The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
eDefenseFraudulent debiting from my checking account

Also, https://www2.respondingtolife.com/edefense/. The company is actually called CPP North America, LLC. I found out on 8/19/2011 that my checking account had been debited $14.99 on 8/18/2011. My bank recently changed ownership (from Wachovia to Wells Fargo), and I checked archived statements and found out that $14.99 was also debited on 7/18/2011 AND 6/20/2011. I figured out that one of the numbers associated with that debit looked like a toll-free, 877 number, so I called it. eDefense asked me to verify my name, address and phone number, and then they told me what my 4-digit membership number was, and gave me the website name, www.myedefense.com. You login with that 4-digit, your zip code and your email address. [no username or password, you see; when have you never needed a username and password?]. When I logged in, the has four categories: PC Defense System, Digital Backup Plan, Online Threat Detector, and Personal Information Registry. I didn't click on anything. A man told me someone spoke to me on the phone in May 2011 and that I agreed to a 30 trial period. THAT NEVER HAPPENED. They said when I received the paper package in the mail . . . I NEVER RECEIVED ANYTHING. They said they had send confirmation emails, but unfortunately their email address didn't match mine (one letter was off), so I NEVER GOT A SINGLE EMAIL FROM THEM. I reported all this to my bank on 8/19/2011, and the bank responded on 8/27/2011, "Unfortunately, Wells Fargo Bank does not have recourse to return this charge; therefore you will need to resolve this dispute directly with the merchant. As a result we have closed your claim." How's that? I called the bank today and literally screamed at them. Finally after several phone transfers, I was put in touch with the Claims Assistance Center. The person I spoke with finally agreed to treat this as fraud, asked me to destroy my debit card and they will refund all three months ($44.97) to my account and will issue a new card. I freakin' HATE FRAUD. I've seen this same sort of fraud on ComplaintsBoard.com, just in a different name. And this is good: eDefense uses a Wells Fargo logo on their site. Twice today I asked, pointedly, if Wells Fargo knew about this company (no). The last thing the eDefense guy told me when I mentioned that detail today was that they were affiliated with Wells Fargo higher up, in the marketing group, so the local branches of course wouldn't know about them. I wish someone would prosecute these people. I'm still digging to find out more.

Responses

  • Li
    Linda Brown Wilson Jul 21, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me. I just happen to notice this charge on my statement. Shame on me for not keeping up with my statement as I should but it has been going on for over a year. $10.99 taken out of my checking account from my debit card each month for what I do not know. The bank says it was for protection on the card. Like others I didn't recall agreeing to this and certainly do not remember signing up for it. The company agreed to stop the payment and refund the last 6 months.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CarolJ3 Jun 01, 2012

    The same thing happened to me. After googling the code on my bankstatement, I found this site. Thanks to this post I was able to contact Wells Fargo somewhat knowledgable on what this charge was. I never agreed to this program. While I think it may be a good one, it wouldn't for me as I am not able to make any large purchases nor have I been able to for quite some time. I've only received one paycheck so far this calendar year so I know I would never agree to a monthly bill of $13 and was prepared to ask to listen to the recording. However, I have to say that upon calling Wells Fargo...who sent me to this other company...the issue was resolved without much problem other than the countless periods of endless "hold" times listening to that horrible music. ;-) BUT the service reps at both organizations were easy to work with as well as very cooperative and understanding. I should have caught this sooner so really it is my fault for not doing so. But they were great and are issuing a FULL refund. The world would be a better place if more people/organizations would be accountable and just say "I'm sorry". Both organizations did this with me so I have no complaints.

    0 Votes
  • Km
    kmhood Mar 17, 2012

    i just found out them same thing happened to me. I apparently have been charged since June. When i caught it in Dec Wells Fargo accepted the claim and then closed it out. Today i spoke to a claims rep who put me through to e-defense who stated i had been charged 3 time but they would credit me back. I called back to e-defense as i wanted to hear the tape recorded phone call authorizing the charges. He told me i had been charged 8 time but they wold give my money back or i could listen to the tape but not both. He also said that they were in partnership with wells fargo and if i wished to pursue any action with wells fargo he would need to end the call and pull the tapes but could not refund my money until the dispute was settled. I'm terrified that they will doctor the phone conversation and i will not get my money back. I never order anything over the phone as i dont know if it is a scam or not. I never give my debit number over the phone either. I questioned wells fargo about my card being debited and the cvl;aims rep told me i had no proof that wells fargo gave them me number. i would like to pursue some type of legal action but am unsure where to begin.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scam me no more! Oct 22, 2011

    I have to say whomever keeps informing you that all calls are recorded and "you" did agree to this, must be affiliated with this fraudulent company. I spoke with "Azel" the supposed manger of this company today after finding two charges for two different things one an e-defense and another was purchase shield both costing $14.99 and another young lady swore that we signed up for the $1.00 trial. I am writing a letter to the BBB and reporting them. I have also contacted my bank to let them know if ANY transactions come across my bank account like this to immediately contact me and do not process the transaction. DO NOT get suckered into their b.s. because this is a scam and an invasion of your privacy.

    -1 Votes
  • Va
    vague_reality Oct 12, 2011

    By all means, pursue this legally. But do keep in mind that that jim1077 is right. All calls are recorded and if you have no recollection of signing up for the trial then someone else answered the phone at whatever phone number you listed with Wells Fargo and said that they are you. . . in which case you can bet your ### big corporate is going to be pushing fraud down the throat of someone who has had access to your phone. FYI, Wells Fargo established this marketing through CPP, who in turn outsourced it to a third party. WF recently found out about this and has dropped CPP as a client (at least as far as Edefense, PurchaseShield 360, and Preferred Customer programs are concerned).

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jim1077 Oct 09, 2011

    I did not get any telemarketing call, email, letter in the mail. My Wells Fargo account was debited 1.00 on 9/27. The letter from edefense is dated 10/3, and states I had already enrolled. BS. No phone call, email or letter to me. Am walking into local WFB branch 10/10, and demanding an answer.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blackstripe Sep 17, 2011

    All calls are recoreded its not a fraud you actually agreed to the terms and did not call to cancel its a long phone call so if you are the dummy. That's agrees to anything you agreed to it ask to be put on the do not call list is you don't want these calls edefense is a really good anti virus and protection system o work for the company

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blackstripe Sep 17, 2011

    You got a telemarking call and excepted the offer and disclosure its partnered with wells fargo wachovia banks and cpp america
    Its one dollar to review the enrollment package through male or email and use all the features. After the 30 day trail unlesss you call to cancell the service fee is 14.99

    0 Votes
  • Brooksider926 Sep 03, 2011

    At my bank's suggestion, I've reported this matter to www.ic3.gov. This is The Internet Crime Complaint Center. The Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), and the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA). If you feel you have or are being ripped off by fraudulent or questionable scam-type means, REPORT IT!

    1 Votes
  • Brooksider926 Sep 03, 2011

    Also, I just searched for the number 14.99, and saw over 900 postings that show similar frauds/scams like this.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.