd Millwork Company (“Hurd”) and UIS, Inc. (“UIS”) (collectively “Defendants”) pending in the Circuit Court in Milwaukee County Wisconsin (styled Douglas Barden v. Hurd Millwork Company, Inc., et al., Class Action Case No. 04-CV-003264) alleging, among other things, that inert gas-filled insulated windows and doors manufactured by Hurd did not retain the inert gas but suffered loss of inert gas over time, thus, reducing their thermal rating and efficiency, according to the Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door class action settlement notice.

    The Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door settlement class reportedly includes the following persons, unless otherwise excluded:

    All current owners of real property located in the states of Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and the District of Columbia, whose homes, condominiums, apartment or commercial building have inert gas-filled insulated windows or doors manufactured by Hurd Millwork Company, Inc. between January 1, 1994 and December 31, 1998 (“1994 warranty”). Excluded from the Class are all persons who, in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, properly execute and timely deliver a Request for Exclusion and Opt-Out from the Class. Also excluded from the Class are the Defendants, their parents, subsidiaries, predecessors, together with their current and former officers or directors, employees, partners, members, indemnities, agents, attorneys and their successors and assigns. Also excluded are all persons and entities who made a claim in the McKernan v. Hurd Millwork Co. lawsuit, Santa Clara,
    California Superior Court Case No. CV772488.

    The Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door class action settlement reportedly provides for a $1.65 million claim fund. The settlement fund reportedly provides for a prorated distribution, up to a 12 percent return of the purchase price of the inert gas-filled insulated window and door products manufactured by Hurd between January 1, 1994 and December 31, 1998.

    A final approval hearing will be held on December 9, 2011 at the Federal District Courthouse, 517 East Wisconsin Avenue, Room 390, Milwaukee, WI 53202, at 10:30 a.m. (the “Hearing”), before Honorable Federal District Court Judge Lynn Adelman to determine, among other things, whether the proposed Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door Settlement is fair, just, reasonable, adequate and in the best interest of the Class.

    For more information on the Hurd & UIS Inert Gas Filled Window & Door class action settlement, visit the Inert Gas settlement website:

    www.inertgassettlement.com

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Geraets May 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I commented earlier regarding my window issues. I have spoken with my attorney and he has indicated that we are beyond the point at which we are able to sue. I have also spoken with the customer service at Sierra Pacific and this was a total waste of time. I'm tired of American companies making promises then not fulfilling them by going bankrupt and/or changing their names to avoid responsibiltiy. To many legal loopholes...

    0 Votes
  • Jq
    Jq Garrett May 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anyone thinking of a class action lawsuit? I have similar problems

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann# May 07, 2017

    Jim,
    Have you had any luck? Over the last twenty years we have had five windows implode and three windows with moisture between the panes of our Hurd windows in a house built in 1994. We were never notified of any defect in these windows.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Geraets May 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Ann# Hurd still denies any responsibility for their product, however the Hurd we dealt with no longer exists as they were bought out. They really never recovered from their lawsuit. I am told by my attorney that given the time frame there is nothing we can do other that vent on social media sites such as this. I told them(Sierra Pacific) I was going to file a complaint at the BBB and with the attorney general but never did as it appears to be a waste of time.

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Geraets Jan 17, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is email sent to Hurd today:
    In 1993 after researching windows for construction of my home I chose Hurd windows as they claimed to have the highest R value of any window in the industry at the time. I wanted to build a home that was highly energy efficient and I chose Hurd with that in mind from the information that had been provided to me. A number of years ago several of my windows shattered. When this happened the first time I was told the window was under a limited warranty and I would have to partially pay for it's replacement. When the second or third window shattered I was told it would be replaced and Hurd sent a technician to my home who indicated that the all my windows had a significant vacuum due to the neutralization of the argon molecules from sunlight. He then drilled holes into all the windows and sealed the holes. For whatever reason I remembered this today and out of curiosity googled Hurd only to find out that your company was sued for this same reason in a class action law suit several years ago. I am confused as to why I was never contacted regarding this suit. I plan on contacting the legal firm that represented the claimants and will do everything in my power to enlighten consumers as to your deception. I believed in Hurd and wanted to keep my business local, what a disappointment you have brought to me that I will convey to the public with every breath I take...Jim Geraets

    0 Votes
  • No
    Normholmes Aug 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Agree with all the other complaints with Hurd windows, now part of Sierra Pacific. Terrible windows. Windows failed early and company did not stand behind their product at all. On a related note, I recently bought a house that has Sierra Pacific windows in it. Two large ones have failed. And once again, the company gave me the run around and refuse to stand behind the warranty. Do not buy either of these names!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    CBPfromTN Jul 22, 2013

    Horrible company. I have Hurd windows that, when we had our custom home constructed in 2005, we thought were top of the line windows. They are beautiful windows however, some of them are fogging up now, and this started about 2 years ago and Hurd will not do anything about it. They couldn't care less that they have ALL these customers that no longer have that wonderful lifetime warranty that they advertise. They advertise that they've been in business 90 years and have a lifetime warranty and I don't believe they should be able to advertise that they've been making windows for 90 years as if nothing has changed in that 90 years. Their product clearly has issues and I am embarrassed that my windows look like they do. Hurd absolutely has not worries about their former customers, they've left us out in the cold. I just hope anyone who is thinking about putting these windows in will read all the complaints and purchase another brand of window. I wouldn't be nearly so upset if Hurd would just HONOR the warranty that they gave me when I spent BIG MONEY on these windows. My home is beautifully finished with all high end finishes and has been pictured in the local newspaper numerous times as well as the home magazine that comes out periodically. Beautiful home with not so great windows. This should be against the law to reneg on a warranty like they've done. I don't care WHAT their circumstances are. They've been around 90 years yet they act as if they've only been making windows a couple of years. DON'T BUY HURD WINDOWS. You will be sorry if you do.

    0 Votes
  • Well, I'm a victim of Hurd window imploding too! Just this week, my 3rd window has died. I built my home in 1995 and had all Hurd windows installed. Last year (2012) began with my first 2 implosions, and this year one, so far. All have occurred in the winter. I too contacted Hurd with no resolution. The company that replaced my window warned me of that.
    I see that Michigan was not listed as a state which was entered for the class action suit against Hurd. I don't know why not! What a irresponsible company!

    1 Votes
  • Ps
    p--sd off Aug 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am experiencing the same thing. Almost all of my windows have broken seals. I have 22 windows which will probably need the glass replaced. I have quotes on 10 so far & the cost is almost as much as a new window.Mine have been in sonce 1994. When were yours installed? What company did you use and what town are you in?

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    IAmDone Mar 02, 2012

    We just had to replace the glass for 4 Hurd windows which imploded. One of them right by my son's bed. I heard the crack and ran to find glass everywhere. I was told by the glass person that they would eventually all implode. It's called argon depletion and it's because they were not sealed correctly. I decieded just to replace the glass since new windows would cost a fortune and Hurd will not replace them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.