Divine EdgeProbably a scam?

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I'm writing this as a warning to people like me who may have been wondering what exactly this company is about (since apparently they are new to my area). I can't say for sure if they are a scam or not, but I can tell you from firsthand experience that the company left me with a really creepy, bad feeling (especially once I read the complaints about Smart Circle.)

I saw the ad for a Sports/Entertainment marketing firm (Divine Edge, Inc.) on Craigslist.com. The ad seemed really spammy, scammy, and not all-together real, but when I saw it again on CareerBuilder.com and other job search sites, I figured it was legit. Let me just tell you people, go with your gut instinct. I'm sort of desperate for a job right now, so I figured, what the heck, I'll submit my resume and see what happens.
Well, a day later I got an email from the Human Resources person (who happens to be the sister of the office "manager" ) saying they are interested in interviewing me for the position. My first interview took all of 5-10 minutes, which was really quick I thought. "Tara" asked me a few basic questions about myself, my job goals, etc. and gave me a VERY brief description of the company. She said they market companies in ways that most companies don't think to use. She made it seem like having a billboard was a ridiculous idea. She also said that since they are a brand new office, they're looking to hire a lot of people and get people into higher management positions ASAP. She drew a nice little diagram that showed how I could move up to Assistant Manager within 6 months and onto Manager within 6-12 months. She told me to come back a week later for my second interview where I'd be spending the day with an Account Manager and they'd decide to hire me or not at the end of that day. At this point I still have no idea what this company does exactly, and there is nothing on the internet to help me out. Their website is very vague.
So a week later I show up to the office at 9:00 am and the receptionist has the same exact playlist of songs blaring from her laptop that she was playing at my first interview. I thought it was strange how not only were the EXACT SAME songs playing when I had come in the last time, but she was playing it a little too loud for an office environment. When certain calls would come in, I could not hear what she was saying over the phone, even though I was sitting about 3 feet away. However when she was talking to the UPS rep on the phone, I could clearly hear that. I'm 99% sure she was lowering her voice when talking to someone within the company.
About 10 minutes later, a group of about 15 people walk out of a door that led to who knows where and out of the office. My first thought was that even though this was a professional business, none of them gave off that professional vibe. A lot of them were very chipper too and greeted me and the other 2 interviewees waiting with odd enthusiasm. I'm connecting this with the brainwashing I've read about in other complaints. I've lived in the South for 5 years now, and I've never been greeted that much by a group of employees. Just really weird. So "Tara" pairs me up with "Joe", an account manager. "Joe" takes me and 2 guys (one who is still in training and the other is on his first day of work.) "Tom", who's on his first day, asks if he can drive his own car to where we're going, but "Joe" says no. I'm a little hesitant about getting in a car with 3 random dudes I don't know, but I went. No clue where we're going until "Joe" whips out his GPS and plugs in Dahlonega--which is about an hour away from the office. When I ask why we're going so far, "Joe" says he likes to take the harder territories because not a lot of people want them so that leaves more opportunity for him and his team. He keeps saying he wants to set "Tom" up for success (basically to make as much money as he can today.) So on the hour long ride, I bombard "Joe" with questions because I need to know what the hell this place does. I end up finding out that this company goes business to business selling discounted services for a low, low price. We were on a mission to sell the Atlanta Braves campaign. $40 for $300 worth of tickets. That seems fine and all but once we got to Dahlonega, "Joe" drops "Tom" off at some random Dairy Queen and tells him to start with that business and work his way throughout the little town. "Joe", "Bill" (the trainee), and I went to another area of town and literally walked to EVERY business in the area. We tried EVERY door even if the business looked closed. We parked in the parking lot of some random orthodontist and walked I'd say about a total of 3 miles in the area. Mind you, this was a 90 degree day, we're all in business professional attire, and I'm in 3 inch heels (no one told me what the hell they do so I'm expecting to just be in an office somewhere for an interview.) So we tried every business we saw...from a Papa Johns, a probation office, random medical plazas and all the offices inside, a hospital (which we got kicked out of), a Century 21 office...you name it, we stopped in. We did this from about 10:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. with a short lunch at McDonalds. I have nothing against McDonalds either, but I was thinking, if there's opportunity to make $300-$500 a day, why are we eating at McDonalds? And yes, "Joe" said that the minimum brand new employees usually make is $100/day but most everyone makes at least $300. They do this by getting $10 commission off every $40 package they sell. By the end of the day, we had sold 13. Made a whopping $130 that I think was to be split between "Joe" and the trainee. "Tom" sold 7.
We ended up back at the office around 5:45 p.m. On the way back to the office, "Joe" taught me the 5 steps to a pitch and 8 steps to success because I'd be quizzed on it when we got back. They were all amazed that I could remember 5 words after 10 minutes. I was confused why they were making it such a big deal...is this really a company I want to work for if it's an amazing feat to remember 5 words? So apparently "Joe" gave me a great review and "Tara" offered me the position. Thank goodness I wasn't able to start Monday morning because it gave me time to research the company. Divine Edge, Inc. isn't on the BBB or Complaints Board websites, but I remembered hearing the Smart Circle name (who I believe is the company that manufactures the discount cards we were selling). Lo and behold, Smart Circle had a ton of complaints. I want to get Divine Edge out on this website in case anyone in my area happens to get caught up like I did.

A few other creepy similarities between what happened with Divine Edge and what I've read on these complaints:
-the word "juice": the trainer kept saying this over and over. He's from Boston, so I thought it was a Boston thing...apparently not.
-ridiculously loud music for a professional office
-everyone seems brainwashed ("Joe" gave the SAME EXACT pitch to EVERY single person we approached. I was sick of hearing him reference me as his "ninja bodyguard" after about the 3rd time. Ended up hearing it about 103 times.)
-the "atmosphere" room
-when we got back to the office, "Tom" had to yell "hey guys!" to which everyone else would yell "hey what?" and then he'd ring a bell
-Also, the office was painted horribly...fire-engine red walls with black doors and black trim, generic sports posters on the wall that said like "Do your best!" Shouldn't they have had posters up of like the Atlanta Braves?...considering the Braves are their clients??

Again, I can't really say this company is a scam, but the similarities to other companies with different names is too creepy, and I wanted to speak up. I hope anyone out there who sees their employment advertisement does some research first. This company doesn't give you any details. Just have to experience it for yourself.

Responses

  • As
    ashleyporter Aug 30, 2011

    Hey kklbj,
    You dont happen to be Lara, orrr "Jess" or maybe even that obnoxious Kristen Bazarrrr girl are you? HAHAHAHA. You all know Divine Edge is a slave-driven joke of a company, stop fooling yourselves.

    0 Votes
  • As
    ashleyporter Aug 15, 2011

    The post written by bjh85 couldn't be any more spot on. I sent my resume to this "sports and marketing" company and was called back that evening to set up an "interview." What. A. Joke. The girl I had spoken to on the phone, Jessica, is the sister of the "office manager" Lara, and works basically as a secretary in their so-called office. Which, is in fact painted in obnoxious bright red and blue colors, generic posters on the wall and black painted doors. Hmm. Interesting to say the least. You will have absolutely no idea what this company does after speaking to Jessica and interviewing with Lara (your ten minute "interview") lol. You'll sure as hell know on your "day of observation" what they do, literally go door to door selling crap. Soliciting. Geez, this whole experience just makes me laugh. I was sent out with this guy named Kevin, who was completely unprofessional. He was wearing a suit that I swear he had to have gotten at goodwill along with his plastic shoes and busted teeth. Good luck climbing that ladder up to assistant manager!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justmejuste May 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well isn't that interesting... A Company that uses my company name, gets a ton of complaints about it and nearly puts me out of business. Just the thing I am trying to find solutions for - ending drama. wow. I will have to figure out how to differentiate myself from them. hmmm.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anab Mar 04, 2011

    There are a ton of companies all over the country doing what I call the "pyramid marketing scheme". I had a very good friend work for one, not Smart Circle or Divine Edge, and I've interviewed for a couple, one in Marietta. They are all very similar. From the one selling Victoria Jackson cosmetics in Sandy Springs to the one in Marietta selling crap for D.A.R.E. to the one selling acrd services inside the city. They are all basically door ro door sales companies that pay their employees below minimum wage as a base, give them crappy commissions to split, talk about getting juiced, and are a complete waste of time for someone like me with a degree in marketing. Also it is entirely possible that the two Divine Edge branches are connected yet independently owned, in these pyramid schemes once you're made management after 6-12 months, depending on how well you memorize a few pitch words, you are given your own office and after a few years you can buy your company. Just to show you how all of these "marketing" firms are connected, I interviewed with one in Atlanta and by best friend told me they were under the same umbrella as the one she worked for in Baton Rouge-much like KFC has franchises but they're all KFC. In my opinion if you have just the basic GED/HS diploma go for it, but speaking as someone who again finished from a legit 4 year university in marketing- yes sales is a PART of the marketing mix but it is not marketing much like your finger is not your hand-stay away from this,

    0 Votes
  • Br
    bravedancer2010 Jan 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    its completely commission based

    0 Votes
  • No
    nood Jan 19, 2011

    So is this job commissioned based because i actually scheduled an interview for them tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    bravedancer2010 Jan 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I actually just accepted a job in raleigh nc and quit within 24 hours! yes this is completely true! DO NOT DO THIS JOB!!! its horrible and get nothing for it!

    1 Votes
  • Mz
    MzJae Jan 14, 2011

    /URL removed/

    0 Votes
  • Or
    orangedoesntrhyme Dec 02, 2010

    Interesting. Did the receptionist talk about sports the entire time waiting?

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjh85 Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think that since you're going to continue to deny there's anything fishy about this company, and I'm going to continue to say that something is, we should just agree to disagree. The point of my original post is to help anyone who may be on the fence about this company. Obviously the ones who choose to work there are steadfast about it, so I'm just giving the other perspective.

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kklbj Jun 16, 2010

    That is correct...this company is privately owner and operated! I went into GREAT detail with all of my questions, the marietta spot you are talking about is not another branch...I interviewed with them too! You are probably talking about the fact that this company shared an office space with a marietta company before they moved here and after the relocated from Greenville. The companies do similar things and have similar clients, but are not owner by the same person. When I went there is was a totally different feel, I felt like all of my questions were answered when I came to this location, in Marietta...not so much! First of all I felt like I was interviewing with my little sister...this little hispanic girl was there, and a guy! Neither one of them really answered anything that I asked, and basically seemed like they were hiding alot. So I didn't think they were connected at all.

    But I have read all of the comments above and i agree with the one guy talking about the core of the marketing world is sales and marketing. So some of the people above that were pretty harsh need to understand that.

    And correct me, but you were coming from the military..is that right??? Even if you were totally not looking for this type of position I thought you would have had more respect than that to bash all of the small things that you picked out about the color of the walls and pictures...wow! Someone did work hard to make that happen and whether or not you like the company or agree with the concept, your wrong for that!
    But anyways to each his own!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjh85 Jun 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Are you saying that Divine Edge does NOT have another branch? Because I was told, straight from a Divine Edge account manager, that they do have another branch in Marietta that has been there for 8 years. So, one of us was lied to...
    Also, have you read the complaints under "Smart Circle"? If so, I'm surprised that you weren't put off by the incredibly creepy similarities between Divine Edge and others around the U.S. Same expressions, same training techniques, same "packages, " same stories all over the states by people who interviewed. It's too much to be considered a coincidence. And by the way, all of those coupon cards Divine Edge sells are in fact manufactured by Smart Circle which deals with these type of businesses all over the place...

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kklbj Jun 15, 2010

    I can see how this type of company is not for everyone...BUT I was one of the other interviews in the lobby the same day as the person above, and the reason that I know this because we spoke about exactly where you went on your interview. I actually accepted the position and realized that at this company there are HARD working people that have chosen this area of expertise because they either enjoy it or are looking to build their resume.

    If you had looked further you would have asked if they had a facebook----they don't. That is another company because I read what you posted and then asked and did more research! You would have also asked "IF" they had another branch- NO other locations! Are there other companies like this out there yup...but not owned and operated by the same owner. And too bad you didn't look further because they have other options now as divisions, and it's hourly payscales.

    Like I said not for everyone, but they are legitimate with who their clients are, and they work hard!

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjh85 May 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow! I am so sorry you quit your job over this company. This is what pisses me off the most about it is that they don't even tell you what the hell they do until you're forced into a car to God knows where and have to solicit for 6 hours. I didn't even know they had a Facebook account. I'm surprised since their website is so crappy. Not to mention they supposedly have another branch in Marietta that's been around for 8 years yet I can't find any trace of them...

    I never got to go in the back rooms (thankfully), but I was told that that's where all the administration desks are. Gimme a break!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    ConcumerCrap May 20, 2010

    Crap I just wrote a novel then the page "errored" and I lost it.

    Basically I had the same thing happen -- but now I am jobless because there is no way this SOLICITNG firm was a "JOB" I could have subjected myself to anymore.

    1. "SmartCircle" according to them is their printer -- That's funny how these "Marketing Firms" multiply like bunnies under different aliases so it makes them harder to pin

    2. Their Facebook says ----"Divine Edge is an exciting creative agency offering a range of services within video production and digital media." That's funny? I didn't know door to door annoyingness qualified as A CREATIVE AGENCY OFFERING SERVICES IN DIGITAL MEDIA AND PRODUCTION = Lie # 4545646

    3. The backroom where the "meeting" is held is not seen at any point during 1st of 2nd interview
    Had I known the other rooms were used to store their soliciting tools and "Motivational rooms with a cd player and people screaming cracked out happiness at each other" I never would have acceoted this job-- AND QUIT MY OTHER ONE.

    4. THEY HAVE TO HAVE A HIGH TURN OVER RATE -- I had replied to their Criagslist Post from the end of April (which by the way they had themselves described as a Sports and Entertainment Markketing Firm" and now I saw a post for May 13th from them --this time they are a "Sports Marketing Firm" only ----weird how they are able to change that so fast! (sarcasm) -- I tried to do the "Re" to the post to warn others but realized I had to go through the job posting process which asks you to pay a fee of $25

    Thus I know we are not alone in this completely messed up situation...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.