Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Unauthorized Charges Review of Dr. John Porter's Grant Funding Search program on free CD
Dr. John Porter's Grant Funding Search program on free CD

Dr. John Porter's Grant Funding Search program on free CD review: My American Express card has been charged with two purchases I did not order or authorize. 7

C
Author of the review
4:42 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I responded to an e-mail ad regarding grant funding available and a free software CD which suposedly laid out most effective procedurs for conducting grant searches. I was requested to give credit card information to cover the $1.99 mailing cost for the CD. I never received any CD from Dr John Porter or his Grant Academy, though the $1.99 charged authorized by me on June 26, 2008, appeared on my June American Express statement. That same Am Ex statement also listed a charge made on July 3, 2008 for $39.95 by the Grant Academy of Las Vegas for what it described as "INFO Retrieval Ser." which I know nothing about and did not request, order or authorize. Finally, my current Am Ex statememt lists a charge made on July 7, 2008 by Grant Search of Las Vegas for $7.95 which I know nothing about and did not authorize. The expanded Transaction Detail provided by American Express for each of these three charges shows the Transaction Descriptions as listed above and the dates and amounts charged. Then it shows the same Merchant Address for all three as "iWorks Inc., 251 Hilton Dr., Suite 200,
Saint George, UT [protected]. As of yet, I've not had any luck reaching either the Nevada or the Utah location by telephone. And neither gives an online customer service web address.

The relief I am seeking is to have the two later unauthorized charges for $39.99 and #7.95 removed from my American Express account and my account credited with the refunds. And I want no further dealilngs with this disreputable outfit what ever they call themselves. And since I never receive the free CD, I also want to be refunded for the $1.99 my Am Ex. card was charged for shipping.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

7 comments
Add a comment
F
F
FORMERLY EMPLOYED BY IWORKS
, US
Jan 08, 2011 11:54 pm EST

i worked for iworks and then elite debit when they changed their name. We always knew we were working for a fraudulent company, that was commiting scams daily, but in this economy you do what you have to provide for your family. Rest assured, the company has been shut down, and they are no longer commiting fraudulent billings...we were all laid off. However, beware, they are trying to come out with a brand new grant program, with a new name...so they can commit fraud in the future, if you hear of guide2grants...BEWARE!

R
R
Ryan Sin
Memphis, US
Dec 28, 2010 8:03 pm EST

http://ftc.gov/opa/2010/12/iworks.shtm

Jeremy Johnson FTC lawsuit is valued over 500 Million dollars.
- Jeremy Johnson and Todd Vowel are actively involved in money laundering. Jeremy Johnson, Todd Vowel, Jason Vowels, Bryce Payne, Jason Peterson, Paul Ford, Duane Fielding, Ryan Riddle are all MAIN TARGETS in a criminal investigation from the FDIC for money laundering.
- Jeremy Johnson has over 10 million hidden in the mountains of St George
- Jeremy Johnson has illegally paid Mark Shurtleff thousands of dollars through various “ shell companies” along with Cory Pulsipher the active sheriff.
- Jeremy Johnson has lost over 15 million gambling at Wynn Las Vegas.

Contact: Jeremy Johnson directly: [protected]
FTC Contact: Collot Guerard: [protected]
AG Contact: Mark Shurtleff [protected], [protected]
Senate Contact Bob Bennett: [protected]

