The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Hunt & HenriquesViolation of Fair Debt Collection Practices Act

The Law Firm of Hunt & Henriques continues its unethical practices now in 2 seperate instances while representing Citibank.

In the first instance, I received an unsigned debt collection letter from Hunt & Henriques, as attorney for Citibank. The letter was a computer generated printout with an amount they claimed I owed on a Citibank credit card. Within 30 days I requested Validation of the debt, complete and itemized statements of what they claimed I owed, etc.

Hunt & Henriques failed to respond to my request and subsequently sued me in Court. The Complaint failed to state an account number but simply stated an amount due. What is more disturbing is the fact that on the exact date they claimed I was served, I was in the hospital undergoing surgery for cancer.

Upon learning I was sued, I contacted their offices to ask for a copy of the proof of service and I was abused by a female staff telling me to go to the Court to get a copy.

During the time I was on 6 month medical disability, Hunt & Henriques obtained a default judgment.

Just days ago, I was again sued by Hunt & Henriques on behalf of CitiBank in a seperate case. Again, it is the same scenario whereby they send out an unsigned letter, I respond in accordance with the FDCPA requesting complete statements, validation, etc. Again, they failed respond and simply filed another lawsuit.

I have retained an attorney to file a motion to set aside the default judgment and will counter-sue Hunt & Henriques as well as CitiBank in the first case.

In the second case, the attorney will file an answer and counter claim against Hunt & Henriques and Citibank for violations of the FDCPA, etc.

I am wondering where our California Attorney General is considering all the complaints on various websites respecting Hunt & Henriques unscrupulous legal practice. Isn't it about time that this firm was held accountable for violations of both state and federal law? Shouldn't the California State Bar be looking at some of the legitimate complaints against this law firm?

Robert

Responses

  • De
    debt collector hater May 12, 2012

    http://lemberglaw.com/debt-collection-law-attorney-5.php contact them.

    0 Votes
  • Gb
    g butler Feb 21, 2012

    i am being re-harrassed today after 2 years, i hired an attorney and they went away, and do i need to re-hire him now again?

    0 Votes
  • Gb
    g butler Feb 21, 2012

    i am also being re-harrased after getting a layer 2 yrs ago and not hearing anything, can they re up the case? or do i need to rehire my layer?

    0 Votes
  • In
    Inelia Jun 13, 2011

    Hunt & Henriques is the lowest form of life on this planet. And the courts are all in bed with these ### lawyers (aka "debt collectors").

    Court clerks cater to these ###, e.g. they stamp documents with the court's seal even before the case is over so that the lawyers can start collecting wherever they can find the money! I kid you not!

    The trick is to not let the ### debt collectors use your SSN under any circumstances. Tell them if they are found using it you will report them to the police. Look up the california statutes on identity theft. You first have to file a police report if you suspect someone is using your SSN without your permission, and if they continue to use it without your permission you can sue them under the identity theft statutes, not the debt collector statutes. Identity theft is a crime and that's where you need to stick it to them.

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smilner69 Apr 26, 2011

    http://www.snllp.com/pages/resources/docs/Valdez%20v.%20Hunt%20&%20Henriques%20(2002%20WL%[protected]).pdf

    -1 Votes
  • Sm
    smilner69 Apr 26, 2011

    Yes, I wonder how the original writer's lawsuit is going? I find so many people "sueing" this Hunt Law firm, but no one can claim they actually "won" their case. Some say the 2002 class action lawsuit against the Hunt was won, but in fact, I think the lawsuit was in favor of the Hunt debt collectors. Here's the link and read the judge's final conclusion, unless I was reading it wrong...Summary judgement for the defendants (Hunt etal) is hereby GRANTED. Is there anyone that truly has won their lawsuit against Hunt? I would like to get others involved.

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    WhiteCapsBrew Mar 28, 2011

    Robert, how did this work out for you? A similar thing happened to me with H&H. They sent a collection notice, i promptly requested debt validation (none was received) and about 5 months later they sent some other correspondence and a couple months after filed a lawsuit against me. I have all my paperwork and return receipts in order and will counter sue for thousands. I think there is a possible class-action lawsuit out there for H&H. Let me know how your lawsuit went.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    Winner69 Feb 11, 2011

    @Mica1755 - How do you think Roberts lawyer will get chewed up when H&H is slow to act on debt information in court and has lost every court case agaisnt them, when theres a lawyer present? Both H&H lawyers are weak and the outside attorneys working on some of their cases are almost [censor]ed at best? Chewed up...LOL Seems to me that H&H my have people to post garbage on here! ...cough (Mica)

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.