Glassescrafter.comScam

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

The company sells glasses via the internet with addresses in the UK. It purports to have been in business for 35 years and have a 24/7 help line. I ordered and paid for designer glasses. Two weeks later I checked to see where my order was. I was advised that the frames were unavlable. I was asked to chose other frames. Again I had no contact and when I chased via E mail was advised that they did not have those frames either. Eventually I was offered two pairs for the inconvenience and delay. The second pair arrived but were not the glasses I asked for with reaction lenses. The 24/7 customer line is not 24/7. It takes 3 -4 days to get a response to E mails. The address in the UK I learn is not their UK address. I have been waiting for the glasses with the lenses I ordered without success for 5 weeks. I have been offered the pair I ordered for an additional cost. I have since checked and found numerous reports of poor service and scam activity on other forums. This company is a scam company. In addition the glasses I received are of such poor workmanship that they must be fakes.

Responses

  • Ch
    Chris8910 Jun 17, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I really cannot see how anyone could give this company money now, I have had two pairs off of them in the past but I cannot even get a response to an email and there is no phone number given, the address in Iffley Road Oxford is just a large house and the address in America does not show an opticians anywhere. I have tried several times to get them to answer me but even the email addresses are rejected now. It is a real shame because they do have a good range of frames, I now use Zennioptical, they do the same as Glassescrafter but they will reply to a question.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burcu Nov 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered 2 months ago, first they said the frame I choosed was sold out, so I choosed another, but I am still waiting, they dont answer My emails, they dont send My glasses, I think they are a bubble company.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George Waillems Nov 27, 2011

    I ordered a pair of glasses from them, I've ordered in the past and the glasses arrived within two weeks. This time I've been waiting for 5 weeks, no once they've replied to my email. However, when I send another email under a different name pretending to be interested in a pair of glasses, I got a reply within 5 hours telling me that their website had a problem but I could make a payment via google wallet.
    Probably they're having some cash flow issues and they're unable to despatch any orders but they're still taking money from customers.
    I live in the UK and I know that the address on the website in Oxfordshire is not accurate.
    DON'T BUY FROM THEM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sugar mouse Oct 17, 2011

    Having previously bought three pairs of glasses from this company in 2008, I had no reservations about using them again.
    I recently got a new prescription and Glasses Crafter website was my first option. I placed an order, paid through Google and waited. The postal service was slower than before but the glasses did eventually arrive.
    When I unpacked, the first problem was that the chosen frames had been substituted. The second was that the lenses were not the high index as ordered. The standard of workmanship was also less than perfect, but passable for the price paid.
    The frames I selected had now disappeared from the website, presumably out of stock, but no attempt had been made to inform me or allow me to make an alternative choice. I have tried several times to have an 'online chat' with customer service but always receive a message that no-one is available. All e-mails have gone unanswered and I have allowed ten days grace.
    On the plus side, the prescription does seem to be accurate and the glasses do fit but overall it has not been a positive experience this time. Glasses Crafter has shown itself to provide a rather poor service and the customer relations are non existent.
    Reading others tales of woe makes me think that perhaps this company is best at providing cheap glasses for a straightforward prescription and order. The online order form and charging system is unable to process more complex requirements such as charging for high index lenses in cheaper frames which would otherwise be free.
    Sadly I will not be using Glasses Crafter again and will cease to recommend them to friends.

    0 Votes
  • FrostD Aug 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    search them through google to see other reviews, that maybe much more reliable

    0 Votes
  • St
    stef09 Aug 01, 2011

    this also happened to me i dont know what to do its very fustrating to have ordered something and not know about its where abouts. i am very angry and i am going to go to whatever length to get my money back. most of what they state on the website is fake they do not have 24/7 help line i am so dissapointed. ive sent them so many e-mails and no response im looking to go to the bank and have them deal with this issue to try to get my money back. hopefully i can get this issue fixed.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lupo Apr 07, 2011

    I too have ordered glasses from glassescrafter, and after waiting and then chasing my order, i was told they had lost my order, so i re-sent it, after many e-mails no reply, i contacted google, who intervened on my behalf, since then nothing, so i did a little research, the company may have addresses in England and america, but the Americans say they are not listed.i still have not heard from them, and have now asked google for a refund, as far as i can find out, it is a chinese company operating out of shanghai, i have even written to the chinese embassy in london, to ask for help, supprise no reply, but i will not give up.

    0 Votes
  • Camplaints Mar 30, 2011

    Yikes! I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Glasscrafters. I hope you have some resolve in the matter soon. Thanks for posting your complaint. Another good resource for complaints is Camplaints.com. It's where your complaints are heard and seen.


    Goodluck,
    Michael

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.