Dynasty211.comSCAM ARTISTS

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Sunnyvale, CA - a college-aged looking guy with the self-proclaimed name "Joseph Robbins" ("like Tim Robbins" he said) knocked on our apt. door a little after 5pm. He was Caucasian, blue eyes, about 5'8" or 5'9", medium build but very fit. He started singing a siren song to my bf, who had answered the door, weaving a tale about selling magazines as a contest for school. He said that the magazines would go to the troops overseas and that if he won the contest he'd get to go to Italy. If we bought something, he'd leave a sticker on our door to tell the other people not bother us about it, and we'd have to leave the sticker on for several months. He also said that he wanted to get into the military too, and that it was a good cause. I guess that's their thing - they're saying that you will never see the magazines because they're going to the troops, and they're trying to prey on your sympathies to kids going to school and the plight of our brothers and sisters in arms.

It was the strangest thing. He invited himself into our home by asking if he could use our table, and then stepped inside before we answered. He then proceeded to fill out forms, asking us for our names, pleading with us saying "can I put your name down? Because I'll get points for it." Anything he got from us equaled points for him, and any mistakes, he said, would "cost [him] points." He had a little pack with carbon receipts and laminated cards with magazine names on each side, indicating the number of "points" he'd earn by selling. Different magazines had different point values. He bombarded us with questions about ourselves and our professions - apparently, he'd earn points for putting down what we did for a living, who we worked for, what our favorite colors were, how long we've been working. My BS alarms were going off all over the place, but I wanted to see what happened next, especially because it was fascinating that my BF was just giving him all of this info willy-nilly. I mean - REALLY? I'm pretty sure they're trawling for information which can be used for credit applications or identity theft.

So during the spiel, "Joseph Robbins" also offered tidbits about himself - grew up in the south (but he had a strong So. CAL accent and when I asked him about that he said he also lived in Fullerton, even providing a fake ID card); he could speak one or two lines from different languages; he'd been all over the USA. In one of the places he visited, he dated a Mormon girl. He also said that he'd won top seller 3 times, so I asked him where he'd been (thinking maybe I was wrong and he had gone on an international trip) - but he replied with locations from all over the US: Kentucky, California, Mississippi, the like. He said that when he was down in So. CAL, Jay Leno bought magazines from him, and proceeded to describe the interaction. He was excited by the JL story, and told it to us at three times during the conversation - only first it was at a cafe, then it was his house, then it was the cafe next to the house.

Trying to ease us into getting comfortable with agreeing to give him money, he asked us to choose two magazines early on. Then later, at the end of the conversation, he took out a price list - magazines were listed at about 400-600% of their value, so a normally $10/yr mag. was $48-$68, PLUS there was a $15 "service fee" on top of that on the form. The name of the company on the carbon forms was "Dynasty Technology 211" and the website was "dynasty211.com". When I asked him what the website was again, so I could look it up, he asked to use our telephone because he forgot, and tried to get further into our apt. I reminded him it was on the form. While Googling the company, he said that he wasn't afraid because people do that all the time, and reminded me that he had won top salesperson 3 times already. Looking at my search results, I noted all the complaints about this scam, and asked him to leave. He got scared fast, "voided" our forms and left our place. After he left I also went a step further and looked up the website origins. Today, the "Joseph" visited, is March 10, 2011. The website was registered on January 8, 2011. They've only had that URL or 2 months (and the website really sucks). You can see for yourself here: http://www-whois.internic.net/cgi/whois?whois_nic=dynasty211.com&type=domain

This "magazine for the troops" at 600% the cost without you ever seeing the magazines or getting confirmation of it is such a SCAM. Please avoid it! They probably have a website to allay the fears of their marks, but probably also change it (their name) to avoid getting caught. I noticed that the number referenced in another complaint has the employee number 211 - that is now the same number in the website URL. It obviously means something to them. They're probably con artist kids on the way to becoming full fledged con artist adults. And please, avoid the trawling technique of conversational info-gathering for fraud purposes. Asking colors, birthdays, dates of employment - these things can be used to reset passwords on bank accounts, credit card accounts, email addresses, etc. If someone somehow got your SS# and had this info, they could get your credit report with all your credit card info and previous addresses and employers on them as well. They could guess passwords with favorite colors and birthdays and family names and such. Don't give it to them! Don't give them anything! AVOID! AVOID!

