The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Fidelity Readers ServiceFidelity Reader Service is a rip-off!

Fidelity Readers Service - www.frsnaples.com

I was visiting a friend when this young man and his companion knocked on the door. He said that he was with a company who help young people like him be productive in life. He claims that he was selling subscriptions for this company so he could go to film school. I was skeptical because I don't like giving out my personal information but he kept referring to my neighbor next door who wrote a check to him for magazine subscriptions. He told me that this company is a member of the Better Business Bureau and I could check out the company's website to authenticate his story. I guess he was in competition with another person because he indicated that he was trying to get more subscriptions. Against my better judgment I went ahead and signed up for one magazine subscription for $60 dollars. He told me that I could cancel within three days and that I could fax my receipts to cancel the issues. The next day I faxed my information to them. After a couple of days the money was taken from my debit card. When I called about it they told me that I was to mail my receipts in order to cancel my subscription. It has been a month and I still haven't received any magazines. I would like my money back because Fidelity Reader Service is a rip-off.

Responses

  • Ga
    Gabriell Sep 21, 2011

    Samething happen to me, they called went through the whole survey. They offered me a gift card and several magazine as a (thank you) for my time. I was then told her supervisor was going to call to verify all my information and to see how she did in her training. Well as soon as I got of the phone I google it and found the information above and 1, 000 of complaints from people that had got scamed!!! Few minutes later the supervisor called and asked for my Bank information on the card. I told them I wanted to cancel the order, quickly she asked why. That they needed a reason to write down in the profile why the order was canceled. I told them because your company is a big SCAM!!! That say one thing and charge another. She quickly said where did you get that from!!! Lady its called the internet!!! She tried to convince that it was all lies. I Just told her ummm 1, 000 of those people and more are lying!!! CANCEL IT now!!! She finally said that I was clear of the system and that i would receive 3 free magazines for my time for FREE, Repeated my address!!! I told her to delete everything of her computer that had todo with me!!! Do not fall for this BS Cancel before they get any Information of your bank account!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    CScerbo May 03, 2011

    This company is a SCAM!!! I was nice enough to participate in their survey after which they offered me suibscriptions to magazines. They are very deceptive in the way they describe their payment plan and have horrible customer service. I have requested (before receiving a single magazine) to cancel my subscritions. They told me that I cannot and when I told them I will no longer be paying their company they threatened me with legal collection. I have notified the BBB (and I encourage you to do the same) and will continue to post this information across the internet. DO NOT GIVE THIS "COMAPNY" YOUR MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhall81 Sep 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just so others are aware, it also seems that this same company is passing themselves off as Editor and Chief Review.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    cj from texas Nov 30, 2009

    THank you for this information. I just got a call from GSR. These reports where very helpful!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    CrystalSnowRavyn Apr 03, 2009

    I believe they have no changed their name to Garden State Readers Service, Inc. because I have been charged 3 times and nothing ever comes I get the run around when calling the 800 number given and its the same one on the website but there is no address for them. They claim they called me on 4 or 5 different occasions and that I gave them my credit card number. The only time I have talked to them is when I have called to get the charges removed.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Josh Apr 02, 2009

    I got a Magazine, but not the one I ordered. When I talked to them, they asked for the receipt number. I gave it to them and they asked me to repeat all the information on the receipt. They said the Magazine I ordered matched the magazine they sent out. They said I should have checked the information before the sales person left. I guess I am neutral because I received a magazine, but not the magazine I ordered.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krissy Mar 03, 2009

    I got completely scammed by this incredible sales person named Andy Hite who was representing FRS... The smooth talker told me that he was raising money for his film school and he had to sell magazines to do this - it was raining outside so I felt obligated to let him inside my home - HUGE MISTAKE. This guy could really sell. I ended up signing up for a 36 month Maxim subscription for $80.00 when I looked on line I could have gotten that same subscription for less than $30.00. My check was cashed on 11-2-08 and here it is 3-3-09 and still no magazine. I am so angry and frustrated that our government entities allow corrupt companies like this to stay in business especially during tough times like these. I have called FRS on 4 occasions and faxed a letter to them over a month ago demanding to know the status of my over charged subscrption - no response from those jerks yet. I guess I need to start filing the paperwork to report the unlawful and completely frustrating service this company has provided to me.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich Warner Feb 22, 2009

    Wow. I was able to cancel my check. Put a stop payment, after going on line and seeing all the complaints. What a scam. I was also contacted by the collection agency and I contacted the BBB. They tried to contact the company involved and I have not heard anything back. I consider the case closed and have learned a lesson.

    0 Votes
  • An
    A N D Jan 29, 2009

    I was hit by the fore-mentioned Brian Brown about a month ago and got a very similar boo hoo me story. Bought 3 subscriptions and paid with 2 different checks and a credit card ... it helped him get his points faster. He even had us pull up FRS's web site, but we were not smart enough to yahoo or google the company. Stupid us. He conned us into getting magazines we really didnt even want after telling us the magazines we would have been interested in are no longer putting out issues do to the economy ... false statements. They sure teach 'em how to scam during training. After reconsidering, knowing the mags wouldnt come for a bit longer, I called the company who told me about the 3 day cancellation. I didnt know about it, Brian had not mentioned it, and lets be honest here, who really looks at the receipt ... again, my mistake that will NEVER happen again. (Then again, I'm not buying ANYTHING from ANYONE at the door, and they will be rudely asked to leave and cops will be called at their first refusal). FRS continued to hang up on me until I got a "manager" Matt Batson who gave me the same 3 day story and backed it up saying it is a "Federal Law" then told me I would continue to be hung up on, that they were no longer dealing with me over the phone b/c I had called "too much" and I should write a letter. I asked for his superior and he said he was IT ... that the only ppl above him where the 200 shareholders of the company, not to mention that a copies of the letter I send would be forwarded to all 200 shareholders who would deecide what to do and Federal Law blah blah.. yeah, right! Did I mention I got hung up on again! I made a local police report and contacted the magazine companies. One didnt have my info, second had my info but could not do anything about the situation, the third offered to make an attempt to refund their cost of the subscription ($19.94 when I paid $63). At least that last one seems to care, tho who knows if I will get the $. Called the FL General Attorney who stated they were unaware of any Federal 3 day Law and referred me to FL Div of Consumer Services who also was unaware of any Federal Law. I have filed a complaint with the FL Div of Consumer Services who takes these cases and tries to mediate to solve the dispute ... I'm sure pushing to get the money back. And I will continue to make complaints to anyone who will take a complaint ... and continue to push to get the money back. I might even call FRS a few more times from different numbers ... maybe the more we call the more they will get fed up with it. One can only hope. My bank stated that the checks had cleared and there was nothing that could be done even with the police report, however I am disputing charges on my credit card ... they are not holding me responsible ... I guess every little bit helps. Oh by the way, in the midst of all the phone calls to FRS and telling them about the one mag who wanted to help, they told me that I broke their contract by contacting the mags myself and they could pursue legally against me for the contract break ... what a company!!

    0 Votes
  • Ak
    AKB Jan 28, 2009

    I recently recieved a letter from CPR FINANCIAL SERVICES, LLC. I asume they are a collections office. Fortunatley or not, I am yet to find out...I put a stop payment to the 75 USD check I had given the salesman. I have been trying to contact this office at the telephone number they provide in the letter, and nobody answers. I want to explain the reason why I signed the check IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!
    I was in my home, with my two young children and the doorbell rang. The African-American salesman asked me to let him in to cool down with the AC because he had been walking for hours.
    Same story...points for Education...etc.
    I felt intimidated, and not in a racist context. I was home alone with two kids and a very pushy man made his way into my living room!!!
    I will not send any money to a company that does not even answer the phone! And on top of everything...I NEVER RECIEVED ONE SINGLE ISSUE of the subsription!!! I dont know what to do...Please help me, can these people sue me???

    0 Votes
  • C
    C Oct 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We had a young man come to our home yesterday (Friday). It was raining and my husband was home, so he answered the door. Now this kid claimed he was in college and needed to sell magazines to pay for a trip to Italy--he was majoring in public speaking and this was his 'test" and as a perk if he sold enough he would get a trip to Italy. Well this kid named Zach S. "bonded" with my husband. He acted very interested in my husbands line of work (USN). Zach when on to describe (vaguely) my neighbors, their homes and what they bought...yeah right. After a 30 minute conversation my husband on the front stoop my husband invited Zach into our home, where my husband announced he needed the checkbook. Meanwhile Zach starting looking around wanting to see artwork and etc...my husband and Zach apparently talked about MANY things. Zach also told my husband to expect a call from Zach's college professor, rating Zach on his expertise, politeness and knowledge. (Great, the kid has out phone number!)
    Thats when I proceeded to ask Zach if his company was a fake/fraud and if I did give him a check would we ever get our magazines? Zach dutifully asked me to open up a window on my PC and type in Fidelity Readers Service, which I did. Up came his website and Zach assumed that was all I needed to see, and again my husband asked for the check book to write a check for $50.00 for a 24 month subscription to Yachting. I don't think so. I took it one step further and googled Fidelity Readers Service and up popped this page with a long list of complaints, all with the same song and dance Zach was preaching to us. Zach suddenly got very defensive and accused me of working for a company that had negatives as well. (Not pages of them life Fidelity Readers Service, thats for sure!)

    Err of safety's side, and DO NOT trust scammers like this. Call the police, check that they have a permit to sell. Put up a NO SOLICITING sign and they can be issued a citation if they ring your bell when that sign is in clear view. Consider ordering magazines OFFLINE---don't give checks to strangers knocking on your door. Another scam is they use a solution to remove the ink from your check, not to say FRS does this but it is another concern to think about.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tom glasser Sep 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had virtually the identical experience with this company. I ordered Newsweek only. They sent Family Life. I complained, wrote a letter with copy of receipt per their instructions. They then sent Golf Week. I called again, complained. "Norma" hung-up on me.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dawn Aug 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ordered mags from door to door salesman. got a letter 1 month later saying the magazine i ordered was no longer available. i called them (mind you had to find my original paperwork) the letter they sent has no phone number on it. got a hold of them, told them wanted my money back. they said i would have to jump through all these hoops and get them copies of my check blah blah blah. or i could pick another magazine. i did. to this day almost 3 months later still no magazines.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    superstar0333 Aug 15, 2008

    Wow... I think they train these guys to all say the same thing to people.
    But after I turned the tables and stated that I would purchase the mag's after I contacted the company direct the guy got really mad. At first he was all sweet with his sad stories and Godly ways, then the Devil must have took over in a mater of minutes because his head spinned when I would not give him my credit card or check. I think there should be a LAW against these people.
    I am making sure all my doors are tight & double locked tonight before I go to sleep!

    0 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan Aug 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have fun into this company too, and I was told that they were a non-profit company. I decided to do something charitable, and buy a magazine...

    My wife (who works with non-profit organizations) realized it was a scam, and requested that our check be destroyed, as per the policies on their receipt, and their website http://www.frsnaples.com/. We sent a copy of the receipt the next morning.

    Surprise! They cashed our check anyway. Once it's cashed, they have your money. Your bank usually can't help you. We would have been better off to cancel the check outright, but we wanted to try to do this amicably.

    After trying to contact their customer service, and being lied to, and hung up on several times...we realized this was futile.

    So... I'm fling complaints with:

    my state's Attorney General...

    Florida's Attorney general (as per the address on the receipt):
    3737 Domestic Ave Suite #3
    Naples FL 34104

    Texas' Attorney General, as their site claims to be a " a Texas corporation, was formed in 1997"

    and the Federal Trade commission.
    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/index.shtml

    Here's the site to help you find your AG, and file complaints with them:

    http://www.naag.org/
    Start filing complaints. You may not get your money back... but hopefully we can make it too hard for them to do business.

    It's also scary that most of the Google search results are complaints, or reports of CRIMES like RAPE:
    http://www.concordmonitor.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20050415/REPOSITORY/504150324/1003/BUSINESS

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juls Jul 13, 2008

    Well i was at work one evening when this guy came along selling these magizines. He was flirting and talking to me and i fell right into his trap. I bought two magizines 60 dollars a piece. the next day i sent the slips in and they still took 60 dollars out of my checking. i dont know who i need to contact so if anyone reads this and knows please email me at [email protected] thanx

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bo Jul 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well along with everyone else, my son (17) was home along and fell for the BS these people were selling, I mailed the reciept in the next day and still nothing, over a month ago... I have tried to call this company however NO ANSWER... Lesson learned... This company sucks...

    0 Votes
  • G
    G Jun 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well. The guy that came to my door claimed it was fifteen dollars, marked dashes in the empty spots on the receipt, had me sign it, then wrote in 60 bucks in the slots. He flatout lied to me about what I was paying (for a magazine I will apparently never receive...), then forged the receipt. How is this not theft?

    I didn't notice he did that until my bank was charged. Wish I had been smart enough to google the FRS name before that charge occurred. I'm disputing this with my bank and filling out every complaint form there is simply out of principle alone. I hope every one of these ### rots.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Ed Jun 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After 120 days with no magazine I called and Fidelity told me my refund would be received in 2 to 3 weeks, but then a month later I received a letter requesting an alternate mag. Not interested after 150 days. I would suggest you all do the right thing. First, go to your local police department and file a police report of CONSUMER FRAUD against Fidelity Reader Service. Just takes a few minutes and no cost. Second, go on line to the FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION and file a complaint of CONSUMER FRAUD. Third, go on line to the FLORIDA ATTORNEY GENERAL of your state and file a report of CONSUMER FRAUD. Fourth, go on line to the ATTORNEY GENERAL OF YOUR STATE and file a report of CONSUMER FRAUD. Keep going with, Better Business Bureau, etc.

    0 Votes
  • Zk
    z-killer Jun 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did business with these guys awhile back, ordered the Official PlayStation Magazine and Spin Magazine. To this day I have yet to receive OPM, though about 9 months ago I began receiving Spin, that is to say about 1 year from when I had actually placed the order. I was out $60 for the Official Playstation, but whatever, it's the cost of not being wary.

    This leads me to my post now, having an interest in this company, after just about 20 minutes ago, talking with a young man I signed up for $240 worth of magazines, wrote them a corporate Bank of America check and told the kid that he was a good salesperson, and shouldn't waste his talents on just magazines, he apparently wanted to use the "prize money" of $5000 to open a sports grill. I told him that I wouldn't cancel it, however being the mischievous man that I am, real eyes realize real lies. I feel bad that he might be prosecuted eventually for my being so eager to sign up, however this company will learn not to mess with big fish.

    Either way, I've canceled the check, sent out a formal request of cancellation from FRS Napels, and await litigation to bring this company down.

    And to Chris from above, it's because due to the good nature in a lot of people they don't want to just flat out NOT believe in something just because they are wary of it being a scam. Some people are, god forsake it, gullible and trusting. Fortunately for the company, they make it very easy to get around, write a check and cancel the check, it takes about a week to cash either way and by the time they do that they are in a completely different city, state and zip. My room-mate had me talk to the young man because I've had an investigation going for quite some time, and low and behold that they come right the frakk to my doorstep. I really do feel sorry for the few kiddies and grown men/women that get swept up in this poor scam, but that's life and there isn't a whole lot to do with it. If possible I'd like to only put the responsible parties into safe hands, leave the lackeys to their own ends. And yes if you wait there is a good possibility that you might get some magazines, but that chance is just to poor for a lot of people. There should be a 100% guarantee that you'll get magazines. Hell even Best Buy had that 8 week trial crap, you got your magazine and all you had to do was make a lousy 5 min. phone call before the 8th week to cancel.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    withheld Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ditto...Thanks to a website like this I found out it was a scram. I changed my card number and account number. They are not getting anything from me. I canceled it and now if anything...its my word against theirs and I have the prof I canceled this scam! Thank you and I'm sorry this happened to you!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unknown Jun 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i ordered these had same problem. I noticed that things was fishy like it saying you wont get your stuff for 4 months. And the phone thing them not answering. First of all if you wont get your stuff for 4 months that means they dont send it out for a while, so why say you have to cancel in 3 days unless they trying to screw you over. Luckily for me i found out they was scaming before they charged me and had my debit card canceled and ordered a new one so they not getting a damn thing from me. And if another one of these people come to my door i am gonna say hell no and be rude just like they are on the phone watch

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Takeshi Kovacs May 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Chris Woolard said:
    well all of you that are complaining about canceling...wtf?! why are you gonna say you are gonna do it one day and change your mind when he leaves your door step. you tried to cancel the next day?! you are a ###in idiot. grow some balls and say no at the door. oh and if you are patient you will get your magazines. plus you signed something you didnt know what it said? it says on the reciept that you have to mail it in and it also says that it could take up to 4 months to recieve your first issue. the guy that stopped by, was his name sean rebman? bc he is using his money to goto film school and he is on his way...good guy. believe me im sure he really appreciates the points you got him.


    Chris, sounds like you're one of the sellers. You're plenty pushy enough to be one.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chris woolard May 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    well all of you that are complaining about canceling...wtf?! why are you gonna say you are gonna do it one day and change your mind when he leaves your door step. you tried to cancel the next day?! you are a ###in idiot. grow some balls and say no at the door. oh and if you are patient you will get your magazines. plus you signed something you didnt know what it said? it says on the reciept that you have to mail it in and it also says that it could take up to 4 months to recieve your first issue. the guy that stopped by, was his name sean rebman? bc he is using his money to goto film school and he is on his way...good guy. believe me im sure he really appreciates the points you got him.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juan J Escobedo May 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    2-7-08 We recived a visit from Cory Hollerberhl from Fidelity Reading Service Inc selling these magazine's for college points I subcribed for two subscription with a $106.00 value which is they cashed it right away. Up to the point we just received a letter, saying that they do not have the books I wanted. They said we could order a different book, none of what I like or what I paid for. I tried to contact them but they only have automated service which they send you to another number and they hang up. They sent me the letter to a wrong name but address was right. All receipts have the correct name, As far as I see it is a good scam.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob May 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A guy with no arms and 1 leg came to my house with the same company. he was talking about a competition and he came into my house. I felt bad for him and he said he was also getting money to get arms and a new leg. So i bought a subscription. But i checked the company and responses to their services and i am going to go cancel my credit card, so they dont get the money. So any one who lives in Washington state, watch out these scammers are coming.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tam Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm having the same problems as other people with FRS. My incident happened in Feb '08 in CA. I now know that I was ripped off and will have a next to impossible time getting my magazine subscription or my money back. However, I'm going to do something about it and I suggest everyone who reads this does the same thing. Florida has laws against the type of deceptive trade practices that FSR and its agents are doing. The Florida Office of Attorney General will investigate complaints concerning consumer fraud. Here's a link to the online complaint form. Please fill it out and let's put this unscrupulous company out of business!! http://myfloridalegal.com/Contact.nsf/Contact?OpenForm&Section=Economic_Crimes

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Brown Apr 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am the Brian Brown that would sing i am a little tea pot to the individuals who helped me out. The statements that are posted about me are untrue and unjustified. I sold magazines door 2 door for about 6 yrs and never once recived a complaint. The individuals who taught us taught about life NOT SCAMING GOOD PEOPLE. I have been off the road for over a year now raising my daughter. If it wasn't for the GENTLEMEN like Belo and Steve i would not be able to take care of my family. On top of that if i ever sold u a magazine i gave u my personal telephone number and my email address. contact me if u wish. But fair warning u should check your facts before u go on accusing good people of fraud. Why wopuld i sing on video if i was scamming you??????

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amanda Apr 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i worked for frs for three months and i have to say that this is a big shock to me. maybe they were hard up for money. maybe they were going through some kind of struggle. or maybe these are false reports. but i can assure you, when i was employed with fidelity reader service, none of these things were going on. first of all, brian brown has been with the company for many years. they took him off the street and turned him into a well mannered respectable man. i knew him to be honest and as far as i knew he was always honest with his customers. i seriously doubt that somebody did not get their magazines from him. if it was somebody who was new to the company and trying to take advantage i could understand but brian doesnt need to lie to sell magazines. he's very smart, very funny and people cant help but like him. if somebody bought a magazine subscription from brian brown, and they didnt get it i'm sure it wasnt his fault. it must have been a slip up with somebody else in the company. i could be wrong, people change all the time, but the brian that i knew wouldnt have done something like that.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dummy Mar 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i'm in the same boat. this happened back in january. i was told that i can renew an existing subscription through them. i'm still receiving renewal bills from my mag provider. apparently, fidelity reader service doesn't have a working number. now what?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marik Berghs Mar 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a similar experience to the ones mentioned above. The salesperson was a young girl and she kept referring to my awarding her points, the points of course, were a euphenism for a very inflated price on two magazines. She also told me that I could cancel the subscriptions within three days, I read the receipt which supported that statement and mailed the cancelation the next day, well withing the three date postmark period. Several week later I got a check for $1. in the mail from Fidelity Readers Service, Inc. I won't cash the check but will pursue getting my full payment back. I will also call the city hall for my community and warn them about this scam. I will also check with the Better Business Bureau and the State Attorney's Office for Florida and see if they have any complaints against this company, if not I will report the problem. These people need to be put out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan Raduazzo Mar 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On Sept.7, 2007 a young girl came to my door to try to convince me of subscribing to a magazine. She said she was currently enrolled at Salem State and they were sponsoring this program so she could try to score so many points as possible. I hadn't heard anything so on January 5, 2008 I faxed correspondence to a reprentative explaining the situation. On or about January 7, 2008 I received a letter from Fidelity Reader Service Inc saying they had made an error on my zip code and to wait 3 weeks and I will be receiving my magazine and if I didn't to contact them at the number listed [protected] or e-mail at [email protected] On February 11, 2008 I tried to contact them with no luck so I faxed correspondence requesting a refund. On March 3, 2008 I received a letter from Fidelity Reader Service explaining I was unable to receive Sport Fishing which was not even the magazine originally ordered it was Sporting News. Now I was being asked to choose a replacement magazine. I was not interested in any of the choices given me so again tried to call the toll free number given me in which I reached a recording saying I had reached Fidelity Reader Service we are open M-F from 9:00am until 5:00pm ,but if you have reached this recording our office is not opened. So I then tried to e-mail the correspondence twice and I got a message from the Delivery Status Notification saying delivery to the following recipient failed permanently. So I can not reach them by phone or e-mail as instructed by them. They cashed my check on September 14, 2007 I never received any magazines and now I want a refund. It looks like I have a problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hates this gym Nov 21, 2007

    Yes, this evening there was a young man who barged his way in to my home & pretty much swindled me in to get a subscrption for$60. Not only that but he totally scoped out my home & made comments about all my nice things that I had. I felt EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE. So IMMEDIATELY after he left I called my credit card company and stopped payment on the transaction AND cancelled my credit card. So in this case they are the ones who are getting screwed :) b/c they will not get their money :)

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rebecca R Nov 07, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On July 2nd, 2007, two men came to my door, one by the name of Brian Brown. They gave me the same story about how they wanted to pay for college and this was helping them with their sad, pitiful lives. That they were traveling and involved in a competition with other teams to win a trip to some factory. I had been planning to buy my daughter a Phonics set anyway, so I figured this would be okay. It's going to charity, right? I paid them $112 for the set and they gave me a receipt. They even sang "I'm a little Teapot" for my daughter (which I videotaped in case this was a scam). Suddenly I started getting Maxim and some Disney magazine in the mail. I checked my order online and sure enough, they were the ones sending me these magazines. I called the phone number and went through hoops just to talk to a person. I've been hung up on, put on hold and never gotten back to, left messages with no answer, told that they have a problem with their lines so they can't call me back and were actually waiting for me to call them back with my problem! If I can't get through because of their "bad lines" how am I supposed to get a hold of them. Today I talked to a man (at ext 104)claiming to be a supervisor. I started to tell him about my problem and he got angry and cut me off. He told me it will be another month before I get my daughter's phonics set. I told him that I wanted to cancel it as this is the fault of his company and I'm tired of the hassle. He was rude, disrespectful and then slammed the phone down in my ear. I tried to call back, but I guess their phone lines are still "bad."

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marjorie Ann Davis Nov 07, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered a magazine from a very pleasant young man in a parking lot of a Walmart. He told me FRS would call to confirm the order and to ask questions on his presentation. I tried to call today, and got the same phone out of order thing when I tried to leave a message. My order status on the web site is pending. He copied down my address wrong, and I was going to change the street for my order. As it is, my magazine will not come until February. I feel scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelli O Oct 12, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am currently having a battle with Fidelity Reader Service. I sent in my refund and was told that my refund of $105 would be sent out to me. They cashed my check and are now not responding to my emails or voice messages and every time I call on the phone I either get hung up on, they take my name and number and tell me they will have someone call me back, or I get told that there are problems with the phone systems right now and no one can get back to me! I am highly upset! I need that money and feel completely scammed! What do I do to make sure I get my money back!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.