gypsy bugpyramid scheme

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

They say they will pay you $20 a mth for advertising their company on the back of your car window. However you pay for the sticker, then if you dont get 3 people to pay for this in the first month, they will deduct $20 from you. The people on the phone all told conflicting stories of contract. Then the last straw came from the owner (Nick) who was trying to push a new deal on the account.

Responses

  • Wo
    working smart Aug 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will keep making a good income...but then again...I need the money and work for it! Don't you just hate people that want something for nothing? They are the first to complain!

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    working smart Aug 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After 7 years and thousands of people making a good income with GypsyBug.com...it looks like there will always be some people that sign up for things that they have no clue what they are doing. Everyone...100% of everyone can make a minimum income each and every month by spending just 5 min per week putting in just 4 ads. That's it! But if you do nothing...what do you want to get paid for? Doing nothing?
    Lol! Try doing nothing when you show up to work tomorrow...see if you get paid.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    califemme Jun 11, 2010

    I was totally scammed by this company, I spoke with Nick several times over the phone and he apologized profusely and told me I would be refunded and my account canceled. Funny how every month for 3 months I was repeatedly charged, and after putting the charges in dispute everytime and getting nowhere with the company I changed my card number. The very day they would have charged me again I received a correspondence saying my account was in jeopardy of being canceled. Well yeah, that was the point idiots! All I know is I agree that they were using people for advertising and not compensating at all.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shoxmar2003 Mar 18, 2010

    WOW... well i just joined a few days ago...and they better not try and mess with my credit card or bank account!
    and they said that once u get 3 people to join, then you don't have to do anything because those people would be doing your job and so on...
    i will try this and see what happens! I will know from experience if this site is truly a money making system or just another one of those scams! Also about Nick, yes he does sound very nice and wants to try and help every way he can which obviously is the thing to do if you are the owner! I question myself though and say why would anyone ruin their reputation for money? and get a bad name for him/her self in the eyes of the public people. I mean that's a shame! I can guarantee you that if anyone try's to scam someone else, he will never ever get away with it! doesn't matter how long it takes because he will pay his dues and pay them twice as much!...Good luck to everyone and best of luck to Gypsybug and Nick. I hope that this is a legit site and does not get into anyone's personal accounts, credit cards, , etc. because if they do then they will only hurt them selves. Trust Me! there is no way that id let this go if someone were to put me through all of this for nothing! i couldn't accept that for myself which is why i would go after it and to the bottom root to see what really takes place or is taking place!
    -
    Thanks all

    Harman

    0 Votes
  • Wc
    wci2003chef Jan 31, 2010

    any new news on this guy?

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    ya2 May 28, 2009

    gypsy bug is a scam guys dont buy their system they scam me out of hard work and i had to cancel and try get my money back that nick guy who claims he is ceo is a ###ing lairing ### man he talks nice make it sound good and first then when u buy the system and start to make money he change all together.

    1 Votes
  • Yi
    yinxaokim Apr 03, 2009

    My experience was exactly the same as the original complaint. Ads on craigslist said you can make money by advertising the site with a window sticker, but then you have to pay for the sticker and get 3 other people to also sign up. They didn't tell you that up-front and then got very conflicting stories between the ad, my contact, and what the owner supposedly said. One site said I could make the sticker myself or paint the letters on my car myself, and wouldn't have to pay for it. But then I was told even if I did that, I'd still have to pay 20$ to buy an ad and get 3 more people signed up.

    The first comment said it was difficult to handle the "something for nothing" mentality of people that gave the business a bad name like that. Well, after a lot of hassle I ended up realizing that no matter what, I'd have to pay for the privilege of advertising for them. I think they were the ones trying to get something (my money and free advertising) for nothing.

    I have no idea what the site is up to now, and thanks to that scammy experience, I couldn't care less. You won't see me visiting it or using it. Reports that it's changed are like hanging a "under new management" sign on the worst restaurant you've ever been to. It's not enough to lure me back in.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    karrie Mar 13, 2009

    I hope with all my heart that Gypsybug.com is as wonderful as Nick has made it sound, and am willing to take a chance with something that sounds great...not for getting rich but, posting information that I think is important. How much fun is that? Just adding your ideas, family dinners, whatever makes you happy..why not? Including your friends and family dosen't sound like a pyramid scheme to me it sounds fun...let's hope for the best

    -1 Votes
  • Sm
    SmW Feb 20, 2009

    I have been with Gypsybug over a year, and while I am not getting rich (my own fault), I am earning extra spending money. I have been to the corporate office, met Nick, and found that he will bend over backwards to help and encourage anyone who needs it.
    The concept of a family-safe internet classified ad site is really needed. I would like to see GB excel above any of the other classified sites - especially the main one that so many use.

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    emjokedz Feb 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm with Ray. Gypsybug is a legitimate company with decent income prospects. The window-sticker program is no longer in use by the company because it was abused by many people who tried to use it in ways other than it's original intended purpose.

    I'd also like to add, that before people label things as a "pyramid scheme" they might want to look it up as defined by the FTC:

    http://www.ftc.gov/speeches/other/dvimf16.shtm

    Pyramid schemes are when you pay someone, who pays the person above them, who pays the person above them, etc. This is MOST DEFINITELY not the case with Gypsybug.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    ray Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Also, Gypsybug.com is the furthest thing from a pyramid scheme!

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    ray Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In the last few years Gypsybug have tried different marketing techniques to get our site out there, to find out how limited our resources are. They had some members try-putting ads on Craigslist promoting something which Gypsybug is not. That was a tremendous mistake and hurt our site. The mentality of that marketing, by some people trying to have something for nothing, has been hard to make right. We do apologize to those that were misled by ads on Craigslist that were not placed by our office. Wouldn't we all like a free lunch? At this time we are still trying to recover from this experience. We want to get back to our original concept of family, neighbors, friends, and communities supporting a site that is suppose to bring people together.

    BTW, now you can own a GypsyBug.com franchise and become an advertising business. You will become a fully operational advertising business promoting family values on the internet. This program includes all flyers, letters, forms, web site and phone support.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.