For Release: 12/22/2010
FTC Charges Massive Internet Enterprise with Scamming Consumers Out of Millions Billing Month-After-Month for Products and Services They Never Ordered
Defendants Allegedly Created 51 Shell Companies to Carry Out Deception
The Federal Trade Commission is taking legal action against a far-reaching Internet enterprise that allegedly has made millions of dollars by luring consumers into “trial” memberships for bogus government-grant and money-making schemes, and then repeatedly charging them monthly fees for these and other memberships that they never signed up for. The FTC seeks to stop the illegal practices and make the defendants pay redress to consumers and give up their ill-gotten gains.
“No consumer should be sucker-punched into making payments for products they don’t know about and don’t want, ” said FTC Chairman Jon Leibowitz.
The FTC’s complaint alleges that the defendants offer consumers bogus money-making and government-grant opportunities. They claim that the offers are “free” or “risk-free, ” and that they will charge customers only a small shipping and handling fee.
According to the FTC’s complaint, the operation, doing business under the name I Works and controlled by Jeremy Johnson and nine other individuals, uses websites that tout the availability of government grants to pay personal expenses or pitch various money-making programs. The websites offer “free” information at no risk and ask consumers to provide their credit or debit card numbers to pay for a small shipping and handling fee such as $1.99. When consumers provide their billing information, though, I Works proceeds to charge them hefty one-time fees of up to $129.95 and monthly recurring fees of up to $59.95 for the grant or money-making programs. I Works charges them additional monthly fees for one or more unrelated programs that consumers did not agree to.
The FTC’s complaint alleges that this scheme has caused hundreds of thousands of consumers to seek chargebacks – reversals of charges to their credit cards or debits to their banks accounts. The high number of chargebacks has landed the defendants in VISA’s and MasterCard’s chargeback monitoring programs, resulted in millions of dollars in fines for excessive chargebacks, and prevented the defendants from getting access to the credit card and debit card billing systems using their own names. To keep the scam going, the defendants tricked banks into giving them continued access to these billing systems by creating 51shell companies with figurehead officers, and by providing the banks with phony “clean” versions of their websites.
The FTC has charged the defendants with violating the FTC Act by misrepresenting that government grants are available for paying personal expenses, that consumers are likely to obtain grants by using the defendants’ program, that users of their money-making products will earn substantial income, and that their offers are free or risk-free. The complaint also alleges that defendants failed to disclose that consumers who pay a nominal shipping and handling fee will be enrolled in expensive plans that charge consumers fees until they cancel, and that the defendants charged consumers’ credit cards and debited their bank accounts without their consent.
In addition, the FTC alleges that defendants posted deceptive positive reviews and used deceptive testimonials that misrepresented the benefits of their grant services. Finally, the FTC has charged the defendants with violating the Electronic Fund Transfer Act and Regulation E by debiting consumers’ bank accounts without their signed written consent and without providing consumers with a copy of the written authorization.
As alleged in the complaint, the defendants gained access to the Visa and MasterCard systems through many entities. The banks included Wells Fargo, N.A., HSBC Bank USA, First Regional Bank, Harris National Association, and Columbus Bank and Trust Company. The payment processors the defendants used included First Data, ECHO, Global Payment Systems, Litle & Co., Moneris, Payment Tech, Trident, and Vital, as well as independent sales organizations, including CardFlex, RDK Inc., Merchant eSolutions, Pivotal Payments, PowerPay, and Swipe Merchant Solutions.

The FTC complaint names 10 individuals, 10 corporations, and 51 shell companies as defendants. As alleged in the complaint, the lynchpin of the enterprise is Jeremy Johnson, the sole owner and officer of I Works Inc., which has done business under numerous names. The FTC’s complaint names Johnson and nine other individual defendants: Duane Fielding; Andy Johnson; Loyd Johnston; Scott Leavitt; Scott Muir; Bryce Payne; Kevin Pilon; Ryan Riddle; and Terrason Spinks. In addition, the 10 corporate defendants are: I Works Inc.; Anthon Holdings Corp.; Cloud Nine Marketing Inc.; CPA Upsell Inc.; Elite Debit Inc.; Employee Plus Inc.; Internet Economy Inc.; Market Funding Solutions Inc.; Network Agenda LLC; and Success Marketing Inc.
The 51 shell companies named in the complaint are Big Bucks Pro Inc., Blue Net Progress Inc., Blue Streak Processing Inc., Bolt Marketing Inc., Bottom Dollar Inc., doing business as BadCustomer.com, Bumble Marketing Inc., Business First Inc., Business Loan Success Inc., Cold Bay Media Inc., Costnet Discounts Inc., CS Processing Inc., Cutting Edge Processing Inc., Diamond J. Media Inc., Ebusiness First Inc., Ebusiness Success Inc., Ecom Success Inc., Excess Net Success Inc., Fiscal Fidelity Inc., Fitness Processing Inc., Funding Search Success Inc., Funding Success Inc., GG Processing Inc., GGL Rewards Inc., Highlight Marketing Inc., Hooper Processing Inc., Internet Business Source Inc., Internet Fitness Inc., Jet Processing Inc., JRB Media Inc., Lifestyles For Fitness Inc., Mist Marketing Inc., Money Harvest Inc., Monroe Processing Inc., Net Business Success Inc., Net Commerce Inc., Net Discounts Inc., Net Fit Trends Inc., Optimum Assistance Inc., Power Processing Inc., Premier Performance Inc., Pro Internet Services Inc., Razor Processing Inc., Rebate Deals Inc., Revive Marketing Inc., Simcor Marketing Inc., Summit Processing Inc., The Net Success Inc., Tranfirst Inc., Tran Voyage Inc., Unlimited Processing Inc., and Xcel Processing Inc.
The Commission vote to file the complaint was 5-0. The complaint was filed in the U.S. District Court for the District of Nevada.
NOTE: The Commission authorizes the filing of a complaint when it has “reason to believe”
that the law has been or is being violated, and it appears to the Commission that a proceeding is in the public interest. The complaint is not a finding or ruling that the defendants have actually violated the law.
The Federal Trade Commission works for consumers to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices and to provide information to help spot, stop, and avoid them. To file a complaint in English or Spanish, visit the FTC’s online Complaint Assistant or call 1-877-FTC-HELP [protected]). The FTC enters complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure, online database available to more than 1, 800 civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. The FTC’s Web site provides free information on a variety of consumer topics.
MEDIA CONTACT:
Office of Public Affairs
[protected]
STAFF CONTACT:
Collot Guerard
Bureau of Consumer Protection
[protected]
(FTC File No. 1023015)
(I Works)

