The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Emerald LuxMisrepresentation in advertisement

S

The EMERALD LUX company advertised their product for
Free and only pay shipping and handling. When I received the product I was informed of a trial period and would be charged $99.00 to my account after the trial period. They do not tell you the trial period starts on the day they recieve your request for their product. On the day I recieved the e-cigs the trial period was already done and my account had been charged $99.00. I phoned them to let them know I would be sending them back and to refund my money. They said they could not give me a refund and would have to cancel by mail since it is a club. There was NOTHING about this in the ad.
The problem became worse since they had already sent filter refills with another charge to my account of $60.00. I am currently working with my bank in the dispute process. When I recieved the refills I immediatly returned them and have not recieved a refund of any of the charges.
Please do not be tempted by this Scam. I have had to cancel my debit card and have a new one issued to prevent more charges. I am still working with the bank to rectify the situation. It has been months lots of paper work and I am still trying to get my money back in my account!

Responses

  • Al
    ALFA1976 Jun 13, 2013

    Emerald Lux is a SCAM, they send you an E-Mail and tell you all you pay is $4.95 shipping to test out the product, their is no mention anywhere in the E-Mail about charging $114.00 after a 14 day trail period and to top the scam off they also charge you $70.00 every month for refills, which is not listed anywhere, this company needs to be brought to the attention of Consumers affair, Fraud department, Internet scam department and CH. 10 News investigating division for company scams.. When you call the [protected] number they inform you that the disclaimer is on the web site for EMERALD LUX. this COMPANY NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moni. c Jan 17, 2013

    EmeraldLux can suck my dick!!! Nothing but Hardcore SCAM artist that will do ANYTHING to make a quick buck $$$!!! I also had a similar situation recently, plenty of headaches from this SHADY company making unauthorized withdrawals from my account... not to mention the overdraft fees I wracked up because of these thieving money hungry ###s. I have wasted countless hours on the phone with their "customer service" representatives that have accomplished absolutely nothing!!..not to mention all the trips to and from the bank, a completely ### canned weekend and the situation has yet to be resolved. The ultimately ###ed thing is that these people claim to have the best team backing their product, if you don't like it for any reason well.. no worries they'll take it back isn't that the point of the trial period?? If there is one thing that I have learned from this outlandish ordeal It's to do your homework when making purchases from companies that are new to you especially online and most definitely if a credit card is involved. I am a smoker, have been for about twelve years and had interest in electronic cigarettes because of the health benefits BUT... EmeraldLux is BY FAR the worst electric cig company out there and I would gladly shove this ###, RIPOFF, PIECE OF CRAP PRODUCT UP THERE ### IT BELONGS IN A DUMPSTER!!! I've since found something worth purchasing without all the ### smoke and mirrors and if your up for it check out VOLCANO electronic cigarettes. No BS, strait forward quality product that actually works!!.. imagine that friends... .. good luck!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    antiscam man Jan 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    rip off scam and need to be sued nothing but greed greed greed

    0 Votes
  • C4
    C4dification Jul 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Am So Glad I Read This Soon after i received mine in the mail. I ALSO signed up for the 4.95 shipping fee and that was ALL that it said. I email the support at EmeraldLux Telling them about an issue mine had and they actually emailed me back telling me to expect the next withdrawel from my account. I told them no where on the site i signed up on did it say anything about future charges or anything of that sort. Well i started looking online finding a few sites like this, saw so many people getting screwed and got worried haha
    DO WHAT I DID AND CANCEL YOUR CARD. TELL THE BANK YOU LOST IT SOMEWHERE AND NEED A NEW ONE WITH A NEW NUMBER. The people at Emerald Lux really made a great product actually i definitely enjoy it as a smoker but this was NOT what i signed up for nor would i of if i had known.

    0 Votes
  • La
    lary57 Apr 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am another victim of this company. I ordered the free starter kit. I read everything.The only charge that was to be made to my credit card was for $4.95 for shipping and handling. There was nothing about any trial period or additional charges. 2 weeks after the $4.95, my credit card was charged $109.95. When I called to resolve this, I was told it stated the additional charges are in the terms and conditions. I read the terms and conditions when I originally ordered the kit, which asked for my agreement to charge my credit card for shipping and handling, but nothing else!!!. This company engaged in deceptive business practices and are nothing but crooks.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeeDee567 Apr 21, 2012

    I agree that Emerald Lux is running a big SCAM. I do not smoke, but ordered the product for my sister who smokes. It was a FREE advertisement from Emerald Lux and I went for it hook line and sinker. This was in Dec 2012 when I was snabbed. I live in Virignia and had the product shipped to my sister who lives in in Tennesseee. I had no idea they would start billing my credit card. I just realized today, April 21, 2012, that they have been billing my card since Feb 2012 and have hit me up for $234. I called my credit card today and shut down the credit card and requested a new card and verification number. I am pissed off at this company and after reading similar complaints, do not feel there is much chance of getting my money back. RUN RUN RUN... from Emerald Lux. I am hoping to see a class action suite against them.

