The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
EMT RoboticsNo support for their products at all!!

M

After spending $2000 on robot tracks from them, the units failed during testing. I tried to talk to someone about replacement parts in Decemeber and they never arrived. Again in March and nothing but broken promises. Then they tell me they don't make those tracks anymore and want me to buy a set of replacements for 5 times the cost. I don't know what happened to this company but they went downhill fast.
I asked to talk to the owner Garrett and they said he's not employed there anymore. What? He started the company like years ago. So I called Garrett who now owns a different company and it turns out the real story was he left cause the owner was a criminal and was trying to con him out of his shares in the company. So he walked away. Now it seems the place is falling apart. He was nice enough to direct me to a great company that makes tracks in the states and I was able to get some help with mine. He also gave me some advice on them since he designed them.
I would avoid EMT Robotics like the plague. They are not what they used to be. If they won't let you talk to Garrett, just hang up. It's a waste of time. They don't know anything about robots and will likely never send you anything. Too bad another bad apple had to ruin a great company. At least Garrett got out of there.
I have all the emails for proof if anyone wants to see them.

Responses

  • Sa
    sajit88 Sep 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    too bad

    4 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce Sullivan Sep 12, 2012

    We were going to inquire about purchasing the TRU-100 but after seeing half their products missing off the site and talking to someone that didn't seem to have any idea what we would expect from such a unit, I won't be following through. There's a number of complaints out about them since the owner left. I also contacted Garrett directly after reading this and he was a pleasure to speak to. He said he's not selling any robots right now but is starting some very exciting projects in Decemeber. Can't wait.

    4 Votes
  • Ch
    Christin_chii Sep 23, 2012

    We got a set a couple years ago for a university project and were pretty disappointing. The bearing holes had diferent spacing and the tracks didn't fit right. We ended up having to order some extra pieces of track from Intralox to fit it. I was pretty disappointed to find the tracks were just Intralox series 900 plastic conveyer modules. They cost a couple bucks a section and I must have paid $10 a section.
    It looks like their police robots use the same track. They break easy and don't stay on in sand as we found out. Hope no one has bought the police ones. The guy I talked to about getting my tracks fixed was rude and wanted me to pay for parts to fix them. I would avoid these guys like the plague.

    3 Votes
  • St
    Stevoo Oct 04, 2012

    I tried inquiring about purchasing a TRU-100 EOD robot off them. The specs from one sheet to the website were different and the guy on the phone couldn't decide which one was right. Not about to send $70k to someone who doesn't know the specs to the product. We ended up purchasing 2 caliber robots from Icor for the same price and the service was excellent. Don't know what happened to this company but it's too bad.

    2 Votes
  • Wow. What a shame that this company has gone belly up. It used to be great. I too emailed the previous owner and found out what really happened. I wanted to buy a small rover off them for our department to try. But after doing some investigating into the patner Garrett left, Byron Leslie Derksen, I found public records of Byron's court hearing for drug trafficing as well as a history of suing ex partners that tried to get away from him. I also talked to the Saskatoon Police thinking they would be using their units but they are not. I made sure they are aware of the owner's criminal bwackground as well. I guess we can hope Garrett starts a new company soon which it sounds like he will. I'll be watching for it and avoiding EMT at all costs.

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    RoboHomeMIT Nov 24, 2012

    This company has become a joke. Their site is all chopped up and half the stuff is missing from it. Pretty sure they have already gone bankrupt without the owner there anymore. I'll have to find somewhere else to buy track modules from. No way I'm sending a penny to these guys. I'll have to track down the old owner and see if he'll build me something from scratch.

    1 Votes
  • Em
    EMTRob Dec 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These customers and claims are fictitious and certainly appear to be from the same person. In this age of the internet it is unfortunate how easily anyone can pretend to be something they are not, with no accountability or recourse.

    EMT Robotics has always responded to real inquiries and concerns from actual customers.

    EMT’s owner, William Derksen, and staff are looking forward to the coming move into their brand new state-the-art bulding in December 2012. Under this new ownership and current expansion, EMT is committed to producing quality products and maintaining customer satisfaction.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim201212 Dec 08, 2012

    Odd that after reading reviews from people that hated the service from Les Derksen with his other company a name search took me here. I had worked with Les on a number of jobs and no longer associate with him because of his criminal past, bad attitude and lies. I know he had suckered some other guy into going into business with him who had a robot company and like all partners he's had, they left too. Probably realized he was lying and cheating them as well. I don't know if this William is a relative or another fake name Les is using to hide his past but I wouldn't want anything to do with Les Derksen or any company he's running. If he's suckered someone new to be his partner and use their name, I feel sad for them. Sooner or later they will realize the cheater and snake he is. Like everyone else has. I doubt these claims are true. It's the same stuff people talk about in the construction community about him here in Saskatoon. It's a small world and you can only screw over so many people before word gets around.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    EMTRob Dec 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    “…It's a small world and you can only screw over so many people before word gets around.”
    So very true!
    It is unfortunate that time must be taken out of a busy day to address these “claims”.
    - of the 8 negative statements above, only 2 are supposedly from customers. The remainder are simply personal attacks against the company and one of the owners.
    - simple reasoning with regard to the time-lines shows that even the 2 “customers” purchased products while the previous owner was in charge.
    - it is quite obvious that at least some of the above complaints were written by the same person
    - a sheriffs’ office going to such lengths to research a company and then look up a previous owner?!? And then bother to post about this hearsay using the full name of the ‘target’?!? A real sheriffs’ office would also know how to spell ‘sheriff’.
    - if the previous poster worked with Les enough to feel qualified to make such statements, he would certainly know who Les’ brother is. And this person accuses Les of lying!
    - the previous owner of EMT - Garrett Fisher, has his own issues with questionable ethics and honesty – these are forum posts from REAL people:
    http://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=53983&highlight=garrett
    and here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?s=96653486ef1e63fa1c7cc49886cfb8f6&t=461805&pp=15
    Sadly, a search on the internet does not seem to provide a reliable source of information about EMT Robotics. The only recourse for potential customers is to contact them directly and get an idea for themselves.

    0 Votes
  • brenthudson Jul 13, 2013

    Ok all thanks I have investigated this for my self and you can look at this post and say way you may. if you can help me please help.
    I have worked for everything I have and I need help please? (This is not looking good)
    I placed an order with F5 Robotics is this part of all this, is it the same Garrett Fisher? ( also listed as part of Rediture Photography)
    I placed an order and paid much money for a DiveBot and it is not supplied see link below
    I placed an order for a Robotic tank cleaner 50m cable and and it is not supplied paid and not supplie
    I paid for additional parts pump and no parts?
    It could be in manufacture and it could be real. is there any one in Saskatoon that can go and see my robot and send me pictures or send me the new address of the new work shops please?
    I come from Africa and have a new small company I have started all over and canot loos this cash. it is a new tank cleaning company and I need the equipment.

    can you help with advise on where i can go for help

    My phone number is +61 [protected] Help?
    Think first
    Copy:
    http://www.prlog.org/12077315-divebot-the-worlds-first-ready-to-use-underwater-hd-rov-under-1300.html
    f5robotics.com
    PS no offence to the man if he is true and has nothing to hide come clean now

    0 Votes
  • Em
    EMTRob Jul 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is the same Garrett Fisher who left EMT Robotics in 2011. EMT Robotics now has no connection whatsoever with Garrett Fisher or his company F5 Innovations.
    Depending on the method of payment, you might have some recourse there. You might also make a new complaint posting for either F5 Robotics or Renditure Photography.
    As for your project, if you contact EMT Robotics, perhaps we can help you out.
    Best of luck.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.