Fryes-boots.comI'm not sure if this site is legit

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I'm not sure if this site is legit. I tryed to order a pair of Frye boots yesterday (a Saturday). As I went through the process, the site stated Discover card was an acceptable payment option. When the screen to enter my card info came up, It wouldn't accept it. I went back a page to recheck what I'd read & see if I missed an option I should have chosen, but the order showed completed & "Preparing 95epayment" status. As I'd had to set up a login to purchase, I logged out & back in. It shows my order as processing & gives no way to edit or finish. The Shipping/Returns section is from thefryecompany website & states there is a free shipping option, but this was not offered when I was checking out. The phone number listed is for the Frye Company, which does not appear to be affiliated with this site. I'm highly suspicious. Have to wait until Monday to contact the Frye Company. Beware.

Responses

  • An
    Annoyed in Oregon Dec 31, 2012

    Unfortunately, I think I might just have fallen into the same trap. What were you able to figure out? Did you ever get the boots you ordered? I went ahead and cancelled the card that I had used to make the purchase, but as I just placed the order yesterday, I have no way of knowing yet if it was a scam.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    crisaphi Jan 03, 2013

    I did as well. Was billed for $10 over what my cost was. Have contacted hte company numerous times with no response. Still no boots. SCAM!!! Avoid at all costs!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mg
    m. gottii Jan 11, 2013

    This site is a scam. I'm hoping to get my money back through the bank, but otherwise I've learned that if it appears to good to be true it probably is. I called the number on the site and I got ahold of someone at the actual Frye Company. They told me "Frye boots never go on sale, and I should call my bank. Frye is aware of the fraudulent site. I hope their doing something about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CharSpruce Jun 22, 2013

    These people will threaten to put your information all over the internet. They make it sound like they can really hurt you with their 'software'. 'If you dispute, we must also take action', they say. I say "for what, paying you and receiving nothing?" They even threaten that someone might come to your house. They are evil thieves! If it says 40% off Frye, it's the same people in China. Giving all China a really bad name!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jimbo2013 Aug 12, 2013

    Yep. Got the same problem. Threaten to put my Personal info and Credit card details on "1500 blogs" such as twitter etc. Ordered the item nearly a month ago.
    They say it is detained by customs, and could take 6 months to investigate.
    Also threatened to to maybe someone would come to my house.
    You live and learn. No fool like an old fool.
    jimbo

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nourhaw Sep 09, 2013

    I ordered shoes from frye website. No response as to when my order will be shipped and I sent them many follow up emails however they just responded once stating that my order wasn't placed and that my name can't be found on their system once I sent them proof of my receipt ey never responded back

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sally Boston Strong Jan 17, 2014

    I have just been scammed by discountfryeboots.us. The site is set up with all the frye logos and pictures, and is not suspicious. It is only after purchase that they say they are sending you a Chinese knot with your purchase, and the language becomes very faulty. They then charge your card more than the purchase price, and a foreign transaction fee is charged. Within minutes, I contacted my credit card company, and they are now disputing the charges. It is actually a company in china, called www.qidongcostume. I emailed them with instructions to cancel the order, and voiced my absolute disgust with this dishonest, disgraceful, and disturbing so-called company. I then ordered my REAL frye boots from Nordstrom, free shipping and they are on sale right now. BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annoyed2bscammed Jan 19, 2014

    I've been scammed as well with same threatening email. Contacting credit card company ASAP.

    0 Votes
  • Ox
    oxomne7 Feb 10, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Crap- I placed an order on the fake frye site and the email did not look right.. After researching tonight I realized it is a scam. Credit Card company can't do anything right now because it is in a pending state. Did anyone here ever get their money back? Any advice to me or to give to credit card company? UGH.. The damn site even had links to the real Frye web site.. Can't believe Frye has not done anything on this as of yet.. :)

    0 Votes
  • So
    Sonja Kuhar Mar 26, 2014

    Have the same experience few mounts ago. The same threats, same emails etc. Never got any boots. Reacted very quick next day after the order, report to the crime police, bank, Visa center...it takes a month to got my money back.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem