Home Advisor/Angie's List (Angi)Customer Service & "professional" booked

S Mar 26, 2021
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

On 3/18/21 I searched for above ground pool repair. I saw Angi and from past commercials I had seen I thought this was a reputable organization that only worked with contractors that had good reviews from customers. I booked a contractor to come on 3/26/21 to remove and replace the liner in my pool. I received a confirmation email with my booking ID #15179942 for 8:00 Am on 3/26/21. My project details showed it would be a 6 hour job and I was given a flat rate for the job. I was having trouble so I emailed the customer support on 3/19/21 and received an automated response that I would receive a response within 60 minutes. I did not receive that response until the next day. 2 back and forth emails and they could not answer my questions or resolve my issue so on 3/23/21 I called customer service (855) 975-7133. After a brief conversation with a representative who couldn't comprehend what I was saying I was transferred to (877) 800-3177 to speak with another rep with the same result. This happened another 3 times. After that I was transferred one more time, this time I was 'escalated'. Mark in this department (855) 902-0606 told me to install a new app on my phone (Handy) and the problems would be fixed and I should call him back with ticket #6327482 after the app finished installing. I did call back to inform him that this did not work and got Angie who simply seemed annoyed that she had to speak with me. She told me that I needed to call (877) 800-3177 (again) and she could not transfer me. I did and spoke to Stacy who seemed to be genuinely trying to help but just put me on hold for about 10 minutes and transferred me back into their labyrinth of needless frustration and I hung up. On 3/25/21 I saw the fake phone number that connected me to their "professional" so I texted confirming my booking for 3/26/21 at 8am. I spoke to Fernando C. who told me that the company had randomly rescheduled my appointment for the next week, which was not the case on my account. I asked him if he could still make that time, he said that would not be a problem I'd just have to go through him instead of the company. I received a text from Angi at 7:56 AM on 3/26/21 (the day of the job) that the pro called off at the last minute and I was rescheduled for the following Tuesday 3/30/21
On 3/26/21 at 8:00 AM he had not shown. He called at 8:10 saying he was finishing up with an early customer and he was on his way. I texted him at 9:15 to get his ETA to which he responded that he was just passing a town that was still 90 minutes away. He called rambling about how the company charges him and he works for them and that my job is a 2 day job. Told me he would arrive at 11:30. At 11:39 I receive a text from him saying he is 18 minutes away. At 12:39 he still had not arrived so I texted him to say he should not bother coming as I will not hire someone so unreliable. He still showed up at my door to tell me that if I didn't let him do the job then I will never find someone who would do the job for less than 3 times what I was quoted while also increasing the amount I would have to pay and telling me he was only there today to take pictures.

Responses

  • To
    Tony Rossi jr Sep 29, 2021

    I signed up for a deep cleaning of my home. When I called to confirm, I was told it didn't include the kitchen, den or living room...are you serious? When I asked what it did include, the man told me only
    3 bedrooms and two baths. The booking was for five hours so I again asked what it included. The foreign speaking man told me they only vacuum and dust the rooms and that it would cost another $48 dollars to clean the kitchen and he was going to tell me the other charges when I told him to cancel the cleaning.
    Don't use Angi's List! It's a joke!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.