    1 Votes
  • Am
    amanda7545 Feb 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company offered an e-cigarette for $4.95, and charged my card $4.99. After about two weeks, this company took $110.00 out of my account, which was unauthorized. This company refused to give me a refund, until I threatened to contact my bank. Then they offered me $99.00. The $10 was for a so called restocking fee. In addition, I had to send the product back, and I had to pay return shipping. This product cost me about $20, and I never used it. It was still in the plastic when I sent it back. This company is fraudulent and should be stopped, from conducting business in this manor. I contacted the government concerning this matter, and advise others to do the same. I am looking into starting a class action law suit, because these business practices, should not be permitted.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    missymae Jan 25, 2012

    I must have gotten lucky because I called the day the $109.95 popped up on my account and they helped me out. Sure I had to wait 10 minutes on hold, but I'm glad I did. The girl Betty gave me my RMA and issued the refund that day. She even waited on the line for me to check that I got all the e-mails she sent.

    0 Votes
  • Ht
    Htran Jan 11, 2012

    Another victim. Sons of ### are crooks. And most of the time when you call them to do the return before the 14 days is up, no one will pick up the phone. Not only that, but they will tell you lies and say they never said that or the person who said it no longer works there. After 2 days?? BIG SCAM! Don't waste your time with them. Only going to lead to headaches and frustrations.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise Kocarnik Dec 01, 2011

    Guess I should have read the complaints first after I just ordered it.I also have a complaint about the "free" IPOD shuffle .I couldn't get off the page unless I went for the scam.Even after (what I thought) was getting off the page, it kept showing up.NOW, how do I cancel my order to both scams ????--Denise Kocarnik

    0 Votes
  • Be
    benjamin a Nov 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thank you all for this warning. I have already called my credit card company today and told them I did not want this company to charge my account for anything further. They said that they cannot put a block on a merchant, but I could report my card lost or stolen and get a new card and new number so they will not be able to charge my account. The credit card company said I will get a new card in about 10 days and the old one is now no good. I said great. This was done before Emeraldlux got any more than the 4.95. About time they took a loss isn't it? If more junk comes in the mail...they loose even more. Thanks again.

    2 Votes
  • Jr
    jrhearn Oct 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When the $109.95 charge hit my bank I immediately asked them about it. They sent me an agreement I had evidently clicked on to agree when I ordered that said I agreed to the charge. It was day 16 and most of the kit was still unwrapped but they would not let me return for refund. Stay away from these folks.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    D.J. Young Sep 22, 2011

    I ordered the 4.95 deal. I then found a 109.95 unauthorized amount on my bank statement. I recieved a 30 dollar overdraft fee for a check that I wrote unaware of the 109.95 deduction. I called the company and was told by Kathy (she would not give me her last name) I could get 30 dallars back and they would not charge my account again. I went to the bank and closed my debit card. The e cigerette I recieved does not work and I asked is i could return it to get a full refund. She said my the return policy was up. I ordered Sept.1 and it is now Sept. 22. I am taking my losses and glad it was not worse. I will not make the same mistake again. They advertised it with a person stating it help them kick the habit. How do people get away with this.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dorothy T Palmer Jun 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    yes! yes! yes! I also read everything and I can SWEAR nothing was said about additional charges. I know because I am a skeptical person and I look for subterfuge!. Anyway... as an update... I started posting all over the internet like the one above. I googled them and found places where I could post my negative comments. I did about a dozen then called the company and told them I would continue posting negative comments every day of the rest of my life if they did not give me a refund. they called me back and offered $40. I said OK. I took the money but I didn't promise not to post negative comments. Now I am telling as many people as I can that if they scream loud enough and often enough they can get at least $40 back from the company. DO IT!!! Dorothy T Palmer

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dorothy T Palmer May 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DON'T BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE PEOPLE AND KEEP YOUR WALLET CLOSED!!! I accepted a "free trial" and I swear there was no write up of strings attached and 2 weeks later they charged my account $99. When I called Olivia sarcastically directed me to a small paragraph of "terms" that she wanted me to read out loud! Sarcastic little ###! I swear it was not there when I filled out the form because I read EVERYTHING. I couldn't get a refund either. She basically said "tough ###"! This company is a shyster and SCAM ARTIST and only wants your money. KEEP YOUR CREDIT CARD FAR AWAY FROM THEM. Their product sucks too!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ga
    gator1234t5 May 20, 2011

    BE VERY CAREFUL - this happened to me!

    1 Votes
  • Bw
    B. Walker Mar 29, 2011

    I totally agree. The link I ordered had no information regarding "membership", continuing shipments and charges or even the additional 99 dollar charge. I may have even gone along with this if the unit was anything like what was represented but instead found it to be NOTHING like an actual cigarette with a chemical taste that makes you gag and feel poisoned from the first taste. Too bad, I was really looking forward to this.

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.