The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Grupo Nacional ProvencialWill not pay on insurance claim

P Review updated:

We purchased a Mexican automobile insurance policy from GNP through So Ca Auto Club. When returning from vacation we were rear ended in a hit and run accident.

All procedures and instructions from the insurance company were followed. We opted to return to the United States and have the car repaired here and were assured that this would be no problem.

Almost 2 months later we still have no resolution and no vehicle to drive. The vehicle is operable however not drivable as the back bumper with license plate fell off and all rear lights no longer work. The estimates that we received from body shops state that the car is totalled.

I have called and e-mailed the company several times. I speak to one person then the following week I am told I have to speak to another person and then again the same thing. I am told they have to wait to receive the file from the office where the accident was reported, then I have to speak with the estimator who is currently unavailable...you get the picture. One stall tactic after another.

I have appealed to the Auto Club to no avail. The Department of Insurance cannot help...not their jurisdiction. I have submitted a complaint to the Attorney General's office and awaiting a reply.

My advice to everyone is to never purchase any kind of insurance policy from this company, Grupo Nacional Provencial. If you should ever have a claim you will receive nothing but the run-around.

Responses

  • Di
    diablitomiguel1443 Oct 28, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my car was in a bad wreck in mexico almsot 3 weeks ago. GNP gave us an adjuster that gave us a claim number and has been absolutely useless and gave us the run around for a couple weeks until our car was stolen from the gated storage area, where we were told to keep it. Interestingly, they told us to give them the location of the vehicle and that night it was stolen...??
    Now GNP is stating they are not responsible because we did not take it to America and get two quotes as they originally asked, not knowing the care was totalled or close to it. After finding out the car was immobile (how did they not know!), they told us to sit tight and they were taking care of the towing of the vehicle. Even though we have in writing our daily emails to do something and to please communicate with us about what they are doing... including an email that clearly states, "per your instructions (GNP's), here is the location of the vehicle for you to coordinate towing"...etc etc. After that email they went quiet again for another 5 days until I found out the vehicle was stolen (the same night I told the adjuster where the car was located...hmmm).
    GNP has said we did not follow instructions per their first email (take car to separate mechanics in America and send them the quotes), which was literally impossible since the car is totalled and nowhere near any condition to be driven.

    They are crooked as they come and will not pay for the stolen vehicle either, because our policy ran out while they did nothing but let my car sit in mexico until it was stolen (their policy clearly states they are responsible for towing to a mechanic if undrivable).

    If it was not stolen I have no reason to believe they would have done anything...they only called us when we let them know the vehicle was stolen. We were disconnected and you cannot reach anyone at any of their phone numbers. It either continues to ring or voice mails are full.

    If this was America, it would be a slam dunk. We have so much written proof against them, but in Mexico I doubt we have a chance...and my $40K Tahoe is GONE. It was $70K new and 3.5 yrs old with low miles, perfect condition.

    GNP will likely pay your claims but if they see an opportunity to not pay you, they will screw you.

    0 Votes
  • Vm
    vmrod Oct 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone been able to get through to GNP? I've been advised to go through condusef.

    Any advice would help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    diablitomiguel1443 Oct 28, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @vmrod did you get anywhere? If so, let me know. I will gladly give my email to anyone who has any suggestions regarding claims with GNP.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rodeh May 07, 2018

    Do not buy this insurance. We are being waiting for over a month the check for our claim and nothing. It is a fraud.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charles Bill Joseph Nov 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GNP is a terrible company. After we were rear ended by a bus in Veracruz GNP sent a non English speaking adjustet who estimated our damages at $24, 000 pesos which is roughly $1400 US and made us sign 2 documents that were written entirely in Spanish. When we refused they stated that there was zero chance the claim would ever be approved if we didn't sign, so we reluctantly signed. If we chose to get the car fixed in Mexico it would have taken 6-8 weeks so we returned immediately to the US. We sent the requested 3 estimates ranging from $[protected] to our GNP agent 2 weeks ago and they still have not approved any of them. So I'm driving around with no tail lights. I have little hope of a positive outcome in this situation. If you choose to drive your vehicle in Mexico, be advised that "full" coverage isn't worth the paper it's printed on. Inreally wish we had flown to Cancun and rented a car. This has been a very costly and time consuming mistake.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Totally Frustrated Jun 18, 2009

    I feel your pain. My husband & I were t boned in Ajijic/Jocotopec Jalisco State Mexico on Feb 6/09
    We reported the accident within six hours as thankfully we had only minor injuries. The next day an adjustor from GNP was sent out to see us and estimate the damage. For one he had more concern for the young Mexican boy that hit us keeping in mind this young man had no licence, insurance and also no registration and three weeks later still couldn't produce it. We were told by the insurance company and the so called traffic police that we were in the wrong and had to accept responsibility for the accident as well as the repairs on his vehicle.
    Keeping in mind that none of the above spoke english and we no spanish. We refused to sign anything and they then informed us if we didn't sign it would be tied up in the legal systym for up to six months.
    We paid an interpeter.
    Our vehicle was a total writeoff, this was confirmed by the GNP adjustor.However he couldn't make the final decision and it had to go through their systym and we like you were passed to no less than 25 people . GNP has done absolutely nothing for us and will not return my calls nor emails.We in good faith purchased insurance from them and they in turn are trying to get away with not paying.
    This is the most unreliable company I have ever dealt with and I strongly recommend that if you are travelling to Mexico to leave your vehicle at home or be prepared for the consequences. The traffic police could care less about us and I'm sure they didn't even file the incident. We hired a lawyer and even that didn't help us we just incurred more expense.
    I am working with the media to get this out to the public as they need to be aware of what can happen to you. As well I am consulting with the a lawyer here at home. Although this company is Mexican it is operating out of the U.S. and still needs to be held accountable.Don't stop your fight. And Tourists as sad as I am to say it Mexico is not a safe place to bring your vehicle and after this experience I have no desire to ever go back there and that's sad because we really liked it there and had planned to spend all our winters there in the future. We have several friends that left and said they would not return either when they saw what happened to us .Some even left early as they were afraid to drive there.
    Bottom line is DO NOT INSURE THROUGH GNP GRUPO NACIONAL PROVINCIAL
    Also cancelling your temporary permit is a nightmare as GNP helps you with nothing
    It is now four months and almost two weeks

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.