C
C
Cassandra Salazar
SSF, US
Nov 18, 2010 5:26 am EST

this is a scam. i blocked my credit card because of this..

R
R
Reey
New York, US
Nov 01, 2010 11:43 pm EDT

I also received the same call just a moment ago. They mentioned that I was "eligiable to get a free grant from government agency to help people" like me. However, they call me in nickname, which I ussually use it to fill some unimportant info. Then, they asked me to $2.95 for activite an account, which they said they will email me later. For pay the fee, they also ask me about my cridet card info. At that time, I began to doubt. First, I just cut the call. But one min later, they called me back and still asked me the info of my card! Therefore, I asked them for a website, which they gave was also same as "www.grantdirector.com ". And there is not thing info about them. So, I said I do not take the offer. And the result was that, they said " I talked to you with in some much time, almost 15 mins, and you just said you dont want it?" Then, the call was cut...

J
J
Johnny Pueblo
Pueblo, US
Oct 15, 2010 11:05 pm EDT

If this is the case other entities are still using your name to get card #'s. I received a call from a company calling themselves "Grant Director" using the phone # [protected]. They gave me a web address, www.grantdirector.com which did not offer any company info and I had to end the phone call. They wanted me to give them my card number in order to get a username and password for a processing fee of $2.95 to access the website.
As far as I know the number is located in the Plainboro, NJ area. And I would recommend not to take the offer!

D
D
Dr. Porter
Seminole, US
Jul 03, 2009 9:37 am EDT

My name is Dr. John Porter, Executive Director of the American Grant Writers Association www.agwa.us and need to respond to this complaint. Because the AGWA has an A rating with the BBB, over the past several years many short term grant marketers have been using a close variation of the AGWA name as well as using my name.

Neither the AGWA nor myself sell or receive any benefit from CDs. Further, both the AGWA and myself are major speakers against scam grant marketing. I personally have been invited to be interviewed by several local and national investigative news programs such as Inside Edition, NPR radio and ABC Action News. All have concluded and agree that the picture and statements about Dr John Porter, other than by the AGWA, are not of myself, rather a stock photo and someone else's commentary.

L
L
liriodendron
Cai, US
Mar 25, 2009 5:25 am EDT

They did something similar to me as well. First I noticed an unauthorized $1.99 charge on my Visa card. From www.grantsinternet00 which listed the following phone number : [protected] of NV. Then I stated getting cell phone calls from them about the delivery of this free CD. I did not ask for the CD, did not authorize the Visa charge, or give them my cell phone number. I called at the phone number below and only after quite some time did I convince them that I wanted this cancelled and my name and information removed. They gave me 3 cancellation codes which I didn't understand. So I thought I was through with these people. Then I get another unauthorized charge on my Visa card for $7.95 from the Businessfund 800400 at phone number [protected] of NV. I was given a refund code for the $7.95 and 7-10 days I should see a refund. We'll see. In the mean time I plan to change my account number to prevent further fraud.

Trending companies