The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Crafters Choice Book ClubCancellation problems

I have been a member of this book club for several years and ordered many books. However, in September I decided to cancel my membership for financial reasons. I went to the account area of their website and went through the cancellation steps the day after I placed an order redeeming all my bonus points. I received a return email assuring me that my account was cancelled and that while I might still receive one or two membership mailings, they would NOT ship the monthly featured selections to me.

Since then I have received both the September Featured Selection (which was a duplicate of items I ordered in my last order) and today received another book.

I have contacted them again and asked them to cancel my account. I also told them that I regard the last two shipments of books as "unsolicited gifts" that I will not pay for. (I plan to donate them to my local senior center).

It takes them several days to respond to emails. There is no phone number listed for this company. I want to stop receiving mailings and merchandise from them, and I want my account balance cleared.

Responses

  • Ar
    Areatha Krause Dec 22, 2008

    I have been a member of this book club for several years and ordered many books. However, in September I decided to cancel my membership for financial reasons. I went to the account area of their website and went through the cancellation steps the day after I placed an order redeeming all my bonus points. I received a return email assuring me that my account was cancelled and that while I might still receive one or two membership mailings, they would NOT ship the monthly featured selections to me.

    Since then I have received both the September Featured Selection (which was a duplicate of items I ordered in my last order) and today received another book.

    I have contacted them again and asked them to cancel my account. They agreed to do so, and promised cancellation. They stated I needed to send the books back do to two account numbers that had been cleared. And once again I have received a bill from them.

    It takes them several days to respond to emails. There is no phone number listed for this company. I want to stop receiving mailings and merchandise from them, and I want my account balance cleared.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nana120755 Feb 21, 2009

    Yes there is a phone number, actually if you go here : http://www.book-club-offers.com/guide/faq/#customer-service or here : http://www.dc.bbb.org/codbrep.html?ID=80020268&cons=y#Complaints you will find several book clubs. and this one has a number for them about 3/4 of the way down. http://www.book-club-offers.com/reviews/crafters-choice/

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynda Kuhl Jul 03, 2009

    I can't get on your website, I have tried several ways to access your site. I need to cancel my featured selection this month, and cannot get on your site to do so. Please contact me if you can cancle my selection for me. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynda Kuhl Jul 03, 2009

    I just can't get on your website any more to cancel my featured selection. Please tell me how this can be fixed.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kateb Sep 04, 2009

    Crafters Choice customer service is: 717.918.2665

    0 Votes
  • Xv
    xvictoriax Dec 31, 2009

    I had a similar problem. I ordered - didn't receive - they resent - I got it - they removed both charges from my account when the original (that I didn't receive) was returned back to them.

    I sent several emails asking to please bill me regular price for the one I did receive. They kept saying "we're sorry you didn't receive this item, the charge has been removed from your account".

    I used the phone number listed above and finally got a real person to bill me regular price to complete my agreement.

    I wouldn't recommend this book club to anyone...buy at your local bookstore instead!!

    0 Votes
  • Lb
    L. Bruce Sep 24, 2010

    I have been a member of Crafter's Choice for years. I decided to go on line and buy a kit I had seen in an earlier flyer. I decided to order it on line paid for it with my debit card and received the item. This was the first and ONLY time I used my debit card to order an item. A month or so later, I decided to order a couple of books on the members card. I sent in my card with the selections, and expected the books and the invoice from Crafters Choice like they have done so many times before. I have never NOT paid for a Selection! Well they kept my debit card # from the one on line purchase for the kit and charged my debit card without my permission. I did not give them permission to Store my Debit Card Number or ever use it again for any other purchase. This is Fraud. I should not have to worry about who is storing my banking info and what they will do with it. They Lost a Customer they had for Years.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blingblong20 Oct 10, 2010

    Here is the phone number that my personal banker gave me. [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marie Henshaw May 13, 2012

    I placed and order and only 1/2 of it came. I tried to cancel my membership and was charged the Fufillment Fee anyway. I paid this. Now I have received another notice to pay the Fufilment Fee again. I have tried to call and fax them but the lines are disconnected.
    Marie Henshaw, Norwood, Ontario

    0 Votes
  • Dj
    djuro Feb 01, 2013

    I've been a member of this book club for a few years, fulfilled my obligation and ordered a few books this past year. I made the mistake of paying for a book with my debit card online in November 2012. I respond to the endless monthly offers (which at one point a while back they claimed would no longer be mandatory), and have kept the "You have turned down the featured selection" emails from them. Last week I noticed a hold on my checking account in the amount of $47 and it was from Crafters Choice. I checked my account page and had a zero balance, checked my order history page and it reflected up to my last order in October, no evidence of books ordered or any being sent to me. I did not order from them at all. While on my account page I thought I should delete my card info, like you can do with any other place you've down business with online, but they actually have it set up so you can't delete your information! After several attempts at communication through their lovely "Contact Us" setup, I found a number on the last bill they sent me. That was toll free but led me to another number, which wasn't and had the same exact and tedious menu. I finally did get a person, he claimed I had not responded to December's offer and they were "attempting to send the books to me". I told them I did respond ( I have the confirmation from them) and I want the charge removed from my account and to close my account. He said it would be done within the day. This was on Wednesday. It is now Friday morning and the $47 posted, they took my money, without my authorization and under false pretenses. I'll be going to my bank today to file a dispute and possibly to change my debit card so they cannot do this to me again. This amount of money is no small thing, I don't even have a book I didn't want to show for it and I will warn anyone who will listen to NOT do business with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    KenAustin Nov 15, 2013

    We have been a customer of Crafter's Choice for several years. We even had friends that signed up with them. Since Crafter's Choice decided to revamp their website, their service has been crap. We tried placing an order on line from the website but could not do so because there is no place to do that. We lost all of our accumulated points (26) and was told that we should have them in a week or so. That was 4 months ago. The latest order was placed on Nov. 6, 2013 and as of today, Nov 15th, it was pending. I called and asked why...he stated that there was many orders and it would take some time for it to get shipped. I think it is BS! We have ordered from them 2 weeks before Christmas and still received it before the 25th. I just cancelled my whole account from them as I am fed up with them.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suzie50 Oct 06, 2014

    They use to send me the months selection and I sent some of them back or I called them and told them that I did send them back. I never gave them my cc number i have send and bill. Still waiting for a book that I ordered in June that was suppose to be send around or after August first. They have said that a couple thousand ordered it and it is backed ordered. I used my bonus points for it. If they cancel it I will lose my points because of their lack of concern. I sent an email on September 22 and no answer as of today. Wonder what the heck they are doing.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem