SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Exotic PawsRude Owner

1
S Review updated:

One of the owners, HEIDI, is NASTY (and that is the understatement of the century, depending on what day you catch her on)! If you did not buy your dog from her do NOT expect special treatment for your loved one. She has said (and by said, I mean SCREAMED AT) to customers that she does not need their business. Fine. Then my business she shall not have. In this economy, beggars can't be choosers!!! Vicky is a fabulous groomer and if she moves to another store I will gladly bring my dog to her, but NEVER AGAIN will I return to a place where I am going to witness such complete and total lack of respect. If you don't want to be abused, don't go to Exotic Paws. Unless you're a gambler... care to bet what kind of mood she'll be in?

Responses

  • H
      Jul 14, 2009

    Omg! Exotic Paws is the best, and if Heidi was rude to you you must of deserved it. This place is the safest most accomodating grooming shop oue neighborhood has ever had, and I agree Vicki is awesome. Everyone has a bad day and no one is perfect, but the way I see it...Exotic Paws is. Sounds like you need to find out the bad grooming out there and experience it like i did. My dog was nearly strangled at a local shop in the area. Good Bless Heidi and Vicki they are awesome and my dog is happy every time she gets groomed, and I get her back with in two hours time. Go to Exotic Paws and realize they are the best.

    -18 Votes
  • L
      Sep 02, 2009

    My experience with the Exotic Paws staff was not pleasant either. While my dog looked beautiful and I was happy with the fact that she was in a safe environment, I must have also caught Heidi on a bad day. I agree with the above response that no one is perfect, but a business owner should appreciate every customer they have! I don't think anyone deserves to be treated in an "abusive" way, nor do I think that one should have to "find out the bad grooming out there" because that's just a terrible statement. I have personally witnessed Heidi go off on an owner who just asked nicely why her dog wasn't ready... she certainly didn't deserve it and while I can't attest to what the complainer on this blog did to warrant such treatment, I still think when you own your own business you need to maintain professionalism, no matter what a customer does. Overall my experience was OK. I'm definitely hesitant to go back now that I see someone else was treated in a "nasty" manner in addition to what I myself saw. That can't be too coincidental... hmm?

    +20 Votes
  • D
      May 15, 2010

    I agree that Heidi is extremely unprofessional. She is rude and inconsiderate to her customers as well as to her employees. Heidi cares about quantity not quality. She will not hire someone if they are not "appealing to the eye" and she sexually harasses the people that are attractive enough for her to hire. She will also refuse to pay her employees for weeks even though she drives around in a Porsche. She does not care about her grooming business. She only cares about her dog breeding business. While she may be a licensed breeder, she definitely does not deserve to be and should be investigated. The dogs that she breeds are filthy and live in their own urine and feeces as well as gum for at least a month at a time before they are bathed. You would think that they would be bathed more often since she has a grooming shop but unfortunately that is not the case. Even after they are bathed, they still smell disgusting. Do not buy a dog from her. Do not bring your dog to her establishment.

    +16 Votes
  • E
      May 20, 2010

    DO NOT BRING YOUR DOGS TO EXOTIC PAWS UNLESS YOU ARE WILLING TO RISK THEIRS LIVES!! .. I LET THEM WATCH MY DOGS FOR THE WEEKEND & ONE OF THEM ALMOST DIED OF BLEECH POISONING .. I GAVE THEM ANOTHER CHANCE LET THEM BATHE MY DOGS ONE DAY & THEY CUT ONE OF MY DOG'S LEGS OPEN SO BAD TRYING TO GET HIM IN THE BATHTUB ALMOST CUT AN ARTERY .. THEY ALMOST KILLED MY DOG TWICE & THEY COST ME OVER $1, 000 IN VET BILLS AND REFUSED TO PAY FOR ANY OF IT!!

    +18 Votes
  • F
      Jul 01, 2010

    EXOTIC PAWS SUCKS!!! HEIDEI IS A [censor] DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR BUSINESS THEY DO NOT DESERVE IT GO TO SOMEWHO WHO ACTUALLY CARES

    +12 Votes
  • D
      Jul 06, 2010

    Omg exotic paws is the best ever, I come all the way from brooklyn to get my dog done, and you know what no one has ever been nicer or more careing. From what I can see this is a personal attack on the owner, and not a dog thing. For two years I have made the trip to Merrick and it is well worth it.
    Please form your own thoughts and opinions and leave the bull to the former employees. Garbage is Garbage and quality is Exotic Paws, we love you.

    -14 Votes
  • A
      Jul 23, 2010

    I think she should be reported to the aspca. Anyone this rude is definitly treating the animals wrong, and unfortunately they can not speak for themselves. I would never trust her with my dog especially just the nasty way she talks to people.

    +10 Votes
  • A
      Sep 22, 2010

    PEOPLE PLEASE ADOPT DON'T SHOP!! every puppy heidi makes her dogs give birth to means a poor dog in a shelter dies! all for money you selfish person stop contributing to the overpopulation of dogs

    +10 Votes
  • C
      Oct 03, 2010

    dont vote for heidi for "best of long island" she is more like the "worst of long island" or even the "worst of the u.s.a." she is a horrible business women... she treats her customers like [censor] including myself screaming at them on many occasions... and she neglects the dogs who that breeds forcing them to live in urine and feces for weeks at a time- i have seen it!!! this is clearly a scam orchastrated by her girlfriends mainly susan of lets talk yourkie who i cannot imagine is a much better businesswomen that heidi to gain publicity and further her business similar to the couple of positive comments above- omg its simply the best- HA what kind of customer writes in that manner i do hope that people are smarter than her the only postive thing about her business is her groomer mandy the 1 good thing about exotic paws too bad she cannot convince her to take better care of those animals nominate mandy not heidi

    +10 Votes
  • D
      Nov 14, 2010

    when ever you speak about someone in that manner is because you did not have a good experience with that person or about there service.
    but lets get to the bottom of this should we say is all about us getting groomed or our wonderful Friends, maybe we should over look as to how we conduct our self's when we take our lovely Friends to her shop maybe we should first have a bit of human communication to say the least before we speak negative about someone that's a animal lover I'm not here to speak on her behalf I've been going there several years now and I've had ups and down but that's human nature, above all that i think she is the best in long island she treats everyone with respect and there employees are very professional never would i put a negative attitude first with out correcting a problem at hand my Friend comes first and that's what should matter before anything I've sent allot of my Friend to her shop and will recommend her any time 11/14/2010 good day every one.

    -8 Votes
  • D
      Nov 20, 2010
    Exotic Paws - EXOTIC PAWS
    EXOTIC PAWS
    New York
    United States

    As a former employee, who was very close to the owner during my employment, I can totally understand all of these former customers complaints. I have seen it with my own eyes. Any positive statement written on this page was undoubtedly written by Heidi or someone in her immediate family. She is the epitemy of ###. I wouldn't even qualify her as human.
    - her poor animals are kept in filth in her own home. they are covered in feces and matted to the skin. I have had the privelage of shaving them down and its truly horrific. I remember shaving a matted dog who had just had a litter. once i had finished shaving the neglected mother dog i realized how malnourished she was, you could clearly see her bones. I immediately gave the dog food and Heidi said that was normal cause the puppies suck her dry. Shes a monster...
    - she could care less about her grooming clients...to her they are just people who put money in her register/ pocket. she spends that money quicker than you pay her. i know many former employees who she couldnt pay. if she writes you a check you might as well tear it up, it will always bounce. happened to me more often than not.
    She is a puppy mill. The only thing keeping her running is her beautiful dogs. They are wonderful sweet little dogs. But every time you buy one from her you're simply making more room for her to breed more and neglect more sweet dogs who deserve a better life. The cute little pictures on her website only happen when she wants to make her website pretty. That is not how those poor dogs should live. Before you buy a dog from her consider that.
    If you plan to ignore all these complaints...ask her to see where the puppies are kept at her house and see for yourself

    0 Votes
  • O
      Nov 21, 2010

    Heidi of EXOTIC SHIH TZU and EXOTIC PAWS Is a very arrogant woman!!! My boyfriend a puppy for me from her. She was nice at first but after she get's your money and your call her after you leave, she doesn't call back. There was a problem with the puppy and she didn't call back. She also inbreeds her dogs. after my dog was paid for and walking out my bf heard Beth say something to someone about it. Her are expensive and she doesn't even test the dogs. She doesn't do it for the love of dogs... She does it for the love of money. As to EXOTIC paws... I wouldn't bring my dog there ever again. She is so arrogant. I feel sorry for the people who work there. AND she only accepts CASH or Checks written out to CASH . Doesn't accept checks written out to the company, EXOTIC PAWS and doesn't accept Credit cards. Does the IRS know about this?

    +8 Votes
  • O
      Nov 21, 2010

    Thank you Dexter's mom for coming forward. It's good to hear from an employee of hers. I know that she is an arrogant person from personal experience with her.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Nov 23, 2010

    Exotic Paws does except credit cards and its the best place my dog has ever been, looks like bad emplayees and drama. My dogs go to exotic paws and its so clean and everyone is very nice and my dog is 25.00 every two weeks and people ask me all the time where i get them groomed and I WILL REFER everyone to exotic paws always. I voted for them for LONG ISLANDS BEST!

