The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Easterns MotorsStay away from Easterns!

My husband & I researched their website & found a car we wanted. When we went to the dealership they were trying to push us to get other vehicles. We did end up getting a 2009 Toyota Camry with low miles & no down payment. We thought we got a great deal, with the exception that the finance company would not count my income because I've only been a my job for a couple of months (despite the fact that I am a government employee), but yet my name would still be on the vehicle as a joint owner. Two weeks later after buying the car we get a call from the dealer that the finance company could not finance us & they were trying other lenders. They did end up finding another lender, who wanted us to put money down (either $1500 or $2500) yet the monthly car payment would either stay the same or go up. Easterns had to pay a $3, 000 fee if we decided to use this lender. We figured out that they added this fee to the price of the car. Needless to say we gave the car back to the dealer. We ended up with an outstanding deal at Woodbridge Public Auto Auction (plus the level of customer service was without comparison & the experience was delightful), a 2002 Audi A4 with low miles (for which we paid cash). It was nice seeing the look on the salesmen's faces as I rolled into Easterns driving the Audi while my husband right beside me to return the Camry.

This would have been our 3rd purchase from Easterns. Each experience has been your typical drill, with all the negotiating, etc. This experience was by far the worst & the ultimate nightmare! We would have kept the car, if the lender would have lowered our monthly payments or if Easterns would have tried harder to keep us in the car. Easterns thought they were sneaky & didnt think we would figure out they added on their lender fee to the price of the car. Easterns business practices are shady & their salesman are fast-talking snot-nosed kids. This is the last time we will ever buy from them. No wonder all their VA locations have closed, with the exception Manassas. Do yourself a favor & do not buy from them. You will save yourself ALOT of trouble!!

Responses

  • Pu
    Purple1980 Jun 23, 2017

    Thank you so much for the information. I will not be taking my hard-earned money to this place.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    Pernell Hammond Mar 31, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This dealer is very unscrupulous. I went there to trade in my vehicle for a newer lower mileage vehicle. Without so much as an appraisal, I was told that it was in my best interest to get a loan for a new car instead of trading mine in. It was suggested that I take on this new loan. And then call my existing finance company and have them come and repossess the vehicle that I was originally going to trade in. I am in the process of trying to better my credit, and for Easterns to even suggest this practice shows that they only want to screw you over ! I was told that it would be okay for me to do this by my salesman and his manager. After speaking to an attorney friend of mine, I was told that it is very bad that a dealer would tell a customer to do this. Please folks, do not fall into this trap ! Half of the cars that they sell have been wrecked. Folks, do your research and look at Carfax.

    0 Votes
  • An
    annetteterry1962 Aug 29, 2016

    I was sold a car with unibody damage. I received a auto check report that said on 9/20/11 auction announced as unibody damage. I brought the car from Eastern Motors on 10/17/11 so clearly they knew of the damage. Knowing the frame of the car was damaged it should have been sold. Yes Im pissed. I will be moving forward with this complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mo Jan Nov 13, 2013

    I worked for Easterns and can tell you all some really horrific stuff! I've seen things that you wouldn't believe. Robert Bassam calls his black employees "my ###s" and calls the customers ### and dogs. I've worked at the sales and corporate level and believe me, this place is rotten top to bottom.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    The Dudester May 01, 2012

    You bought a car from Easterns Motors and got ripped off !?!?!
    Say it aint so !!!

    Have you seen their ads on tv? I mean...seriously?
    They appeal to the lowest IQ buyer out there and you fell for their nonsense.
    I'll tell you how low these guys are - all the 5 star reviews on Google and Yellow Pages? - They are ALL plants by Easterns themselves.
    Stay away from these people.

    1 Votes
  • Pg
    Pgh Red Apr 09, 2012

    At Eastern Motors - Your Job's Your Credit. I beg to differ - your credit is your credit. These guys brag on the "one owner " status of their vehicles. The one owner is the rental company they purchase these vehicles from. So guess what that amounts to - oh yeah - one owner - but hundreds of drivers. Sooo - what you have here is everybody and their mothers, brothers, sisters, etc. having driven the one owner car you are buying. Now imagine what that vehicle has been thru. All they're doing is giving second chance credit at an inflated interest rate for vehicles that have probably been worn down in the first 30K miles. Good Luck!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karma007 Oct 18, 2011

    Don't do business with eastern motors they don't let u choose your car this how it works. Warranty that's bull ### u will never get your car fix . And the manager i think his name is TIM does not like AFRICAN AMERICAN people the way i see him talk to one of the sales men a few week ago me as a AFRICAN AMERICAN woman i felt so low i just got up and walk out and to the salesman i took my hat off to u because it that was me he would be like bacon.

    2 Votes
  • Ve
    Veritas703 May 10, 2011

    Why would the dealer pay 3000 for you if it's your credit that sucks? They would be losing money to put your deadbeat ### in a car that's just gonna get repoed anyways. They legally can't charge you directly so they wrap it into the cost of the deal. If you had good credit you wouldn't need to even worry about it and you sure as hell wouldnt need to buy an as is vehicle for cash at an auction. Just wait til the transmission goes and you don't have a warranty. Sounds like beggars trying to be choosers.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.