The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Hunington BankGrace Period

Huntington Bank Grace Period is a JOKE!

I get emails on my phone. Saturday morning I received an email that I over drafted and I had the 24-hour grace period. So I logged on to my Huntington online banking to see how much I was over drafted. I seen I was $22.00 over drafted. So first think Monday morning I put $70 in the bank. Tuesday morning I received another Grace Period Email. I checked my online banking again and noticed I was $40 over drafted. So I put $100 in the bank that day. Wednesday morning I get another Grace Period Email. This time I looked and I had a total of 7 overdraft charges @ $37.50 each. Putting my account over two hundred dollars over drafted. When I would check to see how much was over drafted. I would look in the pending status. Nothing was in pending. These 7 overdraft charge dates showed up on the days that I checked and nothing was there.

So I called Customer Service and asked what was going on and how could I be charges so much… Her comment was that the online banking is not accurate. WHAT? You have to be kidding me. What’s the purpose of having it if its not accurate? I truly believe Huntington Bank hides pending transactions so they can charge the over draft fees. I think this is illegal business and think a class action laws suit should be filed.

Responses

  • Di
    dirtymoneyman Apr 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    At Huntington sometimes gas will only post for a dollar. 2 days later it will post for $30. Why are they trying to fake me out and lying to me? This causes overdraft for me like every month. Just post the full amount when I run the card as credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    sstar00868 Feb 15, 2012

    Lake Michigan Credit Union is the same way with hiding pending charges that you may make in an emergency. Next thing you know they charge you $30 before your account even goes negative sending your whole account into a downward spiral.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    jubrickner Oct 01, 2011

    I had the same problem with Huntington. In all honesty I should have remained opted out of the overdraft privilege on the check card. That is where they get you or me anyway. My electronic deposit used to post Thursday morning every week. After a few weeks the deposit started posted on Friday morning. My employer was doing nothing different on their end. Even though I made a deposit they said my account was still negative from the previous day so that is why I was charged fee after fee on card transactions. Even though the transactions were still pending. I argued this with the branch manager and asked for my account to be reviewed. I never heard back. I bank with PNC now and pending charges are not programmed to create overdraft charges. Like my experiences with Keybank, Huntington, and US Bank they were the worst.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    bradman2010 Jul 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you want to use online banking use PNC they guarantee the information is accurate and with their virtual wallet you don't even get statements you can balance and use their budgeting tools to stay on top of your transactions. I am very happy I switched banks and you will be too. Huntington always uses gimmicks, can't stand them.

    0 Votes
  • De
    dee3000 Jul 07, 2011

    My problem is that their 24 hours is not 24 hours. They said it became overdrawn at 11:30 p.m. on the 5th and I received the alert on the 6th and by the time I made it to the bank and made it on the 6th at 11:00 p.m. they said it was too late. So 24 hours is not 24 hours no matter how you look at it. I do have a check register but a creditor took money from the wrong account which is not the bank's fault but if they advertise 24 hours then they better honor 24 hours not 23 not 16 hours - 24 hours or they should call it "we give you a couple hours overdraft". It's a false claim and it shouldn't be allowed to happen.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxyz Apr 28, 2011

    I agree about the check thing.. but I don't think checks were necessarily the issue here.. anyways.. best bet is to keep a running total.. either in your head or on paper.. but do try to talk to the branch manager.. they can sometimes adjust the overdraft fees, especially since you are trying to bring your account current.. reps on the phone don't have as much authority.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    resin113 Apr 28, 2011

    This came right from Hunington web site.. Are you saying what they advertise is NOT correct?


    Description Huntington Mobile Banking is a secure, convenient and easy way for Huntington customers to access their bank accounts anytime, anywhere, using a cell phone, smart phone or any other mobile device with browser access.
    What You Get •View up-to-the-minute account balances and history on Checking Accounts, Savings Accounts, Lines of Credit and Loans. You can also view balances on your CDs, Vehicle Leases and Mortgage.
    •Transfer funds seamlessly between Huntington accounts.
    •Pay your existing Bill Pay payees with on-time delivery guaranteed.
    •Find the nearest Huntington banking office or ATM on the go.


    They want you to use it and claim its up to the minute... When its not!

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    resin113 Apr 28, 2011

    Mellen67,

    You are correct.. Those are weekend dates... I recieved the email on Saturday morning and went to the bank first thing monday morning and deposited money.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    resin113 Apr 28, 2011

    Whats the purpose a the 24 hour grace period when you account is not accurate? Also... When I made these deposits not one of the women at the bank told me I was still overdrafted... But they can charge me overdraft fees.. Whats wrong with trying to help people instead of knowingly let your customers loose $37.50. If they didnt know at the time... Then why am I being charged for them that day.. and they are dated for that day. Why would anyone bank with a bank that lets a customer dig them selves a hole.. The software is not mine its huningtons.. The employees at the bank are not mine they are huningtons. I use there software and talk to there employees and they still let me fail..

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    resin113 Apr 28, 2011

    Hunington does deduct pending transactions... The issue is... When I check the online banking on the 23rd, 24th and the 25th when I put the money in the bank it should have covered everything... But in the 27 it had three late fee charges for the 22nd marked.. Where were these late fees on the 23rd, 24th or the 25th? It makes no since.. How can they charge you for fees that are not showing up on the online banking statement.. To further more my frustration is.. If you would deduct all the late fees.. My account is in the positive over 100 dollars..

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxyz Apr 28, 2011

    Branch managers often have the ability to remove some of the overdraft charges FYI

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxyz Apr 28, 2011

    Lots of people don't keep check registers anymore.. when you look at your account balance via online banking, it's NOT always accurate... and it should be. Usually, banks will deduct pending transactions from the balance.. thus, giving an accurate amount... if Huntington is not doing this, they should be..time to update the software. The multiple overdraft fees probably occurred because banks often pay the highest, not the most recent, withdrawal on the account, causing more overdrafts to occur.. a practice which IS shady and HAS been the target of several class action lawsuits.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barb Oct 20, 2010

    My mother is 89 years of age and has had problems with her memory lately. She has been a victim of political scams lately and has given all her monies to many different political organizations. The worst part is that the bank she has retired from has charged her over $1100.00 worht of OVER DRAFT FEES. THEY WILL NOT GIVE HER ONE CENT BACK. I can not imagine anything so cruel. We had to send her monies to live on until her next social security check comes in.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.