The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Worldwide Destination Services / refund not provided by company

1 206 S. Hoover Blvd., Suite 120Tampa, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 813-282-2300

My complaint is that I requested a refund and they keep making excuses rather than providing my refund.
Timeline 2/27/10 -We attended a group meeting to receive a "complimentary" cruise and learn about their services. We bought into the program. We paid $4247 and also $29.95 for the months of April, May, June & July 2010. We booked and stayed at Wyndham Bonnet Creek, Orlando, FL from 7/31/10 - 8/7/10 to try the service. We mailed a request for a refund of $3997 which they received 8/14/10 via certified mail. Their contract that we signed along with mgr Donna Dowers stated we would be entitled to a 365 guaranteed refund of $3997 & it would take 10-14 business days to receive reimbursement from the date they can verify my payments. We received a letter from WWD Tania Palacios mgr dated 8/26/10 that we would receive a refund of $3997 within 6-8 weeks. Our access to the website for members was blocked. We received a letter dated 9/7/10 from business director, that they "are unable to refund our money" "postpone your refund indefinitely" "respectfully ask for your indulgence" They also said later in the letter that they intend to provide a refund & they'd like us to call John to activate for us a "free, lifetime membership." On 9/27/10 my wife Cari Hansen spoke to Tania Palacios. Tania said our login should now work, 90 days from Scott's letter we should receive a refund, the company's money is tied up due to account vendor changes & she will have Scott call me. On 9/24/10 Cari called and their phone recording stated they are unavailable due to updates for maintenance. On 9/27/10 Cari called & still the phone isn't allowing her to speak to anyone but provides an emergency number for members. Cari called & left a message but no one called back [protected]). On 10/1/10 Cari called and the phone prompt said the company is /company name removed/. Their website also said both /company name removed/ and Worldwide Destination Services and provided a new address for them on N Dale Mabry, Tampa. On 10/4/10 Cari called & spoke to Tania. She stated she didn't remember ever talking to Cari before, that they are now /company name removed/ and they are not in charge of any refunds for when the company was called Worldwide Destination Services & that we will receive paperwork from WWD for further assistance with a refund within 1-2 weeks.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ve
      7th of Oct, 2010
    +1 Votes

    CLY Hansen is telling a truthful experience as my wife and I are experiencing the very same scenario with WWD right now. This company and its employees, especially Mr /name removed/, have been nothing but untruthful and uncooperative with doing ANYTHING they say they would do. One can only conclude that when an organization such as WWD (Who I was told is owned by a Mr Don Ferlita in Tampa) behaves is such a contradictory fashion and never delivers on their promises and claims of service, it can only be fraud. I suspect that enough disgruntled customers will begin to right this wrong and justice will be served one way or another.

    I am with you CLY Hansen, strength in numbers, right is might, lets fight the good fight!

  • Ka
      22nd of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    Same thing happened to us. We bought for $2997. in July of 2010 with promises, promises, promised. We tried to book a condo in Orlando for 10/2010 for a group of 7 ladies. They could not help me - said to call back when we got closer to October. Then tried to book a vacation for 4/2011 in Dominican Republic. They couldn't beat any price already available on internet. Said to call back when we get closer to 4/2011. Tried to cancel through credit card and got denied. Also put deposit down $199.00 on cruise and received letter today that WWD is out of business and we will not get a refund. Hopefully we can all bind together and maybe hire a lawyer to get our money back. Any one interested? Is the same owner involved with the new company, Leisure Services LLC?

  • Wi
      17th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    Hey, folks. I am also a victim of WWD. Scott Carey stole a total of $4, 446 of my money in year 2009 and 2010. My husband and I are pursuing a lawsuit again them too. They are running a business scam and committing fraud. By only changing the name on paper, Scott Carey is able to run the same scam over and over again in the same building in Tampa, Florida, while victimizing many people! I recommend that we shall all report Scott Carey and his business to FBI. Also, there is a NBC program called called "Dateline NBC", which has investigated many criminal cases on national TV, including child pornography, money fraud, and famous people like Bernie Madoff. Since Scott Carey's business model looks sexy in a popular Florida; so maybe the company is qualified for some air times on NBC.

  • Da
      4th of Feb, 2011
    0 Votes

    To answer Kathybob's question: The business driector at Worldwide Destination Services, who was also mentioned in Hansen's complaint, is Mr. Scott Carey. According to the website of Forida Department of State, Division of Corporation, he is now the sole owner of Leisure Services LLC, located at 3406 S. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629.

    I am another victim of the scam run by Worldwide Destination Services and its associates. Hansen's complaint sound awefully familiar to mine! But I want to add one thing: On a letter dated July 14, 2010, Mr. Scott Carey, then the Buisness Director at Worldwide Destination Services, stated that "I also assure you that the only way that we will not honor your request for a refund is if we are forced to go out of business, and that is not an option we are evn remotely considering." I think Mr. Scott Carey might have committed an intentional business fraud right there!

    Does anyone know when Worldwide Destination Services closed its door? At the time, Mr. Scott Carey was a member of its management. If he knew that the company would close its door and default on its debtors, he was lying and thus committing a business crime.

    Let us bind together and fight this scam.

  • Ee
      16th of Feb, 2011
    0 Votes

    My husband and I are also victims of WorldWide Destination.
    Looking for a way so all the victims could reach each other and perhapes as a group we might be able to do something against the company and the employees. Please----we have to do something so this dosent' happen again.
    Estella Knowles

  • Ja
      4th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    My husband and I are also victimes of WWD. If anyone know how to get money back, please let us know. We did file a complaint with Better Business Bureau, but this did not help us.
    Jaynee Fuller

  • Wi
      4th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    Great news, folks! Better Business Bureau has rated "Leisure Services LLC" - a new disguise for Worldwide Destination Services at Tampa, FL a big "F". Please everyone, keep fighting! Do not give up! Do whatever you can -- report to BBB, Attorney General of FL, FBI, Local newspapers, ect.
    Together, we can make a difference!!!

  • Fl
      19th of Mar, 2011
    0 Votes

    I too was defrauded by WWD Services, Scott Carey Business Director, and Don Ferlita, Pres of now defunct WWD.
    Contract Fraud was commited when they contined to withdraw membership License anual fee, even up to the time that WWD was closing their operation, and by Scott Cary, who suddenly re- appeared as President of
    Leisure Services LLC, located at 3406 S. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629.
    I recommend ALL who have been wronged by these individuals- we together pursue legal remedies including coordinating a CLASS ACTIION LAWSUIT. As most are already aware, filing BBB complaints or other complaints with Government Agencies, doesn't remedy our wrongs.
    Let's begin a rooster of victims by leaving: e-mail addresses so we can coordinate a meeting !

  • Ta
      31st of Mar, 2012
    0 Votes

    I, too am VERY much interested in joining any class action lawsuit. I bought in in 2010 and have gotten no help, Zilch, nada on any travel need I've called or emailed about. And today, I try to link onto Leisure services website and it comes to some Pacific Dreams Website. How can we get together on this? I'm more than willing to put my contact information here. taube43@yahoo.com. Contact me, please someone.

Post your comment