    -6 Votes
  • H
      Nov 24, 2010

    LMFOOOOOOOOOOOOOO STOP COMMENTING ON HERE HEIDI THIS IS FOR COMPLAINTS NOT FAUX COMPLIMENTS GET A LIFE AND ANSWER YOUR [censor]ING PHONE STOP AND INBREEDING DOGS !!!

    +5 Votes
  • H
      Nov 24, 2010

    omg like ecotic paws is like not the best ever like omg you are an arrogant women and your store is not the best ever and it looks like bad businees practices and arrogant business owners and i will never take my dog back there and i will never refer you and i will never vote for you bc you are not the best and you need to stop rpetending to be customers and you need to get a life and you need to stop inbreeding your dogs good day everyone 11/23/10 do you see what this women doessss people do not take your dogs hereeee dont buy inbred dogs from her!!!

    +4 Votes
  • C
      Nov 29, 2010

    Please check my personal message to you. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Dec 05, 2010

    adopt don't shop dog killers!!!

    +4 Votes
  • M
      Dec 11, 2010

    who ever this person is that is stalking Heidi doesnt have the GUTS to leave their real name, or phone number so as a customer ITS ALL BULLSHI...
    and get a life is an understatement

    -4 Votes
  • 4
      Dec 11, 2010

    I had been going to Exotic Paws on Merrick Road in Merrick, N.Y. for over a year. I have never had any problems with the way that I have been treated or with the way that my two dogs have been treated. About one month ago, however, after picking up my dogs from being groomed, I noticed that someone was wrong with one of one of my dog's eyes. I rushed him to the vet to find out that there was an infection in one of his eyes from shampoo. When I attempted to speak to the owener, Heidi, about the situation, she denied responsibility and refused to pay for my vet bills because I did not go to the vet with which she has some kind of arrangement with. She said that if I had called her before I had called my vet, that she might have been able to work something out with me. I am outraged at her lack of customer appreciation and her staff's lack of care with my dog. I will surely not be going back there again! Apparently, from looking at some of these other coments, I am not the only one who feels so discontented with the owner of this establishment. Coincidence? I think not.

    +2 Votes
  • K
      Dec 26, 2010

    Well, I can't believe you would write such a terrible response about this nice woman. I have gone to her house numerous times and she has treated me with the utmost respect. I worked there for a short amount of time, and the only reason I left was because of travel issues. She is not arrogant and you are being very mean to her. Her dogs are NOT treated the way you think because I happen to have experience with them. She is ONLY human!! Consider what she has on her hands: the business, her personal life, things down in florida, 2 daughters, family and much more. If she acts arrogant it is most likely because of stress. So, just PLEASE give her a break!!! She is not what yo said and you are probably just venting.

    -2 Votes
  • K
      Dec 26, 2010

    STOP YOUR VENTING!!! if she doesnt call you back immediately that is because 500 other owners are trying to call her! TAKE A CHILL PILL!!! she is not super arrogant at all! maybe someties but this is what stress does. Why don't you try juggling a dog store, you personal life, family, florida business, 2 daughters, a husband and much more. Give her a break!!!

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Feb 22, 2011
    Exotic Paws - where's Mandy?
    exotic paws
    Merrick
    New York
    United States

    I have read all the complaints against Exotic Paws. I have not frequent this company often, however, when I did, Mandy was my dogs groomer. I have recently been told that Mandy no longer works with them. The person I spoke with bad mouthed this groomer, advising she "stole" all their clients and what a terrible person she is ..blah, blah, blah. I know I "loved" Mandy and loved her grooming, her kindness and compassion to the animals she cared for. I did not find it very professional for Exotic Paws to trash a former employee...especially when noone asked in the first place. I do know, because of this unprofessional manner in which they presented themselves, I do not wish to bring my dog there any longer. And, by the way...I did not speak with Heidi...I spoke with a gentlemen who could not stop trashing Mandy. Suprise! Suprise! I would LOVE to know if anyone knows where Mandy is working as I would love to be one of her followers...she was GREAT!

