SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Wrought Iron Doors / Fraudulent charges to credit card

1 2069 Hwy 1187 Suite M, Mansfield, TX, US Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 469-831-4745

I had previous doors installed by Richard Wallace which was completed and paid in full on Tuesday, 9/18/2012. Approximately a week later I decided to have the remaining of my doors replaced. He came out on Tuesday, 9/25/2012 and gave me the total quote of $5500.00 with fifty percent being due up front for the total of $2750.00. He took my card and scanned it on his Square payment device attached to his phone. This should have been processed for $2750.00

On Friday, 9/28/2012 I looked up my credit card account online and noticed a charge of $6500.00 dated 9/25/2012 from Richard Wallace UID, which is for Unique Iron Doors. I immediately tell him via text we have a problem, stating he charged me $6500.00 and the total quote was only $5500.00 and he should only have half $2750.00 and that he needs to credit back my card ($3750.00), which would leave $2750.00 on my card. He replies right back to me on Friday, 9/28/2012 stating he will refund it, he messed up with the sorry new machine, and he had forgot to clear the last payment out of the phone.

Then Sunday, 10/07/2012 I look up my credit card account online and see a new charge of $3750.00 dated 10/02/2012. I immediately text him stating the $6500.00 is still on there and now there is a new charge of $3750.00, instead of crediting me you charged me, now you owe me a total of ($7500.00) which means you need to credit my card back twice ($3750.00). I was texting and calling his cell and business phone leaving messages the remainder of Sunday, 10/07/2012 with no response.

Then Monday, 10/08/2012 I tried calling him around 8 am with no answer. I then called my credit card company and disputed both charges. They told me they would have to leave $2750.00 of the $6500.00 charge on my account due to the goods had yet to be delivered and once they are not delivered they could dispute the remaining amount. I continued to call him and text him with no answer. I went to his shop in Mansfield on Monday 10/08/2012 and spoke with an employee in his shop. I asked if Richard was in, he said no, I asked if he was on vacation, he said no that he was in this morning but was out on work and would be back he just didn’t know when.

Tuesday 10/09/2012 was a repeat of Monday I continued to try and contact him and went to his business in Mansfield again. Again I spoke with the same employee and he said the same thing that he was there in the morning but he is out on a job and didn’t know when he would be returning. I then left a message with Richard telling him if he wasn’t going to make this right to cancel my door order and to credit me back the full amounts of both charges. I then went to the Mansfield PD to file a report; I was then told since I live in Grapevine, I would need to file there. It was the end of the day and I had to pick up my children from school so it would have to wait one more day.

Wednesday, 10/10/2012 I receive two emails from Richard Wallace stating he can not log on to the credit card company from where he is at so I should cancel the charge that would the best, I pushed the wrong button instead of a refund I charged you again and he also states he has canceled my door order. He continues on a second email he is really sorry but he is on vacation and he spoke with his employees and this was a simple mistake he pushed the wrong buttons and he apologizes but at this point it is best you call your credit card company and dispute the charge since I’m on vacation and out of the country for the next ten days. I then go to the Grapevine PD and speak with Officer Burk and he said he agrees this is not good but he cant file a report because it is technically not criminal because he is not trying to keep the money. I then called my credit card company back to dispute the additional $2750.00 that they said would need to remain on the account since there are goods that have yet to be delivered. My argument this time is that he stated in his email that he has canceled my door order so they needed to dispute the full $6500.00 along with the $3750.00. I was told they would put the additional $2750.00 in dispute status but the couldn’t do a conditional credit on it since there was already a partial amount being disputed on the same transaction. I was basically told it would take time for it to go through all the processes. Also on Wednesday, 10/10/2012 I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau complaint number 9254636. I haven’t text, emailed or left messages for Richard since Wednesday, 10/10/2012. I do continue to call with no answer and there has been no follow up from him after those two emails.

My husband Joe Sanchez called Richard on Tuesday 10/16/2012 from his phone at work and Richard answered. My husband confronted him about crediting back the charges and that this is his responsibility. Richard assured my husband he would have everything zeroed out that day. As of COB Wednesday, 10/17/2012 no credits from Richard Wallace have been posted to our credit card account. Now he will not answer my husband’s calls.

My opinions:

My thoughts are he is lying about everything. I have since pulled up the user manual for the Square credit card processing device. It is impossible to have a previous amount loaded from another transaction as he stated in his text to me on 9/28/2012. You have to physically type in the dollar amount. Also this credit he did as a charge is also impossible to make a mistake on. There is an actual credit button you push to start the credit transaction.

As for him stating he was out of country but somehow has access to email. Normally email and cell phones or landlines go hand in hand. You normally don’t have access to one without the other. So, it is my belief he new exactly what was going on and received my inquires and in fact he wasn’t even out of the country. I had specifically asked his employee on Monday, 10/08/2012 if he was on vacation and his response was no he was in just this morning and would be back sometime later that day. It was the same thing from his employee on Tuesday, 10/09/2012. I also never spoke with his employee about the specific amounts or the specific issues but when Richard emails me on Wednesday, 10/10/2012 he speaks specifically about the second charge and he meant to do it as a credit. How would he know what is going on? Why wouldn’t he think I was just calling with questions about my doors? He also said in his email he had canceled my door order. If he were on the up and up why would he cancel my door order? Why wouldn’t he try to rectify the situation? He knew what he did and he had received all my voice mails and text messages. Because he doesn’t plan on refunding the money!!!

Again with the emails I received on Wednesday, 10/10/2012 he stated he would be out of the country for the next to days. So I’m guessing that puts him in the good old USA approximately 10/20/2012 but remember Richard answered the phone for my husband on Tuesday, 10/16/2012. My husband Joe questioned him about this saying I thought you were out of the country on vacation. Richards’s response was he returned early. He is lying and has been since day one and has done nothing on his end to give us our money back he has taken fraudulently and even more so because he has done nothing on his end to credit back these charges through his merchant. He is hoping that I will be satisfied with the credit card crediting me back and they will never pursue him or his merchant will never pursue him and he will get to keep the total of $10250.00.

Richard Wallace with Unique Iron Doors is plastered all over the Internet under Ultimate Iron Works with bad reviews one after the next. This is where I was able to locate Mr. Warren Bobo, phone number [protected], he had his case prosecuted through your very same DA’s office. I was told Richard confessed to the fraud, paid Mr. Bobo back and I believe he did some time as well. The detective was Kevin Walling who is still with the Colleyville PD.

Additionally I have concerns over the doors that were installed initially being covered under his supposed 10-year warranty. The fact we will not be able to have the second set of doors fabricated to match the first set. If in trying to do so it will cost well beyond had we went with another provider to do all the doors in the first place.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jl
      Nov 24, 2013

    Beware of this business and his owner Richard Wallace.

    I've meet Richard Wallace in the home and garden show in Fort Worth. He locked like a formal company. I went to his shop in Mansfield and ordered from him a window, give 50% deposit ($675), he didn't accept credit card so I made the second big error after ordering from him, I gave him a check that was cleared the very next day
    He said 6 to 8 weeks to deliver the window, I waited more than 4 months trying to communicate with him, but he didn't answer the phone and his shop was closed all the time, I never got the window; In a last try I went to his shop a Saturday and he was there !, he was very rude, he didn't have the window and he neglected to give me my money back. I called the police right there, they asked him to give me my refund, and he said he will mail a check on Monday. Obviously he never did. Since was a civil case, the police couldn't do anything but just open a case. I had to spend my time going to the court to sue him and now I'm waiting for him to be served and the judge to set a trial.

    If you don't want all this problems don't do any business this person

    +1 Votes

Post your comment