Responses

  • Yo
    YouTwitMyFace Jul 02, 2012

    Well, I live in Florida, and one of the Dynasty211 kids named Bobby Elliott came to my door for the same thing... I can't believe I was so foolish to give ANY of my information to these kids! I called my bank today to cancel my check, and I'm hoping it hasn't already been cashed! These kids sure are great Con Artists! He tried telling me that his gig was to "work on his personal and communication skills" - and from what it sounded like, he didn't really need the help. He also gave me the whole run-around about donating a children's book to a hospital and even gave me a list of hospitals and what-not. They really do go through a lot of trouble to make some quick cash and scam people. I have never once in my life trusted door-to-door salespeople, and the first time I do, I get scammed! Well, no doubt, I'm never doing this again!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swmcher12 Jul 02, 2011

    The same "Eric Foster" came knocking at our door today ... except that we live in Chesapeake, Virginia. He presented himself as a neighbor who was enrolled at the local community college in a communications class. His assignment was to go door-to-door, meet his neighbors, and gain points to support a local children's hospital. The assignment was actually part of a contest, to help him win a trip to Italy or a $1, 000 grant for school. He asked many personal questions to my husband and myself, stating he will get points for our answers that help him to win the contest. He asked for our name (exact spelling) and address, where we were from, how long we had been there, what we did for a living, number of years in school, pet's name, favorite color, etc. He is very conversational in nature and seems like he genuinely wants to get to know you. Eventually, he asks you to pick out books (many of them Christian books) for the children's hospital, to "fight childhood cancer like leukemia" and "donate for the kids." He then tells you he has to look up the points and figure out the cost. The cost is about 400% what a few children's books would be. My husband asked nicely if we could think about it and he replied by stating he can only visit each house once. As soon as he saw our hesitation, he shook our hands abruptly, said thanks, and moved on to the next house. We closed the door feeling like something wasn't right. We googled the company he had listed on his carbon forms (dynasty211.com) and realized he was a total scam. We called the police and they responded quickly, giving him a ticket for "soliciting without a permit." He obviously has tons of our information now that could be used for identity theft. We also feel stupid for trusting in this guy ... please don't make our mistake!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    garcia21 Apr 07, 2011

    Well sorry to say the same thing happend to me. On 3-14-11 I got a knock on the door it was a high school looking boy named eric foster medium built, hispanic mayb, 5"9, looked about 19 blue/hazel eyes claiming the same thing but for college that this will help him pay .for school and all I needed was to help him out and my neighbors accross the street have bought some books from him and of course I did the same thing he askd the same questions but I really just wanted him away from my door so I can get my son ready for school.he asked me if I was married, where I worked, how long I lived in bakersfield, but I didn't give any info like that out I just told him he's asking a lot of personal question and he said that he was nervious because it was his first time selling for this company and didn't want to mess up.he only wants to do his best and went on about he's from orange county and how he loves tattoos and showed me some and now that I haven't received my son's books I looked up the site that was on my receipt and I find all of this I feel really stupid please don't make the mistake I made

    1 Votes
  • So
    SOLSister Mar 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If anyone sees these people, they should CALL THE POLICE. REPORT THEM. Give good descriptions like age, height, weight, eye color, hair color, hair cut, clothing, body art, piercings, etc. Pics of their faces & full body shots would be even better.

    Christina, did you note down the license plate # of the van, or can you describe the girl or the driver you saw? All of that would be helpful. We can't let these con artists/burglars get away with this. They've been all over the country, and they must be stopped!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christinarr Mar 11, 2011

    Sad to say this same thing happened to me last weekend at the mall, only they were saying it was for magazines for kids at Valley Childrens Hospital. It sounds like the exact same person I spoke with and he had a girl with him "doing homework" on a laptop in the food court. He promised a letter would be sent to my house in 2 weeks showing what I purchased and who it was going to. I was a dummy and gave them money (quite a bit actually) and didnt realize until after I left the mall that I didnt even give him my address, I had only signed their carbon copy tickets and wrote a contact number. I went back to the mall and found the girl but the guy was no where to be found. I asked her to contact him because I needed to speak with him and she was acting really strange and said only that she would give him and her supervisor my number to contact me. She said she didnt want to call him and say this girl wants to talk to you, "thats kinda weird". When I insisted on staying with her until they met back up she said her phone was dying and she had to go. I watched her get into a big dark blue van with another guy driving and never got the call from anyone. DO NOT fall for this please...these people need to be stopped!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.