    0 Votes
  • G
      Feb 24, 2011

    To everyone who is missing Mandy from Exotic Paws...She has found a better place..she is at Shampooch Spa & Boutique located in Wantagh on Merrick RD (Park Plazza shopping center). Now you can bring your furry babies back to your groomer, Mandy :)

    -1 Votes
  • D
      Mar 10, 2011

    Wow Hiedi...Can't take responsibility for your mistake? Shocker!!! Miss I'm sorry that happened to your dog, she should absolutely pay for the vet bill. As a groomer I know that I am fully responsible for your dog while he is in my care. Its a good thing she doesn't do childrens daycare. She is too self absorbed to care for anyone but herself.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 10, 2011

    Dont know what happened to that last complaint...hmm

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 10, 2011

    Heidi, try using different words when you pretend to be someone else and defend yourself. Almost all of the positive reviews are from you. Check the similarities

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 10, 2011

    We all have personal issues! Thats no excuse to take it out on the people who pay good money to have their dogs cared for

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 10, 2011

    HEIDI SUCKS!!! I get customers almost every day that are victims of her employees bad hair cuts or her snobby attitude. Keep telling people that " you dont need their business", you're just helping out the other local groomers :)

    Have a good day!

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 16, 2011

    As an owner of Exotic Paws, and not being aware of the gentlemen who was trashing mandy, I am not happy to hear this either. As for my former employee mandy, she is a good groomer, and if my clients are to follow her from exotic paws to shampooch than that is their prerogative. To all my loyal clients, I am very happy to keep giving the great service I have always given to my clients. I appreciate and love all my clients here, and my shop should not be known for a groomer but for my shop and how employees are treated as family, because this is a personal and comfortable place for animals. I apologize for the person who spoke to you about our former employee.
    -Chrissy of Exotic Paws.

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Mar 16, 2011

    Slander is against the law, and Heidi is not ever at Exotic Paws anymore, I am. This is my shop, and i appreciate all the business we have and all my loyal clients. My shop is very safe, and my groomers are very safe and caring. I care very much about my dogs that come here and my personal dogs, and i can tell you that anyone who knows me, can agree. I wish everyone and their shops luck and i appreciate all my business as well. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • C
      Mar 16, 2011
    Exotic Paws - NON COMPLAINT
    SAFE GROOMING !
    New York
    United States

    Exotic paws is not what people on the internet are making it out to be. As the owner, I make it my life to make sure every client is happy and every dog/cat is safe and i love all animals here. YOU WILL NOT HEAR me slandering anyone or any business. I am very respectful to everyone who works/worked and is a customer here. If you love exotic paws like i do, then you agree. EVeryone has their own opinion and are welcome to come to Exotic Paws, if you are not happy here i would love to know why. It is vital to me to accommodate everyone out there. I know that if i did not own a grooming shop, i would be very iffy to go to any shop with my babies. That is why people who know me, understand that this shop is NOT unsafe, or horrible. I will not scream or make any customer unhappy in any way. EXOTIC PAWS is a great grooming shop on long island and all my customers agree !

    0 Votes
  • P
      Mar 16, 2011

    Exactly as Zachary said. It makes your company look ridiculous when you spam a complaint site with your advertisements.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 20, 2011

    Heidi is gone? What happened to Marge?

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 21, 2011

    what the hell is going on? is heidi still involved in the store or not? if she isn't then i am sure it is a much better place. if she is...then we all know this is bull

    0 Votes
  • M
      Mar 21, 2011

    I have been going to Exotic Paws to groom my two dogs for over two years. My dogs always come home beautifully groomed and smelling very clean. Different groomers have done the service. All the groomers at Exotic Paw are good. After reading all the horror stories it appears to me that their are a lot of " mean spirited people" out there. I sometimes had to wait past the promised time but it was worth it. I have tried many other groomers in the area only to be disappointed with the results. Most of all they never smelled clean. I have found the owner to be very generous. She has discounted many beautiful coats for my pets. I hope Exotic Paws will be there for best friends a long time. I feel if it isn't broken don't fix it"

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 21, 2011

    never mind...chrissy is her daughter lol! and it isnt either one of their stores. IT BELONGS TO MARGE!!! what do you have to say about that chrissy and heidi?!?!?!?

    0 Votes
  • H
      Mar 22, 2011

    it's not advertising, its just a fact. I think other business owners in the area should just keep to their business and we will keep to ours.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Mar 22, 2011

    Keep to your business and we keep to ours.

    0 Votes
  • W
      Mar 28, 2011

    Your employees (or whoever the man was who trashed Mandy) are badgering those that once were employed by you. And who are you anyway?????? It now appears noone knows who really owns this shop...time to move on...Mandy is at Shampooch Spa down the road from you...and she is just as fantastic as ever!!! Too bad, Exotic Paws lost such a talented employee. Oh! and by the way...when I took my little one to Shampooch...Mandy was very professional and had nothing to say about Exotic Paws even though you trashed her. She has class!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment