The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

The Twister Group / Horrible experience

1 2259 Avalon Dr.Buffalo, NY, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

This company sent me a damaged item and refused to take it back. They said I had to go to the manufacturer for warranty assistance. Furthermore, they made ridiculous threats about "blacklisting" me and were obnoxious to deal with. Protect yourself - stay away from the Twister Group!!

Va

More The Twister Group Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Tw
      14th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    Complete misrepresentation. First of all, we received a request for return 5 months ( ! ) after delivery date. We accept returns within 30 days of purchase. Sometimes we go out of our way to help customer and as a courtesy and extend the return timeframe to 45 or even 60 days. But 5 months?!?

    Secondly, this "customer" threatened with credit card chargeback. We feel that it would be fraudulent dispute since our return policies are clearly posted. Therefore, we warned the buyer that the information will be submitted to fraudulent databases. There is nothing wrong with that. Just as credit cards and banks file negative reports to credit bureaus if monthly bill is not paid.

    Lastly, I’d like to add a posting from one of the business executives who was unjustly bashed on this website:

    I will never understand why people make a permanent record of their gripes. This person, nor ANY person has not been ripped off in any way by our company. Please refer to this very site for companies like Walmart, Wells Fargo Bank, United Airlines, Outback Steakhouse, Mesa Arizona Police Department, and the Better Business Bureau. All these companies have reports and they are not bad companies. There is no credibility to this site. You can post a report on any person or company anonymously and there is no validation of any kind. You could post a report on your neighbor, gas station because you think they are a ripoff because gas is so high, the president of our country, your city...anything. Nobody will verify it. Someone could even do it to you without thought.

  • Pe
      13th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    here is my email trail with twister. Start at the bottom and read up. You decide if you want to do business with them.


    Very last Email from Twister is below
    ------------------------------------------------
    We did not require you to make another purchase. See our message:
    All non-defective returns are subject to 20% restocking fee. Shipping is non-refundable.
    If you place a new order of equal or greater value, the restocking fee will be reduced to 10%.
    We demanded that you must accept our return terms with 20% restocking fee. You kept refusing to accept terms, that’s why RMA was not issued.
    We will request return authorization from our vendor and will email you return instructions within a few business days.
    However, if we receive a dispute from AMEX, in accordance with our policy $35 chargeback fee plus 50% processing expenses will be debited from the amount of refund. Any outstanding amount will be turned over to collection.

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group
    ----------------------------------------
    From: MMMMM
    Sent: Thursday, August 13, 2009 11:04 AM
    To: Twister RMA
    Subject: RMA request, order # 195642

    Twister Group

    I have emailed you over six times on this return/exchange issue. I have requested a RMA to return this DuraFon Pro HC, which does not work with my 1X Engenius DuraFon base-station. Why won't you give me an RMA and let me return this item in accordance with your published policy? http://www.thetwistergroup.com/store/customer/help.php?section=conditions

    I wish to have my AMEX CARD credited $230.52. This amount is in accordance to your 20% restocking fee which applies to the original $288.12 purchase price. Moreover, this $230.52 figure does not include any shipping charges on your end, or the costs on my end to ship the item to you.

    I have contacted AMEX claims and dispute department to enlist their help in securing an RMA to return this item to you. I will not be purchasing/exchanging the phone that works with my base station from you, because of your requirement to "Purchase" before authorizing a return of this item. The Item to be returned is in pristine condition, with all of its original packing and instructions.


    NOW, Please provide me with the RMA Number and the Ship to address to return the DuraFon Pro HC from Engenius for a credit of $230.52.

    Thank you
    XXXXXXXXXXX
    a very unhappy and increasingly dissatisfied customer

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    On Aug 12, 2009, at 4:31 PM, Twister RMA wrote:


    That is fine. You just need to confirm acceptance of our terms below.

    Our vendors charge us restocking fee not because packaging is imperfect but because it costs them money to process orders, ship them, then accept returns and process credits. These expenses are covered by restocking fee.

    You may choose to sell the item yourself instead of returning to us.

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group
    -------------------------------------------------
    From: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Sent: Wednesday, August 12, 2009 11:21 AM
    To: Twister RMA
    Subject: Re: The Twister Group: RMA request, order # 195642

    Hi Twister RMA Customer Support

    The item is in pristine condition, with all of its original packing

    While I may have ordered the wrong item,
    it was obvious from my comment on the
    order, as to which handset that I intended to buy.
    "works with the base-station that handles 9-handsets"
    However, I can't use the 4X-handset with my 1X base station.
    The handsets look and cost the same.

    Please send me the instructions to return it.

    XXXXXXXXXX

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    On Aug 11, 2009, at 8:18 AM, Twister RMA wrote:


    We shipped you the model YOU ordered.
    All non-defective returns are subject to 20% restocking fee. Shipping is non-refundable.
    If you place a new order of equal or greater value, the restocking fee will be reduced to 10%.
    Please, indicate your acceptance of the above terms and we'll email you return instructions within a few business days if the item is returnable.

    Sincerely,

    Customer Support
    The Twister Group
    support@thetwistergroup.com
    -------------------------------------------------

    From: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Sent: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 8:40 AM
    To: rma@thetwistergroup.com
    Subject: The Twister Group: RMA request, order # 195642

    RMA request, order # 195642

    Customer info:
    ---------------------
    First Name: XXXXX
    Last Name: XXXXXX

    Address: XXXXXX
    City: Goleta CA
    State: CA
    Zip code: 93117

    Phone: XXXXXXXX
    E-Mail: XXXXXXXXXXXX

    Product(s) and reason for return:
    Retuning—SKU: DURAFON-PRO-HC J02545, ENGENIUS DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO SYSTEM HANDSET, Price: $288.12

    As stated in the customer notes section of my original purchase, I wanted the ENGENIUS DURAFON1X-HC DURAFON 1X HANDSET FOR USE WITH DURAFON 1X SYSTEMS SKU# DURAFON1X-HC J02433
    ===================


    Dr. XXXXXXXXXXX
    Professor, Vice Chair
    University of California at Santa Barbara
    Santa Barbara CA 93106

    -------------------------------------

    No response from Twister Group

    ----------------------------------------

    Hi Support group

    Sorry to sound and seem stupid,
    but what is the exact process, other than you selling me another phone?
    If I place a new order on the Website with my AMEX, Once the order is placed,
    Furthermore, Who do I then contact about returning the prior item at the reduced 10% fee?
    Should I just send you the receipt of
    the new purchase, and will then you provide me a return authorization number?

    Again, I just want to follow your process.

    XXXXX

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    On Aug 7, 2009, at 9:32 AM, Twister Support wrote:
    Sorry: that is not how the process works.

    You will need to accept terms and place a new order. Refund will be processed separately from the new order.

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    From: XXXXXXXXXXX
    Sent: Friday, August 07, 2009 10:21 AM
    To: Twister Support
    Subject: Re: item exchange

    Hi Support Group,

    To return the DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO, I will need a return authorization number.
    When I have that #, after I have returned the old unit, you can ship me the DURAFON1X-HC
    You have my AMEX information, you can charge me the $28.81 restocking fee that you have
    proposed instead of the customary $57.60.


    On Aug 6, 2009, at 9:00 PM, Twister Support wrote:


    Unfortunately we cannot do just exchange. We’ll be happy to process your return with reduced restocking fee (10%) if you place a new order.

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group

    From:
    Sent: Thursday, August 06, 2009 10:59 PM
    To: support@thetwistergroup.com
    Subject: item exchange


    --------------------------------------------------
    Hi Support Group,

    We have a problem. I purchased a DURAFON1X-HC, or what I thought was a DURAFON1X-HC
    on My AMEX card. I even said on my original internet purchase

    "
    This is for the purchase of the EnGenius DuraFon 1X
    Handset and charger. (9 handsets work off of one base station) and
    walkie talkie to each other"

    However, I receive a DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO for $ 288.12. The two items cost exactly, and look the same
    I would like to exchange the item I received (DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO) for the (DURAFON1X-HC)


    Since this is an exchange, rather than a return, I hope that I don't have to pay a "restocking" fee


    sincerely
    XXXX


    You ordered DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO for $ 288.12. Please check order confirmation
    message sent to you upon placement of this order.

    We sell DURAFON1X-HC here:

    http://www.thetwistergroup.com/product/DURAFON1X-HC J02433.html

    But that is not what you ordered.

    You may request return authorization here:

    http://www.thetwistergroup.com/store/customer/help.php?section=returns

    Unfortunately we do not provide technical advise or support and therefore
    only take into account notes related to delivery.

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group


    --------------------------------------
    From: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Sent: Thursday, August 06, 2009 9:45 PM
    To: sales@thetwistergroup.com
    Subject: Re: Your The Twister Group Order Request #195642 Has Been Received

    Hi sales support

    You shipped me the wrong handset.


    I wanted the ENGENIUS DURAFON1X-HC DURAFON 1X HANDSET FOR USE WITH
    DURAFON 1X SYSTEMS
    SKU# DURAFON1X-HC J02433
    You shipped the
    ENGENIUS DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO SYSTEM HANDSET (SKU# DURAFON-PRO-HC J02545)


    As my customer notes clearly stated (see below), I wanted the one


    (9 handsets work off of one base station)


    I thought that you may be confused, which is why I made the customer
    notes
    the costs of both handsets are identical


    ----------------------------------
    On Jul 30, 2009, at 12:57 PM, sales@thetwistergroup.com wrote:

    Dear XXXX!

    Thank you for your order with The Twister Group.

    Your order will be processed within 1-2 business days upon payment
    approval. You will receive an e-mail notification with the tracking
    number once the order ships.

    To check the status of your order, follow this link:

    www.thetwistergroup.com/store/customer/order.php?orderid=195642&phone=5651&m
    ode=unreg


    Following is your order details. Please take a moment to review it
    for accuracy and completeness. Order cannot be changed or canceled
    once it is processed.

    Order id: 195642
    Order date/time: 07.30.2009 14:57


    Shipping Information:
    ==================================================
    XXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Goleta CA, California 93117
    UNITED STATES
    XXXXXXXXXXXX
    Is this a Residential Address?: Yes

    Shipping Method:
    ==================================================
    Ground

    Products Ordered:
    ==================================================
    Qty: 1, SKU: DURAFON-PRO-HC J02545, ENGENIUS DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO
    SYSTEM HANDSET, Price: $288.12
    ==================================================
    Subtotal: $288.12
    Tax: $0.00
    Shipping: $14.12, Ground
    TOTAL: $302.24

    Payment Information:
    ==================================================
    Payment method: AMEX
    Card Number:
    XXXXXXXXXXX
    XXXXXXXXXXX
    Goleta CA, California 93117


    Order Notes:
    ==================================================
    Customer Notes: This is for the purchase of the EnGenius DuraFon 1X
    Handset and charger. (9 handsets work off of one base station) and
    walkie talkie to each other.
    --
    Thank you for shopping at The Twister Group.

    http://www.thetwistergroup.com


    Sincerely,
    Dr. XXXXXX
    Associate Professor, Vice Chair
    University of California at Santa Barbara
    Santa Barbara CA 93106

  • Il
      24th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    All I have to say is... I D 10 T error... look at your order confirmation... it clearly states "ENGENIUS DURAFON-PRO-HC PRO
    SYSTEM HANDSET" which is not "ENGENIUS DURAFON1X-HC DURAFON 1X HANDSET" you should read before you place the order, I have been on the phone with twister the past two days and have been greated with nothing but acceptance, I just order four dvd headunits, and am planning on ordering quite a bit more, and plan on making The Twister Group a regular company I visit... My story is the prime example of why you should CHECK YOUR ORDER CONFIRMATION!!! I checked my and instead of clicking west palm beach florida, i clicked west palm beach, federal states of macronesia... i giggled a bit but then called immediately, was greated and talked to the guy for a little bit, and recieved the words, No Worries I already fixed it! Then Called today to see how many they actually had in stock, the guy gave me a real time number and everything... so far so GREAT with the twister group A+!

  • Ii
      19th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    The email trail tells the tail. It is clear cut evidence of the total lack of customer service and bold faced lie regarding the return time frame on the part of thetwistergroup.com.

    This rinky-dink internet store validates ripping off customers because their posted policy clearly states you will be ripped off if you are unsatisfied with your purchase. Caveat emptor indeed. If you don’t believe it, check their policy yourself. And ask yourself do I really want to shop here?

    I have a similar tale as the gentleman from Santa Barbara.

    I ordered an item which turned out to be defective.

    I requested a 100% full refund immediately.

    They were kind enough to reply the following;

    “That is not our policy. There will be no 100% refund and it is not immediate. You may either take it up directly with the manufacturer or follow our policy and return instructions we’ll email you within a few business days.”

    Sincerely,
    The Twister Group

    Need I continue? Pray you receive exactly what you order and in working condition. Because if you’re not satisfied with your purchase, quite frankly, you’re hosed.

  • Tw
      21st of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    First of all, the gentleman from Santa Barbara has a very positive experience: see the message above.

    Secondly, no store would issue a refund without getting a return brought back or shipped in.

    So when a customer talks about "lack of customer service" because he was not refunded at first request without even delivering his return, think about a local brick and mortar store. Can you imagine Best Buy refunding your purchase just because you called and complained? Not even brought back the merchandise? Further: full refund... How about demanding Best Buy to refund you gasoline you burnt while bringing your return back? Hey, why not? It is similar to shipping when shopping online...

    The item is "REMINGTON HC940 CLIPPER ALL IN ONE". We do not manufacture this item. We carry products for hundreds of brands. The product quality is all manufacturer's issues. We only ship products and are happy to accept them back (unless there is a negative unfair publicity like that). But try to force UPS to refund shipping. We do not test products before shipping. If customer requires that, he can let us know and we'll cancel an order immediately.

    Here is this buyer's complaint:

    It is of very poor quality. While attempting its use, it pulled and yanked several chunks of hair out of my head. Additionally, the plastic guard is so flimsy; it slips making it prone to overcutting. It is either extremely underpowered or the blades are made from awfully cheap material or both.

    Well, fine. You haven't done research, we'll accept a return. But that is not a rip off which is defined as an intentional action! Perhaps, you need to complain about your hair to its creator... No customer service there? How about disputing hair quality through a credit card?

    Returns are a function of customer service. This "buyer" states "total lack of customer service". Well, then there is no return that can be handled for him, is it? We'll just try to match his statement. Need we continue?

  • Ia
      27th of Sep, 2011
    0 Votes

    As far as best buy goes if you bring back the item in it's original packaging they will refund you 100%. No restocking fee or other bull...no questions asked!! Period!!

    I too had an experience with this joke of a business. A few years ago I purchased an item from them through shopping.com. The ad on shopping.com stated it was one item but when I received it it was a completely different item. 10 minutes after the item was delivered I contacted them to let them know that their ad was in error and requested a refund. Instead of apologizing and agreeing to refund me I was chastised as to why I did not research the SKU number and was told there would be a 20% restock fee. Why should I have to research the Sku number? If they are an honest and trustworthy business then I should be able to place my order with the confidence that I am getting what is described in their ad. After reporting them and giving them a bad review on Epinions.com Shopping.com emailed me accepting full responsibility and said that they compensated them. Yet even though they were paid for the item by shopping.com they continued to harass me by sending collection agencies after me. They had a total of 3 collection agencies come after me. I sent a letter and documentation to each agency and each of the 3 dropped their case against me!!!

    All that over a $28 item!!! These guys are crooks!! They also were sent written warnings from the FCC about an illegal item they were selling (a radar jammer). They ignored the warnings and when the FCC finally cited and fined them they finally complied. These idiots basically ignored the US government and told them to go to hell. So what does this say about this ignorant business? It shows what crooks they are. Just like my situation, instead of admitting that their ad was in error and issuing a refund, they blamed me for their incompetence and tried to profit off it as well!! I am truly amazed that they are still in business! All I can say is BEWARE!!!

  • Ho
      18th of Feb, 2012
    0 Votes

    The worst ebay vendor I have ever dealt with. Shipped different item (discontinued model) than the one described and refused refund...then followed up with email threats...I would not recommend doing business with them under any circumstance!!!

  • Br
      18th of Feb, 2012
    0 Votes

    I like to play Twister.

Post your comment