The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Datel/action replay for pspNot fixing issue or giving refund for product

I bought action replay for psp from them over a month ago
the product does not work as described. They keep running
me in circles and refuse to give a refund or acknowledge the
problem. I have the backlog of emails sent to and from showing
how they avoid the problem.
Have you downloaded the latest version of the software / codelist that was released last week?
 
To update your PSP Action Replay:
Connect the PSP to the PC and put the PSP into UMD Mode
Open the “Action Replay for PSP Installer”
Install the PSP Action Replay software just as you did on the original install
When prompted, enter your unique license key
Once the software download is complete, your PSP Action Replay will be updated with the latest code list.
 

 
 
From: Lukas [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, January 12, 2010 4:49 AM
To: Tech Support
Subject: Re: not working
 
I have tried all the methods u have suggested please let me know what you can do to resolve this issue. I really want to use your product. I don't know why it is taking this long for you to resolve it, and I have tried calling many times but it's always hold for a long time and then I get hung up on.. I am starting to wish I never would have bought this.

Sent from my iPhone

On Jan 7, 2010, at 11:53 AM, Tech Support <[protected]@dateldesign.com> wrote:

Hi Lukas,
 
I would be happy to send you a copy of the software and the USB Cable.  However, the CD contains the exact same files that are included in the download and the USB Cable is a standard USB Cable.  If the PSP was recognized by the PSP and the Action Replay was successfully installed onto the console, then the USB Cable that you are using sounds like it is fine.  Therefore, I doubt that this will resolve the issue.
 
You say that the codes do work in some of the games if you activate them from the Action Replay before starting the game.  On these games, have you attempted to access the In Game Menu even though the codes while the codes are already activated?
 
When you start the games without codes activated, have you first started the Action Replay and chosen the game that you wish to play, pressed Start and then chosen “Start With Codes Disabled”?
 
Thank you,
Datel Tech Support  
 
From: Lukas Platt [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 07, 2010 12:12 AM
To: Tech Support
Subject: Re: not working
 
Yes I have..and when I reinstalled the software I totally reformatted the psp and it accepts my key and works like it should..EXCEPT the IN GAME MENU...DOES NOT WORK!...I am able to scroll the games and the cheats are now working..but the IN GAME MENU is NOT working. Its been way too long. I either want a refund or Id like the cd version to try since the download version is not working. Maybe I need to use the cable you supply with your CD version?

On Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 11:08 PM, Lukas Platt <[protected]@gmail.com> wrote:
There is NOTHING wrong with my PSP console...the Land R buttons work in ALL my games, I am able to use the buttons just fine. the console is brand new. I am tired of this. I want something to be done about your product not working on my system. I can install the DEMO of the game and the L and R buttons allow me to scroll the list. I wish you would just admit to a problem on your end and either refund my money or send the cd version so I can try that instead.
 

On Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 3:42 PM, Tech Support <[protected]@dateldesign.com> wrote:
If the L & R buttons cannot be used to scroll up and down in the Action Replay code list menu then it sounds like there is a problem with those buttons on your PSP Console.  We have tested the Action Replay on a PSP3001 and are able to access the in game cheat menu and scroll up & down within the cheat list.
 
As for the reinstallation of the product, did you delete the PSP AR folder from your PSP or is it still there?  Have you attempted to start up the PSP Action Replay on your PSP even though the PC Software is saying that the license key is already in use?
 
From: Lukas Platt [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:45 AM

To: Tech Support
Subject: Re: not working
 
You know what I HAVE HAD IT!! NOW when I go and try and reinstall the Action replay it is telling me that my serial has already been used on a different PSP?..now I cannot even reinstall the AR even if you did find a fix for me...it says my console id IS ED2E2F97-AA07849E-550C07E4-2561FD34. i HAVE INSTALLED AND REINSTALLED THIS OVER 30 TIMES TRYING TO FIX THE INGAME MENU ISSUE. AND NOw its telling me its the wrong device. I cut and pasted the serial straight out of my email, and also typed it in manually with and without the -'s. It has been over a week and you still have not fixed my issue with this..and now I cannot even reinstall it just to use it at all...SO now what am I supposed to do? I have NOTHING to show for the money i spent on your product..Im very dissapointed and I feel like I will never see anything for what I spent...

On Wed, Jan 6, 2010 at 3:15 AM, Lukas Platt <[protected]@gmail.com> wrote:
No i cannot use the l and r to scroll the list, and home byitself just asks me to quit and return home like normal, and when I hold r and hit home it gives me the normal quit game message as if I were not holding the r button.
 

On Mon, Jan 4, 2010 at 3:42 PM, Tech Support <[protected]@dateldesign.com> wrote:
When the Action Replay is loaded, are you able to scroll up & down through the codelist quickly by using the R & L buttons?
 
When you press the “Home” button by itself, do you get  a message asking if you want to quit the game? 
 
When you are in the game and you hold the “R” button and press the “Home” button, do any messages appear on the screen?
 
From: Lukas Platt [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, December 31, 2009 11:52 PM

To: Tech Support
Subject: Re: not working
 
No I have trouble with every game umd I try God of war, need for speed, grand Turismo, and about 9 others, I also have GTA chinatown wars from the PSN network downloaded and they do not work either..I have reinstalled many times and tried everything you have said and followed the directions 100%. I really would like a refund..but since it was a download Im not sure how that would work...if nothing else could you send me the cd version instead and I can try it that way? also at least I would have something to show for the money I have spent on a not working product..If it would work as described I would be very happy, I have used and have bought alot of your products over the years and I have NEVER had any issues like this.

On Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 8:31 AM, Tech Support <[protected]@dateldesign.com> wrote:
Which specific games are you having problems with?  Are you able to access the in game cheat menu using any game? 
 
From: Lukas Platt [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, December 31, 2009 12:41 AM
To: Tech Support
Subject: Re: not working
 
I have tried and I set UMD cache to off...and I still cannot bring up the menu in game. Now even when I start the game with cheats on they DO NOT WORK. I do not understand. I even reformatted the psp reset to defaults and formatted the memory card and started from the beginning. Action replay installs with no problem, and I can enter in and select the codes and start the game, but now the cheats do not even work and the ingame menu is still NOT there.. I hope you can fix this issue..again I have a PSP 3001 and running 6.20fw.

On Wed, Dec 30, 2009 at 10:17 AM, Tech Support <[protected]@dateldesign.com> wrote:
In the PSP menu, go to Settings à System Settings à UMD Cache 
 
Make sure that the UMD Cache is set to off before starting the Action Replay.
 
Once you have started the PSP Game, hold the PSP’s right shoulder button and press the Home Button to access the in-game Action Replay menu.
 
From: Lukas Platt [mailto:[protected]@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, December 30, 2009 6:47 AM
To: Tech Support
Subject: not working
 
Im using the pspar code based..and i have a psp3001 6.20..and when i enable the codes they work...but I have NO in game menu...I bought this just for this reson..also I have chinatown wars i got from the PSN network and the cheats do not work at all with that game...I bought the download version off the uk.codejunkies.com website. If I cannot get the ingame menu to work I want a refund. When I made the purchase I was under the understanding that it would work as described and it does not..
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development
 
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development
 
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development
 
 
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development
 
 
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development
This message is intended for the sole use of the individual and entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If you are not the intended addressee, nor authorized to receive for the intended addressee, you are hereby notified that you may not use, copy, disclose or distribute to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received this message in error, please immediately advise the sender by reply email and delete the message. Thank you. - Datel Design & Development

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer20050 Jan 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently bought my ar max for psp and i keep getting this server error message.What the hell is going on? Am i the only one with this issue?
    Please someone reply to my complaint! I feel so pissed! :( :X

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    juney Jun 06, 2012

    I also ordered action replay for my son it's been ten days and nothing, I call and leave messages no one call us back either.
    I think I will contact the better business bureau.

    -1 Votes
  • Kd
    K-Dub72 Aug 19, 2011

    Did Anyone get a error saying invaild code because i cant even download it to my psp..i tried two differnt licenses and it is still saying "Please enter vaild license key"

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarkAthena76 Jun 16, 2011

    The fact that Datel no longer lists the AR PSP on their website would suggest they're no longer supporting or selling it. I, too, get the "Server Error - Can't Continue" bullcrap when I try to reinstall the software for which I paid good money. I think this behavior is despicable. It's possible to downgrade your PSP firmware from 6.39 to 6.20 by following the instructions shown in a YouTube video. I did it just about an hour ago. Not sure if I can post links here, but I'll try. The link also provides another link to the files required for the downgrade. If you want to stop at vanilla 6.20, then don't follow the instructions to the end. Stop before loading the game save. Good luck.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5G3h2UbuUko

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jonathansymes Jun 05, 2011

    Is there any possible date that you can give i have psp firmware 6.39 have just bought my psp 3000 and the psp action replay i really want to use it please dont say its gone forever becuase that will really upset me all the years ive been using action replay on various consoles ps2 ds lite dsi xl now psp i really want to use it :'( :'( im craving it

    0 Votes
  • Ax
    axel2208 May 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hi my name is clyde i just got a psp action replay and win i put the disc in it reads my psp 3000 but it dosint install it it ses server error-can't continue what do i do please help

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mario :) Jan 03, 2011

    i actually cry because i was so excited that i finally got the action replay for my psp... then when i was down loading it and stuff it said enter license key and i froze i didn't know wtf that was and where i could find it i still have the box and stuff but idk where to look and i am so pissed because i don't wont the demo version i want the full thing... i want what i payed for! can some one tell me were it is >:(

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Hurry UP Sep 28, 2010

    Psp ar is way to slow at updating to the new psp firmware i've waited over a month now and still no update for action replay. The only way to down grade the firmware is to buy a pandora battery and i'm not going to use my money on something i'm only going to use once. They need to get the lead out and hurry up.

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    Kiwislayer Jun 27, 2010

    Yea... lemme tell you that its worse 4 the ds.. it usually doesnt read right to my ds will just go towards a blank white screen and will not move into the action replay menu then if it does miraculously goes into the menu about 50% of the time i doesnt have any of my codes on it... I have spent more time trying 2 fix the damn thing and inputing codes then using it during gameplay... i am now on my 4th action replay which at the moment is doing the same old thing

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kevinno123 Jun 27, 2010

    same problem here and but in game menu works but the codes freeze my psp then it turns off

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Cacash241 May 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i returned it to gamestop because it works fine but most of the codes don't work or atleast not on downloaded games. psp go 6.20 i still have the actionreplay software on the psp go even though its a piece of [censor] so i got my money back

    2 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramonaxoxo Mar 13, 2010

    I thought I was the only one having this problem but it seems not. I have the CD version of this and yet it still doesnt work. Did you guys solve the problem with the Ar or did datel issue a refund ??

    2 Votes
  • Th
    thomasz28L88 Feb 26, 2010

    I am having the same exact issue with the AR downloadable version for the PSP go. They do not even respond to my e-mails or calls. Did you get the ar to work or a refund.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.